Best Milliohm Meter: 5 Low-Resistance Picks Compared
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
A milliohm meter measures very low resistance that a standard multimeter cannot resolve with confidence. You use one for contact resistance, winding resistance, cable conductors and solder joints, where a fraction of an ohm matters. This guide compares five low-resistance testers by range, resolution, four-wire measurement, power and what comes in the box.
These are tools for de-energized parts. Work on mains circuits can kill, none of the five listings states a CAT rating, and panel or service work belongs to a licensed electrician. Follow the manual and local electrical rules.
Quick answer
Four of the five state four-wire measurement to cut out lead resistance; the HR390 does not. For the widest span, the Ayitam lists 0.001mΩ to 300kΩ with 1μΩ resolution and ships with a Kelvin clip. For a corded bench unit, the AideTek VC480C lists 0.01mΩ to 2kΩ with Kelvin clip cables. For a portable unit that runs on six AA batteries or an external 9V DC adapter, choose the TeamSky. For contact and wire checks with leads and an adapter in the box, choose the TOSYUWIR DT-5302. For hobby work that adds capacitance, the HR390 module covers 0.001 to 120Ω plus capacitance.
Comparison table
| Model | Stated range | Resolution or accuracy | Power | In the box |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ayitam 7-gear | 0.001mΩ to 300kΩ | 1μΩ resolution; ±0.1% FS | 6 LR14 batteries | Meter, manual, test probe, Kelvin clip, batteries |
| AideTek VC480C | 0.01mΩ to 2kΩ | Not stated | Corded, 10 x 7 x 2 in | 4-wire cables with Kelvin clips |
| TeamSky VC480C | 0.01mΩ to 2kΩ | ±0.5% reading accuracy | 6 AA or external 9V DC (adapter not included) | Listed as no |
| TOSYUWIR DT-5302 | 0.1mOhm to 20kOhm | 0.1mOhm resolution | Battery powered | Tester, leads, power adapter, manual |
| HR390 module | 0.001 to 120Ω; capacitance 10pf to 20000uf | Up to 1 mΩ resolution | 7-12V DC supply | The module only |
The five milliohm meters
Ayitam MS2303 7-gear: widest stated span
This is a compact battery-powered handheld with a backlit LCD. The listing states 0.001mΩ to 300kΩ, 1μΩ minimum resolution, resistance accuracy of 0.1% and a maximum accuracy of ±0.1% FS, using four-line measurement about 3 times per second. It stores up to 99 sets of readings and supports preset comparison values with a PASS or FAIL display. Stated measurement current is up to 334mA. The box lists the meter, manual, test probe, Kelvin clip and six LR14 batteries. It suits homeowners, students and shop users who want one meter for very low and higher values.
Pros
- Widest span and finest stated resolution here
- Kelvin clip and batteries included
- Data storage and PASS or FAIL comparison
Cons
- Relies on six large LR14 cells
- No CAT rating is stated
Skip if: you need a stated CAT rating or do not want a unit that relies on six large cells.
Ayitam low resistance meter on Amazon (affiliate link)
AideTek VC480C: corded bench unit with Kelvin clips
This corded unit measures 10 x 7 x 2 inches and lists a range of 0.01mΩ to 2kΩ. It comes with 4-wire cables with Kelvin clip connectors, and has a large backlit LCD, a HOLD key, manual zero adjust, an external power connection and anti-magnetic and anti-jamming protection. It suits bench checks of conductors, heating elements and solder points.
Pros
- Kelvin clip cables included
- Hold key and zero adjust
- Stable, mains-powered bench use
Cons
- The listing does not state resolution in ohms or accuracy as a percent
- Bulky for field work, and no CAT rating is stated
Skip if: you need a compact handheld for field service or battery operation stated in the box.
AideTek VC480C on Amazon (affiliate link)
TeamSky VC480C: portable, battery or external power
This unit lists 0.01mΩ to 2kΩ with ±0.5% reading accuracy and 4-wire Kelvin technology. It has a large backlit LCD, a 75 x 52 mm body and a wrist strap. Power comes from six AA batteries or an external 9V DC adapter, which is not included. A battery-level indicator and anti-interference protection are listed. It suits field troubleshooting of motors, PCBs, cables and batteries.
Pros
- Small body with a wrist strap
- Accuracy stated as a percent of reading
- Flexible power
Cons
- The Included Components field says no, so confirm which leads ship
- The 9V adapter is not included, and no CAT rating is stated
Skip if: you need everything in one box or a stated mains safety rating.
TeamSky VC480C on Amazon (affiliate link)
TOSYUWIR DT-5302: leads and adapter in the box
This battery-powered tester states 4-wire measurement with 0.1mOhm resolution over 0.1mOhm to 20kOhm. It has a backlit LCD and lists CE, FCC and RoHS. The box lists the DT-5302, test leads, a power adapter and a manual, with a one-year limited warranty. It suits contact and wire resistance checks where you want to start straight away.
Pros
- Leads and adapter included
- Simple controls and a backlit display
Cons
- Accuracy, measurement current and CAT rating are not stated
- 0.1mOhm resolution is coarser than the Ayitam
Skip if: you need resolution finer than 0.1mOhm or a stated CAT rating.
TOSYUWIR DT-5302 on Amazon (affiliate link)
HR390 module: resistance plus capacitance for hobby work
This small industrial-style module lists a resistance range of 0.001 to 120Ω and a capacitance range of 10pf to 20000uf, with resolution up to 1 mΩ. It needs a 7-12V DC supply, and the listing warns not to use it outside its current and voltage range. The box lists the module only. It suits electronics hobby work that wants quick resistance and capacitance readings. For capacitor-focused tools, see Best Capacitor Meter and ESR Meter Guide.
Pros
- Adds capacitance in one small module
- Light and easy to store
Cons
- Only the module is included, so check leads and a power supply
- No accuracy or CAT rating is stated, and the low-resistance span is narrower than the others
Skip if: you need micro-ohm resolution, Kelvin clips in the box or any mains measurement.
HR390 milliohm meter on Amazon (affiliate link)
Buying checklist
- Match the low end of the range to your target. Motor windings, battery straps and relay contacts need milliohm or micro-ohm coverage.
- Read the accuracy format. Resolution is the smallest step shown; accuracy is the stated error. A 1μΩ step does not mean ±1μΩ accuracy.
- Confirm four-wire Kelvin clips are in the box. Without them you must buy compatible leads.
- Choose power for your setting: battery for the field, corded or external 9V for the bench.
- Look for backlight, data hold, zero adjust and storage if you log readings.
- Keep all five off energized circuits. For a general resistance tool, see Ohm Meter Guide. For voltage checks, see DC Volt Meter and Best Digital Volt Meter.
FAQ
Why use a milliohm meter instead of a standard meter?
A standard ohm function can miss small changes in contacts, windings and joints. These meters state ranges that start at 0.001mΩ, 0.01mΩ or 0.1mOhm and use four-wire measurement.
What do Kelvin clips change in low-resistance work?
Kelvin clips use separate current and sense contacts, which removes test-lead resistance from the reading. Check which models include them.
Is resolution the same as accuracy?
No. Resolution is the smallest step shown, while accuracy is the stated error; read the format in the manual.
Which resistance range fits the intended component?
Match the range to what you measure. Cables, ground straps and contacts read in low milliohms, so you need a low end near 0.001mΩ to 0.1mOhm. Coils and small motor windings read higher, and the Ayitam, AideTek, TeamSky and TOSYUWIR upper limits of 2kΩ to 300kΩ cover them.
What power arrangement works for field measurements?
The Ayitam uses six LR14 cells, the TeamSky uses 6 AA batteries or an external 9V DC adapter, and the AideTek is corded for bench use.
Can a milliohm meter be used on an energized circuit?
No. None of the five listings states a CAT rating, so use them only on de-energized components; mains work belongs to a licensed electrician.
Closing note
Choose the Ayitam for the widest span, 0.001mΩ to 300kΩ, with a Kelvin clip included. Choose the AideTek for a corded bench unit with Kelvin clip cables, the TeamSky for a portable unit with 6 AA or external 9V DC power, and the TOSYUWIR for contact checks with leads and an adapter in the box. The HR390 suits hobby work that adds capacitance. None states a CAT rating, so keep all five off live circuits.
Sources
- Measurement category overview: background on CAT ratings and mains safety