DC Volt Meter: Picks for Batteries and Electronics
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
A DC volt meter measures direct-current voltage, the kind found in batteries, solar setups, vehicle systems and most electronics. The six listings below include three small dedicated DC meters that you wire in, and three multimeters that list DC voltage among other functions.
Confirm that the meter reads DC and that its range covers the highest voltage you expect. Connect the leads correctly and set the range above the expected reading before you touch the circuit. For mains or service wiring, follow local electrical rules and call a licensed electrician. Where a listing leaves out a detail, this guide says not stated.
Quick answer
For a permanent DC meter, the CrocSee 2Pack covers DC 5-120V, the bayite covers DC 5-100V with 100A current sensing, and the RataKoapa is a round gauge for 12, 24 and 36 volt battery systems. For a hand-held tool, the ANENG states a DC voltage range of 200mV to 600V. The AstroAI and LJPXHHU list DC voltage in their titles but do not state a DC range in the fields shown.
Comparison table
| Product | Type | Stated DC range | Weight or size |
|---|---|---|---|
| CrocSee 2Pack | Mini digital meter, 2-wire, 0.56 inch display | DC 5-120V | 0.04 kg |
| bayite | Volt amp meter with Hall effect current sensor, dual display | DC 5-100V, 100A | 1.77 x 1.02 x 0.71 inches |
| RataKoapa VT803se | Round LED battery voltage gauge, blue light | 12, 24 and 36 volt systems; maximum not stated | 2.5 x 1.15 x 3.4 inches; 1.7 ounces |
| ANENG with case | Digital multimeter | 200mV to 600V | Not stated |
| AstroAI 2000 counts | Digital multimeter | Not stated | 0.15 kg |
| LJPXHHU 2000 counts | Digital multimeter with leads | Not stated | 166 g |
Product reviews
CrocSee 2Pack DC 5-120V Mini Voltage Meter
What it is: A pack of blue digital mini voltage meters with a 2-wire connection, a 0.56 inch display and a DC 5-120V range. Power source is listed as DC and weight as 0.04 kg.
Who it suits: A builder who wants simple voltage readouts on batteries or DC projects, with a spare in the pack.
- Pros: Stated DC range and a 2-wire hookup. Two meters in the pack.
- Cons: Dimensions are not stated. The 5V lower limit means it will not read below that.
Skip if: You need to read very low voltages or need current readings.
CrocSee 2Pack meter on Amazon (affiliate link)
bayite DC 5-100V 100A Volt Amp Meter
What it is: A small plastic meter with a Hall effect current sensor, a dual bright LED display and a DC 5-100V, 100A range. The highlight field says no shunt is required and names battery, RV and solar uses. It measures 1.77 x 1.02 x 0.71 inches.
Who it suits: Someone monitoring a battery, RV or solar setup who wants volts and amps on one display.
- Pros: Reads voltage and current. No shunt required per the listing. Very compact.
- Cons: Weight is not stated. The sensor wiring is not described in the fields shown.
Skip if: You need voltage only, or need a hand-held tool.
bayite volt amp meter on Amazon (affiliate link)
RataKoapa DC Battery Voltage Gauge, 12V 24V 36V
What it is: A round digital LED battery voltage gauge with blue light, listed for 12 volt, 24 volt and 36 volt systems. The body is metal and plastic, measures 2.5 x 1.15 x 3.4 inches and weighs 1.7 ounces. Part number is VT803se.
Who it suits: A boat or vehicle owner who wants a visible battery gauge on a dash or panel.
- Pros: Named for 12, 24 and 36 volt systems. Dimensions and weight are given.
- Cons: No maximum voltage is quoted.
Skip if: You need current readings or a stated maximum voltage.
RataKoapa voltage gauge on Amazon (affiliate link)
ANENG Digital Multimeter with Case
What it is: A black, battery-powered multimeter (style SZ301 Black) with a case. The fields give a DC voltage range of 200mV to 600V, resolution of 0.1mV to 1V and accuracy of plus or minus 1% plus 5.
Who it suits: Someone who wants a hand-held tool with a stated DC voltage range, from millivolts up to 600V.
- Pros: Stated DC range, resolution and accuracy. Case named in the title.
- Cons: Weight and dimensions are not stated.
Skip if: You want a fixed meter that stays in a project.
ANENG multimeter on Amazon (affiliate link)
AstroAI Digital Multimeter, 2000 Counts
What it is: A blue, compact, battery-powered multimeter. The title lists DC and AC voltage, current, resistance, continuity and diode. Weight is 0.15 kg.
Who it suits: A buyer who wants one hand-held tool for several jobs, with DC voltage as one of them.
- Pros: Reads DC and AC voltage. Several other functions.
- Cons: No DC range is quoted in the fields shown.
Skip if: You need a stated DC range up front.
AstroAI multimeter on Amazon (affiliate link)
LJPXHHU Digital Multimeter, 2000 Counts
What it is: An orange and black, battery-powered multimeter with leads. The title lists continuity, ohm, volt, amp and diode readings, and DC and AC current. Weight is 166 g.
Who it suits: A buyer who wants a light multimeter that also reads DC voltage.
- Pros: Light. Leads named in the title.
- Cons: No DC voltage range is quoted in the fields shown.
Skip if: You need a stated DC range up front.
LJPXHHU multimeter on Amazon (affiliate link)
Buying checklist
- Write down the highest DC voltage you expect and check the stated range covers it.
- Check the lower limit too, since the CrocSee and bayite both start at 5V.
- Decide between a fixed panel meter and a hand-held multimeter.
- Check size on the product page where dimensions are not stated.
- Read the exact variant page for power source, color and weight.
- Set the range above the expected reading before you connect.
FAQ
What does a DC volt meter measure?
It measures direct-current voltage, the kind found in batteries, solar setups and vehicle systems.
Which listing is for 12V, 24V and 36V batteries?
The RataKoapa gauge is named for 12 volt, 24 volt and 36 volt systems. No maximum voltage is quoted.
Which meter also reads current?
The bayite reads DC 5-100V and 100A with a Hall effect current sensor. The multimeters list amp readings in their titles.
Which multimeter states a DC voltage range?
The ANENG states 200mV to 600V. The AstroAI and LJPXHHU do not state a DC range in the fields shown.
What does 2Pack mean for the CrocSee?
The title says 2Pack, so it appears to be a pack of two meters. Check the product page to confirm the pack contents.
Closing note
For a permanent display, choose a panel meter whose range matches your system. For occasional checks, pick a multimeter with a stated DC range. Related guides: Best Digital Volt Meter, Best Volt Meter Display and Best Panel Volt Meter. For safety ratings, see the measurement category overview.