Six insulated hot-stick voltage detectors are arranged on a safety workbench.

Voltage Detectors Compared: 8 Listings for Low and High Voltage

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A voltage detector is the first check before any live work, and the listings in this group split into two kinds: high-voltage detectors meant for lines and hot sticks, and low-voltage non-contact pens for outlets, switches and breakers. This comparison covers eight listings and marks which ones state a hot stick connection.

The research listings were checked on 2026-10-11, and the store pen was taken from the same set. Where a listing gives a range that differs from its own title, both values are shown.

Quick answer

For a hot stick or line work, the two listings with a stated high-voltage range are the Amprobe TIC 300 PRO, which lists up to 122 kV, and the Triplett HVD132, which lists up to 132 kV and says it mounts on a hot stick. Hot stick is not included with the Triplett. For household outlets, breakers and wiring, the pen-style testers cover 12 volts to 1000 volts and are the practical choice.

Side-by-side listing data

Listing Stated range Power Hot stick Warranty or rating
Amprobe TIC 300 PRO 30 VAC to 122 kV Battery Not mentioned MSHA certified
Triplett HVD132 50 V to 1.5 kV low, 1.5 kV to 132 kV high 9V battery included Mountable, stick not included Carrying case
Telco Sales FVD Not stated Battery Not mentioned ETL, FCC
Westinghouse pen 12 V to 1000 V AC Battery Title only CAT IV 1000V, UL, CSA, IP67
VENLAB VD-200 12 V to 1000 V, low 48 V to 1000 V Two AAA Not mentioned 3 years warranty
Klein NCVT7 12 to 1000 V AC Battery Not mentioned See manufacturer
Neoteck PM8908C 12 to 1000 V AC Two AAA Not mentioned 18 months, CE
SNAKOL SK-C01A (store) 12 V minimum, 1000 V maximum Two AAA Not mentioned Not stated

Amprobe TIC 300 PRO high voltage detector

The Amprobe listing is built for high voltage. The bullets describe non-contact detection from 30 VAC to 122,000 VAC, with a high setting of 1500 to 122 kV for transmission lines and a low setting of 30 to 1500 VAC for breaker panels and outlets. Visual and audible indication and a self-test are both listed.

The listing names a weight of 16 ounces and dimensions of 16 by 7.1 by 4.2 inches. It does not mention a hot stick, so a buyer who plans to mount it should confirm the mounting method with the manufacturer’s page before use.

View Amprobe TIC 300 PRO on Amazon

Triplett HVD132 non-contact dual range detector

The Triplett listing has a stated high range of 1.5 kV to 132 kV and a low range of 50 V to 1.5 kV. The bullets say it detects live high AC cables and low AC above 50 volts in cables, outlets and breakers, and that its alarms become continuous at the source. It also includes a circuit test function that checks the tester before a reading.

The bullets say the unit is hot-stick mountable for high-voltage use and that the stick is not included. The listing includes a 9V battery and a carrying case, and gives dimensions of 14.5 by 4.25 by 9.25 inches.

View Triplett HVD132 on Amazon

Telco Sales FVD foreign voltage detector

This listing has no bullets, so its facts come only from the specs. It is a battery-powered red detector with a stated compatibility line about visual and audible alerts, and it lists ETL and FCC as specifications met. The title gives the seller as Telco Sales, while the brand field reads JUSTSWAG, and the model number matches the UPC number.

Because the listing gives no voltage range, it cannot be placed on the high or low comparison, and buyers should read the product page before treating it as a rated tool.

View Telco Sales FVD on Amazon

Westinghouse non-contact pen with flashlight

The Westinghouse pen lists a dual range of 12 to 1000 volts AC and a CAT IV 1000V safety rating. The bullets divide the range into low, 12 to 100 volts, and high, 100 to 1000 volts. It adds an IP67 rating, a 6.5 foot drop rating, a red LED and beeper, and automatic power off after five minutes.

The title includes the words Hot Stick, but no bullet describes a hot stick mount, so the title should not be read as a hot stick claim. The listing gives a two-year warranty and a 24/7 customer service line in the bullets, and its model field repeats the UPC number.

View Westinghouse pen on Amazon

VENLAB VD-200 voltage tester

The VENLAB listing sets two sensitivity modes. High detects 12 to 1000 volts and low detects 48 to 1000 volts, with the mode switched by a button. The bullets describe a red tip and fast beeping for high voltage, and a yellow light with slow beeping for low voltage.

It includes a built-in flashlight, a red pointing light and two AAA batteries, and the listing offers three years of warranty plus lifetime technical support. The specs show a weight of 0.05 kg and a specification met line that says only beep, so no safety category is stated.

View VENLAB VD-200 on Amazon

Klein Tools NCVT7 non-contact tester

The Klein NCVT7 detects 12 to 1000 volts AC and shows signal strength on an LCD bar graph. The bullets say the audible alert speeds up with the bars, and that a three-color LED tip shows blue for low signal, red for high and green when no voltage is detected.

The listing weighs 1.6 ounces and measures 5.7 by 1.14 by 0.93 inches. Its warranty line only says to see the manufacturer’s website, so the warranty terms must be read on that page.

View Klein Tools NCVT7 on Amazon

Neoteck PM8908C non-contact detector

The Neoteck pen covers 12 to 1000 volts AC, and its bullets describe separate alarm sounds and an LED for live and null wires. The listing includes a flashlight, a pocket clip and two AAA batteries, and its weight is 65 grams.

The bullets add a CE CAT III 600V rating, but the specs list only CE as the specification met. The listing also warns that it is not suitable for testing Christmas lights, which is a useful limit for household buyers.

View Neoteck PM8908C on Amazon

SNAKOL SK-C01A pen tester (store)

The SNAKOL store listing is a pen with a laser position marker and a buzzer. Its specs give a 12 volt AC minimum and a 1000 volt maximum, and its weight is 40.3 grams. The bullets describe a one-click check of live and neutral wires and a flashing light with a buzzer.

It has no hot stick mount and no safety category in the listing, so it sits with the low-voltage pens in this comparison.

View SNAKOL SK-C01A on Amazon

How we chose these listings

All seven research listings are included because they were gathered for this keyword. The SNAKOL pen from the store listings was added because it names the same voltage check. A wire stripper with a built-in tester was left out because it is a multi-tool rather than a detector. The title names voltage detectors and their count, since only two listings state a hot stick connection.

Worked example: a 120 kV reading on the high range

Take a reading of 120 kV on a line. The Amprobe high range runs up to 122 kV, so the reading sits inside its stated top limit, with 2 kV to spare. The Triplett high range runs up to 132 kV, so the same reading sits inside it with 12 kV to spare.

The gap at the top end is 10 kV between the two listings. For a reading near 122 kV, only the Triplett has range left above it, and whether that matters depends on whether the job already calls for a hot stick.

What the listings do not say

None of the listings reports an independent accuracy test. Several listings name a standard, such as MSHA, UL, CSA, CE or ETL, while the Klein and VENLAB listings name none. Hot stick use is stated only for the Triplett, so the other listings should not be mounted on a hot stick without a manufacturer’s statement.

Frequently asked questions

Which listings say they mount on a hot stick?

Only the Triplett HVD132 states it is hot-stick mountable, and it notes the stick is not included. The Westinghouse title uses the words Hot Stick, but its bullets do not describe a mount.

What is the lowest voltage any pen in this group detects?

The VENLAB high setting and the Klein, Neoteck, Westinghouse and SNAKOL listings state 12 volts AC as the lower limit. The VENLAB low setting starts at 48 volts.

Does the Telco Sales detector list a voltage range?

No. Its listing has no bullets and no voltage range, only a compatibility line and specs for ETL and FCC.

Which listing has the longest stated warranty?

The VENLAB listing gives three years of warranty and lifetime technical support. The Westinghouse listing gives two years. The Neoteck listing gives 18 months, and the Klein listing points to the manufacturer’s website.

Conclusion

For line work, the Triplett and Amprobe listings give the high ranges that matter, and only the Triplett states a hot stick mount. For outlets, breakers and wiring, the pen-style testers cover the same 12 to 1000 volt band in a pocket-sized body. Confirm the mounting method, safety category and warranty on each product page before buying.

For more on picking a detector for a specific job, read the guide to AC voltage detectors, the review of foreign voltage detectors and the walkthrough for non-contact voltage detectors.

Similar Posts