UNI-T Multimeter Lineup: 12 Records Sorted by Stated Function
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
A search for uni-t multimeter usually comes from a buyer who has seen the brand in a long list of similar meters and wants to know what each model actually does. The research file for this keyword holds twelve UNI-T records, and every one of them is an electrical test meter or tester. They range from a pocket clamp meter and general multimeters to a three-phase rotation tester, an insulation tester, a micro-ohmmeter and an earth ground clamp. This guide sorts the twelve by what each listing states, flags where a title and its bullets disagree, and says plainly what we could not check.
Quick answer
- Seven of the twelve records state a CAT category in their bullets or specification fields. The other five state none, so confirm those before a job.
- For general DC voltage and current, the UT161E, UT133A and UT139C are the three multimeters whose bullets give ranges. The UT161E states 22,000 counts, against 6,000 counts for the UT133A and UT139C.
- For clamp current, the UT210e, UT210E mini and UT210D read AC and DC current through the jaw. The UT273+ is aimed at earth grounding checks instead.
- No UNI-T manual was among the documents we opened, so every UNI-T figure in this guide comes from its listing bullets or specification fields.
What the twelve UNI-T records state
The table uses the measurement type in the specification block and any category figure from either the specification block or the bullets. A blank cell means neither place gives the item.
| Record | Measurement type (specification field) | Category or safety figure |
|---|---|---|
| UT210e clamp meter | Multimeter, Ohmmeter, Voltmeter | CAT II 600 V and CAT III 300 V (specification field) |
| UT161E digital multimeter | Multimeter, Voltmeter | CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V (specification field) |
| UT261A phase rotation tester | Voltmeter | CAT II 1000V and CAT III 600V (specification field) |
| UT133A digital multimeter | Multimeter | IEC CAT III 600 V (bullets) |
| UT18D voltage and continuity tester | Multimeter (conflicts with bullets) | CAT III 690V and CAT IV 600V (specification field and bullets) |
| UT210E mini clamp meter | Multimeter, Ammeter | None; specification field reads UL |
| UT501A megohmmeter | Voltmeter | None; specification field reads CE and RoHS |
| UT25A breaker finder kit | Voltmeter | None |
| UT210D mini clamp meter | Not stated (specification fields empty) | CAT III 600 V (bullets) |
| UT139C digital multimeter | Multimeter | CAT III 600 V (bullets) |
| UT620C+ micro-ohmmeter | Not stated | None; specification field reads CE and RoHS |
| UT273+ earth ground clamp | Clamp Meter | None; specification field reads CE, ISO 9001 and RoHS |
Seven records give a category figure: the UT210e, UT161E, UT261A, UT133A, UT18D, UT210D and UT139C. The other five state no CAT figure in either place, and for those five the category is a question to answer from the product’s own documents before a job. This guide cannot fill that gap from the listings alone.
Multimeters: UT161E, UT133A and UT139C
UT161E
The UT161E is the highest-count meter in the group. Its bullets give 22,000 counts and state AC and DC voltage up to 1000 V. They also list resistance up to 220M, capacitance up to 220mF, frequency up to 220MHz and a duty-cycle range from 0.1% to 99.9%. Its specification block gives CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V, the highest category pair among the UNI-T multimeters in this file. The bullets add an audible and visible alarm for high voltage or current, a backlight, data hold and a USB cable for data transmission to a PC.
A short calculation puts the count figure in perspective. 22000 divided by 6000 is about 3.7, so the UT161E’s stated count is roughly 3.7 times the count of the UT133A and UT139C. A count figure describes how finely a display reads. It does not state accuracy, and the bullets give no accuracy figure for this meter.
UT133A
The UT133A is a 6000-count auto-ranging meter. Its bullets list AC voltage to 600 V, DC voltage to 600 V, AC current to 10 A and DC current to 10 A, plus resistance, capacitance, frequency and temperature. They say the meter is IEC safety rated CAT III 600 V, and they describe an overload alarm, a low-battery indicator and a non-contact voltage function. The bullets describe the target as automotive, repair and household electrical work.
The bullets give ranges for voltage and current, but they give no range for resistance, capacitance or frequency. A buyer who needs those figures will have to check the product’s own documents.
UT139C
The UT139C is a true-RMS digital multimeter with 6,000 counts. Its bullets state AC and DC voltage to 600 V maximum and AC and DC current to 10 A maximum, plus resistance, capacitance and frequency. The bullets name a CAT III 600 V safety rating, a non-contact voltage detection feature, auto and manual range switching, relative mode, MAX and MIN recording and data hold. The included accessories are a pair of test leads, a temperature probe, and paper and electronic manuals.
The UT139C and the UT133A both state 6,000 counts and a 600 V voltage maximum, so the two bullets overlap on the main figures. The UT139C adds the MAX and MIN recording and the temperature probe in its package. Those points are the difference a buyer should check against their own use.
Clamp and current meters: UT210e, UT210E mini, UT210D and UT273+
The UT210e is a true-RMS clamp meter with a range of AC and DC current. Its bullets give AC current ranges of 2.000 A at 1 mA resolution, 20.00 A at 10 mA and 100.00 A at 100 mA. They give DC voltage from 200.0 mV at 0.1 mV resolution up to 600 V at 1 V, and AC voltage from 2.000 V at 1 mV up to 600 V at 1 V. The bullets also cover continuity, capacitance and ohmmeter functions, and the specification block gives CAT II 600 V and CAT III 300 V. The title reads UT210e, while the specification model field reads UT210E22.
The UT210E mini is a smaller clamp with 100 A AC and DC current at 1 mA resolution, plus a multimeter function for voltage, resistance, capacitance and diode tests. Its bullets describe a non-contact electric field test and a VFC function that reduces the effect of high-frequency interference. Its specification block gives UL and no CAT figure, so the category is not stated for this record.
The UT210D is a compact clamp with an 18 mm jaw for cramped spaces such as circuit boards and control panels. Its title gives DC current from 0.1 mA to 100 A. Its bullets add peak hold for inrush or transient peaks, data hold, true RMS, voltage, resistance, capacitance, frequency and diode functions, and a non-contact voltage feature. The bullets give CAT III 600V. The specification fields are empty, so the measurement type rests on the bullets.
The UT273+ is an earth ground clamp rather than a current meter. Its bullets give an earth resistance range of 0 to 600 ohms, a current test of 0 to 20 A, and 55 mm by 32 mm jaws for grounding and busbars. It adds an alarm, data storage of 500 sets and USB transfer. The title calls the test leakage current, but the bullets describe the 0 to 20 A current test, so the bullets are the reliable statement here.
Specialty testers: UT261A, UT18D, UT25A, UT501A and UT620C+
The UT261A is a three-phase rotation and sequence tester with missing-phase indication and a 45 mm jaw opening. Its bullets also list continuity, diode and duty-cycle functions, and they give 1000 A AC current, 1000 V AC and DC voltage, and 600 A inrush current. The title gives a voltage span of 40 to 690 V, which does not match the 1000 V voltage figure in the bullets. The specification block shows Corded Electric as the power source, but the bullets describe a battery with low-battery indication. We follow the bullets for the voltage figure, and we flag the power-source field as an unresolved conflict.
The UT18D is a waterproof voltage and continuity tester. Its specification block gives CAT III 690V, CAT IV 600V and IP65, and its bullets repeat the CAT figures. Its bullets describe an LCD that shows voltage and frequency, a flashlight, beep and mute modes, and a low-battery prompt. Its measurement-type field reads Multimeter, but its included-components field and its bullets describe a voltage detector, so the record is best read as a voltage and continuity tester.
The UT25A is a breaker finder and tracker kit for circuits of 90 to 120 V AC. Its bullets describe a transmitter with a built-in GFCI outlet tester and an LED status panel on the transmitter. The bullets name 120V systems as the target and give no voltage range beyond that, and the specification block lists no category.
The UT501A is a megohmmeter, which the title describes as an insulation tester at 1000V. Its title gives insulation values up to 1000 megohms at 750 volts. The bullets do not repeat that test figure, but they name transformers, motors and cables as typical targets. They add a display up to 9999, an automatic backlight and an automatic shutdown after 10 minutes without operation. The specification block reads Voltmeter as the measurement type, which does not match an insulation tester.
The UT620C+ is a micro-ohmmeter for low resistance readings. Its bullets state a resistance range of 0.001 milliohm to 300.0 kilohm, a resolution of up to 1 microohm, accuracy of ±0.1% FS and a measurement current of at most 1 A. It stores 500 sets of data. Its model field reads YH-UT620C+, while the title reads UT620C+.
Where a title and its bullets disagree
When a title and its bullets disagree, this guide follows the bullets and says so.
- UT261A: the title gives 40 to 690 V, but the bullets state 1000 V AC and DC voltage. The power-source field reads Corded Electric, while the bullets describe battery operation.
- UT18D: the measurement-type field reads Multimeter, while the components field and the bullets describe a voltage detector.
- UT501A: the title gives a 1000 megohm insulation value at 750 V, which the bullets do not repeat. The measurement-type field reads Voltmeter for an insulation tester.
- UT273+: the title says leakage current, while the bullets describe a current test of 0 to 20 A.
- UT620C+: the model field reads YH-UT620C+, and the title reads UT620C+.
- UT210e: the specification model field reads UT210E22, and the title reads UT210e.
Choosing by job
- General DC voltage and current on a bench or in a vehicle: the UT161E, UT133A and UT139C. The UT161E is the one with the higher stated count and the CAT III 1000 V rating.
- Current through a clamp: the UT210e, UT210E mini and UT210D. The UT273+ is for earth grounding and leakage current checks, not general current.
- Three-phase rotation: the UT261A, with its stated missing-phase indication.
- A quick voltage and continuity check: the UT18D, which states a sealed IP65 rating.
- Breaker location on a 120 V circuit: the UT25A kit.
- Insulation resistance: the UT501A, with the 750 V test figure resting on the title.
- Very low resistance readings: the UT620C+.
Safety before measuring
OSHA’s electrical overview says the agency’s standards are “designed to protect employees exposed to dangers such as electric shock.” The federal rule on work practices says a “qualified person shall use test equipment to test the circuit elements and electrical parts” of equipment that employees will be exposed to, and that live parts “shall be deenergized before the employee works on or near them.” Those two statements are the regulatory frame for every record in this guide.
Purdue University’s 4-H voltage sheet describes voltage as something that “can be measured and is the difference between two points.” It warns that “Working with live electrical circuits can be very hazardous without proper tools and safeguards.” It adds that “the principles for taking measurements are the same” for DC battery circuits and AC house wiring.
The UNI-T category figures in this guide come from the listings. We did not open a UNI-T manual or product page, so we cannot confirm any category from a manufacturer document. Before a job, check the category on the meter itself or in its instruction sheet, and use the stricter figure where the bullets and the specification block disagree.
Where to go next
For a non-contact voltage check, the Fluke voltage detector roundup covers Fluke voltage detectors. The Klein non-contact voltage detector roundup covers Klein non-contact voltage detectors. Both are separate buying questions from the multimeter and clamp choices in this guide.
How we chose
Every record in the UNI-T research file went through the same product-type test: a multimeter, clamp meter, voltage or continuity tester, or another electrical test meter. All twelve passed, so none was dropped. The UT25A and UT501A are kits or specialty meters, and both still count as electrical test meters under the same test.
For each record we read the bullets and the specification block, and we recorded each function and category figure against the place it came from. Where a title and a bullet disagree, we follow the bullets. We did not use price, rating or sales data, because the research file does not store them, and we did not use any retailer or third-party page as a source for a UNI-T figure.
What we could not verify
- No UNI-T manual or UNI-T product page was among the documents we opened. Every UNI-T figure here comes from the listing bullets and specification fields.
- The UT261A voltage ceiling is unclear, because the title gives 40 to 690 V and the bullets give 1000 V.
- The UT501A test voltage of 750 V appears in the title only.
- The UT210D, UT18D, UT261A and UT501A have empty or conflicting specification fields, so their measurement type cannot be confirmed from the record alone.
- Accuracy is stated for the UT620C+ only, at ±0.1% FS. The set cannot be compared on accuracy across the other records.
- The UT273+ leakage-current claim in its title is not supported beyond the 0 to 20 A current test in its bullets.
- Battery life, weight and warranty terms appear unevenly, so this guide does not compare them.
1. UNI-T UT210e Digital Clamp Meter Multimeter (True-RMS mini clamp meter with AC and DC current ranges)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Measurement Type: Multimeter, Ohmmeter, Voltmeter
- Specification Met: Cat Ii 600 V, Cat Iii 300 V, Ce Marked
- Model: UT210E22
Pros
- Bullets give AC current ranges to 100.00 A with stated resolution steps.
- Bullets give DC voltage up to 600 V and AC voltage up to 600 V.
Cons
- The title says UT210e, but the specification model field reads UT210E22.
- Bullets say CAT III is 300 V, so the meter is not rated for CAT III 600 V work.
Best for: Technicians who need a pocket clamp with AC and DC current and voltage.
Skip if: Skip it if you need a CAT III 600V rating, since the listing gives CAT III 300 V.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. UNI-T UT161E Digital Multimeter Tester Multi Testers (22,000-count true-RMS multimeter with USB data output)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Measurement Type: Multimeter, Voltmeter
- Specification Met: Ce/Rohs/Cetlus, Cat Iii 1000v/Cat Iv 600v
- Included Components: UT161E, test leads, USB cable, PSD screwdriver, manual, software, iDMM
Pros
- Bullets give 22,000 counts and CAT III 1000 V with CAT IV 600 V.
- Bullets list resistance up to 220M, capacitance up to 220mF and frequency up to 220MHz.
Cons
- Bullets mention USB data transmission to a PC but name no software version.
- Bullets describe the NCV feature as a voltage meter option, with no detection range.
Best for: Electricians and home users who want high-count readings and data output from one meter.
Skip if: Skip it if you need a clamp, since this record is a multimeter with test leads.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. UNI-T AC 3-Phase Rotation Meter Sequence Tester 40-690V (Three-phase rotation and sequence tester with missing-phase indication)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Measurement Type: Voltmeter
- Specification Met: Cat Ii 1000v/Cat Iii 600v
- Power Source: Corded Electric
Pros
- Bullets say it indicates three-phase rotation and missing phase.
- Bullets list 1000 A AC current and 600 A inrush current measurement.
Cons
- The title gives 40 to 690 V, but the bullets state 1000V AC and DC voltage.
- The power-source field reads Corded Electric, though the bullets describe battery operation.
Best for: Electricians checking three-phase rotation on a supply.
Skip if: Skip it if you need the voltage span printed in the title, since the title and bullets disagree.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. UNI-T Digital Multimeter Tester UT133A, AC DC Voltage Current Dmm Multimeter 6000 Counts Auto (6000-count auto-ranging multimeter with NCV and temperature)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Measurement Type: Multimeter
- Specification Met: Iec
- Model: UT133A
Pros
- Bullets state AC and DC volts to 600 V and AC and DC amps to 10 A.
- Bullets say IEC CAT III 600 V and describe an overload alarm and low-battery indicator.
Cons
- Bullets give no accuracy figure for any function.
- Bullets list resistance, capacitance and frequency without ranges.
Best for: Home users and automotive technicians who need volts, amps and resistance from one meter.
Skip if: Skip it if you need a verified accuracy figure, since none is in the listing.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. UNI-T Waterproof Voltage Tester AC/DC 6-690V Continuity Tester Pro (Waterproof voltage and continuity tester with LCD and flashlight)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Measurement Type: Multimeter
- Specification Met: Cat Iii 690v, Cat Iv 600v, Ip65
- Included Components: Voltage Detector
Pros
- Bullets state CAT III 690V and CAT IV 600V with double insulation.
- Bullets say the LCD shows voltage and frequency and includes a flashlight.
Cons
- The measurement-type field reads Multimeter, while the components field and bullets describe a voltage detector.
- The title gives a 6V to 690V span that the bullets do not restate.
Best for: Electricians who want a sealed (IP65) voltage and continuity tester.
Skip if: Skip it if you need current or resistance readings, since the bullets stress voltage and continuity.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. UNI-T UT210E Mini Digital Clamp Meter 100A AC DC Current Voltage True RMS Pliers Ammeter (Mini clamp multimeter with mA-resolution current and NCV)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Measurement Type: Multimeter, Ammeter
- Specification Met: UL
- Item Weight: 170 g
Pros
- Bullets state 1 mA resolution on the 100 A current range.
- Bullets say it reads capacitance, diode and resistance in addition to voltage.
Cons
- The specification block gives UL and no CAT figure.
- Bullets say the VFC function reduces high-frequency interference but state no ranges.
Best for: Users who need a pocket clamp for small AC and DC currents.
Skip if: Skip it if you need a CAT rating before you buy, since neither field gives one.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
7. UNI-T UT501A Megohmmeter, Insulation Tester 1000v, Will Accurately Measure Insulation Values up (1000V megohmmeter insulation tester with large LED display)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Measurement Type: Voltmeter
- Specification Met: CE, RoHS
- Power Source: Electricity,battery Powered
Pros
- The title states insulation values up to 1000 megohms at 750 volts.
- Bullets describe a display up to 9999 and an automatic shutdown after 10 minutes.
Cons
- The bullets do not repeat the 750 V test figure from the title.
- The measurement-type field reads Voltmeter, which does not match an insulation tester.
Best for: Electricians testing insulation of transformers, motors and cables.
Skip if: Skip it if you need a voltage or current reading, because this record is an insulation tester.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
8. UNI-T UT25A Digital AC Circuit Breaker Finder and Tracker Kit with Electrical Integrated GFCI (Circuit breaker finder kit with built-in GFCI outlet tester)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Measurement Type: Voltmeter
- Model: UT25A For AC 90-120V
- Item Dimensions: 4.9 x 2 x 7.9 inches
Pros
- Bullets say it works on 90 to 120 V AC circuits with 50/60 Hz breaker systems.
- Bullets say the transmitter has a built-in GFCI outlet tester.
Cons
- Bullets set the tool for 120V systems, so it does not cover higher-voltage breakers.
- The specification fields list no category or safety rating.
Best for: Homeowners locating a breaker for a 120 V circuit.
Skip if: Skip it if the system is outside 90 to 120 V AC, since the bullets name only that range.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
9. UNI-T UT210D Mini Clamp Meter, AC/DC Current Tester with Peak Hold & Data Hold, Measures DC Current (Mini clamp meter with peak hold and 18 mm jaw)
Pros
- Bullets describe an 18 mm jaw for cramped spaces such as circuit boards.
- Bullets state DC current from 0.1 mA to 100 A and a peak hold for inrush.
Cons
- Bullets state CAT III 600V, but the specification fields are empty.
- Bullets name a K-type temperature probe but no accuracy figure.
Best for: Technicians measuring small DC currents in tight spaces.
Skip if: Skip it if you need AC current ranges stated in the specification fields, since none are filled in.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
10. UNI-T UT139C Digital Multimeter Tester (6000-count true-RMS multimeter with auto and manual ranging)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Measurement Type: Multimeter
- Style: Digital
- Model: UT139C
Pros
- Bullets give 6000 counts with voltage to 600 V and current to 10 A maximum.
- Bullets state CAT III 600 V with NCV detection, MAX and MIN recording and data hold.
Cons
- Bullets mention automotive battery and alternator checks, but give no ranges for them.
- The specification fields include no Specification Met entry.
Best for: Home users who want a basic true-RMS multimeter with a temperature probe.
Skip if: Skip it if you need a clamp, since this is a meter with test leads.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
11. UNI-T Uni-Trend UNI-T UT620C+ Micro Ohmmeter DC Low Resistance Tester 0.001mΩ~300.0kΩ Auto & Manual (Micro-ohmmeter for low resistance measurements)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Model: YH-UT620C+
- Specification Met: CE, RoHS
- Item Weight: 1 kg
Pros
- Bullets state a resistance range from 0.001 milliohm to 300.0 kilohm.
- Bullets give accuracy of ±0.1% FS and storage for 500 sets of data.
Cons
- The model field reads YH-UT620C+, while the title reads UT620C+.
- The bullets give a measurement current of at most 1 A and no voltage ceiling.
Best for: Technicians measuring very low resistance readings.
Skip if: Skip it if you need voltage or AC current readings, since the bullets cover resistance only.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
12. UNI-T UT273+ Digital Clamp Earth Ground Tester Resistance Meter Leakage Current Auto Range Data (Earth ground clamp tester with 55 mm jaws and data storage)
Specs from the listing (checked ):
- Measurement Type: Clamp Meter
- Specification Met: CE, ISO 9001, RoHS
- Included Components: AA alkaline 4pcs, USB cable(data transmission), tool box, User manual, calibration loop
Pros
- Bullets describe earth resistance from 0 to 600 ohms and 55 mm by 32 mm jaws.
- Bullets state an alarm function and storage for 500 sets of data.
Cons
- The title says leakage current, but the bullets give a current test of 0 to 20 A.
- The specification field gives CE, ISO 9001 and RoHS, with no CAT figure.
Best for: Electricians checking earth grounding and busbars.
Skip if: Skip it if you need a leakage current reading, since the bullets give a 0 to 20 A current test instead.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
FAQ
Which UNI-T records state a CAT III 600 V rating?
The UT133A, UT139C and UT210D state CAT III 600 V in their bullets. The UT18D states CAT III 690V and CAT IV 600V in its specification field and bullets. The UT261A states CAT III 600V in its specification field, alongside its CAT II 1000V rating.
Is the UT161E a higher-rated meter than the UT133A?
The listings differ on rating and count. The UT161E states CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V, with 22,000 counts. The UT133A states CAT III 600 V with 6,000 counts. Choose by the category and the functions you need, not by the count alone.
Can the UT210e read AC and DC current?
Yes. Its bullets give AC and DC current ranges through the clamp, with resolution steps from 1 mA up to 100 mA depending on the range.
Does the UT261A cover 40 to 690 volts?
The title says so, but the bullets state 1000 V AC and DC voltage. Treat the voltage ceiling as unconfirmed until the product’s own documents settle it.
Is the UT501A an insulation tester?
Yes. It is a megohmmeter, and its title gives insulation values up to 1000 megohms at 750 volts. The bullets name transformers, motors and cables as typical targets but do not repeat the 750 V figure.
Can the UT620C+ measure AC current?
No. Its bullets describe a micro-ohmmeter with a resistance range and a measurement current of at most 1 A. It is for low resistance readings, not AC current.
Bottom line
For a UNI-T multimeter whose bullets state DC voltage and current ranges, the UT133A and UT139C are the records to compare. For a stated CAT III 1000 V rating and the highest count in the set, check the UT161E. Confirm the category on the meter itself before a job, because no UNI-T manual was available to this guide.
Sources
- Electrical (OSHA overview): OSHA’s statement that its electrical standards protect workers from electric shock.
- 29 CFR 1910.333, Selection and use of work practices (OSHA): qualified-person test wording and the deenergizing rule.
- Voltage Meter Basics (Purdue University Cooperative Extension, 4-H project sheet, PDF): voltage as the difference between two points, and the hazard of live circuits.