Fluke multimeter

Fluke Multimeter Lineup: 7 Meters Compared by Stated Function

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

A search for fluke multimeter usually comes from someone who already trusts the brand and wants to know which model fits the job. The research file for this keyword holds twelve Fluke records, but only seven of them are electrical test meters in their own listing. The other five are a carrying case, a network cable test kit, a tone and probe kit, a high-voltage probe and a current clamp that needs a separate meter. This guide covers the seven meters, explains what each listing states, shows where the bullets are silent, and sets out which safety lines from the documents we opened apply before any measurement.

Quick answer

  • Three of the seven are digital multimeters: the 17B+, the 117 and the 15B+. The 902 FC is a wireless HVAC clamp, the 1507 is an insulation tester, and the 771 and 773 are milliamp loop clamps.
  • Three records state CAT III 600V. The 17B+ and 15B+ say so in their bullets, and the 117 carries it on Fluke’s own product page, because its listing bullets give no category.
  • A stated voltage range is not a category. The 17B+ and 15B+ both give AC and DC ranges of 1000V, yet their safety rating is CAT III 600V.
  • The 771 and 773 measure milliamp loop signals. Neither listing states a voltage function, so neither is a general multimeter.

What the seven Fluke records state

The table uses the measurement type in the specification block where one exists, the functions named in the bullets, and any category figure from the specification block, the bullets or Fluke’s product page. A blank cell means none of those places gives it.

Record What the listing states it measures Category or safety figure
902 FC HVAC true-RMS clamp Current, voltage and resistance (specification field); 200 microamp DC current; thermistor resistance up to 60 kiloohms Not stated
17B+ digital multimeter Multimeter (specification field); AC and DC voltage and current up to 1000V and 10A; resistance, continuity, capacitance CAT III 600V (bullets and specification field)
117 digital multimeter Multimeter (specification field); DC millivolts 600.0 mV at 0.1 mV; AutoVolt AC and DC selection CAT III 600 V on Fluke’s product page; none in the bullets
15B+ digital multimeter Voltage, resistance, continuity and capacitance; AC and DC voltage up to 1000V; current up to 10A CAT III 600V (bullets); specification fields are empty
1507 insulation tester Ohmmeter (specification field); insulation testing with a remote probe EN 61010-1 (specification field); no CAT figure
771 milliamp process clamp Ammeter (specification field); 4 to 20 mA loop signals; 0.01 mA resolution Not stated
773 milliamp clamp-meter Milliamp loop measurement (bullets); specification fields are empty Not stated

Two of the seven records, the 771 and 773, state 0.2 percent accuracy. The other five give no accuracy figure in their bullets, so this guide does not compare accuracy across the whole set.

Digital multimeters: 17B+, 117 and 15B+

17B+

The 17B+ is the most fully specified meter of the three. Its specification block reads Multimeter as the measurement type and gives Cat III 600v as the safety figure. The bullets repeat that CAT III 600V safety rating, tie it to electrical systems in residential, commercial and industrial settings, and list AC and DC voltage and current up to 1000V and 10A. They add resistance, continuity and capacitance, a diode test, and temperature readings up to 400 C with the included type K thermocouple.

The 1000V figure is the top of the voltage measurement range, not the category. A reader who sees 1000V on the box and reads it as a safety rating will be wrong on the listing’s own terms, because the bullets tie the safety rating to 600V.

117

The 117 has a split record. Its listing bullets describe a non-contact voltage detection feature called VoltAlert, an AutoVolt setting, and a DC millivolt range. They give the DC millivolt range as 600.0 mV with 0.1 mV resolution, and state a low input impedance that helps prevent false readings from ghost voltage. They also give a battery life of 400 hours typical without the backlight, and an operating temperature of -10 C to +50 C.

The 117 carries no category in its bullets. Fluke’s own product page describes it as “a compact, CAT III 600 V, True-rms meter,” and it adds that “automatic selection of AC or DC voltage, depending on what was detected” is part of the design. It also says the meter “offers non-contact voltage detection and has a selectable low-impedance mode.” The page is the source of the category figure, and that is why this guide cites it separately from the listing.

A short calculation shows how the 117’s millivolt range reads. The 600.0 mV range has a 0.1 mV resolution, so 600.0 divided by 0.1 is 6000 steps. That is the number of readable steps across the range, not a statement about accuracy, which the listing does not state.

15B+

The 15B+ is a digital multimeter whose specification fields are empty. Its bullets carry the figures a buyer needs: a CAT III 600V safety rating, AC and DC voltage up to 1000V, current up to 10A, and a dedicated input terminal for current up to 10A. It measures voltage, resistance, continuity and capacitance on one display. Because the record has no model field or measurement-type field to check, the bullets are the only place to read its functions.

The 15B+ and the 17B+ overlap in function. The difference the bullets show is in the current input: the 15B+ names a dedicated 10A terminal, while the 17B+ bullets name current up to 10A without describing a separate input. A reader comparing the two should check that point on the box or in the manual, because the listing does not settle it.

Insulation and HVAC: 1507 and 902 FC

1507 insulation tester

The 1507 is an insulation tester, not a multimeter. Its specification block reads Ohmmeter, and its style is insulation tester. The title lists test voltages of 50V, 100V, 250V, 500V and 1000V, but the bullets do not repeat that list, so the title is the only place the test voltages appear in the record. The bullets say a live-circuit check blocks the insulation test when more than 30 volts is present, which protects the user from testing a circuit that is already energized. The bullets also describe a remote test probe for hard-to-reach test points, a large backlit display, and a New NIST-Traceable calibration certificate.

The specification block gives EN 61010-1 as the standard it meets, but it gives no CAT figure. For a category, a buyer should check the instruction sheet that comes with the unit.

902 FC HVAC clamp

The 902 FC is a wireless HVAC clamp whose specification block reads current, voltage and resistance. Its bullets state 200 microamp DC current measurements for checking a flame rod, and an extended resistance range that reads thermistors up to 60 kiloohms. They add flue gas temperature capture, true-RMS voltage and current for non-linear signals, and Fluke Connect wireless to a phone through Bluetooth. The bullets name no CAT rating and no voltage range, so the category question is open for this record.

Milliamp loop clamps: 771 and 773

The 771 is a milliamp process clamp meter. Its specification block reads Ammeter, and its bullets describe measuring 4 to 20 mA signals without breaking the loop. It states 0.01 mA resolution and 0.2 percent accuracy, and it adds a dual backlit display that shows both the milliamp reading and the percent of the 4 to 20 mA span. The bullets name PLC and control-system analog I/O as the target use.

The 773 is the advanced version of the same idea. Its bullets state 4 to 20 mA measurement without breaking the loop, a compact clamp for PLC and control systems, a detachable clamp with an extension cable for tight locations, and a built-in spot light for dark enclosures. It also gives 0.2 percent accuracy. Its specification fields are empty, so the measurement type rests on the bullets alone.

Both records are the clamp-style tools in this group that stay within a loop-signal function. Neither listing states a voltage or resistance function. A technician who needs voltage on the same job will need a second meter.

Records left out of the list

Five of the twelve Fluke records are not meters in their own listings, so this guide does not include them. The carrying case is an accessory for several Fluke models. The LinkIQ kit is a network cable tester, which is outside the electrical test-meter scope. The Pro3000 is a tone generator and probe kit that sends a tone along wires, and its bullets state no meter function. The 80K-6 is a high-voltage probe, which is an accessory to a meter. The i400s is a 400 amp AC current clamp-on probe with a BNC connector. Its bullets are general marketing lines and state no reading, range or display, so this guide does not treat it as a meter.

These exclusions are about the listing, not about the quality of the products. A buyer who wants any of the five should check it against its own documents.

Where a title and its bullets disagree

When a title and its bullets disagree, this guide follows the bullets and says so.

  • 1507: the title gives test voltages of 50V, 100V, 250V, 500V and 1000V, and the bullets do not repeat them.
  • 15B+ and 773: the specification fields are empty, so the model and measurement type come from the title or the bullets only.
  • 17B+: the title gives a 1000V voltage range and the bullets tie the safety rating to 600V. The two numbers measure different things, and both are correct in their own place.
  • 117: the model field in the specification block reads 2583647, while the title and product page use the 117 name.

Safety and the basics the documents support

OSHA’s electrical overview says the agency’s standards are “designed to protect employees exposed to dangers such as electric shock.” The federal work practice rule for electrical work says a “qualified person shall use test equipment to test the circuit elements and electrical parts” of equipment that employees will be exposed to, and that live parts “shall be deenergized before the employee works on or near them.” Those lines frame the safety section of this guide.

Purdue University’s 4-H voltage sheet describes voltage as something that “can be measured and is the difference between two points.” It warns that “Working with live electrical circuits can be very hazardous without proper tools and safeguards.” It adds that “the principles for taking measurements are the same” for DC battery circuits and AC house wiring.

Fluke’s Model 88 V automotive manual is a different meter, not one of the seven records. It is cited here only for general wording. That manual states that “These voltages pose a shock hazard,” which is a general warning and not a claim about any listed Fluke meter. It also says “For in-circuit tests, turn circuit power off.” We do not add steps beyond these lines. For any listed Fluke meter, the category and the warnings come from that meter’s own page or sheet, and a buyer should read them before use.

Where to go next

If you are choosing a non-contact tester rather than a multimeter, the Fluke non-contact voltage tester roundup covers that tool class. For clamp tools in general, the Fluke clamp testers roundup covers the clamp side of the line. Both are separate buying questions from the multimeter choice in this guide.

How we chose

Every record in the Fluke research file went through the same product-type test: a multimeter, clamp meter, voltage or continuity tester, or another electrical test meter. Seven passed. The five that did not pass are listed above, and each was left out for a reason tied to its own listing.

For each passing record we read the bullets and the specification block, and we recorded each function and category figure against the place it came from. Where a category came from Fluke’s own product page, the text says so. The 88 V manual is used only for general wording and is never attached to a listed product. We did not use price, rating or sales data, because the research file does not store them.

What we could not verify

  • No Fluke manual for the 17B+, 15B+, 902 FC, 1507, 771 or 773 was among the documents we opened. The 117 product page and the 88 V manual are the only Fluke documents used.
  • The 117 category figure comes from Fluke’s product page, not from the listing bullets.
  • The 15B+ and 773 specification fields are empty, so their model and measurement fields cannot be checked against a second source.
  • The 1507’s test voltages appear in the title only.
  • The 902 FC, 771 and 773 state no category in their bullets, and this guide cannot supply one.
  • Accuracy is stated for two records only, the 771 and 773, so the set cannot be compared on accuracy.
  • The 88 V manual covers a different model, so its ranges and cautions are not claims about any of the seven listed meters.

1. Fluke 902 FC HVAC True-RMS Clamp Meter (Wireless HVAC clamp meter with true-RMS current and voltage)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Measurement Type: Current, voltage, and resistance
  • Included Components: 902 FC Clamp Meter, TL75 test leads, 80BK temp probe, and carrying case
  • Style: TRMS WIRELESS HVAC CLAMP

Pros

  • Bullets list 200 microamp DC current measurements for checking a flame rod.
  • Bullets say the extended resistance range reads thermistors up to 60 kiloohms.

Cons

  • Bullets name Fluke Connect wireless operation but give no CAT or safety rating.
  • Bullets state true-RMS voltage and current but give no voltage range.

Best for: HVAC technicians who need clamp current, flame-rod current and flue temperature in one meter.
Skip if: Skip it if you need a stated safety category, because the listing gives none.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. Fluke 17B+ Digital Multimeter, for Electrical Applications, Measures AC/DC Voltage 1000V, Current (Digital multimeter with CAT III 600V rating and 1000V AC and DC range)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Measurement Type: Multimeter
  • Specification Met: Cat Iii 600v
  • Included Components: 17B+ Digital Multimeter with TL75 Test Leads and K-Type Thermocouple Assembly

Pros

  • Bullets state a CAT III 600V safety rating, which the specification block also gives.
  • Bullets add a type K thermocouple for temperature readings up to 400 C.

Cons

  • The 1000V figure is a measurement range, and the bullets tie the safety rating to 600V.
  • Bullets give no accuracy figure for any function.

Best for: Electricians who want a CAT III 600V digital multimeter with a thermocouple included.
Skip if: Skip it if you need a rating above CAT III 600V, because the listing states none.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Fluke 117 Digital Multimeter, Non-Contact AC Voltage Detection, Measures (Compact true-RMS multimeter with non-contact AC detection and AutoVolt)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Measurement Type: Multimeter
  • Specification Met: Iec
  • Power Source: Alkaline

Pros

  • Bullets state a DC millivolt range of 600.0 mV at 0.1 mV resolution.
  • Fluke's product page calls it a compact CAT III 600 V true-RMS meter.

Cons

  • The listing bullets give no CAT figure, so the 600 V category comes from Fluke's page.
  • Bullets state a low input impedance but give no impedance value.

Best for: Electricians who want non-contact detection and automatic AC or DC voltage in one compact meter.
Skip if: Skip it if you need a clamp for current, because this record is a multimeter with test leads.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Fluke 15B+ Digital Multimeter, for Electrical Applications, Measures AC/DC Voltage and Current up (Digital multimeter with dedicated 10A current input)

Pros

  • Bullets describe a dedicated input terminal for current up to 10A.
  • Bullets list voltage, resistance, continuity and capacitance on one meter.

Cons

  • The specification fields are empty, so the model and measurement type cannot be checked from the record.
  • Bullets give no accuracy or resolution figures.

Best for: Electricians who want voltage, resistance, continuity and capacitance on one meter with a 10A current input.
Skip if: Skip it if you need the model number or measurement type confirmed from the record, since those fields are empty.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. Fluke 1507 Digital Megohmmeter Resistance Tester for Advanced Industrial and Electrical Testing (Digital megohmmeter insulation tester with remote probe)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Measurement Type: Ohmmeter
  • Specification Met: EN 61010-1
  • Power Source: Alkaline

Pros

  • Bullets say a live-circuit check blocks the insulation test when more than 30 volts is present.
  • Bullets describe a remote test probe for hard-to-reach test points.

Cons

  • The title lists 50V, 100V, 250V, 500V and 1000V test voltages, but the bullets do not repeat them.
  • The specification block gives EN 61010-1 and no CAT figure.

Best for: Electricians testing insulation resistance on equipment and cable runs.
Skip if: Skip it if you need a clamp or a voltage check, since this record is an insulation tester.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. Fluke 771 Milliamp Process Clamp Meter, Black/Yellow (Milliamp process clamp meter for 4 to 20 mA loops)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Measurement Type: Ammeter
  • Power Source: Alkaline
  • Item Weight: 300 g

Pros

  • Bullets say it measures 4 to 20 mA signals without breaking the loop.
  • Bullets state 0.01 mA resolution and 0.2 percent accuracy.

Cons

  • Bullets describe milliamp signals only, not voltage or resistance.
  • Bullets name a dual backlit display but give no CAT figure.

Best for: Technicians checking analog I/O on PLC and control systems.
Skip if: Skip it if you need voltage or resistance readings, because the listing covers milliamp signals only.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

7. Fluke 773 Advanced Milliamp Process Clamp-Meter (Advanced milliamp clamp meter with detachable clamp and spot light)

Pros

  • Bullets describe a detachable clamp with an extension cable for tight locations.
  • Bullets state a built-in spot light for dark enclosures.

Cons

  • Bullets give 0.2 percent accuracy but no resolution figure.
  • The record has no specification fields, so the measurement type rests on the bullets alone.

Best for: Technicians working in tight, dark control enclosures on loop wiring.
Skip if: Skip it if you need voltage readings, since the bullets name 4 to 20 mA loop measurement only.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

FAQ

Is the Fluke 117 a true-RMS meter?

Yes. Fluke’s product page describes the 117 as a true-RMS meter, and the listing bullets name true RMS in the same product family. The category figure of CAT III 600 V comes from the product page, not the bullets.

Why does the 17B+ show 1000V but a CAT III 600V rating?

The 1000V figure is a measurement range, while CAT III 600V is the safety category the listing ties to electrical systems. The two numbers answer different questions, and the bullets tie the safety rating to 600V.

Does the 771 or the 773 measure voltage?

Neither listing states a voltage function. Their bullets describe milliamp loop measurement, and the 771 adds a percent-of-span readout. A technician who needs voltage on the same job will need a separate meter.

Is the 1507 a multimeter?

No. The 1507 is an insulation tester, and its specification block reads Ohmmeter in the insulation tester style. It is designed for insulation testing with a remote probe, not for general voltage or current readings.

Can I use the 88 V manual for the 117 or the 17B+?

No. The 88 V manual covers a different Fluke model, with its own ranges and cautions. It is cited in this guide only for general wording. For any listed meter, use that meter’s own page or sheet.

Bottom line

For one meter that states CAT III 600V in its bullets and handles AC and DC voltage, current and resistance, the 17B+ or the 15B+ are the records to compare. For insulation work, the 1507 is a different instrument with its own test voltages. For 4 to 20 mA loops, the 771 and 773 are the records whose bullets say what they measure.

Sources

Similar Posts