Fluke Clamp Testers: Picks and Safe Use
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
A clamp tester reads current through its jaws, so you do not have to break the circuit. Shoppers who search for a Fluke clamp tester usually want that style of tool. None of the five models below is a Fluke. They are clamp meters from other brands, chosen because their listings describe the same kind of job.
Three things narrow the choice faster than any feature list: whether you need DC current as well as AC, how big a conductor must fit in the jaws, and whether the listing states a CAT rating. Work on mains circuits can kill, and panel or service work belongs to a licensed electrician.
Quick answer
For basic AC load checks at home, the AstroAI (2000 counts, CAT III 600V) or the ANENG (4000 counts, small body) is enough. For DC current on a car, RV or solar system, the FNIRSI DMC-100 lists AC/DC current up to 600A. The Proster also lists AC/DC current, but its 800A title figure and 28mm jaw wording need a careful look on the listing. The Klein CL120VP is a kit, for people who also want an outlet tester and a non-contact pen. Both the AstroAI and the ANENG say they cannot measure DC current.
Comparison table
| Model | Display | Current through jaws | Safety / standard stated | Size / weight stated | Power stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AstroAI clamp meter | 2000 counts, auto or manual range | AC 2A/20A/200A/400A; cannot test DC current | CAT III 600V | 195x68x29mm | 2 x AAA, included |
| Klein Tools CL120VP kit | Auto-ranging, counts not stated | AC current via clamp, range not stated | CE | 13.07 x 8.5 x 2.95 inches, 1.8 pounds (kit) | Batteries included in kit |
| FNIRSI DMC-100 | 9999 counts, 2 inch TFT | AC/DC up to 600A, TRMS | UL 61010-1, CE, RoHS (no CAT class stated) | 7.7 x 2.91 x 1.14 inches, 6.72 ounces | 1500mAh lithium, Type-C charging |
| ANENG ST181 | 4000 counts, backlit | AC 0A to 400A; DC current none | No CAT rating stated | 3.94 x 3.94 x 0.79 inches, 129g | 2 x 1.5V AAA |
| Proster PDM-6000NCV | 6000 counts, backlit LCD | 800A in title, 28mm jaw opening | UL 61010-1, IEC 61010-2-030 (no CAT class stated) | 7.28 x 2.56 x 1.26 inches | Battery powered |
The models, one by one
AstroAI 2000-count digital clamp meter
What it is: A 2000-count clamp meter with auto or manual range. The listing gives AC current through the jaws, plus AC/DC voltage, resistance, capacitance, diode and continuity.
Listing facts (checked 2026-10-10): CAT III 600V. AC current 2A/20A/200A/400A. DC voltage and AC voltage in four steps up to 600V. LCD 35 x 25mm, 3 readings per second, backlit. Included: test leads, a manual, a storage bag and 2 AAA batteries.
Who it suits: A homeowner or student who needs basic AC current and a stated CAT rating.
Pros
- CAT III 600V is stated
- Leads, bag, manual and batteries are included
Cons
- The listing says it cannot test DC current
- 2000 counts is basic resolution
Skip if: You need DC current or finer resolution.
View the AstroAI clamp meter on Amazon (affiliate link)
Klein Tools CL120VP voltage test kit with clamp meter
What it is: A kit, not a single meter. The listing says it includes a clamp meter, a GFCI receptacle tester (detects open ground and reverse polarity), a dual-range NCVT3P non-contact voltage tester, test leads, a pouch and batteries.
Listing facts (checked 2026-10-10): The clamp measures AC current, the NCVT3P tests non-contact voltage, and the leads measure AC/DC voltage, resistance and continuity. Auto-ranging, a test lead holder on the side, optional magnetic hanger. Specification met: CE. Kit size 13.07 x 8.5 x 2.95 inches, 1.8 pounds. Current range numbers and a CAT rating are not stated.
Who it suits: A homeowner who wants outlet, voltage and current checks in one pouch.
Pros
- Several testers in one kit
- Auto-ranging with a lead holder
Cons
- Bulky for a clamp meter
- No current ranges or CAT rating stated
Skip if: You want a compact single meter or need stated CAT and range numbers.
View the Klein CL120VP kit on Amazon (affiliate link)
FNIRSI DMC-100 TRMS clamp meter, 600A AC/DC
What it is: A 9999-count TRMS clamp meter. The listing gives AC/DC current up to 600A, plus voltage, resistance, capacitance, frequency and temperature.
Listing facts (checked 2026-10-10): 2 inch TFT color display with 10 brightness levels and dark and light themes. Built-in 1500mAh lithium battery, Type-C charging. Stores 8 sets of real-time data and 30 sets of historical records, with curve recording. Included: the clamp meter, 2 multimeter pens, a temperature probe and a Type-C cable. UL 61010-1, CE, RoHS. Voltage needs the test leads; the jaws are for current only.
Who it suits: Car, RV, solar and HVAC users who need DC current and graphing.
Pros
- Lists DC current as well as AC
- Data storage and curve display
Cons
- Rechargeable only, so keep it charged
- No CAT voltage class stated
Skip if: You want AAA power or a stated CAT II, III or IV class.
View the FNIRSI DMC-100 on Amazon (affiliate link)
ANENG 4000-count AC clamp meter
What it is: A small 4000-count clamp meter. The listing gives AC current up to 400A, AC and DC voltage up to 600V, resistance, capacitance, frequency, diode and NCV sensing. It says DC current: none.
Listing facts (checked 2026-10-10): Maximum wire diameter 1.42 inches. Weight 129g, 3.94 x 3.94 x 0.79 inches, 2 x AAA. Press REL to zero the meter before clamping. No CAT rating stated.
Who it suits: Light DIY and hobby AC checks where size matters.
Pros
- 4000 counts in a 129g body
- Wide jaw opening (1.42 inches)
Cons
- AC current only
- No CAT rating stated
Skip if: You need DC current or a stated CAT rating for mains.
View the ANENG clamp meter on Amazon (affiliate link)
Proster 6000-count TRMS clamp meter kit
What it is: A TRMS clamp meter kit, model PDM-6000NCV. The title says 6000 count and 800A. The bullets list AC/DC current and voltage, resistance, capacitance, frequency, temperature, diode, continuity and non-contact AC voltage.
Listing facts (checked 2026-10-10): 28mm jaw opening, continuity alert under 50Ω, K-type thermocouple from -40°C to 1000°C, frequency up to 10MHz, auto power-off after 15 minutes, 7.28 x 2.56 x 1.26 inches. Leads, alligator clips and a thermocouple are included. UL 61010-1 and IEC 61010-2-030; no CAT class stated.
Who it suits: A DIYer who wants TRMS plus temperature and frequency in one kit.
Pros
- Many functions and accessories
- Lists DC as well as AC
Cons
- The 800A title figure and the jaw wording need a careful check on the listing
- No CAT class stated
Skip if: You need one clearly matched current rating or a stated CAT class.
View the Proster clamp meter kit on Amazon (affiliate link)
Buying checklist
- Decide AC only or AC plus DC. If the listing says DC current none or cannot test DC current, treat it as AC only.
- Check jaw fit: the ANENG lists 1.42 inches and the Proster lists 28mm. Clamp one insulated conductor, not the whole cord.
- Read the CAT rating with the voltage. If none is stated, do not use the meter on household mains.
- Voltage, resistance and continuity need the test leads on most clamp meters. Check that leads are included.
- Choose power: AAA is easy to replace, Type-C charging needs discipline.
- Compare counts: 2000 for basics, 4000 or 6000 for finer steps, 9999 for graphing.
Related guides: Best Clamp on Ammeter, Best Digital Clamp Tester, Best Fluke Digital Tester, Best Clamp Voltage Tester, Best Fluke 378 Fc Clamp Meter, Best Fluke Outlet Tester and Best Fluke Non Contact Voltage Tester.
FAQ
Are any of these models made by Fluke?
No. People often add the Fluke name when they mean a clamp-on ammeter, where the jaw closes around a single wire to read current. These are other brands. Compare current type, jaw fit and CAT rating rather than the name.
Can a clamp tester replace a regular multimeter?
Often it adds to one rather than replacing it. The jaws read current without breaking the circuit, while the leads still handle voltage, resistance and continuity. If you only need outlet voltage and continuity, a compact multimeter may be simpler.
Why does my clamp read zero on a power cord?
You most likely clamped both conductors at once. Current flows out one wire and back the other, so the fields cancel. Clamp one insulated conductor only, centered in the jaws. If you cannot isolate one conductor safely, ask an electrician.
Can these models measure DC current in cars?
Only if the listing states DC current. The FNIRSI lists AC/DC current up to 600A and the Proster lists AC/DC current. The AstroAI and the ANENG do not. Follow the vehicle manual, handle batteries safely and stay away from airbag and high-voltage hybrid or EV circuits.
Do I need true RMS?
True RMS matters more on distorted waveforms such as dimmers and drives. The FNIRSI and the Proster state TRMS. The other listings here do not, so treat their AC readings on electronic loads as approximate.
What should I check on the listing before buying?
Check the current type and range, voltage ranges, counts, jaw opening, included leads and batteries, power source, size and the exact CAT rating. If any are missing, choose a model that states them.
Closing note
Decide by current type first, then jaw fit, then the safety rating. The AstroAI is the clearest AC-only choice with a CAT rating, the FNIRSI is the one to look at for DC and data logging, and the Klein kit suits people who also test outlets. When a task involves a panel or service wiring, call a licensed electrician.