Best Amper Clamp: 6 Meters for Current Checks

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

An amper clamp helps you measure current without cutting or disconnecting a wire. You open the jaw, close it around one conductor, and read amps on the display. This guide helps you decide which amper clamp fits home checks, car battery drain diagnosis, or higher-current appliance and HVAC work. It explains AC versus DC current, jaw size, display counts, and CAT ratings, then compares six clamp models using specs from the product listings. Work on mains circuits can kill. Match the CAT rating to the circuit, follow the instrument manual and local rules, and leave panel or service work to a licensed electrician.

Quick answer

If you want one general amper clamp for household current plus DC work, start with a model that lists both AC and DC current in its data. The FNIRSI listing states AC/DC current up to 600A with true RMS, 9999 Count, and a rechargeable battery. The Neoteck listing states 800A AC/DC current, 6000 counts, True-RMS, and Cat III 600v. For basic AC-only home checks, the AstroAI listing states AC Current 2A/20A/200A/400A and CAT.III 600V, while the Proster listing states 600A AC Current and a 28mm jaw. For small DC draws, the VIVANTECH listing states 1mA up to 60A with AC/DC recognition. For a simple AC-only compact tool, the Triplett listing states True RMS AC current measurements up to 300A and CAT III 300V safety rating. Choose AC/DC support if you check cars, solar DC, or battery systems. Choose AC-only only if you will never measure DC amps. Learn more in What Are Clamp Meters Used for and compare AC/DC types in Best Ac Dc Current Clamp Meter.

What matters for an amper clamp

An amper clamp is an electrical clamp meter, not a woodworking clamp. The jaw surrounds one current-carrying conductor and senses the magnetic field. Clamping both live and neutral together cancels the reading. This section explains the five points that change your choice.

1. AC current, DC current, or both

Clamp meters measure current without breaking the circuit, but many cannot measure small DC currents or any DC current. Check the listing before you buy.

The AstroAI listing states it can not test DC Current. Its AC Current ranges are 2A/20A/200A/400A. The Proster bullets describe 600A AC Current. The Triplett bullets describe True RMS AC current measurements up to 300A. Those three fit AC load checks such as lamps, heaters, fans, and many appliances.

The FNIRSI bullets state TRMS measurement for AC/DC current up to 600A. The Neoteck bullets state AC/DC Current up to 800A. The VIVANTECH bullets state both AC and DC currents from 1mA up to 60A. If you diagnose vehicle battery drain, RV DC systems, or other DC wiring, choose a model that explicitly lists DC current. A related roundup is Best Clamp on Ammeter.

2. Current range, resolution, and jaw size

Range tells you the largest current you can read. Resolution tells you the smallest change you can see. Jaw size tells you whether the tool fits around the wire.

The listings state 60A for VIVANTECH, 300A for Triplett, 400A AC for AstroAI, 600A for FNIRSI and Proster, and 800A for Neoteck. Higher is not always better. A 1mA-resolution 60A tool is easier to use for parasitic draw and low-power circuits than an 800A tool, while an 800A tool gives headroom for motor starting current and compressor inrush.

Jaw details from the listings include a 28mm clamp jaw for Proster, a 26mm large jaw for Neoteck, a 16mm x 18mm clamp jaw for VIVANTECH, and a 12.5mm Clamp Opening size for another style. Larger jaws accept larger cables but can be harder to place in a crowded box. Smaller jaws fit tight automotive and control wiring but do not accept large service conductors. Always place one conductor in the center and close the jaw fully.

3. Display counts, true RMS, and extra meter functions

Counts describe display resolution in a simplified way. More counts can show finer steps, but accuracy still depends on the stated tolerance. The listings state 2000 Counts for AstroAI and Proster, 4000 count display for Triplett, 6000-count for Neoteck, and 9999 Count for FNIRSI. VIVANTECH does not state counts in the data provided, so check the listing.

True RMS is a measurement method that reads distorted AC waveforms more accurately than average-responding meters. This is a simplification; waveform shape, frequency, and crest factor also matter. The FNIRSI, Proster, Neoteck, and Triplett listings state true RMS or TRMS. The AstroAI listing in this data does not state true RMS, so do not assume it.

Most picks also measure voltage, resistance, continuity, and diode check with test leads. The clamp jaws are for current only. Voltage measurement must use the leads. Extra functions in the data include capacitance, frequency, temperature probe support, NCV, live-wire test, data hold, Max/Min, backlight, and auto power off.

4. CAT rating and voltage rating

Measurement category, or CAT, classifies live circuits for measurement equipment. The categories consider available energy and impulse voltages at the measurement point. Measurement category II is for circuits directly connected to the low-voltage installation. Measurement category IV is for measurements at the source of the high-voltage installation. The required impulse withstand voltage varies from 500 V for lower categories and voltages to 12,000 V for CAT IV 1000 V. Equipment should mark its transient withstand capability for the user.

For this guide, use only the CAT rating in the listing or manual. The AstroAI listing states CAT.III 600V. The Neoteck listing states Cat III 600v. The Triplett listing states CAT III 300V safety rating. The FNIRSI listing states Ul 61010-1, Ce Marked, Rohs Compliant, but the listing does not state a CAT rating. The Proster listing states CE, UL, but the listing does not state a CAT rating. The VIVANTECH listing does not state a CAT rating. Do not call a meter safe for household mains unless its listing states a suitable CAT and voltage rating. When in doubt, check the listing and manual, and ask a licensed electrician.

5. Power, size, and usability in dark spaces

Battery type affects readiness. FNIRSI lists a 1500mAh lithium battery with Type-C charging. AstroAI lists 1.5V AAA Batteries x 2 Included. Triplett lists 1.5V AAA Battery (2). Neoteck lists 3xAAA Batteries. Proster and VIVANTECH are battery powered in the specs, but confirm battery count in the listing.

Weight and size affect one-hand use. Listed weights include 6.72 ounces for FNIRSI, Approx. 203g for AstroAI, 0.2 kg for Proster, 7.04 ounces for VIVANTECH, 220 g for Neoteck, and 4.7 ounces for Triplett. Dimensions include 7.7 x 2.91 x 1.14 inches for FNIRSI, 195x68x29mm for AstroAI, 7.28 x 2.56 x 1.18 inches for Neoteck, 8.5 x 2.4 x 1.3 inches for VIVANTECH, and 6 x 2.4 x 1.1 inches for Triplett. A backlight, clamp-head light, hold, and auto power off help in basements and breaker areas. Never open a live panel to get access. If you cannot measure safely from outside with the cover in place, stop and call a professional. For voltage-focused tools, see Best Clamp Voltage Tester.

How to choose your amper clamp

Start with the job. For home AC load checks only, an AC-current model with NCV, continuity, voltage, resistance, and a clear display is enough. For car or RV DC troubleshooting, choose a model that explicitly lists DC clamp current and low-current resolution. For motor or HVAC starting current, look for higher AC amps plus Max/Min or peak capture if stated.

Next, confirm the CAT and voltage rating suits the circuit. Mains-connected circuits need a stated CAT rating for that location. The listing does not always state one. Do not substitute a general safety mark for a CAT rating.

Then check jaw fit, counts, true RMS, leads, battery, and included parts. Confirm whether the temperature probe, pouch, or extra leads are included. Finally, read the manual for zeroing, range selection, conductor position, and overload indications. A common rule of thumb is to clamp only one insulated conductor, centered and with the jaw fully closed; treat this as a starting practice, not a guarantee of accuracy.

1. FNIRSI DMC-100 Clamp Meter 9999 Counts TRMS, 600A AC/DC Amp Meter (Best overall)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Brand: FNIRSI
  • Unit Count: 9999 Count
  • Item Weight: 6.72 ounces
  • Item Dimensions: 7.7 x 2.91 x 1.14 inches
  • Power Source: Battery Powered
  • Measurement Type: Ammeter, Multimeter, Ohmmeter, Voltmeter
  • Specification Met: Ul 61010-1, Ce Marked, Rohs Compliant
  • Included Components: Clamp Meter*1, Multimeter Pen*2, Temperture Probe*1, Type-C Charging Cable*1

Pros

  • States 600A AC/DC current with TRMS and 9999 Count
  • Lists 2-inch TFT display with voltage/current display and curve recording
  • Includes temperature probe and rechargeable 1500mAh battery with Type-C

Cons

  • Listing does not state a CAT rating, so mains suitability is unconfirmed
  • 7.7-inch length is larger than compact AC-only picks

Best for: DIYers wanting AC/DC current plus full multimeter functions
Skip if: You need a stated CAT III or CAT IV rating for mains work

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. AstroAI Digital Clamp Meter Multimeter 2000 Counts Amp Voltage Tester Auto-ranging with AC/DC (Best for basic AC home checks)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Brand: AstroAI
  • Digital Display: 3,½, 2000
  • AC Current: 2A/20A/200A/400A, 50~60Hz : ±(2.5 +5), Other : ±(3.0% +10)
  • DC Voltage: 2V/20V/200V/600V ±(0.5%+5)
  • AC Voltage: 2V/20V/200V/600V ±(1.0%+5)
  • Safety/Compliances: CAT.III 600V; Pollution Level: 2; Altitude <2000m
  • Power: 1.5V AAA Batteries x 2 Included
  • Dimensions: 195x68x29mm
  • Weight: Approx. 203g

Pros

  • States CAT III 600V and 400A AC current ranges
  • Lists AC/DC voltage, capacitance, continuity, NCV, Max/Min and backlight
  • Includes test leads, pouch and 2 AAA batteries

Cons

  • Listing states it can not test DC Current
  • No true RMS wording in the data provided

Best for: Beginners doing AC-only load and voltage checks
Skip if: You need DC clamp current or more than 400A AC

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Proster Clamp Meter 2000 Counts TRMS, AC Current Clamp Multimeter (Best high-AC pick with temperature)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Brand: Proster
  • Measurement Type: Multimeter
  • Specification Met: CE, UL
  • Model: CM2000C
  • Item Weight: 0.2 kg
  • Included Components: Clamp Meter Set
  • Item Highlight: NCV Continuity Resistance Temperature Hz Test AC/DC Voltage Resistance Continuity Diode Backlit LCD for Home & Industrial Use

Pros

  • States 600A AC current with TRMS and 2000 Counts
  • Lists 28mm jaw, NCV, backlit LCD, flashlight and pouch
  • Lists K-type temperature function in bullets

Cons

  • Listing does not state a CAT rating
  • AC-current focus does not list clamp DC current

Best for: Home and shop users wanting 600A AC plus temperature
Skip if: You need DC amps or a stated CAT rating

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. High Accuracy Low Current Clamp Meter – AC/DC Clamp-On Ammeter, 1mA Resolution, 60A Range, Data (Best for low-current DC draws)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Brand: VIVANTECH
  • Color: Green
  • Item Weight: 7.04 ounces
  • Item dimensions L x W x H: 8.5 x 2.4 x 1.3 inches
  • Part Number: VIDY260
  • Brand Name: VIVANTECH

Pros

  • States 1mA resolution from 1mA to 60A with AC/DC recognition
  • Lists one-button zero, data hold, 99-group memory and backlit LCD
  • Lists 16mm x 18mm jaw for tight wiring

Cons

  • 60A maximum does not suit large feeders or high inrush
  • Listing does not state counts or a CAT rating

Best for: Car and low-power troubleshooting for small draws
Skip if: You need a larger high-current range or mains CAT coverage

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. Neoteck Clamp Meter 6000 Counts Clamp Multimeter 800A AC/DC Current Voltage (Best high-range AC/DC)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Brand: Neoteck
  • Model: CM-3002
  • Specification Met: Cat III 600v
  • Item Weight: 220 g
  • Item Dimensions: 7.28 x 2.56 x 1.18 inches
  • Measurement Type: Multimeter
  • Included Components: 1xClamp Meter,1xTest Acessories,3xAAA Batteries,1xManual,1xPouch,1xScrewdriver
  • Unit Count: 1 Count

Pros

  • States 800A AC/DC current with 6000 counts and True-RMS
  • Lists 26mm jaw, NCV, Max/Min, color screen and head light
  • Includes leads, temperature probe, 3 AAA batteries and pouch

Cons

  • Larger high-range tool adds complexity for simple lamp checks
  • Needs careful single-conductor placement near other live wires

Best for: Users wanting maximum AC/DC headroom for motors and HVAC
Skip if: You want the smallest meter or only test tiny electronics

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. Triplett 9200B 300A AC Clamp Meter (Best compact AC-only)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Brand: Triplett
  • Model: 9200B
  • Item Weight: 4.7 ounces
  • Item Dimensions: 6 x 2.4 x 1.1 inches
  • Measurement Type: Ammeter
  • Specification Met: EN 61010-1, IEC 61010-1:2000-1, NIST
  • Included Components: Wrist Strap, 1.5V AAA Battery (2), Case
  • Item Highlight: True RMS, 4000 Count, AC Current

Pros

  • States True RMS 300A AC with 4000 count display
  • Lists 2-button operation, NCV detector, data hold and case
  • Compact 6-inch size at 4.7 ounces with wrist strap

Cons

  • No DC clamp current stated in the data
  • 300A and CAT III 300V limit higher-energy jobs

Best for: Simple compact AC current checks
Skip if: You need DC amps, a larger high-current range, or higher CAT coverage

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

Detailed amper clamp picks

FNIRSI clamp with 600A AC/DC range and color display

This pick fits a DIYer who wants AC and DC clamp current in one tool for home and vehicle checks. The listing states 9999 Count, TRMS, AC/DC current up to 600A, plus voltage, resistance, capacitance, frequency, and temperature. It also lists NCV detection, live wire testing, continuity, diode checks, and simultaneous voltage/current display. The display is described as a 2-inch TFT full-color display with dark and light themes and adjustable brightness. The tool uses a built-in 1500mAh lithium battery with Type-C charging. It measures 7.7 x 2.91 x 1.14 inches and weighs 6.72 ounces. Included components list a clamp meter, test pens, temperature probe, and charging cable. Limitation: the listing states Ul 61010-1, Ce Marked, Rohs Compliant, but the listing does not state a CAT rating, so do not assume suitability for household mains. Skip it if you need a stated CAT III or CAT IV rating for panel-adjacent work.

AstroAI AC-current clamp for basic home use

This pick fits a beginner who needs simple AC current plus common multimeter functions. The listing states 2000 Counts, Auto or Manual range selection, AC Current 2A/20A/200A/400A, AC/DC Voltage to 600V, resistance, capacitance, continuity, diode, and live wire tests. It lists CAT.III 600V, pollution degree 2, non-contact voltage testing with sound and light alarm, data hold, Max/Min, auto shut-off, LCD backlit screen, flashlight, and low battery indicator. It uses 1.5V AAA Batteries x 2 Included, measures 195x68x29mm, and weighs Approx. 203g. Sampling is listed as 3 times per second. Limitation: the listing states this meter can not test DC Current, so it does not fit battery drain or DC load work. Skip it if you need DC amps, true RMS terminology, or higher than 400A AC.

Proster 600A AC clamp with temperature probe

This pick fits household and light shop users who want high AC amps plus temperature checks. The listing states 2000 Counts, auto-ranging, 600A AC Current, AC/DC Voltage to 600V, resistance from 200Ω-20MΩ, temperature, continuity, diode, and backlit LCD. It lists a 28mm clamp jaw, NCV, overload display of OL, flashlight, low battery display, and auto power off in about 15 minutes. The temperature function uses a K-type thermocouple in the bullets. The meter weighs 0.2 kg and includes a clamp meter set with a zippered pouch. Limitation: the listing states CE, UL, but the listing does not state a CAT rating, so do not treat it as rated for mains locations without checking the manual. Skip it if you need clamp-measured DC current or a stated CAT rating.

Low-current clamp for 1mA-level DC and AC draws

This pick fits car owners and low-power troubleshooters chasing small draws rather than large loads. The listing states both AC and DC currents from 1mA up to 60A, with 1mA resolution and automatic AC/DC recognition plus manual switching. It lists a 16mm x 18mm clamp jaw, one-button zero adjustment, data hold, 99-group memory recall, backlit LCD, auto shut-off after 5 minutes, and low battery warning. It measures 8.5 x 2.4 x 1.3 inches and weighs 7.04 ounces. The bullets describe non-contact testing without breaking the circuit for battery leak current and leakage checks. Limitation: 60A maximum and a small jaw do not fit large appliance feeders or high inrush work. The listing does not state a CAT rating. Skip it if you need a larger high-current range or household mains certification.

Neoteck 800A AC/DC clamp with color screen

This pick fits users who want the highest clamp range here plus full multimeter functions. The listing states 6000 counts, TRMS, auto range, AC/DC Current up to 800A, and AC/DC Voltage up to 600V. It also lists resistance, continuity, diode, capacitance, frequency, NCV, Max/Min, clamp head light, backlight, analog bar, and dual-line display. The jaw is listed as 26mm. The safety spec states Cat III 600v. Included components list test leads with alligator clips, temperature probe, screwdriver, pouch, and 3xAAA Batteries. It measures 7.28 x 2.56 x 1.18 inches and weighs 220 g. The bullets also explain single-conductor clamping and centering. Limitation: 800A size and features add complexity for a first-time user who only checks lamps and breakers. Skip it if you want the smallest tool or only test low-current electronics.

Triplett compact 300A AC clamp for simple checks

This pick fits someone who wants a small AC-only tool with simple operation. The listing states True RMS AC current measurements up to 300A, 4000 count display, simple 2 button operation, built-in non-contact AC voltage detector, data hold, auto power off, and low battery indicator. It lists CAT III 300V safety rating and standards EN 61010-1, IEC 61010-1:2000-1, NIST. It measures 6 x 2.4 x 1.1 inches, weighs 4.7 ounces, and includes a wrist strap, two AAA batteries, and a case. The measurement type is listed as Ammeter. Limitation: the listing describes AC current only and does not list DC clamp current, capacitance, temperature, or high-current headroom above 300A. Skip it if you need DC amps, a larger high-current range, or higher CAT coverage.

Comparison table from listing specs

Model Clamp current stated Counts True RMS stated CAT stated Jaw/opening stated Weight Size
FNIRSI DMC-100 600A AC/DC 9999 Count TRMS Listing does not state CAT rating Not stated in mm 6.72 ounces 7.7 x 2.91 x 1.14 inches
AstroAI CM2K0R 400A AC, can not test DC Current 2000 Counts Not stated CAT.III 600V Not stated in mm Approx. 203g 195x68x29mm
Proster CM2000C 600A AC Current 2000 Counts TRMS Listing does not state CAT rating 28mm clamp jaw 0.2 kg Check listing
VIVANTECH VIDY260 60A AC/DC, 1mA resolution Not stated Not stated Listing does not state CAT rating 16mm x 18mm clamp jaw 7.04 ounces 8.5 x 2.4 x 1.3 inches
Neoteck CM-3002 800A AC/DC 6000 counts TRMS Cat III 600v 26mm jaw 220 g 7.28 x 2.56 x 1.18 inches
Triplett 9200B 300A AC 4000 count True RMS CAT III 300V Not stated in mm 4.7 ounces 6 x 2.4 x 1.1 inches

Check the listing for battery count, lead ratings, fuse details, and full accuracy tolerances before you buy. If two fields appear to conflict, rely on the manual, not the short title. For brand-specific options, see Best Clamp Tester Fluke and Best Clamp Meter.

Worked planning example for an amper clamp

This example shows how wire count affects the reading when current is too small to read directly. It is our planning estimate, not a meter specification.

Define the scenario once. Suppose a small AC device draws 0.08A, which is 80mA. Suppose the clamp display is hard to read below 0.10A. Suppose you wrap the same single conductor through the jaw 5 times, with all loops in the same direction, centered and fully closed. Suppose the meter shows 0.40A with the 5 wraps.

Calculate expected reading. Multiply current by wraps: 0.08A × 5 = 0.40A. Verify: 0.08 × 5 = 0.40, correct. The display now shows a larger number above the hard-to-read zone.

Recover the single-wire current. Divide display by wraps: 0.40A ÷ 5 = 0.08A. Verify: 0.40 ÷ 5 = 0.08, correct. Convert to milliamps: 0.08A × 1000 = 80mA. Verify: 0.08 × 1000 = 80, correct.

Use this only as a planning estimate for learning. Real accuracy depends on centering, nearby conductors, jaw closure, battery condition, range selection, and the meter tolerance in the manual. Do not use this trick on mains wiring unless you are qualified and the CAT rating fits. For safe accessories, see Best Ac Line Splitter for Clamp Meter.

Five common mistakes with an amper clamp

1. Clamping the whole power cord

A two-wire cord carries opposite currents that cancel. The result reads near zero even when the device is on. Clamp one insulated conductor only. If you must check a molded cord, use a line splitter made for clamp meters and follow its instructions.

2. Buying AC-only for car DC work

Many clamps cannot measure DC current. The AstroAI listing in this guide states it cannot test DC current. For battery drain, choose a listing that explicitly states DC clamp current and a useful low-current resolution, such as 1mA.

3. Assuming a meter is mains-rated without a CAT mark

General marks do not replace a CAT rating. If the listing does not state a CAT rating, say so and check the manual. Do not use that meter on household mains or near a panel. Panel and service work belongs to a licensed electrician.

4. Ignoring jaw fit, position, and closure

An off-center wire, nearby live conductors, dirt on the jaw faces, or a partly open jaw can change the reading. Center the wire, isolate it from other conductors where possible, close the jaw fully, and select a suitable range. Replace a weak battery if readings wander.

5. Using the jaw for voltage

The jaw measures current only. Voltage, resistance, continuity, capacitance, and diode checks need the test leads in the correct jacks. The FNIRSI note states voltage measurement must use test leads and that clamp jaws are for current only. Using the wrong method can damage the meter or mislead you.

Care, battery, and safety habits

Store the meter dry and within the temperature and humidity limits in the manual. The AstroAI data lists 32°F~104°F working and 14°F~122°F storage as one illustration; always follow your own meter manual. Keep jaw faces clean so they close fully. Confirm NCV, backlight, hold, and auto-off behavior before you rely on them.

Treat every unknown wire as live until proven otherwise with a proper test. Use only the leads and probes that came with the meter or exact replacements rated for the same category and voltage. Check leads for cracks and exposed metal. Follow the instrument manual and local electrical rules. This article is research information, not a substitute for a licensed electrician. For automotive battery work, disconnect and handle batteries safely and avoid airbag wiring and high-voltage hybrid or EV systems.

FAQ

Can an amper clamp measure current without disconnecting wires?

Yes, for current. You open the jaw and close it around one insulated conductor. Many models do this for AC current. Only models that list DC clamp current can do it for DC. Voltage and resistance still need test leads.

What is the difference between AC current and DC current on a clamp listing?

AC current flows back and forth, as in household power. DC current flows one way, as in car and battery circuits. Some listings state AC current only. Others state both AC and DC. Buy the type that matches your work.

Do I need true RMS?

True RMS helps with distorted waveforms from electronics, drives, and some lighting loads. It is useful but not enough alone. Also check range, resolution, accuracy tolerance, frequency limits, and CAT rating in the listing and manual.

What do counts mean?

Counts describe how many display steps the meter can show on a range. As a simplification, higher counts can show finer steps. They do not by themselves prove higher accuracy. Read the stated tolerance for each function.

What CAT rating do I need for home outlets and panels?

The correct category depends on the exact measurement location and voltage. A higher-energy location needs a higher rating. Quote only the CAT rating in the listing or manual. If the listing does not state one, check the listing and manual before buying. Leave panel interiors and service conductors to a licensed electrician.

Why does my clamp read zero on a power cord?

You likely clamped both conductors together, so the fields cancel. Measure one conductor only. Center it, close the jaw, and keep other live wires away where possible. For molded cords, use a proper splitter accessory.

Can these picks test car battery drain?

Only picks that list DC clamp current fit that job. In this guide, the 60A low-current tool, the 600A AC/DC tool, and the 800A AC/DC tool list DC current. Follow safe battery handling, zero the DC reading as the manual directs, and avoid airbag circuits and high-voltage hybrid or EV systems.

What should I check on the listing before buying?

Check AC versus DC clamp current, maximum amps, resolution, counts, true RMS wording, CAT rating and voltage, jaw size, battery type, included leads and probes, dimensions, weight, and warranty. Confirm that the title and specs agree. If they conflict, follow the manual.

Bottom line

Choose by current type first, then range and safety rating. Choose the Neoteck 800A AC/DC listing if you want maximum headroom plus a stated Cat III 600v rating. Choose the FNIRSI 600A AC/DC listing if you want AC/DC plus a color graphing display and rechargeable power, after confirming CAT needs with the manual. Choose the VIVANTECH 60A listing if small DC draws matter most. Choose the AstroAI 400A AC or Triplett 300A AC listing for simpler AC-only checks, and the Proster 600A AC listing for higher AC amps plus temperature. If no listing states the CAT rating your circuit needs, do not buy yet; check the manual or ask an electrician.

Sources

  • Measurement category: CAT definitions, CAT II to CAT IV scope, impulse withstand range, and marking requirement

Similar Posts