Ac Line Splitter for Clamp Meter - product comparison guide

Best AC Line Splitter for Clamp Meter: 4 Picks Compared

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

An AC line splitter sits between a plug and a receptacle so that a clamp meter can read the current in one conductor of a sheathed cord. Without one, a clamp around the whole cable reads close to zero, because the hot and neutral currents cancel. This post compares the four splitters in the set of eight listings. The Klein CL120KIT and Triplett bundles also include a splitter, but they are kits with other tools, so we left them out. Listing figures were checked on 12 October 2026 and are shown as the sellers state them.

Quick answer: all four splitters list a 15 A maximum and a 10 times ratio on one of their current windows. The AIOMEST and Kethvoz are the two with voltage test jacks and a uA or mA setting. The Thsinde KJ79D and the blank-brand KJ79B are the simpler 10 times splitters.

The four splitters at a glance

Splitter Current rating (as listed) Extras (as listed) Size and weight (as listed)
AIOMEST 7400A (B0C2SVNMVK) 15 amps, x1 and x10 windows uA and mA setting, ACV voltage test jacks 0.2 kg
Kethvoz KE-7400A (B0CGDJRDD8) 15 amps, x1 and x10 ports uA and mA changeover, voltage test jacks 0.2 kg
Thsinde KJ79D, 2 pieces (B0GVYVPL35) 15 amps max, 10x measurement For US outlets Weight not stated
KJ79B, blank brand (B0GCHJJ7KL) 15 amps max, 10x measurement For US outlets, red 0.16 ounces

How we chose these four

We kept the listings that are splitters for a clamp meter and state a current rating in the bullets or title. The Triplett and Klein bundles are excluded because each is a kit. The AOPUTTRIVER and a second Thsinde KJ79B listing repeat the 15 A and x1/x10 features of the listings above, so we did not use them. The AIOMEST and Kethvoz are the two listings that state both a uA and mA setting and voltage test jacks.

  • Current: the maximum current the listing states.
  • Extras: the voltage test jacks and the uA or mA setting, where the listing gives them.
  • Size and weight: only where the listing gives the figure.

1. AIOMEST 7400A AC Line Splitter

The AIOMEST is a plug-in splitter with a built-in receptacle. Its listing gives dual x1 and x10 current windows. With the changeover switch closed, the clamp meter on the x1 arm reads the actual current. For low readings, you use the x10 arm and divide the reading by 10. A changeover switch set to open lets a multimeter read microamp and milliamp values. The ACV voltage test jacks let you watch the supply voltage with a multimeter. The bullets cite UL 61010-1 and IEC 61010-2-030, and the weight is 200 g, as checked on 12 October 2026.

Check the AIOMEST 7400A on Amazon

2. Kethvoz KE-7400A AC Line Splitter

The Kethvoz listing is titled as a 15 amp power splitter with x1 and x10 current and voltage test ports. It is an AC line splitter with a plug and a receptacle, and it measures up to 15 amps without separating the load’s power cord. The bullets say a changeover switch in the OPEN position allows small-signal current readings in the uA and mA range. The voltage test jacks let a multimeter monitor the supply voltage. The title gives the rated supply as 100 to 230 volts at 50 or 60 Hz, and the weight is 0.2 kg. The listing also gives the model as KE-7400A.

Check the Kethvoz KE-7400A on Amazon

3. Thsinde KJ79D Line Splitter, 2 Pieces

This is a two-piece pack for US outlets. The listing gives a 15 A maximum current and a 10 times measurement. Its bullets describe how the splitter separates the wires into single conductors through the measurement window, and that the 10 times current goes to the window. The listing says you can measure one conductor inside a sheathed power cable without damaging the clamp meter. It also warns that the clamp must enclose only one of the wires to give an accurate reading. The weight is not stated.

Check the Thsinde KJ79D on Amazon

4. KJ79B Line Splitter, Blank Brand

This listing has no brand in the brand field. The title gives it as a KJ79B line splitter with 10x measurement and a 15 A maximum current, for US outlets, in red. The bullets match the Thsinde listing: it separates the wires for single-conductor measurement, and only one wire can be clamped at a time for an accurate current value. The listed weight is 0.16 ounces, which is lighter than the 200 g figures on the AIOMEST and Kethvoz. The splitter is the simplest of the four, with no voltage jacks or uA setting in the listing.

Check the KJ79B on Amazon

Worked example: how much headroom is left at 15 A?

The listings state a 15 amps maximum. Take an appliance that draws 12 amps through the splitter. Subtracting gives 3 amps of headroom before the rating is reached. A 12 amps load on the clamp’s x1 arm reads 12 amps directly, so there is no conversion. A small load is different. If the clamp reads 0.8 amps on the x10 arm, divide by 10 to get 0.08 amps, which is 80 milliamps. The same divide-by-10 step applies to every x10 reading on the AIOMEST and the Kethvoz.

These numbers are our arithmetic from the listing’s 15 A rating and 10 times ratio, not measurements. Check the rating on the splitter itself before you connect a load that is near it.

What the listings do not say

None of the four listings gives a percentage accuracy figure for the clamp readings, and none states the clamp meter that should be used with it. The KJ79 listings do not state a voltage rating beyond the US outlet use, and they do not list voltage test jacks. The Thsinde and blank-brand KJ79 listings both warn that only one wire may be clamped. In the bullets we reviewed, the AIOMEST listing gives no supply voltage, while the Kethvoz title gives 100 to 230 V, so compare the listing text before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

Why does a clamp meter read near zero on a cord without a splitter?

The listings describe the splitter as a way to measure one conductor inside a sheathed cable. Clamping the whole cable reads the net current, which can be close to zero. The splitter separates the wires so that the clamp sees one conductor at a time.

Which splitters have voltage test jacks?

The AIOMEST and the Kethvoz list voltage test jacks. The Thsinde and blank-brand KJ79 listings do not mention them. With the jacks you can watch the supply voltage on a multimeter while the splitter is in use.

What does the x10 setting do?

The x10 window gives a current reading ten times larger than the actual current, so you divide the clamp reading by 10. The AIOMEST listing gives this instruction for low readings, and the Kethvoz lists x1 and x10 current holes, with the 10X position for low readings.

Can I measure microamps with these?

The AIOMEST and the Kethvoz list a changeover switch that lets a multimeter read uA and mA values. The KJ79 listings do not mention a uA or mA setting.

Is there a kit that includes one?

Yes. The Klein CL120KIT and the Triplett CM450 bundle each include a line splitter, but they are kits with other tools, so we did not rank them here.

Conclusion

For a splitter with a uA setting and voltage jacks, the AIOMEST 7400A and the Kethvoz KE-7400A are the two to compare. For a simpler 15 A and 10 times splitter for US outlets, the Thsinde KJ79D two-piece pack and the blank-brand KJ79B are the options. Read the current rating and the supply rating on the listing before you connect a load. For more on current measurement, see best AC DC current clamp meter, best true RMS digital clamp meter and best amp clamp.

AIOMEST 7400A on Amazon · Kethvoz KE-7400A on Amazon · Thsinde KJ79D on Amazon · KJ79B on Amazon

Similar Posts