Best Soil Resistivity Meter: Picks and Key Specs
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
A soil resistivity meter shows how well soil conducts electricity, which matters for grounding design and electrode layout. The six listings below are all battery-powered earth or soil testers, but only some of them state a measuring range, and they differ on wire support and clamp or rod style. This guide sets out what each listing actually says.
Soil testing near buried utilities or power lines carries risk. Call utility locators before digging, follow the manual, and leave grounding system design and installation to a qualified professional.
Quick answer
The Walfront ETCR3100C gives the most detailed title: 0.00-30.00kΩ and 0.00Ωm-900kΩm ranges, IP65, a 4 digit LCD and 2, 3 and 4 wire support. The DUOYI, VIVANTECH and INFURIDER titles all state 0.03-2000Ω. The ETCR3200C is a double clamp tester whose listing states no range. The SULMILE listing names 2/3/4-pole measurement for earth resistance, soil resistivity and earth voltage.
Comparison table
| Product | Range or function from the listing | Wire or pole support | Size or weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Walfront ETCR3100C | 0.00-30.00kΩ and 0.00Ωm-900kΩm, IP65, 4 digit LCD | 2, 3 and 4 wire | Dimensions field 0.39 x 0.39 x 0.39 inches |
| ETCR3200C double clamp | Range not stated; CE specification entry | Not stated | Not stated |
| DUOYI earth tester | 0.03-2000Ω, AC/DC voltage | 2/3 wire | 1.8 kg |
| VIVANTECH ground tester | 0.03-2000Ω, backlit LCD, auto test, AC/DC voltage | Not stated | 3 pounds |
| SULMILE ETCR3100C | Range not stated; earth resistance, soil resistivity, earth voltage | 2/3/4-pole | Not stated |
| INFURIDER earth tester | 0.03-2000Ω, ground voltage test, backlight LCD, data hold | Not stated | Not stated |
Product reviews
Walfront ETCR3100C Digital Soil Resistivity Tester
What it is: An IP65 digital tester with a 4 digit LCD, titled for 2, 3 and 4 wire measurement, with 0.00-30.00kΩ and 0.00Ωm-900kΩm ranges. Fields: Battery Powered, Style Digital, Color White.
Who it suits: Anyone who wants both resistance and resistivity ranges stated up front, and who plans 4 wire soil measurements.
- Pros: Both ranges are stated; 2, 3 and 4 wire support is named; IP65 is in the title.
- Cons: The dimensions field reads 0.39 x 0.39 x 0.39 inches, which is unlikely to describe the whole instrument, so the real size is unclear. The title also mentions US AC 100-240V alongside battery power, so check how it is supplied.
Skip if: You need a confirmed case size before ordering.
Walfront ETCR3100C on Amazon (affiliate link)
ETCR3200C Double Clamp Soil Resistivity Tester
What it is: A double clamp earth resistance tester, titled as a soil resistivity tester. Fields: Battery Powered, Style Modern, Color Orange and Grey, Specification Met CE.
Who it suits: Buyers who specifically want a clamp-style tester and will confirm the range and clamp size from the product page.
- Pros: Clamp format named in the title; CE specification entry listed.
- Cons: No measuring range, weight or dimensions are stated in the title or fields.
Skip if: You need a range you can read from the listing itself.
ETCR3200C clamp tester on Amazon (affiliate link)
DUOYI Earth Resistance Tester
What it is: A digital earth ground resistance tester titled 0.03-2000Ω with 2/3 wire measurement and AC/DC voltage. Fields: Battery Powered, Style Digital, Color Green, weight 1.8 kg.
Who it suits: Buyers who want a stated 0.03-2000Ω range and a quoted weight.
- Pros: Range and wire support in the title; weight quoted; the title mentions batteries.
- Cons: Only 2/3 wire is named, not 4 wire; no dimensions; confirm what is included on the product page.
Skip if: You need 4 wire measurement, which this title does not state.
DUOYI earth tester on Amazon (affiliate link)
VIVANTECH Digital Ground Resistance Tester
What it is: A ground rod tester with a backlit LCD, auto test functions and AC/DC voltage measurement, titled 0.03-2000Ω. Fields: Battery Powered, Style Earth Resistance Tester, Color Grey and Green, weight 3 pounds.
Who it suits: Users who want auto test functions and a backlit display.
- Pros: Range stated; backlit LCD and auto test named; weight quoted.
- Cons: No wire or pole support stated; no dimensions given.
Skip if: You need a stated wire count or case size.
VIVANTECH ground tester on Amazon (affiliate link)
SULMILE ETCR3100C Soil Resistivity Tester
What it is: An ETCR3100C-model tester whose function field lists 2/3/4-pole measurement for earth resistance, soil resistivity and earth voltage. Fields: Battery Powered, Style Industrial, Color Yellow.
Who it suits: Buyers who want the ETCR3100C model and 2, 3 or 4 pole measurement, and who will check the range on the product page.
- Pros: Pole support and the three measurement types are clearly listed.
- Cons: No range, weight or dimensions are stated.
Skip if: You need ranges and IP rating in the listing; the Walfront listing for the same model number states more.
SULMILE ETCR3100C on Amazon (affiliate link)
INFURIDER Earth Resistance Tester
What it is: A digital grounding resistance meter titled 0.03-2000Ω with ground voltage testing, backlight LCD and data hold. Fields: Battery Powered, compatible devices listed as Test Cables, Ground Rods and AA Batteries. The color field reads YF-T0-DY4100-2-B, which looks like a model code.
Who it suits: Buyers who want data hold and a backlit display with a stated range.
- Pros: Range stated; data hold and backlight named; AA batteries listed.
- Cons: No wire support, weight or dimensions stated; the actual color is unclear.
Skip if: You need to know the wire support or size before ordering.
INFURIDER earth tester on Amazon (affiliate link)
Buying checklist
- Decide whether you need resistivity ranges (only the Walfront title states them) or an earth resistance range such as 0.03-2000Ω.
- Check wire support: Walfront names 2, 3 and 4 wire, SULMILE names 2/3/4-pole, DUOYI names 2/3 wire, and the others do not say.
- Decide between a rod and lead style tester and a clamp tester such as the ETCR3200C.
- Compare weight with weight: DUOYI is 1.8 kg and VIVANTECH is 3 pounds; the rest do not state one.
- Where the range, size or included parts are not stated, confirm them on the product page for the exact variant.
FAQ
Which listing states a soil resistivity range?
Only the Walfront ETCR3100C title gives one, 0.00Ωm-900kΩm, alongside 0.00-30.00kΩ. The DUOYI, VIVANTECH and INFURIDER titles state 0.03-2000Ω, which is a resistance range.
Do any of these support 4 wire measurement?
The Walfront title names 2, 3 and 4 wire and the SULMILE function field lists 2/3/4-pole. The DUOYI title names 2/3 wire. The others do not state their wire support.
What is different about the ETCR3200C?
It is a double clamp tester, so it is a different format from the rod and lead testers. Its listing does not state a measuring range, so check the product page.
Are these safe to use near buried utilities?
Not on their own. Call utility locators before digging, follow the manual, and leave grounding design and installation to a qualified professional.
Why does the Walfront dimensions field look odd?
It reads 0.39 x 0.39 x 0.39 inches, which is unlikely to describe the whole instrument. Check the product page for the real size.
Closing note
Pick by the range and wire support you can read in the listing, then confirm anything missing. For neighbouring topics, see Best Earth Resistivity Meter, Best Surface Resistivity Meter and Best Concrete Resistivity Meter, which cover related but different measurements.