Several generic amp voltmeter styles arranged on a bright home workshop bench.

Best Amp Voltmeter: How to Choose the Right One

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

An amp voltmeter shows current and voltage readings, which is useful when you want both figures from the same battery, power supply or project. The six listings below come in three shapes: a small DC panel meter that shows volts and amps together, clamp meters that read current around a wire, and general multimeters.

The key check is whether the meter covers the voltage and current you expect, and whether it reads AC, DC or both. Where a listing leaves out a range, weight or size, this guide says not stated.

Quick answer

For a meter that shows volts and amps together on a DC circuit, the SHMZK 2 PCS set is the closest match: DC 0-100V and 10A, with connecting wires. For measuring current without breaking the circuit, the FNIRSI DMC-100 and the Temirup are both titled 600A AC/DC clamp meters, and the AstroAI is a 2000 count clamp meter. The ANENG and LJPXHHU are multimeters, and neither states a current range in the fields shown.

Comparison table

Product Type Stated range Power Weight or size
SHMZK 2 PCS 0.28 inch digital voltmeter ammeter, red and blue dual LED DC 0-100V, 10A Not stated 1.13 ounces; package 4.45 x 4.02 x 1.34 inches
FNIRSI DMC-100 TRMS clamp meter 600A AC/DC Battery powered 6.72 ounces
Temirup 600A TRMS clamp meter, 6000 counts 600A AC/DC Battery powered 7.52 ounces
AstroAI clamp meter 2000 count auto-ranging clamp multimeter Maximum current not stated Battery powered 415 g
ANENG with case Digital multimeter DC voltage 200mV to 600V; current range not stated Battery powered Not stated
LJPXHHU 2000 counts Digital multimeter with leads Not stated Battery powered 166 g

Product reviews

SHMZK 2 PCS 0.28 inch Digital Voltmeter Ammeter

What it is: A set of two 2 in 1 volt and amp meters for DC 0-100V and 10A, with connecting wires and a red and blue dual LED display on a 0.28 inch panel. Weight is 1.13 ounces.

Who it suits: A builder who wants volts and amps on one small display in a DC project.

  • Pros: Reads volts and amps together. Two meters in the set. Connecting wires are named.
  • Cons: The 4.45 x 4.02 x 1.34 inch figure is package size, not the meter size, so check the product page for the panel size. DC only, going by the title.

Skip if: You need AC readings, currents above 10A, or a hand-held tool.

SHMZK volt amp meter on Amazon (affiliate link)

FNIRSI DMC-100 Clamp Meter, 600A AC/DC

What it is: A black, battery-powered TRMS clamp meter with a 600A AC/DC range in the title. The title says 9999 counts, and the style field says 10000 counts. Weight is 6.72 ounces.

Who it suits: Someone who wants to read high current without cutting into the wire.

  • Pros: 600A AC/DC range. TRMS is named.
  • Cons: The count differs between the title and the style field, so check the product page. Dimensions are not stated.

Skip if: You want a fixed panel display for a project.

FNIRSI DMC-100 on Amazon (affiliate link)

Temirup 600A AC/DC Clamp Meter

What it is: A black, battery-powered clamp meter multimeter with 6000 counts, TRMS and a 600A AC/DC range in the title. Weight is 7.52 ounces.

Who it suits: A buyer who wants a second 600A clamp option with a lower count.

  • Pros: 600A AC/DC range. TRMS is named.
  • Cons: Dimensions and clamp size are not stated. It is heavier than the FNIRSI DMC-100 at 6.72 ounces.

Skip if: You want the lightest clamp meter.

Temirup clamp meter on Amazon (affiliate link)

AstroAI Digital Clamp Meter Multimeter, 2000 Counts

What it is: A blue, battery-powered, auto-ranging clamp multimeter. The title lists AC/DC voltage, AC current, resistance, capacitance and continuity (the title is cut off after that). Weight is 415 g.

Who it suits: A buyer who wants a clamp that also reads DC and AC voltage.

  • Pros: Voltage, current and several other functions in one tool.
  • Cons: No maximum current is quoted in the fields shown. The style field lists AC current only.

Skip if: You need a stated current limit or DC current readings from the listing alone.

AstroAI clamp meter on Amazon (affiliate link)

ANENG Digital Multimeter with Case

What it is: A black, battery-powered multimeter (style SZ301 Black) with a case. The title lists DC and AC voltage, ohm and amp. The fields give a DC voltage range of 200mV to 600V with 0.1mV to 1V resolution and accuracy of plus or minus 1% plus 5.

Who it suits: Someone who wants a multimeter with a case and a stated DC voltage range.

  • Pros: Stated DC voltage range and accuracy. Case in the title.
  • Cons: No current range, weight or size is stated.

Skip if: You need to know the amp limits from the listing.

ANENG multimeter on Amazon (affiliate link)

LJPXHHU Digital Multimeter, 2000 Counts

What it is: An orange and black, battery-powered multimeter with leads. The title lists continuity, ohm, volt, amp and diode readings. Weight is 166 g. No clamp is described.

Who it suits: A buyer who wants a light multimeter with volt and amp readings.

  • Pros: Light. Leads are named in the title.
  • Cons: No voltage or current range is quoted in the fields shown.

Skip if: You need to read high current or need stated ranges.

LJPXHHU multimeter on Amazon (affiliate link)

Buying checklist

  • Decide between a clamp meter, a panel meter and a multimeter.
  • Check that the stated voltage and current ranges cover your highest expected values.
  • Check whether you need AC, DC or both.
  • Check panel or clamp size on the product page where not stated.
  • Read the exact variant page for power source, color and weight.
  • Follow the manual when installing or reading the meter.

FAQ

Which listing shows volts and amps together?

The SHMZK set is a 2 in 1 digital voltmeter ammeter for DC 0-100V and 10A. The clamp meters and multimeters read these values with their own modes.

Which clamp meters state a 600A range?

The FNIRSI DMC-100 and the Temirup both state 600A AC/DC in their titles.

Is the SHMZK package size the meter size?

No. The 4.45 x 4.02 x 1.34 inch figure is the package size. Check the product page for the panel size.

Does the AstroAI clamp meter state a maximum current?

Not in the fields shown. Check the product page for the current limit before buying.

Do the ANENG and LJPXHHU state a current range?

No. The ANENG gives a DC voltage range of 200mV to 600V, and the LJPXHHU gives none in the fields shown. Check each product page.

Closing note

Choose the format first, then check that the stated range covers your highest voltage and current. Related guides: Best Voltmeter Amp Meter, Best Dc Current Amp Meter and How to Use a Voltmeter. For safety ratings, see the measurement category overview.

Similar Posts