Insulation resistance test instruments and color-coded leads are compared on a clean workbench.

Insulation Resistance Test Equipment

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

An insulation resistance tester has to match the circuit or material you need to examine, not just look like a familiar meter. This guide separates five testers by measurement type, range, display, power source, and listed protection, and it shows when a missing category rating or compatibility statement should stop a purchase. Electrical work can expose lethal energy. Never open a service panel or probe a live mains circuit with a tester unless you are qualified; send panel or service work to a licensed electrician.

Quick answer

Start with the Klein Tools ET600 when you want a battery-powered unit that lists insulation testing up to 4000MΩ at 125V, 250V, 500V, and 1000V DC. The 50V-1000V megohmmeter, listed up to 100GΩ, is the clearer alternative when you want a compact tester with PI and DAR functions. Choose the Fluke 1507 for its remote test probe, the 640 g model for its 1MΩ-200GΩ auto-ranging and 100 data storage, and the AIOMEST VC60B for a 1000V megohmmeter measuring 176 x 116 x 63 mm. A missing CAT statement is never permission to use a tester on household mains, so confirm the manual, rating, leads, and intended circuit before connecting any of them.

What to check on an insulation resistance tester

Match the measurement to the job

An insulation resistance tester listing should state the measurement you intend to make. The five listings here describe their purpose as Multimeter (Klein Tools ET600), Ohmmeter (50V-1000V megohmmeter and Fluke 1507), Voltmeter (640 g model) and Megohmmeter (AIOMEST VC60B), and those labels are not interchangeable. A voltage indicator answers a narrower question than a multimeter that lists resistance or current. Write down the exact check first, then reject every product whose title, specification, or bullet does not state that function.

Treat voltage and category limits separately

A voltage range tells you what the instrument claims to read. A CAT marking describes the transient environment the meter is designed to operate in, and measurement category is an IEC classification for live circuits, so a broad displayed range does not replace an appropriate CAT statement. If a listing omits the category, do not infer one. Keep that insulation resistance tester away from household mains and choose a properly documented instrument or a licensed electrician.

Read the power and package fields

Four of the five listings give power as Battery Powered; the Fluke 1507 lists Alkaline. Power source affects whether a tool is ready when you need it and whether replacement cells belong on your shopping list. Included-components fields matter too: a meter without stated leads or clamps may need another purchase, while an integrated tester may be complete for its narrower job.

Check the display details before buying

A reading helps only when you can interpret it. Some listings specify a digital count, LCD, LED status, or resolution; others only name the measurement type. Prefer the display description that answers your actual question, and if you need a number, do not substitute a tool whose listing promises only a status light.

Let missing statements rule a model out

A missing range, CAT level, or compatible-device statement is meaningful. It does not prove the insulation resistance tester lacks the feature, but it prevents a confident match. Check the current listing and the manufacturer manual, and if the statement is still absent, move to a model whose documentation answers the question directly.

The five insulation resistance tester models side by side

Model Listed purpose Power source Listed detail
Klein Tools ET600 Multimeter Battery Powered Orange/Black
50V-1000V megohmmeter Ohmmeter Battery Powered 50V-1000V, up to 100GΩ
Fluke 1507 Ohmmeter Alkaline Remote test probe
640 g megohmmeter Voltmeter Battery Powered 640 g
AIOMEST VC60B Megohmmeter Battery Powered 580 g, 176 x 116 x 63 mm

The table uses only fields stated in each listing. It does not equate different measurements or assume that a longer feature list makes a tool suitable for a more hazardous circuit.

The five insulation resistance tester models in detail

1. Klein Tools ET600 Megohmmeter Insulation Tester Multimeter (Best overall)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Power Source: Battery Powered
  • Style: Tester
  • Color: Orange/Black

Pros

  • Lists insulation testing up to 4000MΩ at 125V, 250V, 500V, and 1000V DC

Cons

  • Confirm its category information against the circuit you plan to test

Best for: Buyers who want a battery-powered tester with stated insulation test voltages up to 1000V DC
Skip if: Your job needs a range, category rating, or compatibility the listing does not state

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. Megohmmeter, Insulation Resistance Tester, 50V-1000V Up to 100GΩ (Best for PI and DAR readings)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Power Source: Battery Powered
  • Style: compact
  • Color: orange+black

Pros

  • Lists PI and DAR functions and names its test leads, clip, and batteries

Cons

  • Confirm its category information against the circuit you plan to test

Best for: Buyers who want a compact tester with a stated 100GΩ range and PI/DAR functions
Skip if: You need a documented measurement category for live circuits

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Fluke 1507 Digital Megohmmeter Resistance Tester for Advanced Industrial and Electrical Testing (Best for a remote test probe)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Power Source: Alkaline
  • Style: INSULATION TESTER
  • Color: yellow

Pros

  • Includes a remote test probe for repetitive or hard-to-reach testing

Cons

  • The listing does not state a CAT rating

Best for: Buyers who need a remote test probe for hard-to-reach testing
Skip if: You need a documented CAT rating for the circuit

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Multimeter, Megohmmeter Insulation Tester, Megohmmeter (Best for data storage)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Power Source: Battery Powered
  • Style: Industrial
  • Color: Red

Pros

  • Lists 1MΩ-200GΩ auto-ranging with 100 data storage

Cons

  • The listing does not state a CAT rating

Best for: Buyers who want to store readings and test at up to 2500V
Skip if: You need a documented CAT rating, or the smallest body in this group

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. Megohmmeter 1000V Megaohm Meter, AIOMEST Insulation Resistance Tester VC60B (Best for portability)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Power Source: Battery Powered
  • Style: Modern
  • Color: orange

Pros

  • States 176 x 116 x 63 mm, 580 g, and 6x 1.5V AA batteries

Cons

  • The listing does not state a CAT rating

Best for: Buyers who want a lighter 1000V megohmmeter that is easy to carry
Skip if: You need a documented CAT rating or a test voltage above 1000V

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

Klein Tools ET600: best overall

The Klein Tools ET600 is listed as a multimeter, and its title also calls it a megohmmeter insulation tester. Its power source is battery, its style is Tester, and its color is Orange/Black. One bullet states: “INSULATION RESISTANCE TESTING: The Voltage Tester measures insulation resistance up to 4000MΩ at 125V, 250V, 500V, and 1000V DC, ensuring thorough insulation testing.” Those four test voltages give you concrete numbers to match against the voltage your insulation test calls for.

Its clearest advantage is the stated battery power source together with the insulation-testing bullet. The open question is safety context: confirm the category information in the manual before using it near a live circuit. Skip it if your job needs a range, CAT level, or compatible device that the listing does not name, and do not stretch its claims beyond the words on the product page.

50V-1000V megohmmeter: best for PI and DAR readings

The 50V-1000V megohmmeter is listed as an ohmmeter. It is a compact, battery-powered unit in orange and black, with an item weight of 818 g and a voltage accuracy of ±1.5% rdg. + 3 dgt. Its title gives the range as 50V-1000V up to 100GΩ, and the listing names the megohmmeter, test leads, alligator clip, 4xAA batteries, and a detailed user manual as included. One bullet states: “PI (polarity index) /DAR (dielectric absorption ratio) function for more accurate of insulation condition.”

Its advantage is the included set: leads, clip, and batteries are named, so you can see what arrives in the box, and the stated PI and DAR functions suit a buyer who wants more than a single resistance number. Confirm the category information in the manual before connecting it to anything live. Skip it if you need a documented measurement category for live circuits.

Fluke 1507: best for a remote test probe

The Fluke 1507 Digital Megohmmeter Resistance Tester is listed as an ohmmeter, with the style name INSULATION TESTER. It runs on alkaline batteries and is yellow. One bullet states: “Repetitive or hard-to-reach testing is easy with the remote test probe.” The listing does not state a CAT rating.

The remote test probe is the detail to weigh here, because it addresses repeated or awkward test points. With no CAT rating stated, keep it off household mains and confirm the manual before connecting it to anything live. Skip it if the circuit you work on needs a documented category rating.

640 g megohmmeter: best for data storage

The 640 g megohmmeter is listed as a voltmeter. It is battery powered, red, and industrial in style, weighs 640 g, and measures 8.27 x 7.09 x 3.15 inches. Its specification field says CE, RoHS, and the listing names 2000 Ohms Resistance Counts, 250V/500V/1000V/2000V/2500V AC/DC Voltmeter, 100 Data Storage, and 1MΩ-200GΩ Auto-Ranging. One bullet adds: “⭐Safe Operation, Portability: high voltage indication to remind you of safe operation; low battery indication to remind you of replacing batteries in time. The instrument has fashionable appearance.”

The high-voltage indication and the low-battery indication are the safety-related features the listing names, and the stored data suits a job where you need to record values. The listing does not state a CAT rating, so it should not be treated as approved for household mains. Skip it if you need a documented category rating, or if a smaller body matters.

AIOMEST VC60B: best for portability

The AIOMEST VC60B is listed as a megohmmeter. It is battery powered, orange, and Modern in style, with a number of items of 1. One bullet states: “🎯Accessories and Warranty Compact dimensions of 176 x 116 x 63 mm and a weight of 580g make this 1000V megohmmeter easy to carry and handle in various working environments. Powered by 6x 1.5V AA batteries.”

The listing is explicit about size, weight, and battery type, which makes this model easy to judge for carrying. It does not state a CAT rating, so confirm the manual before any live work. Skip it if you need a test voltage above 1000V or a documented category rating.

Three buying situations

You need a direct reading

Choose a tester that lists a numeric display or measurement range. The 50V-1000V megohmmeter, listed up to 100GΩ with a voltage accuracy of ±1.5% rdg. + 3 dgt, is the stronger match when a numeric reading controls the purchase. A status-only indication is not a substitute for a value when you need to record or compare readings.

You need broad device compatibility

The Fluke 1507 is the model that names a remote test probe, which helps with repetitive or hard-to-reach testing. Use that wording as the boundary: if your intended equipment is absent from the listing, verify it on the current product page rather than assuming that similar voltage means compatible use.

You need a compact tool for a defined task

The 640 g model measures 8.27 x 7.09 x 3.15 inches, while the AIOMEST VC60B measures 176 x 116 x 63 mm and weighs 580 g, so the AIOMEST is the smaller of the two on every stated dimension. Size helps you judge storage but does not establish electrical suitability, so confirm the stated measurement and safety information before letting compact dimensions decide the purchase.

Related insulation resistance tester guides

Four related guides cover neighboring searches: best megger test electric motor, best high voltage insulation resistance test, high potential test for cable, and best electrical cable megger test. Read the one closest to your job before choosing a tester. They help define the job; they do not expand any product’s listed ratings.

Comparing three listed weights

Treat the numbers below as a weight comparison, not a product performance claim. Three listings state a weight: the 50V-1000V megohmmeter lists 818 g, the 640 g model lists 640 g and the AIOMEST VC60B lists 580 g. The spread between the heaviest and the lightest is 818 g – 580 g = 238 g. Check it the other way: 580 g + 238 g = 818 g. Between the 640 g model and the AIOMEST, the difference is 640 g – 580 g = 60 g, and 580 g + 60 g = 640 g. Weight only tells you how each unit feels to carry. It does not change any tester’s stated range, rating, or compatibility.

Common insulation resistance tester mistakes

Treating every detector as a measuring instrument

An insulation resistance tester that only signals presence may not give the numeric value a diagnosis needs. Read the measurement-type and display fields before buying.

Assuming a voltage number proves mains suitability

A listed voltage and a CAT classification answer different questions. Do not work in a live panel because an insulation resistance tester shows a large range; panel and service work belong to a licensed electrician.

Ignoring contradictory fields

If a title, specification, and bullet disagree, do not choose whichever number looks best. Treat the disputed figure as unresolved and verify it in the maker’s manual.

Buying around an unstated accessory

An insulation resistance tester may need leads, clamps, probes, or batteries. Use the included-components field to see what is supplied, then check the current product page for anything left out.

Extending automotive claims to high-voltage vehicles

A tester listed for ordinary vehicle batteries does not automatically cover an airbag circuit or a high-voltage hybrid or EV system. Keep those systems outside a DIY insulation resistance tester job and consult a qualified technician.

FAQ

Which insulation resistance tester should I choose if I want battery power?

The Klein Tools ET600 lists Battery Powered, as do the 50V-1000V megohmmeter, the 640 g model, and the AIOMEST VC60B; only the Fluke 1507 lists alkaline. Check that the same listing also names your circuit or device, because a power source alone cannot establish compatibility.

Does the 50V-1000V megohmmeter include what I need to start?

Its included-components field says megohmmeter, test leads, alligator clip, 4xAA batteries, detailed user manual. Compare that with the leads, clamps, probes, or batteries the manual requires, and check the current product page before ordering if an essential part is not named.

Can the Fluke 1507 be used on household mains?

Do not infer household-mains suitability from its measurement label. The listing does not state a CAT rating, and a suitable CAT classification and voltage rating must match the circuit. A licensed electrician should handle panel or service work.

What does the 640 g megohmmeter display?

Its listing identifies 2000 Ohms Resistance Counts, 250V/500V/1000V/2000V/2500V AC/DC Voltmeter, 100 Data Storage, 1MΩ-200GΩ Auto-Ranging. That wording points to numeric readings and stored data, so it suits a job where you need to record values. Check the manual if the wording does not explain how the indication maps to a result.

Is the AIOMEST VC60B compatible with my equipment?

The listing gives no specific compatible-device list, so stay within its wording: a 1000V megohmmeter powered by 6x 1.5V AA batteries. Similar connectors, battery shapes, or nominal voltage do not prove support. If your equipment is not named, verify the exact application on the product page or choose a better documented tester.

Why does CAT information matter for an insulation resistance tester?

Measurement category classifies live measurement circuits in relation to available energy and impulse voltage, and it is separate from the displayed range. A tester with no stated CAT classification should not be treated as approved for household mains. Follow the instrument manual and local electrical rules for every live-circuit task.

How should I compare two close insulation resistance testers?

Compare one requirement at a time: measurement type, stated range, category information, display, and included components. The Klein Tools ET600 lists Battery Powered, whereas the AIOMEST VC60B lists Megohmmeter as its type. Choose the statement that matches your task, then reject the product with an unresolved safety or compatibility gap.

Bottom line

Choose the Klein Tools ET600 when its battery power and stated insulation test voltages are what you need. Move to the Fluke 1507 when its remote test probe better matches the job. Skip any tester that omits a required range, compatibility statement, or suitable category rating, and leave panel or service work to a licensed electrician.

Sources

  • Measurement category: explains why CAT classification and a displayed voltage range answer different safety questions.

Similar Posts