Two generic magnetic field detector pens beside a coil and electronics components.

Non-Contact Voltage Detector Pens: 8 Picks Compared

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Shoppers who search for a magnetic field detector pen usually want a slim tester that finds live wires without touching them. The listings in this research file do not match that wording. The eight pen-style products below are non-contact AC voltage detectors, and none of them states a magnetic field reading. The one listing that measures magnetic fields is a handheld EMF meter, which is not a pen, so it is covered only in the closing notes. Every fact comes from listing data checked on 2026-10-11. Where a listing gives two figures for the same spec, both appear so you can check them before buying.

Quick answer

The pens differ mainly in their lowest stated voltage and in how they switch ranges. The ZOTEK Zoyi DB02, Neoteck NTK139, MUFASHA DBT02 and Westinghouse pens each list a 12V low end, and the ZOTEK, Neoteck and MUFASHA also list a 48V low end for their second range. The Weikani lists 60V to 1000V, the Santronics 3000 lists 50 to 1000VAC, and the Southwire 40126N lists 24-600V AC. If you need to catch a 24 V circuit, the Southwire is at its stated floor with no margin, and the Weikani and Santronics do not reach it at all. Warranty and battery fields are the other separators, and several listings leave them blank.

Comparison table

Pen Stated AC range Weight or size as listed Warranty as listed Listing checked
ZOTEK Zoyi DB02 12V-1000V and 48V-1000V 6.14 x 0.9 x 1.1 inches Not stated 2026-10-11
Neoteck NTK139 12-1000V and 48-1000V 100 g; 6.1 x 0.8 x 0.8 inches 18 Months From Purchasing Day 2026-10-11
Weikani VT120-2023-BTM 60V – 1000V Not stated Bullet mentions 36-Month after sale service 2026-10-11
Santronics 3000 50-1000VAC 46.2 g; 5.58 x 0.5 x 0.75 inches Not stated 2026-10-11
Southwire 40126N 24-600V AC 2.56 ounces; 1 x 1 x 1 inches 2 Years 2026-10-11
Westinghouse WPMDNC1000V10 12V-1000V AC (low 12V-100V, high 100V-1000V) 6.3 x 0.9 x 1 inches 2-year Westinghouse (bullet) 2026-10-11
SNAKOL SK-C01A 12V-1000V AC 40.3 g; 0.87 x 1.18 x 6.5 inches Not stated 2026-10-11
MUFASHA DBT02 12V-1000V and 48V-1000V 1.42 ounces 3 years (bullet) 2026-10-11

How the eight were chosen

The research file for this keyword holds nine listings. Eight are pen-style voltage detectors, and those eight are used here. The ninth, the ERICKHILL EMF meter, is handheld and measures both electric and magnetic fields, so it does not match the pen wording. No extra products were supplied for this keyword. Pens with a single stated range, such as the SNAKOL, are included because their detection behavior is described in the bullets, and the title is the only source for their range.

ZOTEK Zoyi DB02 Voltage Tester Pen

The title and the first bullet state a dual range of 12V-1000V and 48V-1000V. The listing says the pen detects AC voltage without contact and includes a break-point testing function for locating breaks in wires and cables. A built-in flashlight is listed for dim areas. The sound and light indicators are described as a red light with beeping for voltage present and a green light for lower sensitivity. The listing gives the item dimensions as 6.14 x 0.9 x 1.1 inches and names model ZT-DB02. It states CE under specification met. No weight or warranty field appears in the listing data.

View the ZOTEK Zoyi DB02 on Amazon

Neoteck NTK139 Voltage Tester Pen

The title gives 12-1000V and 48-1000V, and a bullet says the default mode is 48-1000V with the S button switching to 12-1000V. The listing describes an LCD display and an alert when voltage rises above 90V, with the screen turning red. It says the pen can act as a wire breakpoint finder in high-sensitivity mode and includes an LED flashlight. The listing says it powers off automatically after 5 minutes without operation. The weight is listed as 100 g and the dimensions as 6.1 x 0.8 x 0.8 inches. The warranty field reads 18 Months From Purchasing Day. A bullet says CE CAT III 600V RoHS, but the specification field lists only RoHS, so both entries are shown here.

View the Neoteck NTK139 on Amazon

Weikani Non-Contact Voltage Tester Pen

The title gives a test range of 60V – 1000V, and a bullet repeats 60V-1000V. The listing says the tip glows red and the pen beeps when AC voltage is present, and that a flashlight is built in for dark work. Its safety bullet lists CAT.IV, ETL and CE, while the specification field lists only Beeps. The bullets describe a durable ABS case, a pencil hook and a pocket clip. A bullet mentions 36-Month after sale service. The listing does not state an item weight, dimensions or battery type. The included components field names one item.

View the Weikani Non-Contact Voltage Tester on Amazon

Santronics 3000 Non-Contact Voltage Tester

The title states a 50-1000VAC detection range, and a bullet repeats 50 and 1000 volts. The listing describes an always-on design with no on/off switch, so the pen is ready the moment it leaves a pocket. The bullets describe a high-intensity LED and a loud audible alert. One bullet says the body is non-flammable high-impact polycarbonate that meets CAT IV, and the title repeats CAT IV Certified. A bullet says the pen is made in the United States. The listing gives 46.2 g as the item weight and 5.58 x 0.5 x 0.75 inches as the dimensions. No warranty field appears, and the bullets name no flashlight, only the alert LED.

View the Santronics 3000 on Amazon

Southwire 40126N NCV Dual Range Pen

The title says dual range, but the only range stated anywhere in the listing is 24-600V AC, and the compatible devices field repeats that figure. This is the one pen in the set whose stated floor is 24 V. The bullets describe audible and visual alerts, two flashlights and an auto shut-off for battery saving. The specification field lists Cat Iv 600v. The item weight is 2.56 ounces and the dimensions are 1 x 1 x 1 inches. The power field reads Aaa, and the warranty field states 2 Years. The bullets also contain general brand statements, such as the claim that the company delivers on its promises, and those do not add a measurement.

View the Southwire 40126N on Amazon

Westinghouse Non-Contact Voltage Tester Pen

The title gives a dual range of 12V-1000V AC, and a bullet splits it into 12V-100V for low voltage and 100V-1000V for high voltage. The listing describes an IP67 rating for dust and water, a 6.5 foot (2 meter) drop resistance and a CAT IV 1000V rating. It names UL 61010-1, CSA C22.2 and IEC 61010-2-030 standards. The pen has a red LED and beeper, a worklight and an automatic power-off after five minutes of inactivity. The dimensions are 6.3 x 0.9 x 1 inches. The listing states a 2-year Westinghouse warranty in a bullet, but the warranty field is absent from the specification data.

View the Westinghouse pen on Amazon

SNAKOL SK-C01A Non Contact Voltage Tester Pen

The title gives 12V-1000V AC, and a bullet says the pen has adjustable high and low sensitivity. The listing describes a laser position marker, a light and beep alarm that gets louder and faster at higher voltage, a flashlight, and a live and neutral wire identifier. It says the pen runs on 2 AAA batteries with auto shut-off and a low-battery reminder. The item weight is 40.3 g and the dimensions are 0.87 x 1.18 x 6.5 inches. The listing names the color as blue. The warranty is not stated in the data.

View the SNAKOL SK-C01A on Amazon

MUFASHA DBT02 Non Contact Voltage Tester

The title gives a dual range of 12V-1000V and 48V-1000V. A bullet says the high setting tests 12V-1000V and the low setting tests 48V-1000V, and the pen switches between them. The listing describes a red light with a high-frequency beep for high voltage and a yellow light with a low-frequency beep for low voltage. A flashlight and a red pointing light are included, and a bullet notes that the pointing light is a Class II laser under 1 mW. A bullet says the warranty is 3 years with lifetime technical support. The item weight is 1.42 ounces, and the EU spare part availability field lists 3 years.

View the MUFASHA DBT02 on Amazon

Worked example: a 24 V circuit and a 48 V circuit

Take a 24 V circuit first. The Southwire’s stated floor is 24V, so it sits exactly at the edge of its range. The Westinghouse low setting starts at 12V, and the SNAKOL starts at 12V, so both include 24 V. The ZOTEK, Neoteck and MUFASHA include 24 V only on the setting that starts at 12V, because their 48V setting begins above 24 V. The Weikani starts at 60V and the Santronics at 50VAC, so neither covers 24 V. Now take a 48 V circuit. The Weikani at 60V and the Santronics at 50V still sit above the test value, while the Southwire, the Westinghouse, the SNAKOL and the low settings of the ZOTEK, Neoteck and MUFASHA all include it.

What the listings do not say

None of the eight states a magnetic field reading, and none gives an alarm threshold in volts for the alert, only the stated range. Weight is missing for the Weikani, the Westinghouse and the ZOTEK. Battery type is missing for most pens, and the Weikani and ZOTEK name no battery count. Warranty is missing for the Santronics, the Weikani, the ZOTEK and the SNAKOL. The Southwire title says dual range without a second range figure. The Neoteck bullet says CAT III 600V while its specification field lists RoHS only.

FAQ

Do these pens detect magnetic fields?

The listings describe them as non-contact AC voltage detectors. None of the eight states a magnetic field reading. The only magnetic field instrument in the research file is the ERICKHILL EMF meter, which is handheld rather than pen-shaped.

Which pens list a 12V low end?

The ZOTEK, Neoteck, MUFASHA, Westinghouse and SNAKOL all list 12V as a lower limit, although on the ZOTEK, Neoteck and MUFASHA that limit applies only on the high setting.

What does dual range mean on these listings?

On the Neoteck and MUFASHA, the two ranges are 12V-1000V and 48V-1000V, and a sensitivity button or switch selects between them. The ZOTEK lists both ranges without saying how they are selected. The Westinghouse splits its range at 100V. The Southwire title says dual range but states only 24-600V AC.

Do all eight include a light?

Most listings name a flashlight or worklight. The Santronics bullets name an alert LED and no flashlight, so check the product page if you need one.

Which fields should I confirm before buying?

Confirm the stated range, the warranty and the battery count on the live product page, because several listings leave these blank or conflict with the title.

Final notes

For a 24 V floor, the Westinghouse and SNAKOL are the pens whose stated lower limit is 12V in every setting. For a 48V-and-up test, the Southwire, the Westinghouse, the SNAKOL and the switchable pens all cover it. The choice between them then depends on the fields that the listings state in full, such as the warranty, the weight and the alert type.

Amazon links

ZOTEK Zoyi DB02

Neoteck NTK139

Weikani Non-Contact Voltage Tester

Santronics 3000

Southwire 40126N

Westinghouse pen

SNAKOL SK-C01A

MUFASHA DBT02

Related reading

For the wider pen field, see best pen voltage detector. To learn how to read the alarm on a pen like these, see how to use a voltage detector pen. For a pen that also suits low voltage work, see best AC voltage detector.

Similar Posts