Generic capacitance meters and multimeters arranged with safely discharged capacitors.

Farad Testers: 6 Picks for Capacitance Checks

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

A capacitance check measures how much charge a capacitor can hold, which is stated in farads (in practice, microfarads for most parts). None of the listings in the research set uses the word farad as a function, so this roundup reads capacitance as the function the listings state. Six of the twelve listings for this keyword name capacitance among their functions. They are the AstroAI clamp, the DEASOMIYE T21D, the Lscsdf FS899L, the TESMEN TSM-599, the Proster TRMS meter and the UNI-T UT161E. The listing data was checked on 11 October 2026.

Quick answer: the UNI-T UT161E is the only listing that states an upper capacitance limit, at 220 mF. For a meter that reads capacitance alongside a clamp, the AstroAI listing is the one to look at. Discharge a capacitor fully before you connect any meter to it.

The six picks at a glance

The table shows the functions and figures each seller states. The capacitance ceiling is shown only where a listing gives one.

Meter Capacitance function (as listed) Count or other rating (as listed) Weight and size (as listed)
AstroAI clamp meter (B0DB23PPHL) Capacitance with AC/DC voltage, AC current, resistance, continuity, NCV 2000 counts Approx. 203 g; 8.46 x 4.53 x 1.77 inches (195 x 68 x 29 mm also listed)
DEASOMIYE T21D (B0B31YC3YD) Capacitance with frequency, temperature, diode and battery test TRMS 6000 counts 300 g; 2.68 x 5.51 x 1.69 inches
Lscsdf FS899L (B0FR9BY1K3) Capacitance with resistance, NCV and temperature 6000 counts; 4.8-inch screen 5.98 x 2.87 x 0.79 inches
TESMEN TSM-599 (B0D5LSQL58) Capacitance in Manual mode, with Hz%, temperature and NCV TRMS 6000 counts; 10A/250V fuse Not stated
Proster TRMS multimeter (B0CQR9F26L) Capacitance with frequency, duty ratio and temperature 6000 counts; 20A; magnetic NCV 380 g; 7.68 x 3.62 x 2.05 inches
UNI-T UT161E (B0B1CZBPX7) Capacitance up to 220 mF, with frequency and duty cycle 22,000 counts; 1000 V AC/DC 1.5 pounds

AstroAI clamp meter: capacitance with a clamp

The AstroAI listing describes a 2000 count clamp meter that measures AC and DC voltage, AC current, resistance, capacitance, diode continuity and live wire checks, with a non-contact voltage (NCV) function. A bullet notes that it cannot measure DC current, so the clamp is for AC current only. The listing gives no capacitance range, so check the range of the test you need before you buy.

The weight and size figures conflict. The listing gives approximately 203 g, and dimensions of 8.46 x 4.53 x 1.77 inches. A second dimension line gives 195 x 68 x 29 mm, which works out to about 7.68 x 2.68 x 1.14 inches. Those two sets of figures describe different sizes, so the listing does not settle the size. Measure the meter yourself if the size matters for your case or pouch.

DEASOMIYE T21D: a TRMS meter with a wide function list

The DEASOMIYE T21D is a TRMS meter with 6000 counts. Its bullets list non-contact voltage testing, AC and DC voltage and current, resistance, continuity, frequency, capacitance, diode, temperature, live wire and battery tests. That is a wide list for one meter, and the listing does not say how many of those functions share the same input. The listed weight is 300 g.

The listing gives no capacitance ceiling and no accuracy figure for the capacitance function. A buyer who needs to read a large capacitor should check the range in the printed specification before purchase.

Lscsdf FS899L: a 6000 count color meter

Its listing covers capacitance, resistance, non-contact voltage and temperature, with a 4.8-inch color screen and a USB rechargeable battery of 200 mA as the listing states. The listing gives no capacitance range or safety category. The ZMIWNIED listing for the same model code states CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V, which is a safety figure this listing does not give.

TESMEN TSM-599: a dual-mode meter with a manual capacitance setting

The TESMEN TSM-599 is a TRMS meter with 6000 counts and two modes. In Auto mode it selects its measurement for you. In Manual mode, its listing says you can read DC and AC current, diode, capacitance, Hz%, temperature, NCV and live wire. So capacitance is a manual function on this meter, not an automatic one. The listing gives a 10A/250V fuse, which protects the current input. It gives no weight or capacitance range.

Proster TRMS multimeter: capacitance with a magnet

The Proster listing is a 6000 count TRMS meter rated for 20A. It measures AC and DC voltage and current, resistance, capacitance, frequency, duty ratio and temperature. It has a magnetic NCV function, a data hold, a backlight, a flashlight, a diode test, a continuity test and an auto power off. The listing weighs 380 g and gives dimensions of 7.68 x 3.62 x 2.05 inches. It also mentions a safety rating of CAT III 600 V and CAT II 1000 V, and the listing does not state a capacitance range.

UNI-T UT161E: the only listing with a capacitance ceiling

The UNI-T UT161E is the only listing in the set that gives an upper limit for capacitance. It states capacitance up to 220 mF, along with resistance up to 220 MΩ, frequency up to 220 MHz and a duty cycle from 0.1 percent to 99.9 percent. The meter has 22,000 counts, reads AC and DC voltage up to 1000 V, and reads AC and DC current up to 20 A. The listed weight is 1.5 pounds. The safety rating is CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V.

How we chose these six

These six are the listings for this keyword that name capacitance as one of their functions in the listing text or specification table. The Fluke 87V and the Innova 3340 do not name capacitance, and the Gardner Bender analog meter and the QCL-TECH meter do not either. The ANENG listing does not name capacitance in its listing text, so it is also left out. The NJTY T3 names resistance and voltage but no capacitance function. The rest of the list is on that basis.

  • Capacitance function: the capacitance function as the listing states it, with any range given.
  • Count or rating: the display count or safety rating in the listing.
  • Weight and size: the listed figures, shown as written.

Worked example: how much of the UNI-T range a 100 µF part uses

Take a 100 µF capacitor as an example. The UNI-T listing states an upper limit of 220 mF, which is 220,000 µF. A 100 µF reading therefore uses about 0.05 percent of the meter’s upper limit (100 divided by 220,000), so the part sits well inside the stated span. The same arithmetic shows that a 1 mF part uses about 0.45 percent of that span.

The other five listings give no capacitance ceiling, so the same calculation cannot be run for them. A reading that is near the top of an unlisted range may be outside what the meter is designed for. Check the printed range on any meter before you rely on a value near the top of its span.

What the listings do not say

Only the UNI-T listing gives a capacitance ceiling. None of the listings gives an accuracy figure for the capacitance function, and none states the smallest value the meter can read. The AstroAI size figures conflict with each other, and the Lscsdf safety rating is given only in the ZMIWNIED listing for the same model code. The TESMEN and Proster listings do not give a weight or a full size.

None of these listings describes a comparison between the capacitance readings of different meters, and none reports a check of the figures against a reference capacitor.

Frequently asked questions

Which meter in this set states a capacitance limit?

The UNI-T UT161E states capacitance up to 220 mF. The other five listings give no capacitance ceiling.

Can the AstroAI clamp meter measure DC current?

No. The listing says it cannot test DC current, so the clamp is for AC current only.

Does the TESMEN TSM-599 measure capacitance automatically?

No. The listing says capacitance is a Manual mode function, so you must select Manual mode to read it.

Is the Lscsdf FS899L safety rated?

The Lscsdf listing does not state a safety category. The ZMIWNIED listing for the same model code states CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V.

Why is this roundup six picks rather than seven?

Only six listings in the research set name capacitance as a function, so the list stops at six.

Conclusion

For a capacitance check with a stated upper limit, the UNI-T UT161E is the only listing in the set that gives one. For a meter that also clamps AC current, the AstroAI listing is the one to look at, with the caveat that its size figures conflict. The DEASOMIYE and Lscsdf listings offer a wide function list for a single meter, and the TESMEN and Proster listings offer capacitance as a manual or secondary function. Read the printed range before you test a large part. For more on capacitance meters, see best capacitance tester, best capacitor tester and best capacitor meter. For a method using a multimeter, see best test capacitor with digital multimeter and testing a capacitor with a voltmeter. For a wider view of meters, see best multimeter.

AstroAI clamp meter on Amazon · DEASOMIYE T21D on Amazon · Lscsdf FS899L on Amazon · TESMEN TSM-599 on Amazon · Proster TRMS multimeter on Amazon · UNI-T UT161E on Amazon

Similar Posts