Best Outlet Checker for Wiring, Ground and GFCI Tests
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
At a glance: the 5 picks, by GFCI/voltage function
| Pick | Function | CAT rating | Flag |
|---|---|---|---|
| Klein Tools RT110 | Light-pattern wiring indicator only | Not stated | No voltage readout or GFCI trip function; hand powered, no battery needed |
| Goldeep ST20 | LCD with real-time voltage + GFCI leakage test (6-9mA, ~3 sec trip) | Not stated | GFCI test valid only on a correctly wired line with breaker installed — not a fault diagnosis tool |
| Southwire 40022S | Push-button GFCI, 7 test modes | Not stated | No leakage-current figure or screen readout given — rely on light pattern and manual |
| focemta FTCT01 Breaker Finder Kit | Breaker finder + outlet tester + GFCI tester, LCD shows 90-135V plus signal strength | CAT II 135V, ETL compliance | 120V-class tool only; largest/most involved option — more tool than needed for a quick check |
| GroundLuxe OT-001 | Light-pattern indicator for grounding-product use | UL certified for 120V US outlets | Not a GFCI trip tester, shows no voltage figure; plug-and-play, no batteries |
Specs are from each product’s Amazon listing (full citations and individual write-ups in this guide’s sources section). Only focemta states a CAT rating. None of these replaces a full diagnostic — a positive or unclear light pattern is a reason to call a licensed electrician, not a final answer.
Quick answer
For a plain wiring check on a standard 120V North American outlet, a light-pattern plug-in tester such as the Klein Tools RT110 is the simple choice. If you also want a voltage readout and a GFCI trip test, pick an LCD model such as the Goldeep ST20. If you want to find the breaker that feeds an outlet too, a kit like the focemta breaker finder (picked below) covers all three jobs. An outlet checker only reads a plug-in receptacle. It does not replace a meter.
Work on mains circuits can kill. Use these testers only on outlets you can reach safely, follow the instructions that come with the tool, and leave panel or service work to a licensed electrician.
What an outlet checker tells you, and what it does not
An outlet checker is a small plug-in indicator. You push it into a three-slot receptacle and read the light pattern or the screen. The listings for the testers below describe the same core fault list: open ground, open neutral, open hot, hot/ground reverse, hot/neutral reverse and correct wiring. That list covers the common mistakes found behind a wall plate, and it is the reason these tools are cheap and fast to use.
What the listings do not claim matters just as much. None of the product pages describes a measurement of ground resistance, wire gauge or the load a circuit can carry. A plug-in tester shows the wiring pattern at the slots and nothing beyond it. If the pattern is anything other than correct wiring, stop using the outlet and get a qualified person to look at it. For longer background on the fault patterns, see our guide to GFCI open ground testers.
Decision guide: which type for which job
- You want a basic yes-or-no wiring check at home or in a rental. Choose a light-pattern tester. The Klein RT110 is listed for 110/125V AC at 50/60Hz in 3-wire outlets and uses a light sequence to show correct or incorrect wiring.
- You also test GFCI outlets. Choose a model whose listing states a GFCI test function. The Goldeep ST20 states a 6mA to 9mA leakage current that should trip a correctly wired GFCI line in about 3 seconds. The Southwire 40022S is listed with a push-button GFCI function and 7 test functions.
- You want a number, not just lights. Choose an LCD model. The Goldeep ST20 lists a colour LCD with real-time voltage. The focemta kit lists an LCD showing 90-135V.
- You need to find the breaker for an outlet. Choose a breaker-finder kit. The focemta kit includes a transmitter and a receiver for tracing.
- You plan to use a grounding sheet, mat or pillowcase. Choose a tester sold for that purpose, such as the GroundLuxe OT-001, which lists UL certification and a compact body for checking the outlet first.
- Your receptacle is a dryer, range or other large-appliance outlet. These plug-in testers are listed for standard 120V three-wire outlets. Do not assume they fit a larger receptacle. Use a meter and a qualified electrician instead.
Five outlet checkers compared
Klein Tools RT110: the simple light-pattern check
The Klein Tools RT110 is the plainest option here. Its listing describes a clear light sequence that shows correct or incorrect wiring, and says it is designed for 110/125V AC at 50/60Hz in 3-wire outlets. The listing says it conforms to UL Std 1436 and is certified to CSA Std C22.2 #160. It lists an operating range of 32 to 140 degrees F (0 to 40 degrees C) and a 6.6-foot (2 m) drop rating. The item dimensions are given as 5.5 x 3.5 x 1.8 inches, and the power source is listed as hand powered, so there is no battery to replace.
Limitation: it is a wiring indicator only. The listing does not describe a voltage readout or a GFCI trip function, so it will not tell you whether a GFCI outlet actually trips. The listing also does not state a measurement category (CAT) rating, so treat it as a tool for a quick check of a receptacle rather than for panel work.
Goldeep ST20: LCD with voltage and a GFCI leakage test
The Goldeep ST20 adds a screen. The listing says it detects six wiring faults on North American 3-wire 120V outlets, shows green for good and red for faults, and displays real-time voltage. An auto-hold function locks the reading, with the HOLD indicator flashing for about 10 seconds after you pull the tester out. The GFCI function applies a 6mA to 9mA leakage current to the ground wire, and the listing says the line breaker should trip within about 3 seconds. If it trips, the LCD shows the trip time. The tester shuts itself off after about 3 minutes unused.
The listed weight is 2.88 ounces, the dimensions are 4.09 x 2.01 x 1.18 inches, it takes 2 batteries (included with the package) and carries a 1-year warranty. Limitation: the listing says to run the GFCI test only on a correctly wired line with the circuit breaker installed, so it is not a way to diagnose a line that already shows a wiring fault. It needs batteries, which a light-only tester does not.
Southwire 40022S: push-button GFCI check in a pocket-size body
The Southwire 40022S is a small plug-in receptacle tester. Its listing describes a push-button GFCI function with 7 test modes, aimed at home inspectors, electricians and home renovators. The listed weight is 1.92 ounces, the dimensions are 1 x 1.7 x 3.6 inches, the compatible voltage is 120V AC, and the specification met is EN 61010-1.
Limitation: the listing text gives no leakage-current figure for the GFCI button and no screen readout, so you read the light pattern and rely on the manual for what each pattern means. It does not state a CAT rating either.
focemta breaker finder kit: three tools in one
The focemta circuit breaker finder with GFCI outlet tester (model FTCT01) combines a breaker finder, an outlet tester and a GFCI tester. The listing describes an LCD that shows voltage in the 90-135V range plus signal strength, an automatic GFCI trip test that displays the trip time, and red and green indicator lights for six common wiring faults. The kit lists a transmitter, a receiver with an anti-slip design, a 9V and 2 AAA batteries, a screwdriver, a manual and a carrying case. It lists a certified CAT II 135V safety rating with ETL compliance, an ABS housing and a weight of 0.9 pounds. The item dimensions are 8.7 x 5.1 x 1.8 inches.
Limitation: it is the largest and most involved option here, and its listed window is 90-135V, so it is a 120V-class tool only. If all you need is a quick wiring check, the kit is more tool than the job requires.
GroundLuxe OT-001: a tester sold for grounding products
The GroundLuxe OT-001 is marketed for people who use grounding sheets, mats or pillowcases and want to confirm the outlet is grounded first. The listing names the same fault list (open ground, open neutral, open hot, both reversal faults and correct wiring), describes plug-and-play use with no batteries, and says it is UL certified for 120V US wall outlets. The dimensions are 3.25 x 1.45 x 1 inches.
Limitation: the listing is written around earthing products, and it describes light-pattern indication only. It is not a GFCI trip tester and shows no voltage figure.
Similar light-only testers
Two more listings describe the same basic fault list for 3-prong 120V outlets. The EOHELGRO outlet tester lists 125V AC at 50/60Hz, ETL and UL marks, LED indicators and an ABS housing, and its list of detected conditions also names ground fault interruption. The NHIDKU yellow tester lists a UL mark and says it checks that an outlet is grounded before using grounding products. Neither listing gives a size or a weight, so compare those details on the product page before you buy.
How to read the light pattern safely
Every tester above ships with its own pattern chart, and the charts are not identical, so read the one in your manual. The general approach is the same for all of them:
- Plug the tester firmly into the outlet and read the pattern or the screen.
- Compare the result with the chart for your exact model. Do not rely on memory from a different tester.
- If the result is anything other than correct wiring, stop using that outlet. Do not open the box unless you are qualified to do so.
- For a GFCI test, use a model whose listing states a GFCI function, and use it only on a line that shows correct wiring.
- Check the tester against an outlet you already know works, so you can tell a dead tester from a dead outlet.
Frequently asked questions
Can an outlet checker test a 240V dryer or range outlet?
The listings describe 110/125V AC, 125V AC or 120V three-wire outlets, and the Goldeep and focemta listings give a 120V-class window. Do not use these plug-in testers on a larger receptacle. For that, see our guide to testing a wall outlet with a meter, or hire an electrician.
Does a light-only tester check that a GFCI outlet trips?
Not unless the listing says so. The Klein RT110 and GroundLuxe listings describe wiring indication only. The Goldeep ST20 (6mA to 9mA leakage, trip in about 3 seconds) and the Southwire 40022S (push-button GFCI function) state GFCI testing.
Can I use this instead of a multimeter?
No. The listings describe a wiring-pattern check at the slots. A multimeter measures voltage, resistance and more across a range of settings. For a comparison of plug-in testers, see our guide to the best AC outlet tester.
Do these testers carry a safety category rating?
Only some state one. The focemta kit lists a certified CAT II 135V safety rating with ETL compliance. The Klein RT110 lists UL Std 1436 and CSA Std C22.2 #160 conformity. The GroundLuxe listing lists UL, and the Southwire lists EN 61010-1. Check the product page for the exact marking before you rely on it.
Bottom line
Pick the Klein RT110 for a plain wiring check, the Goldeep ST20 if you want a voltage screen and a GFCI trip test, the Southwire 40022S for a pocket-size push-button GFCI tester, and the focemta kit if you also need to trace the breaker. Choose the GroundLuxe OT-001 if the goal is confirming the ground before using an earthing product. Confirm the voltage window and the fault list on the product page for your exact receptacle before you order.