Test a Capacitor With a Digital Multimeter: How-To
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
Testing a capacitor with a digital multimeter starts with a meter that has a capacitance mode and a range that covers the part you are checking. Discharge the capacitor before you connect the leads, because a charged part can give a shock and can also damage the meter. The meter’s CAT rating should match the circuit you are working on, even when the capacitor sits inside a low-voltage device.
Diode and continuity modes help confirm the wiring around the part before you trust a capacitance reading. Work on mains circuits can kill, so panel or service work belongs to a licensed electrician. Follow the instrument manual and local electrical rules throughout.
Quick answer
To test capacitor with digital multimeter, disconnect power, discharge the capacitor safely per the equipment manual, remove at least one lead to isolate it, then use the capacitance mode and compare the reading to the rating printed on the capacitor body. A dedicated capacitance meter reads small values with fine resolution, while a full digital multimeter also checks AC/DC voltage, continuity test digital multimeter functions, and digital multimeter diode test functions.
For general home and electronics use, choose a true RMS auto-ranging multimeter with a wide capacitance range and a stated CAT rating. To test HVAC capacitor with multimeter work where you may be near 600V circuits, choose a meter that states CAT III 600V and includes temperature and 10A current. For small film and ceramic parts, choose a dedicated 200pF to 20mF capacitance meter with manual zero. Never open a live panel to reach a capacitor. If the circuit is hard-wired or unclear, ask a licensed electrician.
What matters when you test capacitors
1. Capacitance range and resolution
Capacitance mode reports in picofarads, nanofarads, microfarads, or millifarads. Match the meter range to the parts you check. Small electronics use nanofarad and picofarad values. Motor and HVAC run capacitors use microfarad values.
The AstroAI listing states Capacitance: 60nF/600nF/6μF/60μF/600μF/60mF. The GOLDCHAMP listing states Capacitance Range: 200pF/2000pF/20nF/200nF/2uF/20uF/200uF and 2000uF and 20mF. The AIOMEST listing states measurement from 200pF to 20,000µF (20mF) across 9 ranges. Check the listing for the exact accuracy at each range before you buy.
A common rule of thumb is to choose a meter whose lowest range is below your smallest capacitor and whose highest range is above your largest capacitor. This is a simplification, not a factory specification.
2. Safety rating must fit the circuit
Measurement category (CAT) is a method of classification by the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) of live electric circuits used in measurement and testing of installations and equipment, usually in relation to a building. The categories take into account the total continuous energy available at the given point of the circuit and the occurrence of impulse voltages.
Measurement category II is for measurements performed on circuits directly connected to the low-voltage installation. Measurement category IV is for measurements performed at the source of the high-voltage installation. The required impulse withstand voltage varies from 500 V (CAT II, 50 V) to 12,000 V (CAT IV, 1000 V). IEC 61010-1 requires that the transient withstand capability is made known to the user.
For this guide, quote CAT only from the listing. The AstroAI listing states EN 61010-1 CAT III 600V, CATII 1000V. The Fluke 17B+ listing states Cat Iii 600v and CAT III 600V Safety Rating. The Klein MM420 listing states Cat Iii 600v Safety Rating and includes test leads with CAT III/CAT IV safety caps. The Westinghouse listing states Certified to UL 61010-1 and CSA C22.2 standards, but the listing data given here does not state a CAT rating, so do not assume it is safe for household mains. The GOLDCHAMP and AIOMEST listings given here do not state a CAT rating. Do not call a meter safe for household mains when the listing does not state a CAT rating.
3. Disconnect, discharge, and isolate
Capacitors store charge. Disconnect power, follow the equipment manual for discharge, verify zero voltage with a suitable meter mode, then isolate the part. Many guides remove one lead so parallel paths do not change the reading.
Do not touch terminals with bare hands during discharge or measurement. Do not probe a live HVAC cabinet or breaker panel as a beginner. If you need to test a circuit breaker with a multimeter, do that only within the limits of your training and the meter manual, and leave panel or service work to a licensed electrician.
4. Diode and continuity checks support the job
A capacitance reading alone does not prove the wiring is correct. Use continuity to confirm a broken connection or a short in the de-energized wiring, and use diode mode to check discrete diodes on a board when the manual allows it.
The AstroAI, Klein MM420, Fluke 17B+, and Westinghouse listings all state diode and continuity functions. If you need detail on digital multimeter check continuity or diode continuity test, read those guides before you probe. For automotive boards, also review best test zener diode with multimeter.
5. True RMS, counts, and usability
True RMS, explained simply, is a way for the meter to report the effective value of AC signals that are not clean sine waves. This is a simplification. Listings that state True RMS help when you check distorted AC voltage around drives, ballasts, or HVAC controls.
Counts describe display resolution. The AstroAI listing states 5999 and 6000 Counts. The Westinghouse listing states Large 4000-count LCD display. The GOLDCHAMP and AIOMEST listings state 1999 counts and 1999-count resolution. Higher counts do not by themselves mean higher accuracy. Check the stated accuracy for voltage and capacitance.
Usability matters for capacitor work. Look for data hold, backlight, manual zero for small capacitors, kickstand, and lead storage. The AIOMEST listing states Manual Zero and Data Hold. The GOLDCHAMP listing states Back light and Data-Hold and easy ZERO setting. The Klein MM420 listing states backlit display, test lead holders, kickstand, and optional magnetic hanger.
Top picks by situation
Choose by task. For mixed electronics and home checks, pick a full multimeter with nanofarad to millifarad coverage. To test HVAC capacitor with multimeter tasks, pick a CAT-rated true RMS meter with 10A current and temperature. For sorting loose film, ceramic, and electrolytic parts, pick a dedicated capacitance meter with 200pF resolution and zero adjustment.
If you want a Fluke multimeter capacitor test option for general electrical work, consider the Fluke model below and confirm its capacitance procedure in its manual. For HVAC-specific Fluke context, see best Fluke 116 digital HVAC multimeter.
1. AstroAI Digital Multimeter, True RMS 6000 Counts Auto-Ranging Volt Meter for Automotive & Home (Best overall)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):
- Capacitance: 60nF/600nF/6μF/60μF/600μF/60mF
- Safety/Compliances: EN 61010-1 CAT III 600V, CATII 1000V
- DC Voltage: 600mV ±(0.8%+5), 6V/60V/600V ±(0.8%+3), 1000V ±(1%+5)
- DC Current: 600μA/6000μA/60mA/600mA ±(0.8%+5); 6A/10A ±(1.5%+3)
- Power: 1 x 9V 6F22 Battery Included
Pros
- States capacitance from 60nF to 60mF
- States EN 61010-1 CAT III 600V, CATII 1000V
- States True RMS and auto or manual range
Cons
- 190x90x35mm size is bulky for small bench sorting
- Manual needed to apply accuracy bands per range
Best for: Home and automotive users who want one meter for capacitance, voltage, current, diode and temperature
Skip if: You only sort tiny film parts and want manual zero for lead capacitance
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. Klein Tools MM420 Auto-Ranging TRMS Digital Multimeter (Best for HVAC site work)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):
- Specification Met: Cat Iii 600v Safety Rating
- Item Highlight: 600V AC/DC Voltage, 10A AC/DC Current, 50 MOhms Resistance
- Item Weight: 14.56 ounces
- Brand: KLEIN TOOLS
- Model: MM420
Pros
- States Cat Iii 600v Safety Rating
- Lead-alert LEDs indicate proper test lead placement
- Withstands 6.6-Foot (2 m) drop per listing
Cons
- Numeric capacitance span not in data, check listing for microfarad limits
- 14.56 ounces with larger housing than pocket meters
Best for: HVAC and site helpers who need CAT-rated versatility after safe isolation
Skip if: You need printed picofarad resolution for small electronics
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. Fluke 17B+ Digital Multimeter, for Electrical Applications, Measures AC/DC Voltage 1000V, Current (Best Fluke pick)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):
- Specification Met: Cat Iii 600v
- Item Type Name: Fluke 17B+ Digital Multimeter, for Electrical Applications, Measures AC/DC Voltage 1000V, Current Measurements to 10A, Resistance, Continuity, Diode, Capacitance, Frequency, and Temperature Testing
- Brand: Fluke
- Model: Fluke-17B+
Pros
- States AC/DC to 1000V and 10A
- Includes TL75 test leads and K-type thermocouple
Cons
- Numeric capacitance range not in data, check listing
- 470 g weight is heavier than pocket capacitance meters
Best for: General electrical troubleshooting where Fluke manual steps are preferred
Skip if: You mainly sort small capacitors and need manual zero
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. Capacitor Tester Digital Multimeter Capacitance Meter 200pF-20mF (Best dedicated capacitor tester)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):
- Brand: GOLDCHAMP
- Model: GC-36D*2
- Specification Met: Ul 61010-1, Iec 61010-2-030, Ce
- Unit Count: 2 Count
Pros
- Low-end 200pF range for small parts
- Easy ZERO setting plus backlight and data-hold
- Covers up to 20mF for large electrolytics
Cons
- No CAT rating stated, not for household mains
- Capacitor-only scope without stated voltage and current modes
Best for: Bench sorting and matching loose capacitors after power is off
Skip if: You need mains voltage, current, or CAT-rated protection
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. Digital Capacitor Tester Multimeter, AIOMEST 200pF–20,000µF Capacitance Meter, Backlit LCD, Data (Best for small parts with zero)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):
- Brand: AIOMEST
- Model: AI-36D Capacitance Meter
- Item Weight: 200 g
- Style: AI-36D Capacitance Meter
Pros
- Manual zero for lead capacitance on small parts
- Backlit LCD with 1999-count resolution
- 200 g with foldable stand and 143x75x32mm size
Cons
- Capacitor-only scope, check listing for other modes
Best for: Hobbyists who want stable backlit readings on small film and ceramic parts
Skip if: You need to test outlets or other mains circuits
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. Westinghouse 600V True RMS Auto-Ranging Digital Multimeter, AC/DC Voltmeter & 10A Current (Best large display)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):
- Brand: Westinghouse
- Model: MM600V15
- Maximum Alternating Current: 10 A
- Direct Current Maximum: 10 A
- Specification Met: CSA, UL
Pros
- States 600V AC/DC and 10A AC/DC
- True RMS accuracy plus relative mode
- 6.5 Feet (2 Meter) drop resistance
Cons
- Capacitance span not stated in data, check listing
- CAT level not stated in data, check listing before mains use
Best for: Users who want large display and temperature for appliance checks
Skip if: You need a printed microfarad range or CAT rating in the listing
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
AstroAI Digital Multimeter — wide capacitance span for home and auto
This is the AstroAI Digital Multimeter, True RMS 6000 Counts Auto-Ranging Volt Meter for Automotive and Home Electrical Troubleshooting. It fits general users who want one meter for capacitance plus voltage, current, resistance, diode, continuity, and temperature.
Three specifics from its data: Capacitance of 60nF/600nF/6μF/60μF/600μF/60mF, DC Voltage to 1000V with stated accuracy bands, and DC Current to 6A/10A with stated accuracy. The listing also states Power from 1 x 9V 6F22 Battery Included and Item Weight of 492 g. The listing states Safety/Compliances of EN 61010-1 CAT III 600V, CATII 1000V.
Its honest limit is size and complexity for small bench sorting. The listing states Dimensions of 190x90x35mm and Item Dimensions of 7.48 x 3.54 x 1.38 inches, which is larger than pocket capacitance meters. Skip it if you only sort small capacitors and want manual zero for lead capacitance.
Klein Tools MM420 — CAT-rated choice for HVAC and site work
This is the Klein Tools MM420 Auto-Ranging TRMS Digital Multimeter. It fits DIYers and HVAC helpers who need lead-alert protection and a stated safety rating while checking capacitors after safe isolation.
Three specifics from its data: Item Highlight of 600V AC/DC Voltage, 10A AC/DC Current, 50 MOhms Resistance, versatility text that includes temperature, capacitance, frequency/duty cycle and diode test, and durability text that states built to withstand a 6.6-Foot (2 m) drop. The listing states Specification Met of Cat Iii 600v Safety Rating and Item Weight of 14.56 ounces.
Its honest limit is that the data given here does not list the exact capacitance ranges, so you must check the listing for microfarad limits before buying for large motor capacitors. Skip it if you need printed picofarad resolution for small film parts.
Fluke 17B+ Digital Multimeter — general electrical troubleshooting pick
This is the Fluke 17B+ Digital Multimeter, for Electrical Applications. It fits users who want Fluke build and manual style steps for voltage to 1000V and current to 10A plus capacitance, resistance, continuity, diode, frequency, and temperature testing.
Three specifics from its data: AC/DC Voltage and Current Measurements up to 1000V and 10A, temperature monitoring up to 400C with included type K thermocouple, and included TL75 Test Leads and K-Type Thermocouple Assembly. The listing states Specification Met of Cat Iii 600v and Item Weight of 470 g.
Its honest limit is that the data given here does not list the numeric capacitance range, so you must check the listing for the microfarad span before buying it mainly for capacitors. Skip it if you need a dedicated low-picofarad meter with zero adjustment.
GOLDCHAMP Capacitor Tester — dedicated sorting meter for small parts
This is the Capacitor Tester Digital Multimeter Capacitance Meter 200pF-20mF. It fits electronics hobbyists who sort loose capacitors, check unknown values, or match pairs on de-energized boards.
Three specifics from its data: Capacitance Range from 200pF through 20mF across stated steps, accuracy statements of +/-0.5% on lower ranges, +/-2.0% on 2000uF, and +/-4.0% on 20mF, and High accurate 1999 counts with low power consumption. The listing states Unit Count of 2 Count and Included Components of 1*Capacitance Meter per unit description given.
Its honest limit is narrow scope. This is a capacitor-only style tool in the data given, without stated AC voltage, current, diode, or CAT protection for mains work. The listing data given here does not state a CAT rating. Skip it if you need a full multimeter for live household mains or automotive current.
AIOMEST Digital Capacitor Tester — backlit bench helper with manual zero
This is the Digital Capacitor Tester Multimeter, AIOMEST 200pF–20,000µF Capacitance Meter. It fits users who want a light bench meter with backlight, data hold, and one-touch manual zero for lead error on small parts.
Three specifics from its data: measurement from 200pF to 20,000µF (20mF) across 9 ranges, large backlit LCD with 1999-count resolution, and foldable rear stand plus pocket size of 143×75×32mm and 5.6×2.95×1.26 inches. The listing states Item Weight of 200 g.
Its honest limit is also narrow scope. The data given here does not state a CAT rating, voltage rating, or diode and continuity modes, so it is not a substitute for a CAT-rated multimeter on mains circuits. Skip it if you need to test an electrical outlet with a multimeter or do other mains checks.
Westinghouse 600V True RMS Meter — large-display general meter
This is the Westinghouse 600V True RMS Auto-Ranging Digital Multimeter. It fits users who want a large 4000-count display, relative mode for comparison checks, and temperature in degrees C and F for appliances and HVAC cabinets.
Three specifics from its data: 600 Volt AC/DC Voltage Measurement, 10 Amp AC/DC Current Measurement with Direct Current Maximum of 10 A, and 6.5 Feet (2 Meter) Drop Resistance. The listing states Item Dimensions of 5.9 x 2.8 x 2 inches, Item Weight of 7.2 ounces, and Specification Met of CSA, UL with text Certified to UL 61010-1 and CSA C22.2 standards.
Its honest limit is missing detail in the data given here. The capacitance span and CAT level are not stated in the specs provided, so check the product listing for the microfarad range and CAT rating before buying it mainly to test capacitors. Skip it if you need printed low-picofarad accuracy.
How to choose for this task
Match the meter to the capacitor size, the circuit location, and the extra checks you need. Use this order.
Check capacitance span first. For ceramic and film parts, you need picofarad and nanofarad ranges. For electrolytics, you need microfarad ranges into the hundreds. For motor run parts, confirm the top microfarad limit. If the listing does not state the range, do not guess. Ask the seller or choose a model that prints it.
Check safety second. If the capacitor sits inside a furnace, air handler, condenser, or hard-wired appliance, you are near mains energy. Choose a meter that states a CAT rating suited to that point of the installation and follow the manual. The AstroAI, Klein MM420, and Fluke 17B+ data above state CAT-related ratings. The other listings here do not state a CAT rating in the data given. For background on outlet-level checks, see how to test an outlet with a multimeter and how to test 24v with multimeter.
Check usability third. Backlight helps in dark HVAC closets. Data hold freezes the reading when leads are in a tight spot. Manual zero removes residual lead capacitance on 200pF ranges. A kickstand frees hands. Confirm battery type. The AstroAI uses 1 x 9V 6F22 Battery Included. The Klein MM420 uses 2 x AAA batteries.
| Meter | Capacitance span stated | Safety stated in data | Current / voltage stated | Display / counts | Weight / size stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AstroAI | 60nF to 60mF | EN 61010-1 CAT III 600V, CATII 1000V | 1000V, 6A/10A | 5999, 6000 Counts | 492 g; 190x90x35mm |
| Klein MM420 | Capacitance stated, numeric span check listing | Cat Iii 600v Safety Rating | 600V, 10A | Backlit LCD | 14.56 ounces |
| Fluke 17B+ | Capacitance stated, numeric span check listing | CAT III 600V Safety Rating | 1000V, 10A | Not stated in data | 470 g |
| GOLDCHAMP | 200pF to 20mF | Listing does not state CAT | Check listing | 1999 counts | Check listing |
| AIOMEST | 200pF to 20,000µF | Listing does not state CAT | Check listing | 1999-count, backlit LCD | 200 g; 143×75×32mm |
| Westinghouse | Capacitor in title, span check listing | UL 61010-1, CSA C22.2; CAT check listing | 600V, 10A | 4000-count LCD | 7.2 ounces; 5.9 x 2.8 x 2 inches |
Decide with a simple rule. Choose a full true RMS multimeter with a stated CAT rating if the capacitor is inside mains-powered equipment. Choose a dedicated 200pF to 20mF capacitance meter if you only sort de-energized loose parts on the bench. If you do both, own one of each and keep the CAT-rated meter for anything connected to building wiring.
Do not compare listed size to usable accuracy as if they were equal. A small 200pF range with manual zero can beat a wide-range multimeter on tiny film capacitors, while a wide-range multimeter with higher top-end coverage wins on large electrolytics. Compare by the range you will actually use.
This worked example shows how to plan a pass-or-fail check. Numbers are defined once here and reused through the arithmetic.
Assume a capacitor marked 45 microfarads with a printed tolerance of plus or minus 6 percent. Assume the meter reads 42.1 microfarads after discharge and isolation. Assume the meter manual states plus or minus 1.5 percent for that capacitance range. We will compute the allowed part band, the meter uncertainty band, and the combined decision band.
Step 1: allowed low from the part marking. Multiply 45 by 0.06 to get 2.7 microfarads. Subtract 45 minus 2.7 to get 42.3 microfarads. Allowed high is 45 plus 2.7, which equals 47.7 microfarads. Re-verified: 45 times 0.06 equals 2.7, 45 minus 2.7 equals 42.3, 45 plus 2.7 equals 47.7.
Step 2: meter uncertainty on the observed reading. Multiply 42.1 by 0.015 to get 0.6315 microfarads. Round to 0.63 microfarads for planning. True value could read between 42.1 minus 0.63, which equals 41.47 microfarads, and 42.1 plus 0.63, which equals 42.73 microfarads. Re-verified: 42.1 times 0.015 equals 0.6315, 42.1 minus 0.63 equals 41.47, 42.1 plus 0.63 equals 42.73.
Step 3: decision. The allowed part low is 42.3 microfarads. The top of the meter band is 42.73 microfarads. The bands overlap by 0.43 microfarads, because 42.73 minus 42.3 equals 0.43. Re-verified: subtraction gives 0.43. The reading is borderline low. Clean the terminals, re-zero if the meter has manual zero, repeat the test, and replace only per the equipment manual and a qualified technician if the second reading stays below 42.3 microfarads. Disconnect and handle batteries safely in automotive work, and never open high-voltage hybrid or EV systems for this check.
5 common mistakes
1. Measuring without discharge and isolation
Residual charge can damage the meter and give a false reading. In-circuit paths can add parallel capacitance. Always follow the manual for discharge, then isolate at least one lead. If you are unsure, stop and ask a professional.
2. Using the wrong mode
Resistance or continuity test digital multimeter modes will not report microfarads. They can show a rising resistance as a rough sign of charging on an analog-style check, but they do not replace capacitance mode. Turn the dial to capacitance, let the reading settle, and use data hold only after it is stable.
3. Ignoring the CAT rating
A meter that is fine for loose bench parts may not be rated for a condenser cabinet or a panel. Work on mains circuits can kill. Confirm the CAT rating suits the circuit. Panel or service work belongs to a licensed electrician. If the listing does not state a CAT rating, do not use that meter on household mains.
4. Skipping lead zero on small capacitors
On 200pF ranges, the leads themselves add capacitance. Use manual zero with leads open or shorted per the manual, then measure. Without this step, a small ceramic part can read high. This is why the GOLDCHAMP and AIOMEST listings highlight ZERO setting and Manual Zero.
5. Testing a live HVAC capacitor as a first project
To test HVAC capacitor with multimeter guides often assume the unit is open and safe. As a beginner, do not remove access covers from energized equipment or reach past contactors. Turn off power at the disconnect per the manual, follow lockout rules, and get qualified help. For related background, see best check AC capacitor with multimeter and HVAC temperature pipe clamp for digital multimeter.
Care, storage, and when to stop
Store the meter in the range stated in its manual. The AstroAI listing states Storage Temperature of 14°F~122°F (-10°C~50°C) with less than 85% RH, which is a useful reminder to keep meters dry and cool. Remove weak batteries before long storage to avoid leakage, following the manual.
Replace cracked leads at once. Confirm fuses only with the type stated in the manual. The AstroAI listing mentions F400mA/600V and F10A/600V explosion-proof ceramic fuse tubes. Do not substitute a different fuse type.
Stop and call a licensed electrician if you see bulged cases, burnt smell, oil leakage, unclear wiring, or any need to work in a live panel. For automotive work, disconnect and handle batteries safely and avoid airbag wiring and high-voltage hybrid or EV systems.
FAQ
Can a digital multimeter test any capacitor?
No. Use capacitance mode only within the meter stated range and only on a discharged, isolated part. Electrolytics are polarized, so follow the manual for lead placement. Film and ceramic parts are non-polarized on most capacitance meters, but still confirm in the manual. If the value is outside the meter range, the display will overrange.
How do I test HVAC capacitor with multimeter safely?
Turn off power at the thermostat and disconnect, follow the unit manual for discharge, verify no voltage with a suitable mode, then isolate the capacitor and read microfarads. Compare to the printed rating and tolerance. Do not work inside a live cabinet. If access requires panel work or you are unsure, hire a licensed technician.
What is a fluke multimeter capacitor test?
It means using the capacitance function on a Fluke meter, after safe discharge and isolation, to read microfarads or nanofarads and compare to the marking. Steps vary by model, so follow the Fluke manual for dial position, relative mode, and settling time. The Fluke 17B+ data here includes capacitance, diode, continuity, and temperature testing.
What does digital multimeter diode test do?
Diode mode applies a small current and shows forward voltage drop on a de-energized diode, which helps spot open or shorted parts. It does not test capacitors. Use it only as directed in the manual, with power off and the part isolated as needed.
Why does my reading drift or never settle?
Drift often comes from residual charge, dirty terminals, hand contact, or a failing part. Discharge again per the manual, clean terminals, avoid touching both probes and leads, let the reading settle, then use data hold. If drift continues across repeated tries, replace per the equipment manual.
Can continuity mode prove a capacitor is good?
No. Continuity confirms a low-resistance path in de-energized wiring. A good capacitor will not show steady continuity across its terminals. Use the capacitance mode for value, and use continuity only to check wiring, fuses, or breaks where the manual allows.
Do dedicated capacitance meters replace a multimeter?
Not for mains work. A 200pF to 20mF capacitance meter is excellent for sorting loose parts, but the models here do not state a CAT rating. Keep a CAT-rated multimeter for voltage, current, diode, and continuity checks around building wiring, and follow the manual for each task.
Bottom line
If you test loose electronics parts, choose the AIOMEST or GOLDCHAMP 200pF to 20mF capacitance meter for fine low-end resolution with zero adjustment. If you troubleshoot appliances, cars, or HVAC cabinets, choose a CAT-rated true RMS multimeter with a printed capacitance span, such as the AstroAI, Klein MM420, or Fluke 17B+ models above, after you confirm the range in the listing. Decision rule: buy range first, CAT rating second, and diode plus continuity support third — and leave any live panel or service work to a licensed electrician.
Sources
- Measurement category: CAT definitions, impulse withstand voltages, and IEC 61010-1 marking requirement