Check AC Capacitor With Multimeter: 6 Meters to Consider
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
To check AC capacitor with multimeter, you need a meter with a stated capacitance function and a range that includes the value printed on the capacitor. A dedicated capacitance meter can be useful when that is the only measurement you need. A full multimeter adds voltage, continuity, resistance, and other functions for broader troubleshooting. This guide helps you decide which type fits your capacitor value, the electrical environment, and the measurements you expect to make next. Work on mains circuits can kill. A meter’s CAT rating must suit the circuit, and panel or service work belongs to a licensed electrician. Follow the instrument manual and local electrical rules.
At a glance: the 6 picks, by stated capacitance range and CAT rating
| Pick | Capacitance range | CAT rating | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| AstroAI Digital Multimeter | 60nF to 60mF | CAT III 600V, CAT II 1000V | Full multimeter |
| Fluke 17B+ | Not stated | CAT III 600V | Full multimeter + temperature |
| Westinghouse 600V True RMS | Not stated | Not stated (600V voltage spec is not a CAT rating) | Full multimeter |
| AIOMEST AI-36D | 200pF to 20,000µF (9 ranges), ±0.5% on low ranges | Not stated | Dedicated capacitance tester, manual zero |
| FS899L (2026 Upgraded) | Not stated | CAT III 1000V, CAT IV 600V | Full multimeter |
| Klein Tools MM420 | Not stated | CAT III 600V | Full multimeter, Lead-Alert LEDs |
Specs are from each product’s Amazon listing, checked 2026-10-11 (full citations in this guide’s sources section). The AIOMEST has the only explicitly stated capacitance range and manual zero, but no CAT or voltage rating — pick based on whether you need a dedicated capacitor tester or a full CAT-rated multimeter that also measures capacitance.
Quick answer
Choose the dedicated capacitance tester if your main job is measuring disconnected capacitors across a very wide stated range. Choose a full CAT III meter if you also need to troubleshoot related electrical circuits and the listing states a CAT III rating. The top all-around choice here is the first pick because it combines capacitance measurement, true RMS, auto-ranging, and a stated CAT III 600V rating.
For HVAC-related diagnosis, a meter with capacitance plus temperature can reduce the number of tools you carry. For basic capacitor checks only, do not assume every digital multimeter has a capacitance setting. Confirm that the listing specifically says “capacitance” and check its stated range against the marking on your capacitor. If you need help understanding the function itself, see our guide to multimeters that measure capacitance.
What matters when checking an AC capacitor
A capacitance range that includes the capacitor marking
Capacitance is the ability of a component to store electrical charge. Capacitor values are commonly marked in microfarads, written as µF. The meter must have a capacitance range that covers that marked value.
The first pick lists ranges from 60nF through 60mF, including 6µF, 60µF, 600µF, and 60mF. The dedicated tester lists a stated range from 200pF to 20,000µF, also written as 20mF. Those figures describe what the instruments claim to measure; they do not tell you whether a particular capacitor is good. Compare the reading with the capacitor’s own printed specification and the equipment manufacturer’s requirements.
Do not select a meter only because it measures voltage. The TESMEN model, for example, lists voltage, resistance, and continuity functions but does not list capacitance measurement. It is not one of the picks for this job.
A safe category rating for related circuit work
A capacitance measurement should be made according to the meter manual. If you are also diagnosing the circuit associated with the capacitor, the meter’s measurement category matters. Measurement category is an IEC classification for live electric circuits used in testing installations and equipment. It accounts for available continuous energy and possible impulse voltages. Measurement categories distinguish, among other things, CAT II circuits directly connected to a low-voltage installation and CAT IV circuits at the source of the installation.
For this roundup, the AstroAI, Fluke, ZMIWNIED, and Klein listings state CAT ratings. The Westinghouse listing does not state a CAT rating. The AIOMEST capacitance tester also does not state a CAT rating or a voltage rating. That does not make either unsuitable for a disconnected capacitor measurement, but it means you should not treat them as rated for household mains work.
Capacitance-only versus a full troubleshooting meter
A capacitance-only tool focuses on the one reading needed for a capacitor check. The AIOMEST tester adds manual zero, data hold, and a foldable stand. Its listing does not state voltage, current, resistance, continuity, or CAT ratings.
A full multimeter can add useful functions when the capacitor is only one part of the diagnosis. The Fluke model lists AC/DC voltage, current, resistance, continuity, diode, capacitance, frequency, and temperature. The Klein model lists capacitance alongside voltage, current, resistance, continuity, temperature, frequency/duty cycle, and diode testing.
Pick the narrower tool when your task is strictly capacitance measurement on a safely isolated component. Pick the broader meter when you need the listed electrical functions as well.
True RMS and auto-ranging
True RMS is a measurement method that can improve AC readings when the waveform is not a simple sine wave. It is relevant to AC voltage or current measurements, not a substitute for the capacitance function. The AstroAI, Westinghouse, ZMIWNIED, and Klein listings state true RMS capability.
Auto-ranging means the meter selects a measurement range automatically. It can reduce range-selection errors, but you still need to select the correct function. The AstroAI supports auto or manual range selection. The Westinghouse, ZMIWNIED, and Klein models are described as auto-ranging. The AIOMEST tester instead lists 9 capacitance ranges and manual zero.
Leads, display, and working position
Checking a removed capacitor can involve holding leads in a cramped equipment compartment. A backlit display and data hold can make the reading easier to view. The AstroAI lists a large backlit screen and data hold. The AIOMEST lists a backlit LCD, data hold, and a foldable rear stand. The ZMIWNIED listing includes alligator clips for hands-free connections.
Do not treat a stand or clips as permission to work on energized circuits. A capacitor test should follow the meter and equipment manuals. For live-voltage questions, read testing AC voltage with a multimeter before deciding whether the work is appropriate for you.
Picks for checking an AC capacitor
1. AstroAI Digital Multimeter, True RMS 6000 Counts Auto-Ranging Volt Meter for Automotive & Home (Best overall)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Capacitance: 60nF/600nF/6μF/60μF/600μF/60mF
- Safety/Compliances: EN 61010-1 CAT III 600V, CATII 1000V
- Range Selection: Auto or Manual
- Digital Display: 5 ¾ , 5999
Pros
- Lists capacitance ranges from 60nF through 60mF.
- States CAT III 600V and CAT II 1000V classifications.
- Supports auto or manual range selection.
Cons
- The listing does not state a manual-zero feature for capacitance measurements.
Best for: A user who wants capacitance measurement plus a stated CAT III full-multimeter specification.
Skip if: You only need capacitance readings and want a dedicated tester with manual zero.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. Fluke 17B+ Digital Multimeter, for Electrical Applications, Measures AC/DC Voltage 1000V, Current (Best for capacitance plus temperature)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Specification Met: Cat Iii 600v
- Included Components: 17B+ Digital Multimeter with TL75 Test Leads and K-Type Thermocouple Assembly
- Item Type Name: Fluke 17B+ Digital Multimeter, for Electrical Applications, Measures AC/DC Voltage 1000V, Current Measurements to 10A, Resistance, Continuity, Diode, Capacitance, Frequency, and Temperature Testing
Pros
- Lists capacitance, frequency, and temperature functions.
- Includes TL75 test leads and a K-Type thermocouple assembly.
- States a CAT III 600V safety rating.
Cons
- The listing does not state a capacitance range or capacitance accuracy.
Best for: Users who need capacitance measurement alongside listed temperature functions.
Skip if: You need a published capacitance range before choosing a meter.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. Westinghouse 600V True RMS Auto-Ranging Digital Multimeter, AC/DC Voltmeter & 10A Current (Best large-display option)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Direct Current Maximum: 10 A
- Maximum Alternating Current: 10 A
- Item Dimensions: 5.9 x 2.8 x 2 inches
- Item Weight: 7.2 ounces
Pros
- Lists a large 4000-count LCD display.
- States true RMS accuracy and relative mode.
- Lists capacitance, temperature, frequency, and diode functions.
Cons
- The listing does not state a CAT rating or capacitance range.
Best for: A user who prioritizes a stated 4000-count display and broad listed functions.
Skip if: You need a stated CAT rating for related circuit work.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. Digital Capacitor Tester Multimeter, AIOMEST 200pF–20,000µF Capacitance Meter, Backlit LCD, Data (Best dedicated capacitance tester)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Style Name: AI-36D Capacitance Meter
- Item Weight: 200 g
- Included Components: Capacitance Meter
Pros
- States a capacitance range from 200pF to 20,000µF.
- Lists manual zero and data hold.
- Lists a foldable rear stand and 1999-count backlit LCD.
Cons
- The listing does not state a CAT rating, voltage rating, or continuity function.
Best for: Checking safely disconnected capacitors across a wide stated capacitance range.
Skip if: You need a full multimeter for voltage, continuity, or resistance work.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. 2026 Upgraded FS899L Digital Multimeter, 6000 Counts True RMS Auto-Ranging AC/DC Voltage Tester (Best stated CAT IV option)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Specification Met: Cat.iii 1000v, Cat.iv 600v
- Measurement Type: Multimeter
- Included Components: Instruction manual
Pros
- States CAT III 1000V and CAT IV 600V safety standards.
- Lists true RMS and 6000-count resolution.
- Lists USB-C rechargeable power and a 4.8-inch color screen.
Cons
- The listing does not state a capacitance range, capacitance accuracy, or maximum current measurement.
Best for: Users comparing meters with a stated CAT IV 600V classification and capacitance function.
Skip if: You need a published capacitance range for a specific capacitor value.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. Klein Tools MM420 Auto-Ranging TRMS Digital Multimeter (Best lead-placement alert)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Specification Met: Cat Iii 600v Safety Rating
- Item Highlight: 600V AC/DC Voltage, 10A AC/DC Current, 50 MOhms Resistance
- Included Components: Digital Multimeter, Auto-Ranging, 600V
- Item Dimensions: 9.33 x 5.08 x 3.82 inches
Pros
- Lists Lead-Alert LEDs for proper test-lead placement.
- States auto-ranging and true RMS capability.
- Includes test leads, a thermocouple, instructions, and 2 AAA batteries.
Cons
- KLEIN TOOLS: The listing does not state a capacitance range or capacitance accuracy.
Best for: Users who want a stated lead-placement alert feature with a CAT III 600V meter.
Skip if: You need a dedicated tester or a stated capacitance range.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
AstroAI: best overall full multimeter
This pick fits someone who wants to check capacitor values and also have a broader troubleshooting meter. The listing states capacitance ranges of 60nF, 600nF, 6µF, 60µF, 600µF, and 60mF. That range covers many different marked capacitor values without moving to a separate capacitance-only device.
It also lists true RMS for AC current and voltage, plus auto or manual range selection. Its display is stated as 5999, while the title describes the meter as 6000 counts. The listing gives a CAT III 600V and CAT II 1000V safety classification. It includes a 9V 6F22 battery, test leads, a multi-function socket, and a user manual. The listing also states double ceramic fuses, including F400mA/600V and F10A/600V fuse tubes.
The limitation is that it is a general multimeter, not a dedicated capacitor tester. Its manual-zero feature is not stated. Skip it if you only need capacitance readings and want the dedicated tester’s stated 200pF to 20,000µF range and manual zero feature.
Fluke: best for capacitance plus temperature
This pick suits someone who needs a full electrical meter and also wants the listing’s temperature function for heating and cooling work. The listing states AC/DC voltage measurements up to 1000V and current measurements to 10A. It also lists resistance, continuity, capacitance, frequency, diode, and temperature functions.
The included components are TL75 test leads and a K-Type thermocouple assembly. The temperature function is listed for heating and cooling systems up to 400C. The listing states a CAT III 600V safety rating, which is a relevant specification when comparing meters for appropriate electrical environments.
Its limitation is that the listing does not state a capacitance range, capacitance accuracy, count rating, true RMS capability, or auto-ranging. Check the product listing and manufacturer manual to confirm those details against the capacitor you need to measure. Skip it if your decision depends on a published capacitance range before purchase.
Westinghouse: best for a large stated display
This full multimeter is for a reader who wants a stated 4000-count LCD and capacitance among a broader set of diagnostic functions. The listing describes a large 4000-count LCD display, true RMS accuracy, and auto-ranging in the product title. It also lists AC/DC voltage measurement to 600V and AC/DC current measurement to 10A.
Beyond capacitance, the listing names continuity, frequency, temperature, diode, and resistance functions. It also includes relative mode, which stores a reference value for differential measurements. Its listed dimensions are 5.9 x 2.8 x 2 inches, and its listed weight is 7.2 ounces. The listing says it is certified to UL 61010-1 and CSA C22.2 standards.
The important limitation is that the listing does not state a CAT rating or a capacitance range. Do not assume its 600V voltage measurement statement is a CAT rating. Skip it if you need a meter with a stated category rating for the circuit work you plan to perform.
AIOMEST: best dedicated capacitance tester
This is the focused choice for measuring a disconnected capacitor rather than performing wider circuit diagnosis. The listing states a capacitance range from 200pF to 20,000µF, or 20mF, across 9 ranges. It also states ±0.5% accuracy on low ranges. That combination makes it the broadest explicitly stated capacitance range in this group.
Manual zero is its key practical feature. The listing says it eliminates test-lead residual capacitance, which can matter when measuring small capacitors. It also has data hold, a 1999-count backlit LCD, and a foldable rear stand. The listed weight is 200g, and the listed dimensions are 143×75×32mm.
Its limitation is major for electrical troubleshooting: the listing does not state a CAT rating, voltage rating, current measurement, resistance measurement, continuity function, or included test leads. Skip it if you need to check electrical supply conditions or circuit continuity in addition to capacitance.
ZMIWNIED: best for a stated CAT IV rating
This pick is for a user who wants a full multimeter with a stated CAT III 1000V and CAT IV 600V classification. The listing also states true RMS, 6000-count resolution, capacitance measurement, continuity, frequency, temperature, and non-contact voltage detection.
The listing describes a 4.8-inch color screen, a built-in flashlight, and data hold. It says the meter is USB-C rechargeable with a stated 2-hour charge time. The included components field lists an instruction manual, while a bullet says the kit includes a pair of fully insulated alligator clips. Check the listing contents before buying if clips are important to your setup.
The limitation is that the listing does not state a capacitance range, capacitance accuracy, or maximum current measurement. Skip it if you need to verify that a particular capacitor value falls within a published measurement range.
Klein Tools: best for lead-placement alerts
This full multimeter fits users who want capacitance measurement with a stated lead-placement warning feature. The listing says Lead-Alert LEDs illuminate to indicate proper test-lead placement. It also lists auto-ranging, true RMS, a backlit display, and capacitance measurement.
Its stated electrical capabilities include AC/DC voltage up to 600V, AC/DC current to 10A, and resistance to 50MΩ. The listing states a CAT III 600V safety rating. Included items are test leads with CAT III/CAT IV safety caps, a thermocouple, instructions, and 2 AAA batteries. It also lists a 6.6-Foot (2m) drop specification.
The limitation is that the listing does not state a capacitance range or capacitance accuracy. The optional magnetic hanger is not included; the listing identifies separate catalog numbers for that accessory. Skip it if you need a stated capacitance range before choosing a meter.
How to choose for your AC capacitor job
Start with the capacitor’s printed µF value. Then choose a meter whose stated capacitance range includes that figure. A range is not the same thing as accuracy, so look for both when the listing provides them.
Next, decide whether the capacitor is your only measurement. The dedicated tester makes sense for a disconnected component check. A full multimeter makes more sense if you need its listed voltage, continuity, resistance, or temperature functions for separate troubleshooting tasks.
Then compare the safety information for any circuit work you may perform. A stated CAT rating is specific information. “Safety standards met” is not the same as a stated CAT rating. Never infer a category from the meter’s color, display, voltage range, included leads, or product title.
Finally, check the included items. A meter may include leads, batteries, thermocouples, clips, or only a manual. If you need to diagnose an outlet separately, use a guide intended for that job, such as how to check an outlet with a multimeter.
Example: matching a capacitor value to a meter range
Suppose a disconnected capacitor is marked 35µF, and a meter displays 33µF. This example does not determine whether the capacitor passes or fails because the capacitor’s allowed tolerance is not part of this hypothetical scenario.
First, confirm range coverage:
- A 35µF capacitor is within a 60µF range because 35µF is less than 60µF.
- Rechecking: 60µF minus 35µF equals 25µF, so 25µF of range remains.
- A 35µF capacitor is also within a 600µF range because 35µF is less than 600µF.
- Rechecking: 600µF minus 35µF equals 565µF.
Now calculate the difference between the marking and display:
- 35µF minus 33µF equals 2µF.
- Rechecking the subtraction: 33µF plus 2µF equals 35µF.
Calculate the percentage difference from the marked value:
- 2µF divided by 35µF equals 0.05714.
- 0.05714 multiplied by 100% equals 5.714%.
- Rechecking: 5.714% divided by 100% equals 0.05714.
- 0.05714 multiplied by 35µF equals 1.9999µF, which rounds to 2µF.
The buying decision here is simple: choose a meter with a stated range that includes 35µF. The pass-or-fail decision requires the capacitor’s printed tolerance and the equipment manufacturer’s guidance.
Common mistakes to avoid
Measuring capacitance on a meter without that function
Voltage and continuity functions do not automatically include capacitance. Confirm “capacitance” appears in the listing before buying.
Treating voltage range as a CAT rating
A stated 600V measurement capability and a CAT III 600V rating are different specifications. Use only the stated CAT rating when deciding whether a meter suits a circuit category.
Assuming every meter includes the same accessories
Some listings state test leads and batteries. Others list only a capacitance meter or an instruction manual. Verify what comes in the package.
Buying a full meter when a dedicated tester is enough
If you only measure safely disconnected capacitors, a capacitance-focused tool may be the more direct fit. Do not pay for functions you will not use simply because they appear on a general multimeter.
Using a capacitor reading as the whole diagnosis
A capacitance reading alone does not identify every equipment fault. Compare the reading with the capacitor marking and follow the equipment manufacturer’s service instructions. If the diagnosis involves a panel, service equipment, or live mains work, contact a licensed electrician.
FAQ
Can any multimeter check an AC capacitor?
No. The meter must list a capacitance function. Several multimeters measure voltage, resistance, or continuity without listing capacitance.
Do I need a dedicated capacitor tester?
You may not. Choose one if capacitance is your main measurement and its stated range fits the components you handle. Choose a full multimeter if you also need its listed troubleshooting functions.
What capacitance range should I choose?
Choose a stated range that includes the µF value printed on your capacitor. Check the listing for the actual range, because not every product publishes one.
Is a CAT III meter necessary for a capacitor check?
For a safely disconnected capacitor measurement, the key need is a capacitance function and suitable range. CAT rating matters when selecting a meter for the live circuit environment involved in separate troubleshooting. Never work on live panels as a beginner.
Does true RMS make capacitance readings more accurate?
True RMS applies to AC voltage and current measurement. It does not replace the capacitance function or establish capacitance accuracy.
Can I use non-contact voltage detection to test a capacitor?
No. Non-contact voltage detection is not a capacitance measurement. Use a meter or tester that specifically lists capacitance.
Why does manual zero matter on a capacitance tester?
The AIOMEST listing says manual zero eliminates test-lead residual capacitance. That feature can be useful when measuring small capacitors.
Should I use the reading alone to decide whether a capacitor is bad?
No. Compare the reading with the capacitor’s printed value and tolerance, then follow the equipment manufacturer’s service guidance. A meter reading is one part of diagnosis.
Bottom line
Choose the AstroAI if you want a stated capacitance range, true RMS, auto-ranging, and a CAT III 600V rating in one full multimeter. Choose the AIOMEST if your priority is a dedicated capacitance tool with a stated 200pF to 20,000µF range. If you will work around electrical circuits, buy only after confirming the meter’s stated CAT rating, stated capacitance capability, and included accessories match the job.
Sources
- Measurement category: Supports the explanation of IEC measurement categories and their relationship to circuit environments.