Best Non-Contact Voltage Detector: 6 Picks Compared
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
The keyword for this post named a Kaiweets detector, but none of the twelve listings in the research file is a Kaiweets, so the title has been changed. The six non-contact detectors below are picked on pack size and extras, because those are the differences the listings state most clearly. Two of them are multi-pack or combo products, and four are single pens. Listing figures were checked on 11 October 2026 and are shown as the sellers state them.
Quick answer: for one pen for the house, pick a single pen with a range that starts at 12 V or 48 V. For a shared home or a second location, a two-pack gives you two pens for one listing. For an outlet and GFCI check in one tool, the Sperry combo is the only one here.
The six picks at a glance
| Detector | Pack and extras (as listed) | AC range (as listed) | Size (as listed) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sperry VD7504GFI (B0152U89DC) | Single unit with a GFCI outlet tester on the other end | 50-1000 V in the title; 50-600 V in a bullet | 8.4 x 3.7 x 0.6 inches |
| DMwespe 2 Pack (B0DPQGPRTV) | Two pens in one listing | 12-1000 V | 6.3 x 1 x 1 inches each |
| Weikani Voltage Detector Pen (B0C5X7YKL7) | Single pen with LED flashlight | 60-1000 V | Not stated |
| MXCOIRTP MT01 (B0D7LWBYVW) | Single pen, three sensitivity modes | 12 V, 48 V and 70 V up to 1000 V | Pocket-sized |
| VENLAB VD-200 (B09ZXY4HVK) | Single pen, High and Low switch | 12-1000 V High; 48-1000 V Low | Weight 0.05 kg |
| Southwire 40126N (B01M9B2AH9) | Single pen, dual flashlights | 24-600 V | 1 x 1 x 1 inches |
How we chose these six
We kept detectors that state a numeric AC range and at least one pack or extra feature in the listing. We did not select on brand, because the brand field differs across listings and the Kaiweets name appears nowhere in the set. The Neoteck, Zoyi and Klein NCVT7 pens are in the set but repeat the single-pen features of the six above, so we did not use them. The Sperry is kept for its combo function, even though its listing states two ranges.
- Pack: how many units the listing sells together, or whether a second tool is included.
- Range: the AC span the listing states, with any conflict shown.
- Size: only where the listing gives it.
1. Sperry VD7504GFI DualCheck Non-Contact Voltage Detector and GFCI Tester
The Sperry is two testers in one unit: a non-contact voltage detector on one end and a GFCI outlet circuit analyzer on the other. The listing gives a visual and audible indicator with a 360 degree view, and it states a CAT III 1000 V rating. The range is stated two ways. The title gives 50 to 1000 V AC, but one bullet says the non-contact sensitivity detects 50 to 600 V AC. We show both figures because the listing does not reconcile them. The body is rated for a 10 ft drop and a 250 lb crush load. The listing gives a size of 8.4 x 3.7 x 0.6 inches, and the listed weight is 9.07 g, as checked on 11 October 2026.
Check the Sperry VD7504GFI on Amazon
2. DMwespe 2 Pack Non-Contact Voltage Detector
This listing is two pens in one pack, and the item count is 2. The bullet gives a range of 12 to 1000 V AC. It has three buzzer modes: low buzzes once, medium buzzes twice and high buzzes three times, with the S button stepping between them. The pens have a detection light and a tail flashlight, and the flashlight only turns on when the pen is off. Each pen measures 6.3 x 1 x 1 inches, and the listing says each has a pocket hook. The specs list CE and RoHS, and the weight is not stated.
Check the DMwespe 2 Pack on Amazon
3. Weikani Non-Contact Voltage Tester Pen
The title gives a test range of 60 V to 1000 V, and the bullets say it detects 60 V to 1000 V AC. It has an LED flashlight, and the detection light flashes red with short buzzer beeps when AC voltage is found. The bullets give a CAT IV and ETL rating and describe a durable ABS case. The bullet calls the pen “bright orange”, but the color field in the specs says black and grey. That conflict is in the listing data, so check the actual pen before you buy. The listing offers a 36 month after-sale service.
Check the Weikani pen on Amazon
4. MXCOIRTP MT01 Non-Contact Voltage Detector
The title lists three ranges, 12 V, 48 V and 70 V up to 1000 V AC. The bullets give three sensitivity modes with one, two and three buzzes. The listing says the pen turns off after 3 minutes with no operation or signal, and that it buzzes when the battery drops below 2.5 V. It has a detection light and a tail flashlight, and carries a 1 year warranty. The bullets describe it as suitable for breakers, fixtures, switches and outlets.
Check the MXCOIRTP MT01 on Amazon
5. VENLAB VD-200 Voltage Tester
The VENLAB has a High and Low switch. High covers 12 V to 1000 V, and Low covers 48 V to 1000 V. The bullets describe a red tip and a high-frequency beep for high voltage, and a yellow light with a low-frequency beep for low voltage. It has a flashlight and a red pointing light. The listing gives 3 years of warranty and lifetime technical support. The weight is 0.05 kg, and the listing includes two AAA batteries.
Check the VENLAB VD-200 on Amazon
6. Southwire 40126N NCV Dual Range Pen
The Southwire lists 24 to 600 V AC in its title and specs, with a CAT IV 600 V rating. It gives audible and visual alerts, two flashlights and an auto shut-off. The spec table gives a 2 year warranty. The pen runs on AAA batteries, weighs 2.56 ounces, and measures 1 x 1 x 1 inches in the listing. Its 24 V floor covers a 24 V line that the Sperry and Weikani floors would miss.
Check the Southwire 40126N on Amazon
Worked example: does a 240 V dryer circuit fall in range?
Take a 240 V dryer circuit. The Sperry bullet says its sensitivity covers 50 to 600 V, so 240 V falls inside that bullet range. The Sperry title says 50 to 1000 V, so the same circuit falls inside that too. Only the top end differs: 600 V against 1000 V. For the Southwire, 240 V falls inside its 24 to 600 V range. The DMwespe and MXCOIRTP both reach 1000 V, so 240 V is inside their ranges as well. For a 12 V low-voltage cable, the Sperry (50 V), Weikani (60 V) and Southwire (24 V) floors all miss it, while the DMwespe and MXCOIRTP at 12 V and the VENLAB High setting at 12 V do not.
These checks use the listing ranges only. Test on a source you already know is energized before you rely on any detector in this group.
What the listings do not say
None of the six listings gives an accuracy figure as a percentage of reading. The Sperry range conflict is not resolved in its listing. The Weikani color conflict is in its bullet and specs, as checked on 11 October 2026. The DMwespe and MXCOIRTP share the same buzzer modes, but neither listing says how the modes compare in a live test. None of the listings says how the GFCI function of the Sperry was tested on a particular outlet.
Frequently asked questions
Is the two-pack better value than a single pen?
The DMwespe lists two pens in one listing, with the same 12 to 1000 V range and three buzzer modes. Whether that suits you depends on how many spots you need to check. The listing does not give any figure beyond the two-pen count.
Which detector can check a GFCI outlet?
Only the Sperry VD7504GFI states a GFCI outlet tester function. The other five listings describe voltage detection only.
Why do the Sperry ranges differ?
The title says 50 to 1000 V AC and one bullet says 50 to 600 V AC. The listing does not explain the difference, so we show both figures and suggest you check the rating on the product before you rely on the upper limit.
What color is the Weikani pen?
The bullet calls it bright orange, while the specs color field reads black and grey. The listing gives both, so confirm the color when the product arrives.
Which detectors have a flashlight?
The Weikani, DMwespe, MXCOIRTP, VENLAB and Southwire all list a flashlight of some kind. The Sperry listing does not mention one in the bullets we reviewed.
Conclusion
For a single pen with a 12 V or 48 V starting point, the VENLAB and the MXCOIRTP are the choices here. For two pens in one purchase, the DMwespe pack is the only two-pen listing. For a GFCI check with the detector, the Sperry is the only combo. The Southwire suits a 24 V floor with a two-year warranty. For more on outlet and GFCI tests, see best open ground on outlet tester, best receptacle tester and best AC outlet tester.
Sperry VD7504GFI on Amazon · DMwespe 2 Pack on Amazon · Weikani pen on Amazon · MXCOIRTP MT01 on Amazon · VENLAB VD-200 on Amazon · Southwire 40126N on Amazon