Best Breadboards for Electronics: 11 Listings Compared
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Scope note: this site is about multimeters and electrical testers. A breadboard is not a measuring instrument. It is a solderless board for building and checking low-voltage prototype circuits, so this post steps outside the site’s usual topic. It is included because readers who measure circuits often also build them, and the listings below are easy to confuse.
Breadboards electronics kits range from one board to large sets with hundreds of parts. For most beginners, a single 830-point solderless breadboard with a power module and jumper wires covers the basics. Larger sets and parts kits make sense only if you already know what you will build. Some listings also state irrelevant fields.
Quick answer
- Simplest starting point: one 830-point breadboard with a power module and a jumper wire set. Several listings in this group include exactly that.
- Larger work area: a set of two 830-point boards plus two 400-point boards lets you build separate sections and join them, if you need more room.
- Component kits: kits with several hundred parts are useful for variety, but the breadboard itself is usually the same size as in a plain board. Check the board count before you assume you get more prototyping space.
- Do not use a breadboard for mains voltage. It is designed for low-voltage experiments, and its contacts are not rated for household circuits.
What a breadboard does, and why the layout matters
A solderless breadboard lets you push component legs and wire ends into a grid of holes and connect circuits without soldering. SparkFun’s beginner tutorial describes the core layout. Holes are spaced on a standard pitch of 0.1 inch (2.54 mm), which matches the pin spacing of many through-hole chips and headers. Each row of five holes on a terminal strip is connected internally, so anything placed in the same five-hole group shares one electrical node. The tutorial notes that a strip has only five clips, which is why a part placed across the centre gutter is not connected between the two sides.
The centre gutter is the gap down the middle of the board. It separates the two halves of a row, so a dual-in-line chip can sit across it with one row of pins on each side. The power rails along the edges carry supply voltage and ground across the whole board. SparkFun points out that on some larger boards the power rails are split, and the two halves are not connected to each other. If your circuit needs power on both halves, you will need a jumper wire to bridge them. This is a detail that listings often omit, so check the board in person before you build.
Knowing this layout is more important than the brand. Two boards with the same hole count can behave differently if one has split rails or a different rail arrangement. Count the rails, look for the gutter, and confirm the pitch if you plan to use a specific chip.
Breadboard size: what tie-point counts mean
Most listings in this group describe board size as a count of tie-points, meaning the number of holes available for connections. The common sizes are 830 points and 400 points. An 830-point board is roughly the full size used in many kits, while a 400-point board is about half that. Two 400-point boards can be joined side by side, and several listings say their boards are designed to combine into a larger workspace.
There is a limit to what a tie-point count tells you. The count does not show how many rails are split, how well the clips grip component legs over time, or how the board handles repeated insertion. Those are the points the listings do not address. When a listing gives a count, treat it as the hole count only.
A practical rule: if your projects are one or two small circuits, a single 400-point board is enough. If you are building a microcontroller with a display, sensors and a power module at the same time, the 830-point board is the more comfortable size. Two or more boards are useful when you want to keep sections separate, for example a sensor section and a motor section.
Power modules: what the 3.3V and 5V output means
Several kits include a small power module that plugs into the rails and supplies 3.3 V or 5 V. These modules are common because many development boards and sensors run at one of those two levels. Adafruit’s adjustable breadboard power supply guide describes the general approach: a selector switch chooses 3.3 V, 5 V or an adjustable output, and the page notes that the input is protected by a diode against reversed or AC input. That kit is a separate product from the ones listed here, so use the guide only to understand the concept. Do not assume a listed module has the same behaviour.
Three things to check on any power module listing:
- Input. Is the input USB, a barrel jack, or a battery clip? The listings in this group use each of these. A module with a barrel jack needs a matching adapter, and some listings say the battery is bought separately.
- Output selection. Does the module give fixed 3.3 V and 5 V, or can you set each rail separately? Some modules set both rails together. Look for a jumper or a switch and read the silkscreen on your board.
- Current. Many listings do not state a maximum current for the module. Where a figure is missing, do not assume one. Use the module only with the loads you have checked against a datasheet.
A power module is convenient for learning, but it is not a substitute for a regulated bench supply when a circuit draws more current than the module is rated to deliver. When the listing does not state the rating, say so in your notes and check the part’s own datasheet.
Jumper wires: solid, flexible and preformed
The jumper wires that come with these boards come in three broad forms, and listings use different names for them. Solid jumper wires are rigid and cut to a fixed length; they keep layouts short and tidy but can be awkward when a route is long. Flexible jumper wires bend easily and suit longer runs between boards. Preformed or DuPont-style wires have a plug connector at each end, which is useful for connecting a board to a module or a sensor with a matching header.
The listings give counts, not lengths. Most do not state the wire gauge, length or insulation rating. One listing in this group gives a wire gauge of 24 and a maximum current figure of “1 Kiloamps”, which is not a credible rating for wire of that size, so that figure should be disregarded. For jumper wires, the count and the type of connector matter more than any other figure a listing gives.
Eleven listings compared
The table below uses only the items each listing states. Where the listing does not give a figure, the cell says “not stated”. The table is in listing order, not in order of quality.
| Listing | Type | Board size stated | Power module | Jumper wires stated | Components stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BOJACK kit | Component kit | 830 tie-points | Yes | Jumper wire (count not stated) | More than 400 |
| REXQualis kit (830-point) | Component kit | 830 tie-points | Yes, USB cable | Jumper wire (count not stated) | More than 400 |
| Aurevita starter kit | Starter kit | 830-point | Yes, 3.3 V or 5 V selectable | 65 | 200+ |
| REXQualis basic kit | Component kit | Not stated | Yes, USB cable | Not stated | More than 300 |
| Elenco 9440C | Single board | 3220 test points | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| OFNMY kit | Component kit | 4 boards (sizes not stated) | Not stated | 120 DuPont wires | 1628 pieces |
| UHUZZ breadboard kit | Board set | 2 x 830, 2 x 400 | Not stated | 126 flexible | Not stated |
| JEBHANNE kit | Board set | 2 x 830, 2 x 400 | Not included | 840 preformed, 130 flexible | Not included |
| minidodoca kit | Component kit | 830-point | Yes, 9 V 1 A adapter | DuPont wire (count not stated) | 326 items |
| KELEXIC starter kit | Starter kit | 830-point | Not stated | 140 rigid, 65 flexible, 120 DuPont | Not stated |
| Generic jumper set | Board and wire set | 2 x 830, 2 x 400 | Not stated | 120 multicolour | Not stated |
How we chose
The criteria are plain. We looked at the listings for a breadboard or breadboard kit that a beginner or hobbyist could use for low-voltage prototyping. We read the stated board size, power module, wire count and included parts, and we noted every field the listing left out. The listings were read on 2026-10-23, and the source list for this post was opened on 2026-10-27.
Twelve listings were considered. Eleven are covered here. One was left out because it is a solderable prototype PCB with a 5-pack and a mini board, not a solderless breadboard, and the listing does not describe the solderless use case at all. We did not rank the eleven. The sections below group them by type so you can match a listing to your needs.
What we could not verify
- Whether the listed tie-point counts match the boards you would receive. The listings state counts; they do not show a board close-up or a rail diagram.
- Whether any board has split rails, and where. SparkFun notes that some larger boards split their power rails, but the listings do not say which ones do.
- Current ratings for the power modules, and whether the modules were built to a specific standard. Most listings do not state a maximum current.
- Wire gauge, length and insulation for the jumper sets, except where a listing gives a gauge.
- Warranty terms. Two listings give a warranty and one gives a 12-month figure; the rest do not state one, and the one field that reads “no” does not say what it means.
- Whether the component quantities in a kit are accurate or whether every part works. The listings make quality claims without figures, and we do not repeat those claims as fact.
Listing by listing
Each block below uses only fields the listing states. Affiliate links go to the Amazon listing for each ASIN.
Single board: 830-point and 3220-point options
Aurevita starter kit. The listing describes an 830-point solderless breadboard, a USB breadboard power supply with selectable 3.3 V or 5 V output, 65 jumper wires and more than 200 components. Its listed board pitch is 2.54 mm. The listing gives a 2-year warranty and a model number. Good fit if: you want one complete starting set with a 3.3 V and 5 V module and a clear pitch figure. Skip if: you need the component count to be real; the listing does not give a parts list. Limit: the power module’s current rating is not stated. View on Amazon
KELEXIC starter kit. The listing describes an 830-point breadboard with 140 rigid wires, 65 flexible jumpers and 120 DuPont pins in male-male, male-female and female-female forms. It comes in a storage box. Good fit if: you want a wide range of connector types and a box for organisation. Skip if: a power module is a must for your project. Limit: the listing does not state a warranty term. View on Amazon
Elenco 9440C. This is a large single board. The listing gives 3220 test points, 520 separate five-point terminals, 14 horizontal bus lines and four colour-coded binding posts in black, red, yellow and green. The board measures 13 x 11 x 1 inches and weighs 1.3 pounds. The listing gives an age recommendation of 15 years and up. Good fit if: you want a very large, fixed work area and the binding posts are useful for your layout. Skip if: you need a compact board for a small bench or a board that is easy to carry. Limit: no power module, jumper set or component kit is stated. View on Amazon
Board sets: two sizes together
UHUZZ breadboard kit. The listing describes two 830-point boards, two 400-point boards and 126 flexible jumper wires, for a total of 130 pieces. It says the rows, columns and power rails are clearly marked and that the boards can be joined side by side. Good fit if: you want two sizes of board and a flexible wire set for longer runs. Skip if: you need a power module; none is stated. Limit: the listing does not state the wire gauge or length. View on Amazon
JEBHANNE breadboard kit. The listing describes two 830-point boards, two 400-point boards, 840 preformed jumper wires and 130 flexible jumper wires, with a storage compartment box and curved-tip tweezers. The listing says electronic components, controller boards and power supplies are not included. The package measures 7.56 x 6.5 x 2.13 inches and weighs 1.08 pounds. Good fit if: you want a large number of short preformed wires and tweezers for placing small jumpers. Skip if: you expect parts or a power module in the box. Limit: the brand field on the listing is blank, although the manufacturer is named as JEBHANNE. View on Amazon
Generic breadboard and jumper set. The listing describes two 830-point boards, two 400-point boards and 120 multicolour jumper wires with a stated 24 gauge and 40 strands. The listing says the boards can be spliced by unit. Good fit if: you want a basic board and wire set and do not need a power module. Skip if: you need the maximum current figure; the listing’s “1 Kiloamps” value is not a credible rating for wire of this gauge and should not be used. Limit: the brand is listed as Generic and the manufacturer as HEQU. View on Amazon
Component kits with a breadboard
BOJACK kit. The listing describes more than 400 components, an 830-point breadboard, a power supply module, jumper wire and a precision potentiometer, with a USB data cable. It is compatible with STM32, Raspberry Pi and Arduino, according to the listing. The listing’s technical field for CPU model reads “ARM 610”, which does not describe a breadboard kit and should be ignored. Good fit if: you want a broad parts set with a board and power module. Skip if: you only need the board; the kit is built around the parts. Limit: the listing does not give a parts list or the power module’s rating. View on Amazon
REXQualis 830-point kit. The listing describes more than 400 components, an 830-point breadboard, a power supply module with a USB power cable, jumper wires and a precision potentiometer. The listing says a datasheet and tutorial are available from the maker’s website and that the controller board is not included. The package measures 7.87 x 5.11 x 1.81 inches and weighs 7.4 ounces. Good fit if: you want a parts kit with a power module and the maker’s documentation. Skip if: you need a controller board, which is not included. Limit: the listing’s processor fields (Tegra, LPDDR4) do not describe this kit and should be ignored. View on Amazon
REXQualis basic kit. The listing describes more than 300 components, a breadboard power supply with a USB power cable, LEDs, resistors and related parts. The listing says the controller board is not included and that a datasheet is available from the maker. The listing does not state a breadboard tie-point count. Good fit if: you want a smaller parts set with a power module. Skip if: you need the board size; it is not stated. Limit: the listing’s CPU and processor fields do not describe a breadboard kit. View on Amazon
minidodoca kit. The listing describes an 830-point breadboard, a 9 V 1 A power adapter, a breadboard power supply module with 3.3 V and 5 V output, a battery clip and many parts, including several ICs, a four-digit display, capacitors, resistors, LEDs, a buzzer and a thermistor. The listing says a 9 V battery can be used as input but must be bought separately. It gives a 12-month warranty. Good fit if: you want a kit with a power adapter and a broad parts set, and you are comfortable with a common-anode display. Skip if: you want a bare board only. Limit: the listing says the display is common anode, so wiring must follow that, and it does not state the module’s current rating. View on Amazon
OFNMY kit. The listing describes 1628 pieces: 200 LEDs, 100 diodes, 600 metal film resistors, 120 electrolytic capacitors, 180 transistors, 300 ceramic capacitors, 120 DuPont wires, four PCB boards and four breadboards. Its bullets make quality claims, such as that the transistors and diodes can handle high voltages and currents, but the listing gives no figures for those claims. Good fit if: you want a large assortment of passive and discrete parts. Skip if: you need a documented rating for any part. Limit: the listing does not state the breadboard size or the power module. View on Amazon
Mistakes to avoid
- Assuming tie-point counts mean the same layout. Split rails and gutter placement differ between boards. Check the rails before you plan a layout that depends on them.
- Using a power module without checking its output setting. If the module can give 3.3 V or 5 V, set it to the voltage your part requires before connecting anything.
- Treating a kit’s component count as a parts guarantee. The listings state quantities, but none of them shows a parts list you can check against.
- Using a breadboard for mains or high-energy circuits. Breadboards are for low-voltage experiments. Household circuits, panels and outlets are not a breadboard job, and panel or service work belongs to a licensed electrician.
- Relying on a breadboard to measure anything. A breadboard holds a circuit; it does not check voltage, continuity or resistance. For those checks, use a meter, such as the options covered in our guide to multimeters for DIY work.
Buying checklist
- Do you need a single board or a set of two sizes? Count the boards and check whether they join.
- Does the listing state a power module? If so, note the input type and whether the output is fixed or selectable.
- Are the jumper wires solid, flexible, or preformed? Match the connector type to your parts.
- Does the kit include the parts you want, or only the board? Read the stated contents, not the headline count.
- Are there figures you cannot check? Write them down and confirm them on the product sheet before you rely on them.
When a multimeter helps with a breadboard
A breadboard circuit is easier to fix when you can measure it. Before you power a circuit, check the supply rail with a meter and confirm the polarity of the module. After you wire a part, check continuity between two points to confirm a jumper is seated. If a rail reads a different voltage than the module’s setting, stop and recheck the wiring. Readers who want to check their wiring with a meter will find the tests in our guide to testing a breadboard with a multimeter useful. Non-contact voltage testers are a different tool with a different job; the limits are covered in our guide to non-contact voltage testers.
FAQ
Which breadboard size should a beginner buy?
An 830-point board is the most common starting size. It has room for a microcontroller, a few sensors and a power module at the same time. A 400-point board is enough for a single small circuit, and two 400-point boards can be joined when you need more space. The listings do not say how many boards you need for a specific project, so plan your layout first.
Do I need a kit with components, or just the board?
If you already have parts, a bare board and a jumper set are enough. A kit makes sense when you want a range of parts to start with and do not yet know what you need. The listings state component counts but not parts lists, so check the contents before you buy a kit for a particular project.
What does 3.3 V and 5 V mean on a power module?
Many microcontrollers and sensors run at one of those two voltages. A module with selectable output lets you match the supply to the part. Set the output before connecting the part, and check the part’s datasheet for its required voltage. The module’s current limit is not stated in most listings, so keep loads small unless the datasheet says otherwise.
Why do some breadboards have split power rails?
SparkFun’s tutorial notes that some larger breadboards isolate one half of the power rails from the other. This lets a board run two separate supply voltages or keep two sections of a circuit apart. If your circuit needs power on both halves, a jumper wire bridges the split. Check the board before you wire it.
Can I use a breadboard for mains voltage?
No. A breadboard is for low-voltage experiments. Mains circuits can cause serious injury or death, and the contacts on a solderless board are not built for household voltages. Work on outlets, panels and service equipment should be left to a licensed electrician.
Is a breadboard kit worth it for learning electronics?
A kit can be worth it if you want a broad parts set and a board in one purchase. It is less useful if you already have parts or if you plan one specific project. Whichever you choose, the most useful habit is to read the stated contents, check the rails and power options, and note what the listing does not say.
Bottom line
For most beginners, buy one 830-point breadboard with a stated power module and a jumper set. Choose a larger two-size set only when you need more room, and choose a parts kit only when you want the components as well. Read each listing for what it states, and treat any missing figure as unknown until you check the product sheet.
Sources
- SparkFun Electronics, “How to Use a Breadboard”, https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/how-to-use-a-breadboard. Opened 2026-10-27. Used for hole pitch (0.1 inch / 2.54 mm), terminal strip connections, the centre gutter, and split power rails. The page shows no publication date.
- Adafruit Industries, “Adjustable Breadboard Power Supply Kit”, https://learn.adafruit.com/adjustable-breadboard-power-supply-kit?view=all. Opened 2026-10-27. Used only for the general concept of a 3.3 V, 5 V and adjustable output selector and the input diode. The page shows no publication date and describes a separate product.
Disclosure: the product links above are affiliate links. Listing details are as stated on each product page as read on 2026-10-23 and may change.






