Vanlison 4-in-1 Digital Multimeter with Ground Earth Resistance Review
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
Safety first: this is a multi-function tester that includes earth (ground) resistance and insulation resistance measurements. Those tests involve high voltages and must be done with the disconnection and procedures in the manual. The listing gives no test procedure. Do not perform insulation or earth tests on a live installation, and call a licensed electrician for any test on a building’s grounding system.
The person typing “vanlison 4-in-1 digital multimeter with ground earth resistance review” is looking at one specific tester and wants to know what it measures, what its listing says, and what it does not say.
This review is based only on the Amazon listing and its specification fields, checked 2026-10-14. We have not tested this meter, and we do not have the manufacturer’s manual in our research.
Quick answer
The Vanlison DY5500 (listed as model DY5500, part number VAMOG2012) is a battery-powered 4-in-1 tester. The listing describes it as covering ground earth resistance (0.01 Ω to 2000 Ω), insulation resistance (up to 2000 MΩ), AC voltage up to 600 V, and phase sequence for 3-phase systems. The listing does not state a CAT rating, so it does not support use as a household mains voltage meter. For a voltage check, a meter with a stated CAT rating is the better choice. The earth and insulation functions belong to specialist work.
What the listing states
- Earth (ground) resistance: 0.01 Ω to 2000 Ω, 0.01 Ω resolution.
- Insulation resistance: up to 2000 MΩ, with a high-voltage indicator.
- AC/DC voltage: one bullet reads “AC/DC voltage measurements: 250V/500V/1000V | 600V AC max.” The listing does not say which figure applies to voltage measurement and which to insulation tests, so this review does not assume.
- Phase sequence: for 3-phase systems in a 100 V to 450 V range, with LED indicators for CW and CCW rotation.
- Frequency: 50 Hz to 60 Hz.
- Power: 8 AA alkaline batteries, per the bullet; the spec table lists batteries as an included component.
- Display and build: backlit LCD, data hold, auto-zero, auto power-off, carry case.
- Specification met: CE, RoHS and UL.
What the listing does not state
- A CAT rating. The listing does not state a measurement category, so it does not support use on household mains or panel work on that basis.
- A test procedure. The listing does not explain how to run the earth or insulation test on a real installation.
- Standards named in the marketing copy. The bullets say the meter “meets safety standards for industrial use” and is “industry-approved,” but they name no standard. We do not repeat those claims.
- Applications. The bullets mention power plants and construction sites. We do not know the meter’s suitability for those environments from the listing.
Battery count: the bullets say eight AA batteries, while the spec table lists “Batteries” as included with no count. Check the box for the number that ships with your unit.
Who this tester suits
A homeowner or a student who needs to measure voltage can use the AC voltage function, but the listing does not state a CAT rating for it, so a basic CAT-rated multimeter is the simpler choice for that job. A technician who does earth or insulation testing will want the manual and a procedure from a trusted source before using this unit.
Who should skip it
- Anyone who needs a CAT rating stated on the listing for household mains.
- Anyone who needs an earth test procedure. The listing does not give one.
- Anyone looking for a simple voltage meter. The Fluke 87V and UNI-T UT161E listings state CAT ratings and are simpler to use for voltage.
How we would judge it
We judge a tester on what its listing states, whether the stated specifications match the use case, and whether the safety information is complete. Here the specification fields are detailed for the earth and insulation functions, but the CAT rating and test procedure are missing. That gap is the main reason to look at other options first.
Product link
View the Vanlison DY5500 on Amazon (affiliate link)
Key numbers from the listings
- Earth resistance: 0.01 ohm resolution, 0.01 ohm to 2000 ohms, per the bullets.
- Insulation resistance: up to 2000 megaohms; a 250 volt, 500 volt and 1000 volt figure is listed beside the voltage bullet, with no stated purpose.
- Phase sequence: 100 volts to 450 volts range; frequency 50 Hz to 60 Hz.
- AC voltage: 600 volts AC maximum, per the bullets.
For example, a 0.01 ohm resolution means the display can step in hundredths of an ohm, but the listing does not say how accurate the reading is at each range.
Source and a contradiction
A retailer page for the same DY5500 (Genviro: Vanlison 0.01 ohm resolution ground resistance meter) repeats the earth and insulation ranges. It says AC/DC voltage up to 1000 V. The Amazon bullets say 600 V AC maximum. The two sources disagree, so this review uses the 600 V figure only as the Amazon listing states it. It does not repeat the retailer claims about power plants or ±2 percent accuracy, which neither the listing nor a test confirms.
Related guides
- Earth ground resistance tester covers the ground-resistance side of this meter.
- Earth ground meter covers earth ground meters.
- Multimeter helps you choose the right meter type.
FAQ
Does the Vanlison DY5500 have a CAT rating?
The listing does not state one. Do not use it on household mains on the strength of the listing alone.
What does the earth resistance function measure?
The listing gives a range of 0.01 Ω to 2000 Ω. It does not give a test procedure, so use the manual and a qualified electrician for any earth test.
Is this meter good for a homeowner?
For voltage checks, a CAT-rated multimeter is simpler. The earth and insulation functions are specialist tests.
Does the listing name a safety standard?
The spec field lists CE, RoHS and UL. The marketing bullets say “meets safety standards for industrial use” without naming one.
Conclusion
The Vanlison DY5500 is a multi-function tester with earth, insulation, voltage and phase functions. The listing gives detailed specifications for those functions but no CAT rating and no test procedure. For voltage checks, choose a CAT-rated multimeter. For earth or insulation tests, use the manual and a licensed electrician. Confirm the specifications and current price on the listing before you buy.