Electric circuit checker

Electric Circuit Checkers by Testing Job

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

This page covers five electric circuit checkers from one Amazon search, grouped by the job each one is listed for. Two are household kits for breakers and outlets, and three are automotive testers for 12 to 24 volt DC circuits. The figures come from the bullets read on each listing and from the title, and this page reports them as each listing states them. Listings were checked on 17 October 2026. Household panel and wiring work is a job for a licensed electrician, and the notes below do not change that.

Quick answer

For finding the breaker that feeds an outlet, the Klein Tools ET310KIT is the listing built for that job. For testing a standard or GFCI outlet and checking for voltage, the Klein Tools 80025 kit is the one listed for it. For car and small DC circuits, the three automotive testers cover different ranges: the Autel PowerScan for 12 to 24 volt circuits with resistance and continuity modes, the 5 to 90 volt Test Light, and the VDIAGTOOL P60 at 3 to 70 volts. None of the automotive testers is listed for household outlets.

Comparison table

Listing (ASIN) Job as listed Voltage or range stated Included or key feature Safety category stated
Klein Tools ET310KIT (B0DR9J23P6) Household AC breaker finding Not stated in bullets read Transmitter and receiver, GFCI tester on the transmitter Not stated
Klein Tools 80025 (B0912Z1W88) Household outlets, GFCI and standard Not stated in bullets read GFCI tester RT210 and NCVT1P voltage pen Not stated
Autel PowerScan (B00UZ940ES) Automotive 12 to 24 volt DC circuits 12 to 24 volt DC in title DC voltage, AC voltage, resistance and continuity modes Not applicable as listed
Test Light 5 to 90 volt (B0CJFH7Y4X) Automotive, RV and fuse checks 5 to 90 volt in title; 0.1 volt resolution Spring wire up to 110 inches with alligator clip Not stated
VDIAGTOOL P60 (B0G1MCLNY8) Automotive voltage and polarity 3 to 70 volt DC; 0.1 volt resolution Dual polarity LED indicator, flexible spring wire Not stated

How we chose these listings

The search returned several listings that name a circuit tester, and this group keeps the five whose title or bullets describe a circuit check. The page reads the title and the bullets. The listings do not all give the same kind of data: the Klein kits and the Autel tester list functions in their bullets, while the two test lights list a voltage range and a display resolution. The table shows what each listing gives, and a blank cell means the bullets read did not state the figure. No product here was used on a circuit for this page.

How to read these listings before you buy

Each of the five listings leaves out at least one figure that matters for a circuit check, so the list below is a reading guide for the product page rather than a ranking. Start with the job. A breaker finder and an outlet tester answer different questions, and the listing’s first bullet usually says which one it is. Next, check the voltage. A household tool should state an AC range that covers 120 volts, and an automotive tool should state a DC range that covers 12 to 24 volts. Then check the safety category, which is missing from most listings here. Last, check the accessories. The listings name adapters, clips, leads and spare batteries, and each one changes what you can test without buying more parts.

  • Job: breaker finding, outlet testing, or DC automotive checks.
  • Voltage: a range that covers the circuit you will test.
  • Safety category: a stated category for household use, which none of the five states in the bullets read.
  • Accessories: adapters, clip leads and the lead length.

1. Klein Tools ET310KIT AC Circuit Breaker Finder Kit (B0DR9J23P6)

This kit is listed for finding the breaker that feeds a given outlet or fixture on household AC branch circuits. It has a transmitter and a receiver. The bullets say the receiver gives visual and audible cues when it reaches the right breaker, so the person at the panel does not have to read a display. The transmitter also includes a GFCI outlet tester, and the kit adds light socket and grounding adapters and an alligator clip adapter for testing bare wire. The bullets do not state a voltage range or a safety category, so check the category on the product page before use.

View the Klein ET310KIT listing on Amazon

2. Klein Tools 80025 Outlet Tester Kit, 2-Piece (B0912Z1W88)

This two-piece kit is for household receptacles, both standard and GFCI. It includes a GFCI tester with catalog number RT210 and a non-contact voltage tester pen with catalog number NCVT1P. The bullets say it identifies common wiring problems in standard and GFCI receptacles, and they say it confirms GFCI operation, which the listing presents as a claim. The pen detects AC voltage in cables, breakers, fixtures and switches without contact. The safety category is not stated in the bullets read.

View the Klein 80025 listing on Amazon

3. Autel PowerScan Automotive Circuit Tester, 12-24V (B00UZ940ES)

This tester is listed for automotive 12 to 24 volt DC circuits, which is the range in its title. The bullets describe four working modes: DC voltage, AC voltage, resistance and continuity. Other bullets describe checking components on and off the board, identifying polarity, and running an open-circuit check and continuity and signal circuit tests. Because the listing is for DC automotive work, the safety category does not apply in the same way as it does for household tools, and the bullets do not give one.

View the Autel PowerScan listing on Amazon

4. Test Light Automotive 5-90V Digital LED Circuit Tester (B0CJFH7Y4X)

This tester shows voltage on a digital LED readout with 0.1 volt resolution and a stated accuracy of plus or minus 0.2 volt. Its title lists a range of 5 to 90 volts and describes it as bidirectional, with a red light for positive polarity and a green light for negative. The spring wire extends up to 110 inches, which is the longest lead length named in this group, and it ends in an alligator clip. The bullets also say it has a built-in circuit board chip and that it checks vehicle circuits, and both points are listing claims that this page does not confirm. The title names car, RV and fuse checks as uses.

View the Test Light listing on Amazon

5. VDIAGTOOL P60 Automotive Test Light (B0G1MCLNY8)

This listing gives a 3 to 70 volt DC range, a blue backlit LCD with 0.1 volt resolution, and a bidirectional polarity check with a dual LED indicator. The bullets also describe a sharp probe, an anti-lost needle cover, PVC tape, and a flexible spring wire with a large alligator clip. Its title calls it a circuit tester with a voltmeter, so it reads voltage and shows polarity in one tool. The safety category is not stated in the bullets read, and the listing does not describe a household use.

View the VDIAGTOOL P60 listing on Amazon

Worked example: which tool covers a 12.6 volt reading and a 120 volt outlet

Suppose you want to check a battery that reads 12.6 volts, and then check a 120 volt household outlet. For the battery, every automotive tester in the group covers 12.6 volts on its stated range: the Autel covers 12 to 24 volts, the P60 covers 3 to 70 volts, and the Test Light covers 5 to 90 volts. At 0.1 volt resolution, the P60 and the Test Light display 12.6 and would show 12.7 as a separate reading. The Autel listing does not state a resolution, so check its display on the product page.

For the 120 volt outlet, none of the automotive testers fits. The Autel stops at 24 volts, the P60 stops at 70 volts, and the Test Light stops at 90 volts, so each one is below 120 volts. The household tools are the Klein kits. The 80025 kit includes a voltage pen that detects AC voltage without contact, and the ET310KIT finds the breaker that feeds the outlet. Neither listing states a voltage range in the bullets read, so use the kit’s own instructions for the outlet test.

What we could not verify

The listings do not give a safety category for four of the five tools, so the table shows the category as not stated. The Klein listings do not give a measurement range in the bullets read, and the Autel listing does not give a display resolution. The Test Light’s chip and vehicle-check claims are listing statements that this page does not confirm. The two test lights describe their functions in similar words but give different ranges, so confirm each range on the product page before testing. This page did not use any of the tools on a circuit.

Frequently asked questions

Which of these finds the breaker for an outlet?

The Klein Tools ET310KIT is listed for that job. It has a transmitter that plugs into the outlet and a receiver that is moved along the panel. The receiver gives visual and audible cues at the correct breaker. Its bullets do not state a voltage range or safety category, so check those on the product page.

Can I test a standard or GFCI outlet with one of these?

The Klein Tools 80025 kit is listed for standard and GFCI receptacles. It includes a GFCI tester and a non-contact voltage pen, and its bullets say it identifies common wiring problems. The Klein ET310KIT transmitter also includes a GFCI outlet tester.

Can I use an automotive tester on a household outlet?

No. The Autel listing is for 12 to 24 volt DC circuits, the Test Light is listed from 5 to 90 volts, and the P60 is listed from 3 to 70 volts. A 120 volt household outlet is above each stated range, so these tools are for automotive and low-voltage DC circuits.

Which tester has the longest lead?

The Test Light listing gives a spring wire that extends up to 110 inches, with an alligator clip. The other listings in this group do not state a lead length in the bullets read.

Do these listings give safety category ratings?

Not in the bullets read for these five tools. The Autel listing is for automotive DC work, where a household safety category does not apply in the same way. Check the category stated on each product page before you use a tool on a live circuit.

Conclusion

For a household job, the Klein kits are the two listings built for breakers and outlets, and both leave the safety category to the product page. For automotive and low-voltage DC circuits, the Autel, the Test Light and the P60 give different ranges, and the Test Light has the longest stated lead. Match the range to your reading before you buy, and do not use an automotive tester on a household outlet. For more on outlet testing, see best wall socket tester, GFCI open ground and how to test a circuit breaker with a multimeter.

Listings on Amazon: Klein ET310KIT, Klein 80025, Autel PowerScan, Test Light 5-90V, VDIAGTOOL P60.

Similar Posts