Best Wire Strippers

Best Wire Strippers

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Updated 22 October 2026

Author: Ken

The best wire strippers for household wiring are hand tools whose listings state a gauge range that spans 14 and 12 AWG, and nine of the ten hand-tool listings here do. Work on mains circuits can kill. Strip only wire you have confirmed dead with a tester whose CAT rating suits the circuit, and leave panel or service work to a licensed electrician. This guide compares seven hand strippers by their stated ranges, then explains why two powered machines are a different tool.

Quick answer

  • Choose the Klein 11063W listing for one-handed automatic stripping across 8–20 AWG solid and 10–22 AWG stranded wire, with a built-in cutter.
  • Choose a KNIPEX 13 72 8 listing for a forged 10–20 AWG stripper that its bullets say also cuts NM-B, BX and MC cable.
  • Choose the Klein 11057 only for fine work. Its listing covers 20–30 AWG solid and 22–32 AWG stranded, which does not reach 14 or 12 AWG.
  • No listing states a voltage rating for its handles, so treat every handle as a grip and not as insulation.

Electrical safety before you strip anything

A wire stripper does not make a wire safe. It removes insulation, and that is only a job for a conductor that is dead. OSHA’s electrical overview says its standards are designed to protect employees exposed to dangers such as “electric shock, electrocution, fires, and explosions.” OSHA standard 1910.333 says live parts an employee may be exposed to shall be deenergized before the employee works on or near them, unless the employer can show that deenergizing adds hazards or is infeasible. It is a workplace rule, and we cite it for the principle: turn the circuit off, then prove it is off.

Proving it needs a tester, and the tester’s CAT rating has to suit the circuit. Electronics Reference describes CAT II as measurements on circuits fed from a household wall outlet, and CAT III as measurements on building installation, “including circuit breakers, distribution boards, bus bars, wiring, switches, and junction boxes.” The same page warns that a meter rated above the circuit’s category is not automatically suitable “for all lower categories at all voltages.” If the listing for your tester does not state a CAT rating, the listing does not state one, and you should not assume it. Our guides to live wire testers and non-contact voltage checkers cover that side.

SparkFun’s wire-stripping page adds a hand-safety point: using a knife to strip wire is “really dangerous,” because the knife can slip, and it can also nick the metal. This guide gives no steps for working on live wiring, outlets, panels or service conductors. Panel and service work belongs to a licensed electrician.

Gauge numbers in plain terms

American Wire Gauge, or AWG, runs backward. Archtoolbox says a larger AWG number indicates a smaller conductor. It also says typical household wire for a 15-amp circuit is 14 AWG, and 12 AWG wire is generally used on 20-amp circuits. Engineering ToolBox agrees that typical household copper wiring is AWG 12 or 14, and adds that the diameter of a stranded wire is larger than the diameter of a solid wire with the same AWG. Those two household sizes are the benchmark in this guide.

The Archtoolbox table gives bare solid conductor diameters. These are the ones that matter for the listing ranges below:

AWG Bare solid diameter (inches)
8 0.1285
10 0.1019
12 0.0808
14 0.0641
18 0.0403
20 0.0320
22 0.0253
24 0.0201
30 0.0100

A stripper’s notch has to match the conductor. SparkFun says that if the notch is too large the wire will not get stripped, and if it is too small there is a risk of damaging the wire, and that on stranded wire a notch that closes too far cuts off the outer ring of strands. It adds that a nick in solid wire severely reduces its strength and flexibility, and that the best plan after a nick is to cut off the damaged part and try again.

What the hand-tool listings state

The table uses only what each listing says. “Steps” is the larger gauge number minus the smaller one, so a wider range of sizes gives a larger number. “Spans 14 and 12” is Yes when both household sizes fall inside the stated range.

Listing Solid range (AWG) Stranded range (AWG) Steps Spans 14 and 12 Weight field Warranty field
Klein 11063W 8–20 10–22 12 Yes 12 ounces Not stated
KNIPEX 13 72 8 10–20 10–20 10 Yes 9.76 ounces Lifetime, does not cover abuse
Klein 12075 8–18 Text unclear 10 Yes 7.36 ounces See manufacturer website
Klein 11057 20–30 22–32 10 No 5.1 ounces 1 Year Manufacturer
KNIPEX 12 62 180 10–24 (title) Not separated 14 Yes 5.6 ounces Workmanship and Materials
WGGE WG-015 10–22 Not stated 12 Yes Not stated 24 Month Warranty (bullet)
haisstronica HX1519 24–10 (title) Highlight names stranded 14 Yes 0.35 kg Not stated

Four details in this table need a second look. The Klein 12075 bullet reads “10-20 14-16 AWG stranded,” which does not parse as one range, so we do not use a stranded range for it. The KNIPEX 12 62 180 range comes from the title alone, because its bullets are brand statements with no gauge. The haisstronica HX1519 title says AWG 24-10, while its bullet lists sub-ranges of 22-18, 22-10, 16-14 and 12-10, so the bullet’s overall span of 22 to 10 gives 12 steps and the title’s 24 to 10 gives 14. The listing does not say which is right. The Klein 11063W item type name reads 8-22 AWG, which is the union of its solid and stranded bullet ranges and does not conflict with them.

Numbers worked from the listings

How wide each notch range is. A range from a thick conductor to a thin one asks one tool to fit very different diameters. Using the Archtoolbox diameters, the Klein 11063W solid range runs from 0.1285 inch at 8 AWG to 0.0320 inch at 20 AWG, and 0.1285 divided by 0.0320 = 4.02. The WGGE 10–22 range gives 0.1019 divided by 0.0253 = 4.03. The KNIPEX 13 72 8 range at 10–20 gives 0.1019 divided by 0.0320 = 3.18. The KNIPEX 12 62 180 range at 10–24 gives 0.1019 divided by 0.0201 = 5.07, the widest of the group. A bigger ratio is not automatically better. It only tells you the span the listing claims for one tool.

Household coverage. Of the ten hand-tool listings, nine state a range that includes both 14 AWG (0.0641 inch) and 12 AWG (0.0808 inch). The exception is the Klein 11057, whose solid range stops at 20 AWG on the thick side.

Small-gauge reach. SparkFun warns that many wire strippers found at the hardware store do not strip small gauge wire, 22 to 30. Seven of the ten hand-tool listings reach at least 22 AWG on the fine side. Only three go past 22: the Klein 11057 (30 solid, 32 stranded), the KNIPEX 12 62 180 (24) and the haisstronica HX1519 (24, by its title). The Klein 11063W stops at 22 for stranded wire, and the WGGE and ANGELSWORD listings stop at 22.

Weight. The Klein 11063W field gives 12 ounces and the Klein 12075 field gives 7.36 ounces, a gap of 12 minus 7.36 = 4.64 ounces. The Klein 11057 gives 5.1 ounces, so the 11063W is 12 minus 5.1 = 6.9 ounces heavier. The listings do not say what each weight includes.

Twin KNIPEX listings. The 13 72 8 and 13 71 8 listings share the same five bullets, but their fields differ. One gives 9.76 ounces and the other 8.64 ounces, a gap of 9.76 minus 8.64 = 1.12 ounces. One warranty field reads “Lifetime warranty does not cover abuse” and the other reads 12 months. Where two listings disagree, we show both and pick neither.

1. Klein Tools 11063W 7-Inch Heavy-Duty Automatic Wire Cutter/Stripper (Automatic stripper with built-in cutter)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Item Weight: 12 ounces
  • Product Dimensions: 6.63"L x 4"W
  • Item Highlight: Heavy-Duty Stripper Cutter for 8-20 AWG Solid and 10-22 AWG Stranded Electrical Wire

Pros

  • The listing says one squeeze of the handles automatically grips and strips insulation for one-handed use
  • The listing states 8-20 AWG solid and 10-22 AWG stranded stripping ranges
  • The listing says the built-in cutter handles up to 8 AWG solid wire and the holes remove up to 1 inch of insulation

Cons

  • The specification fields give no warranty line
  • The title says 7-inch while the dimensions field reads 6.63 by 4 inches

Best for: A reader who strips a lot of mixed household wire and wants one-handed automatic operation
Skip if: You want a tool that also crimps, because the listing does not claim crimping

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. KNIPEX Tools 13 72 8 Forged Wire Stripper, 8-Inch (Forged 10-20 AWG stripper that cuts cable)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Item Weight: 9.76 ounces
  • Manufacturer Warranty Description: Lifetime warranty does not cover abuse
  • Cutting width: 8 inches

Pros

  • The bullets say it strips solid and stranded wire from 10 to 20 AWG
  • The bullets say it cuts cable, wires, NM-B, BX and MC and shears 6-32 and 8-32 screws
  • The warranty field reads lifetime and does not cover abuse

Cons

  • The model number field reads 13 72 200 ME, which differs from the title
  • The cutting capacity bullet compares against competition without naming a competitor

Best for: A reader who wants a forged stripper for solid and stranded wire and expects to cut cable as well
Skip if: You need a range thicker than 10 AWG or thinner than 20 AWG

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Klein Tools 12075 Heavy-Duty Wire Strippers, Forged Design, Self-Opening Wire Stripping Tool (Lighter forged design with cross-hatched jaws)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Item Weight: 7.36 ounces
  • Grip Type: Cross-hatched
  • Manufacturer Warranty Description: See Manufacturer Website

Pros

  • The bullets say the slim forged design is lighter than traditional forged wire strippers
  • The bullets say the cross-hatched jaws grip and twist up to three 12 AWG wires
  • The listing states 8-18 AWG for solid wire and a spring that self-opens the handle

Cons

  • The stranded range text reads 10-20 14-16 AWG, which does not parse as one range
  • The warranty field says to see the manufacturer website

Best for: A reader who wants a lighter forged tool and strips solid wire from 8 to 18 AWG
Skip if: You mainly strip stranded wire and need the stranded range stated clearly

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Klein Tools 11057 Wire Cutter/Stripper, Made in USA, Heavy Duty Cutter for 20-30 AWG Solid (Fine-gauge cutter and stripper)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Item Weight: 5.1 ounces
  • Manufacturer Warranty Description: 1 Year Manufacturer
  • Specification Met: Compliant with Wire Stripping and Cutting Industry Standards

Pros

  • The listing states 20-30 AWG solid and 22-32 AWG stranded wire
  • The listing says it shears 6-32 and 8-32 screws and has holes for looping and bending wire
  • The warranty field reads 1 Year Manufacturer and the listing says Made in USA

Cons

  • The solid range stops at 20 AWG, so it does not reach 14 or 12 AWG household sizes
  • The listing gives no strip length limit

Best for: A reader who works on electronics, hobby wiring or thin hookup wire
Skip if: You strip household wire of 14 or 12 AWG

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. KNIPEX Automatic Wire Stripper 10-24 AWG, 7.25 (Widest stated span, 10-24 AWG)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Item Weight: 5.6 ounces
  • Manufacturer Warranty Description: Workmanship and Materials
  • Specification Met: RoHS

Pros

  • The title states 10-24 AWG, the widest span among the hand tools
  • The weight field gives 5.6 ounces
  • The Specification Met field reads RoHS

Cons

  • The title ends with 7.25 and no unit
  • No bullet states a gauge, a strip length or a solid versus stranded range

Best for: A reader who wants the widest stated gauge span from an automatic stripper
Skip if: You need the gauge details and strip length confirmed in the bullets

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. WGGE WG-015 Professional Wire Stripper, Wire Cutter and Wire Crimper 8-inch (Stripper and crimper with a written warranty)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Product Dimensions: 8.2"L x 2.8"W
  • Cutting width: 8 inches
  • Item Highlight: 10-22 AWG Cable Stripping, Wire Crimping, Multi-Function Design, Hand Tools

Pros

  • The bullets say it cuts, strips and loops 10-22 AWG solid copper wire or aluminum cables
  • The bullets say it crimps insulated and non-insulated terminals
  • The bullets state a 24 Month warranty and a non-slip rubber handle

Cons

  • The listing gives no weight and no crimp gauge range
  • The listing does not state a stranded wire range

Best for: A reader who wants stripping, cutting and terminal crimping in one 8-inch tool
Skip if: You need a stated weight or crimp capacity

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

7. haisstronica 3 in 1 Self-Adjusting Wire Stripper, AWG 24-10 Tool (Self-adjusting 3-in-1 tool)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Item Weight: 0.35 kg
  • Item Highlight: Alloy Steel Blades, Adjustable Strip Length, Solid and Stranded Conductors, Ergonomic Grip, Electronics Repairs

Pros

  • The Item Highlight lists adjustable strip length and solid and stranded conductors
  • The bullets describe heat-treated, black-oxidized alloy steel blades and a rubber handle
  • The weight field gives 0.35 kg

Cons

  • The title says AWG 24-10 while a bullet lists 22-18, 22-10, 16-14 and 12-10
  • The warranty is described as a satisfaction guarantee with no term

Best for: A reader who wants a self-adjusting stripper, cutter and crimper with adjustable strip length
Skip if: You need one clear AWG range stated in the listing

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

The seven picks in detail

Klein 11063W: automatic stripping with a built-in cutter

Best for: a reader who strips a lot of mixed household wire and wants one-handed operation.

The listing says one squeeze of the handles automatically grips and strips insulation, strips 8–20 AWG solid and 10–22 AWG stranded, and has a built-in cutter for up to 8 AWG solid wire. Its stripping holes remove up to 1 inch of insulation in a single step, and an internal spring opens the handle. The weight field gives 12 ounces.

Limits: the listing gives no warranty line in its specification fields, and the title says 7-inch while the dimensions field gives 6.63 inches by 4 inches. Skip if you want a tool that is also a crimper, because the listing does not claim crimping.

KNIPEX 13 72 8: forged 10–20 AWG with cable cutting

Best for: a reader who wants a forged stripper for both solid and stranded wire and expects to cut cable as well.

The bullets say it strips solid and stranded wire from 10 to 20 AWG, has locating ridges for finding the stripping holes, cuts 6-32 and 8-32 screws, and cuts cable, wires, NM-B, BX and MC. The weight field gives 9.76 ounces and the warranty field says lifetime, not covering abuse.

Limits: the model number field (13 72 200 ME) differs from the title, and the bullet claiming 50 percent higher cutting capacity than “competition” does not name a competitor. Skip if you need gauge coverage thicker than 10 AWG or thinner than 20 AWG.

Klein 12075: lighter forged design with cross-hatched jaws

Best for: a reader who wants a lighter forged tool and strips solid wire from 8 to 18 AWG.

The bullets say the slim forged design is lighter than traditional forged strippers, the blade design eases cutting, an internal spring self-opens the handle, and the cross-hatched jaws grip and twist up to three 12 AWG wires. The weight field gives 7.36 ounces, and the item type is standard wire strippers.

Limits: the stranded range text is garbled, and the warranty field says to see the manufacturer website. Skip if you mainly strip stranded wire and need the listing to state the range.

Klein 11057: fine-gauge cutter and stripper

Best for: a reader who works on electronics, hobby wiring or thin hookup wire.

The listing says it cuts, strips and loops 20–30 AWG solid and 22–32 AWG stranded wire, and shears 6-32 and 8-32 screws. It has precision-ground stripping holes, a serrated nose, holes for looping, a coil spring for self-opening, and a Made in USA bullet. The warranty field reads 1 Year Manufacturer and the weight field 5.1 ounces.

Limits: it does not reach 14 or 12 AWG, so it is not a household cable tool. Skip if you strip house wire.

KNIPEX 12 62 180: 10–24 AWG automatic stripper

Best for: a reader who wants the widest stated span in the group, 10 to 24 AWG, from an automatic tool.

The title gives 10-24 AWG. The weight field gives 5.6 ounces, the warranty field reads Workmanship and Materials, and the Specification Met field reads RoHS. The listed bullets are brand statements about precision grade performance and fit for the shop, home or service field.

Limits: the title ends with 7.25 and no unit, and no bullet states a gauge, a strip length or a solid versus stranded range. Skip if you need those details confirmed on the listing before you buy.

WGGE WG-015: stripper and crimper in one

Best for: a reader who wants stripping, cutting and terminal crimping in one 8-inch tool and likes a written warranty.

The bullets say it cuts, strips and loops 10–22 AWG solid copper wire or aluminum cables, crimps insulated and non-insulated terminals, uses high carbon alloy steel and a non-slip rubber handle, and carries a 24 Month warranty. The dimensions field reads 8.2 inches by 2.8 inches.

Limits: the listing gives no weight and no crimp gauge range, and the stranded wire range is not stated. Skip if you need a stated weight or crimp capacity.

haisstronica HX1519: self-adjusting 3-in-1

Best for: a reader who wants a self-adjusting tool for stripping, cutting and crimping with an adjustable strip length.

The Item Highlight lists alloy steel blades, adjustable strip length, and solid and stranded conductors. The bullets describe heat-treated, black-oxidized alloy steel blades and a rubber handle. The weight field gives 0.35 kg.

Limits: the title and the bullet disagree on the gauge span, and the warranty is described as a satisfaction guarantee with no term. Skip if you need one clear AWG range in the listing.

Listings we left out

Five of the twelve records are not featured. The reasons are about fit, not about the products being poor.

  • KNIPEX 13 71 8. It is the twin of the 13 72 8 listing with the same bullets, so featuring both would repeat a pick. The weight and warranty differences are in the section above.
  • ANGELSWORD 8-inch. It states 10–22 AWG, the same range as the WGGE, and a screw-shear list. Its Unit Count field reads 8 Count and its model field reads WSFDxxx-, both of which look unfinished. The handle bullet claims it maximizes electrical safety with no voltage rating stated.
  • haisstronica HS-8327 set. It states stripping at AWG 24-10 and crimping at AWG 26-10, with a ratchet and quick release, but it is a two-tool set at 1.01 kg, and the HX1519 already represents the brand.
  • Hizmivos manual stripping machine. The listing is aimed at scrap copper recycling, with a hand crank or drill drive and holes for wire from 0.06 to 1 inch. It is a bench machine, not a hand stripper for electrical work, and we do not call it one.
  • CREWORKS 180W electric stripping machine. This is also a scrap-wire machine, rated at speeds up to 98 ft/min (30 m/min) with five feed holes and an emergency stop, and it weighs 25.8 pounds in the weight field. The title says 1.18 inches and a bullet says 1.15 inches for the same 30 mm. The Engineering ToolBox table pairs 0.102 inch with 2.59 mm, about 25.4 mm per inch, and 30 divided by 25.4 = 1.18, so the two figures disagree and the title matches the metric one.

For an adjacent hand tool, our comparison of crimpers from Klein and iCrimp shows how crimp capacity is stated.

Buying checklist

  1. Write down the gauge you will strip. For household circuits the sources above point to 14 AWG and 12 AWG.
  2. Check that the listing states a range that includes your gauge, not only a brand claim.
  3. Check solid versus stranded, because the same AWG is larger in stranded form.
  4. Check whether you want a cutter, a crimper or screw shearing, since each listing states different extras.
  5. Check the weight and warranty fields, and note which ones the listing leaves blank.
  6. Before any stripping on installed wiring, have a tester that suits the circuit. See our multimeter guide for the next step.

How we chose

We read all twelve records in the research set on 22 October 2026. A record had to name a wire stripper and give an AWG range or a wire diameter range in its title, bullets or specification fields. Seven hand tools were kept because each states a range we could compare and each covers a different style: automatic, forged, lightweight, fine-gauge, wide-range automatic, stripper-crimper and self-adjusting.

We left out near-duplicates and tools of a different type. The two machines strip scrap wire in bulk, so they answer a different question from the one this keyword asks. We do not rank the seven against each other, and the order above is not a ranking. Brand claims such as “number 1 choice” are not used, and we took gauges only from titles, specification fields and complete bullets.

What we could not verify

  • Insulation rating of any handle. No listing states a voltage rating, and the words “ergonomic,” “non-slip” and “electrical safety” are not ratings.
  • Which cutting-width figure means what. The field reads 8 inches, 25 millimeters, 2.5 millimeters, 6 millimeters, 0.15 centimeters and 1 inches across different listings, and none defines it.
  • The Klein 12075 stranded range, and the haisstronica HX1519 overall range.
  • Strip length limits for most tools. Only the Klein 11063W states up to 1 inch.
  • Which competitor the KNIPEX cutting-capacity bullet compares against, and what “25% cutting power reduction” is measured on.
  • Warranty terms for the Klein 11063W and haisstronica HX1519, which state none in their specification fields.
  • Whether the WGGE crimper handles any specific terminal gauge.
  • Durability or edge life. The sources we opened cover gauge and technique, not blade wear.

Mistakes to avoid

  1. Matching on tool length. A title that says 8-inch or 7-inch tells you the body, not the notch range.
  2. Assuming stranded fits the solid notch. Engineering ToolBox says stranded wire is larger than solid wire of the same AWG, and SparkFun says an undersized notch cuts off the outer strands.
  3. Buying a fine-gauge tool for house wire. The Klein 11057 stops at 20 AWG on the thick side.
  4. Trusting a handle as insulation. No listing states a voltage rating.
  5. Stripping before proving the wire is dead. OSHA’s rule is to deenergize first. Confirm with a tester, and see our voltage tester guide for electricians for options.
  6. Reusing a nicked end. SparkFun’s advice is to cut off the damaged section and strip again.

FAQ

What wire gauge do I need a stripper for in a house?

Archtoolbox says typical household wire for a 15-amp circuit is 14 AWG, and 12 AWG is generally used on 20-amp circuits. Engineering ToolBox says typical household copper wiring is AWG 12 or 14. Nine of the ten hand-tool listings here state a range that spans both sizes. The exception is the Klein 11057.

Do I need a different notch for solid and stranded wire?

Often yes. Engineering ToolBox says the diameter of a stranded wire is larger than a solid wire with the same AWG, and SparkFun warns that a notch that is too small cuts off the outer ring of strands on stranded wire. The Klein 11063W listing states different solid and stranded ranges, which shows the difference in practice.

Can I strip a wire that might still be live?

No. OSHA 1910.333 says live parts shall be deenergized before work on or near them unless the employer can show that deenergizing adds hazards or is infeasible. At home, that means turning the circuit off and confirming with a tester first. Our continuity tester guide and wire tester pen guide cover tools for the confirmation step.

Is an automatic stripper better than a manual one?

The Klein 11063W listing describes one squeeze that grips and strips, which suits repeated work. SparkFun describes self-adjusting strippers as taking almost any wire, with a tension knob on some. The listings do not compare speed or accuracy, so choose on the gauge range and the extras you need.

Can a wire stripper also crimp?

Some do. The WGGE and ANGELSWORD listings say they crimp terminals, and the haisstronica HX1519 is described as 3-in-1. The listings state few crimp capacities, so check them before relying on the tool for a specific terminal.

Do the electric stripping machines replace hand strippers?

No. The Hizmivos and CREWORKS listings are aimed at scrap copper recycling, with a hand crank or drill drive or a 180W motor. They are not hand tools for installed wiring.

Bottom line

Match the stated AWG range to the wire in front of you, then confirm the wire is dead with a suitable tester before any stripping. For household 14 and 12 AWG, the Klein 11063W, KNIPEX 13 72 8 and Klein 12075 listings state ranges that cover both. For fine wire, the Klein 11057 is the one built for it.

Sources

  • https://www.archtoolbox.com/wire-size-gauge/
  • https://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/awg-wire-gauge-d_731.html
  • https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/working-with-wire/how-to-strip-a-wire
  • https://www.osha.gov/electrical
  • https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910.333
  • https://electronicsreference.com/references/measurement_categories/

Similar Posts