Best Earth Resistance Tester: Clamp and Kit Options

Best Earth Resistance Tester: Clamp and Kit Options Compared

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Updated 23 October 2026

Author: Ken

The person typing best earth resistance tester wants a tool that gives a resistance reading for a grounding path, and wants to know which design suits the job. A clamp reads loop resistance without disconnecting the conductor, and a kit uses leads and earth bars for a three-wire setup. Earth resistance testing often happens near energized equipment, and none of the four candidates states a CAT rating, so none is safe for household mains. Building and service grounding work belongs to a licensed electrician.

Electrical safety first

Work on mains circuits, outlets, panels and service wiring can kill. Earth resistance testing often happens near energized equipment, so the tester’s CAT rating must suit the circuit it touches. The listing does not state a CAT rating for any of the four earth resistance listings in our research set for this query, so do not treat any of them as safe for household mains. Panel, service and building grounding work belongs to a licensed electrician. If a lead, bar or clamp would have to touch a live conductor to reach the point you need, stop.

Quick answer

  • For a loop reading on a grounding conductor that you cannot easily disconnect, the ETCR2100A+ listing states a 0.010 to 200 ohm range with 0.001 ohm resolution, and says the method is loop resistance only.
  • For a kit with earth bars and a stated one-year warranty, the Extech 382252 listing lists the most items in its highlight, although its bullets describe a vibration sensor and do not match the meter.
  • For data logging, the DLG DI-120 listing states 99 data points and a USB upload, but its software is listed for Windows 2000, XP, Vista and 7 only.
  • For a range that reaches 2000 ohm with a voltage check, the SKYCENX VC4105A listing states 20, 200 and 2000 ohm ranges and AC voltage measurement up to 750 V.

Two designs, four candidates

An earth resistance tester in these listings is either a clamp or a kit. The ETCR2100A+ clamp reads loop resistance. Its listing says it “enables fast loop resistance measurement without disconnecting ground wires,” and that the meter is “designed to measure loop resistance only, not single-point grounding.” The DLG DI-120 is also a clamp, with a 55 by 32 mm jaw. The Extech 382252 and the SKYCENX VC4105A are kits. Each uses test leads and earth bars or rods, so the layout of the electrodes is part of the reading.

The choice between the two designs depends on the grounding path. A clamp avoids disconnecting a conductor that you can reach, which the ETCR listing describes as “without disconnecting ground wires.” A kit lets you place electrodes yourself, which can suit a site with no closed loop. Neither design makes the job safe alone, and both need the setup steps in the manual.

The comparison table

The table uses only figures that each listing states. Where a listing is silent, the cell says “not stated.” Three of the four candidates give a range in their titles or highlights. Two state a warranty in the specification block.

Product Design Range stated Resolution stated Data features Included items Warranty
ETCR2100A+ clamp Clamp, loop method 0.010 to 200 ohm 0.001 ohm Not stated Not stated Not stated
Extech 382252 kit Kit with earth bars 20, 200 and 2000 ohm Not stated 500 readings (bullets) Test leads, 2 earth bars, case, holster 1 year
DLG DI-120 clamp Clamp, USB upload 0.01 to 1000 ohm 0.001 ohm 99 data points, USB software Not stated Not stated
SKYCENX VC4105A Kit, digital meter 20, 200 and 2000 ohm 0.01 ohm precision Data hold Meter and all accessories One year

1. ETCR2100A+ Digital Clamp Ground Earth Resistance Meter Tester 200Ω (Clamp for loop readings)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-23):

  • Measurement Type: Ohmmeter
  • Item Highlight: Non-contact clamp-on design enables fast loop resistance measurement without disconnecting ground wires, with Φ32mm jaw
  • Specification Met: Beep
  • Upper Temperature Rating: 55 °C

Pros

  • The listing states a 0.010 to 200 ohm range with 0.001 ohm resolution
  • The listing says the clamp enables loop resistance measurement without disconnecting ground wires
  • The listing describes a 32 mm jaw and a beep

Cons

  • The listing says it measures loop resistance only, not single-point grounding
  • The listing does not state a warranty or a CAT rating

Best for: A loop reading on a conductor you cannot easily disconnect
Skip if: You need a single-point electrode reading or a kit with leads

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. Extech 382252 Earth Ground Resistance Tester Kit, 3 Ranges, Auto Zero (Kit with earth bars and warranty)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-23):

  • Item Highlight: 20/200/2000 Ohm, AC/DC voltage, continuity, leads, 2 earth bars, holster, case, 6 AA batteries
  • Included Components: Test leads, 2 earth bars, case, holster, six 1.5V AA batteries
  • Warranty Description: 1 year
  • Measurement Type: Ohmmeter

Pros

  • The item highlight lists 20, 200 and 2000 ohm ranges
  • The listing includes two earth bars, test leads, a case and a holster
  • The specification block states a one-year warranty

Cons

  • Four of five bullets describe a vibration sensor, not an earth meter
  • The listing gives no reason for the mismatch between bullets and specs

Best for: A kit with earth bars for a three-wire check, after confirming the specification with the seller
Skip if: You rely on the bullets alone

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. DLG Clamp On Ground Earth Resistance Tester With USB Connection DI-120 (Clamp with USB data logging)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-23):

  • Measurement Type: Ohmmeter
  • Compatible Devices: Windows 2000, XP, Vista, 7 with USB port
  • Item Dimensions: 11.2 x 2.4 x 3.5 inches
  • Style Name: Modern

Pros

  • The listing states 0.01 to 1000 ohm with 0.001 ohm resolution
  • The bullets state 99 data points of datalogging
  • The listing describes a 55 by 32 mm jaw for larger ground rods

Cons

  • The listing says the USB software is not available for Windows 10

Best for: A clamp with stored readings, for a user whose computer runs a supported Windows version
Skip if: You use Windows 10 or a newer system and need the upload

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. VC4105A Earth Resistance Tester Digital Grounding Resistance Meter 20/200/2000Ω Ground Resistance (Three ranges with voltage check)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-23):

  • Minimum Operating Voltage: 1 volts_of_alternating_current
  • Warranty Description: One year warranty
  • Included Components: VC4105A ground resistance meter and all the accessories
  • Measurement Type: Earth resistance tester

Pros

  • The bullets state 20, 200 and 2000 ohm ranges with 0.01 ohm precision
  • The bullets state AC voltage up to 750 V with 1 V resolution

Cons

  • The listing does not state a CAT rating
  • The listing describes NCV detection, which is a screening step and not a measurement

Best for: A meter with three ohm ranges, a voltage check and a stated one-year warranty
Skip if: You need a loop clamp for a conductor you cannot disconnect

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

Top-range arithmetic

The top of each range is the figure that limits the reading, so it helps to compare them directly. The ETCR clamp tops out at 200 ohm. The DLG clamp tops out at 1000 ohm, which is 1000 ÷ 200 = 5 times the ETCR figure. The SKYCENX and Extech kits top out at 2000 ohm, which is 2000 ÷ 200 = 10 times the ETCR figure.

The low end moves the other way. The ETCR states 0.010 ohm, the DLG states 0.01 ohm, and the Extech and SKYCENX list their lowest range as 20 ohm. A kit with a 20 ohm lowest range does not show the small values that the clamp range covers. So a wide top range does not mean a fine low end, and the two numbers must be read together.

Pick 1: ETCR2100A+ clamp for loop readings

The ETCR listing gives the clearest figures in the set. It states a range from 0.010 to 200 ohm, a resolution of 0.001 ohm, a 32 mm jaw and a battery-powered display with a beep. Its bullets say the clamp combines voltage and current coils to measure loop resistance without disconnecting the conductor, and the specification block gives a weight of 1160 grams and an upper temperature rating of 55 °C.

The listing is strict about what the method does. It says the meter “measures loop resistance only,” and that a user can create an artificial loop near the grounding electrode for testing, following the manual. It also says the clamp “measures ground faults undetectable by traditional methods.” That claim is the seller’s, and the listing gives no basis for it. The listing does not state a warranty or a CAT rating.

Best for: a loop reading on a grounding conductor when disconnecting it is not practical, and a reader who understands that the method is a loop method.

Skip if: you need a single-point electrode reading, or a kit with leads and rods, because this is a clamp only.

Pick 2: Extech 382252 earth ground resistance tester kit

The Extech kit lists the most items of any kit in the set in its highlight and specification block. The highlight reads “20/200/2000 Ohm, AC/DC voltage, continuity, leads, 2 earth bars, holster, case, 6 AA batteries.” The specification block gives test leads, two earth bars, a case, a holster and six 1.5 V AA batteries, with a one-year warranty. Its power source is battery powered, and its upper temperature rating is 140 °F.

The bullets do not describe this meter. Four of the five describe a vibration sensor, with velocity, acceleration and displacement units, a remote sensor on a 39-inch cable, a 5% basic accuracy and a 10 Hz to 1 kHz frequency range. The fifth describes storing up to 500 readings. These lines do not match an earth resistance tester, and the listing does not explain the difference. Use the item highlight and the specification block for the ranges and items, and ask the seller to confirm the accuracy and the bullets before buying.

Best for: a reader who wants a kit with earth bars, leads and a stated one-year warranty, and who will confirm the specification in writing.

Skip if: you rely on the bullets, because they describe a different instrument.

Pick 3: DLG DI-120 clamp with USB upload

The DLG listing gives a range of 0.01 to 1000 ohm with 0.001 ohm resolution, a 55 by 32 mm jaw for larger ground rods, and a battery-powered meter with a large LCD. Its bullets say the meter logs 99 data points and uploads them to a computer by USB, using software.

The compatibility line is the important limit. The bullets say the software works with Windows 2000, XP, Vista and 7 with a USB port, and they say it is “NOT available for window 10 currently.” A reader on Windows 10 or a newer system should not assume the upload works. The specification block gives a weight of 2.8 pounds and an item size of 11.2 by 2.4 by 3.5 inches.

Best for: a reader who wants a clamp with stored readings and has a computer that the listed software supports.

Skip if: your computer runs Windows 10 or a newer system, because the listing says the software is not available for it.

Pick 4: SKYCENX VC4105A earth resistance meter

The SKYCENX listing gives three ranges, 20, 200 and 2000 ohm, with a precision of 0.01 ohm. Its bullets say it measures AC voltage up to 750 V with a resolution of 1 V, and it describes a maximum reading of 1999, a backlight and a data hold function. The meter runs on batteries or an external power adapter, and the bullets describe a dust-proof and moisture-proof structure.

The specification block gives a minimum operating voltage of 1 volt AC and a one-year warranty. The bullets give a weight of 1.5 pounds, and the specification block gives 680 grams. Those figures agree once converted. The listing also describes an NCV power detection feature, which it says allows non-contact voltage detection. A non-contact check is a screening step, not a measurement, and it does not replace a meter reading.

Best for: a reader who wants three ohm ranges, a voltage check and a stated one-year warranty in one meter.

Skip if: you need a loop clamp for a conductor you cannot disconnect, because this listing describes a kit meter with leads.

Candidates left out of this set

The research file for this phrase holds six records. Two are not earth resistance testers at all. The AstroAI multimeter is a general digital multimeter with a 6000-count display and an automotive focus, and the FNIRSI HRM-10 is a battery tester that measures voltage and internal resistance of cells. Neither listing describes an earth resistance measurement, so neither is a pick here. For a general meter with a resistance function, see best hand held digital multimeter.

That leaves four picks, fewer than the five to eight the brief asks for. We did not add a product from outside the research record, and we did not fill the list with a multimeter or a battery tester to reach a higher count. A reader who needs more choice should look at a wider set of earth resistance listings before buying.

Buying checklist

  • Confirm the design you need. A clamp reads loop resistance without disconnecting a conductor; a kit needs leads and electrodes placed by you.
  • Check the range against the figure you expect. The ETCR states 0.010 to 200 ohm, the DLG 0.01 to 1000 ohm, and the Extech and SKYCENX 20 to 2000 ohm.
  • Check the operating system if you plan to upload data. The DLG listing names Windows 2000 through 7 only.
  • Check the warranty in the listing. The Extech and SKYCENX state one year; the ETCR and DLG state none.
  • Ask the seller about the Extech bullets before you buy, because they describe a vibration sensor.
  • Confirm the CAT rating with the manufacturer. No listing in the set states one.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying a clamp for a single electrode reading. The ETCR listing says it measures loop resistance only, not single-point grounding.
  • Assuming the DLG software works on Windows 10. The listing says it is not available for that system.
  • Reading the Extech bullets as the meter’s specification. Four of five describe a vibration sensor.
  • Treating the SKYCENX non-contact check as a measurement. The listing describes NCV detection as a separate feature.
  • Using a 20 ohm lowest range to look for small values. The clamp listings state a 0.01 or 0.010 ohm low end.

How we chose

We read each product record in the research set for this keyword against three tests. The first asked whether the title, highlight or bullets describe an earth resistance or ground resistance measurement. The second asked whether the listing gives enough text to quote, such as a title, bullets or specification lines. The third asked whether the item is a meter for this phrase rather than a tool built for another job.

Four records passed all three tests: the ETCR, Extech, DLG and SKYCENX listings. Two records failed the first test, the AstroAI multimeter and the FNIRSI battery tester. The picks appear in the order the research file lists them. We did not add a product from outside the research record to reach five picks, and we did not drop one that passed. The listings were read on 23 October 2026, and each figure in this guide comes from the listing text read on that date.

What we could not verify

  • The CAT rating of every item. None of the four listings states one, so none is a tool for household mains.
  • The accuracy of the Extech kit and the ETCR clamp. The Extech bullets give a “5% basic accuracy,” but that line sits in the vibration bullets, so it cannot be tied to the meter.
  • Whether the Extech bullets describe the same instrument as its item highlight. Four of five bullets describe a vibration sensor.
  • The warranty of the ETCR and DLG items. Their listings do not state one.
  • The resolution of the Extech kit. Its listing does not give one.
  • The data storage of the ETCR clamp and the included items of the DLG clamp. Neither listing states them.
  • Whether the DLG USB software works on any Windows version after 7. The listing names only 2000, XP, Vista and 7, and says Windows 10 is not available.
  • The safe use of the NCV feature in the SKYCENX listing on any outlet or circuit.

For the basic reading of a voltage between two points, see how voltage testers work. For a separate family of testers that check a live circuit, see best live dead live tester.

FAQ

What is the difference between a clamp and a kit?

A clamp closes around a conductor and reads loop resistance without disconnecting it. The ETCR and DLG listings describe that method. A kit uses leads and earth bars that you place yourself, as in the Extech and SKYCENX listings. A kit can suit a site with no closed loop, while a clamp suits a conductor you cannot disconnect.

Can I use a clamp to read a single grounding electrode?

The ETCR listing says the meter measures “loop resistance only, not single-point grounding.” It says a user can create an artificial loop near the grounding electrode and refer to the manual. That is a specific method. A reader who needs a single-point reading should follow the manual or ask a licensed electrician.

Will the DLG software work on my computer?

The DLG listing names Windows 2000, XP, Vista and 7 with a USB port. It says the software is “NOT available for window 10 currently.” Check the listing before you buy if you plan to upload data.

Does the SKYCENX meter read voltage as well?

Its listing says so. The bullets state AC voltage up to 750 V with a resolution of 1 V. That reading is a separate function from the resistance ranges, and it does not make the meter safe for household mains, because the listing does not state a CAT rating.

Which of these has a warranty?

The Extech and SKYCENX listings each state a one-year warranty. The ETCR and DLG listings state none.

Bottom line

Choose the design by the path you need to measure. Use the ETCR clamp for a loop reading on a conductor you cannot disconnect, and read its listing for its exact range. Use the Extech or SKYCENX kit when you need leads and earth bars, and confirm the specification in the listing before you buy. Do not treat any of the four as CAT-rated for household mains, and call a licensed electrician for panel, service or building grounding work.

Sources

Similar Posts