Several generic digital multimeters arranged with probes and electronics on a bright workbench.

Best Digital Multimeter for Electrical Checks: 6 Picks Compared

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

The model in this item’s keyword, the Agilent 34401A, does not appear in any listing in our research pool, so this guide does not treat that model as a pick. What the pool does contain is a large set of handheld digital multimeters. The six below are the ones whose listings state a voltage range, a count or True RMS figure and a set of measurement functions. Each card quotes the listing as the seller states it, with the date the listing was checked.

Quick answer: for the widest listed voltage range, the Fluke 87V lists measuring up to 1000 volts AC and DC. For a meter with True RMS and a 22,000-count display, the UNI-T UT161E is the listing to compare. For a low-voltage DC check on a battery, the QCL-TECH QF-954 lists a 20-volt DC range with finer steps below it.

The six picks at a glance

Meter Voltage range (as listed) Display and RMS (as listed) Other listed features
Fluke 87V (B0002YFD1K) Up to 1000 volts AC and DC 6000 to 20,000 counts, True RMS Peak capture, 10-year warranty
UNI-T UT161E (B0B1CZBPX7) CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V ratings 22,000 counts, True RMS USB data, audible and visible alarm
TESMEN TSM-599 (B0D5LSQL58) DC and AC voltage and current, range not stated 6000 counts, True RMS NCV, temperature, color LCD
DEASOMIYE T21D (B0B31YC3YD) Up to 600 volts and 10 amps 6000 counts, True RMS NCV, 30-day guarantee
NJTY T3 (B0DM67L7N4) AC and DC voltage, range not stated 4000 counts, color display NCV, Type-C rechargeable
QCL-TECH QF-954 (B0GSHWJ5JC) DC 200 mV to 250 volts, AC 200 and 250 volts 3-1/2 digit LCD Fuse protection, 5 amp current range

How we chose these six

We kept a handheld multimeter whose listing states a voltage range or safety rating in its specs or bullets, and a count or True RMS figure. The listing data for all six was checked on 11 October 2026. Nothing in this guide reports personal use of any meter.

  • Left out: the AstroAI clamp meter, which is a clamp rather than a handheld multimeter, and the Innova 3340, which is an automotive meter. The Lscsdf, ANENG and Neoteck VC746A listings give no voltage range in their specs or bullets. The Hioki 3244-60 is a card-format tester whose listing centers on resistance.
  • Conflicts: where a listing gives two figures that do not agree, we show both.

1. Fluke 87V Industrial Digital Multimeter

The title states a True RMS industrial multimeter that measures up to 1000 volts AC and DC, with peak min and max, and a low-pass filter. The bullets state that switchable resolution gives 6000 to 20,000 counts, and that peak capture catches intermittent readings as fast as 250 microseconds (checked 2026-10-11).

The bullets say the low-pass filter gives accurate frequency measurement on adjustable speed drives. The listing includes TL75 test leads, AC175 alligator clips and an 80BK temperature probe. It gives a weight of 1.3 pounds, a size of 9.49 by 6.5 by 3.5 inches and a 10-year warranty, and a maximum operating altitude of 2000 meters.

Check the Fluke 87V on Amazon

2. UNI-T UT161E Digital Multimeter

The title states a 22,000-count display, and the bullets describe a True RMS meter with ACV and DCV, hFE, a low-pass filter and USB data transmission. The specs give CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V ratings, which the listing states as certified (checked 2026-10-11).

The bullets describe resistance up to 220 megohms, capacitance up to 220 millifarads and frequency up to 220 megahertz. They also describe an audible and visible alarm for high voltage. The listing gives a weight of 1.5 pounds and includes test leads, a USB cable and a screwdriver. Its specs list Bluetooth compatibility with smartphones and computers.

Check the UNI-T UT161E on Amazon

3. TESMEN TSM-599 Smart Digital Multimeter

The title states a TRMS multimeter with 6000 counts, and it lists DC and AC voltage and current, resistance, continuity, diode, capacitance, Hz and duty cycle, temperature, NCV and live wire detection. The bullets describe a 10 A, 250 V fuse and an automatic shutdown after 15 minutes of inactivity (checked 2026-10-11).

The bullets describe a larger color LCD screen and a manual and automatic mode. The specs list CSA and ETL marks. The package list includes test leads, a thermocouple, a storage bag and batteries. The listing does not state the voltage range in its specs or bullets.

Check the TESMEN TSM-599 on Amazon

4. DEASOMIYE T21D Auto-Ranging Digital Multimeter

The title states a TRMS multimeter with 6000 counts, and the style field states up to 600 volts and 10 amps. The bullets state auto-ranging, non-contact voltage testing, and an overvoltage category III 600 V rating under its safety standard (checked 2026-10-11).

The bullets describe a backlit LCD, a support stand and a non-slip orange shell. The package includes a thermocouple, two safety tubes and three AAA batteries. The listing gives a weight of 300 g and a size of 2.68 by 5.51 by 1.69 inches. The bullets give a 30-day manufacturer guarantee and lifetime customer support.

Check the DEASOMIYE T21D on Amazon

5. NJTY T3 Auto-Ranging Digital Multimeter

The title states a rechargeable auto-ranging multimeter. The bullets state a 4000-count display, non-contact voltage detection, and a 3.2-inch color LCD. The highlight states smart auto-ranging for AC and DC voltage, resistance and continuity, with NCV live wire detection (checked 2026-10-11).

The bullets describe Type-C charging through a built-in rechargeable battery. The specs list UL 61010-1 and IEC 61010-2-030, and a 2-year warranty. The listing gives a size of 6 by 3.4 by 1.5 inches, and it does not give a voltage range in the specs.

Check the NJTY T3 on Amazon

6. QCL-TECH QF-954 7 Function Digital Multimeter

The title states seven functions for AC and DC voltage, DC current, continuity, resistance, transistor and battery tests. The specs give DC voltage ranges of 200 mV, 2000 mV, 20 volts, 200 volts and 250 volts, and AC voltage ranges of 200 and 250 volts, over a frequency range of 45 to 450 Hz (checked 2026-10-11).

The specs give DC current ranges of 200 microamps, 2000 microamps, 20 mA, 200 mA and 5 amps. The bullets describe a fuse-protected circuit, a low-battery indicator and an over-range indicator. The specs give a 9V battery and a weight of 145 g. The listing states DC voltage accuracy of 0.5 percent plus or minus 1 digit at 200 mV, and 1 percent plus or minus 2 digits from 2000 mV to 250 volts.

Check the QCL-TECH QF-954 on Amazon

Worked example: which range reads a 12.6-volt battery?

Take a 12.6-volt car battery at rest. On the QCL-TECH’s listed 20-volt DC range, 12.6 volts uses 63 percent of the scale, which leaves a readable figure with room to spare. On its 200-volt range, the same reading uses 6.3 percent of the scale, so the display shows a smaller share of the range. On the Fluke 87V, the 1000-volt range would show 12.6 volts at about 1.3 percent of full scale. Choose the lowest listed range that is above the voltage you expect, and the reading will be easier to read.

What the listings do not say

None of the six listings gives an independent figure for how its readings compare with a reference meter. The TESMEN, NJTY and UNI-T listings give counts or True RMS figures without a full voltage range in their specs. The UNI-T and DEASOMIYE listings state safety categories, which are not measuring ranges. The Fluke 87V listing gives a maximum altitude, but does not give an accuracy figure in the text we have.

Frequently asked questions

Which of these meters reads up to 1000 volts?

The Fluke 87V listing states it measures up to 1000 volts AC and DC. The UNI-T UT161E listing states CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V ratings, which are safety categories, not a measuring range.

Which meter has the finest low-voltage range?

The QCL-TECH QF-954 lists a 200 mV DC range, with a 2000 mV range above it, before its 20-volt range. The other listings in this group do not state a DC range that low in the text we have.

Do these multimeters need batteries?

Yes. The QCL-TECH listing states a 9V battery. The DEASOMIYE listing includes three AAA batteries. The NJTY listing charges through a Type-C port, and the TESMEN listing includes batteries in the package.

Can these meters measure current?

The QCL-TECH listing gives DC current ranges up to 5 amps, and the DEASOMIYE style field gives up to 10 amps. The Fluke, UNI-T and NJTY listings do not give a current range in the text we have, and the TESMEN listing mentions only a 10 A fuse, so check the manual before you measure current.

Conclusion

For a wide voltage range, the Fluke 87V lists up to 1000 volts AC and DC. For True RMS with a high count, the UNI-T UT161E and the TESMEN TSM-599 are the listings to compare. For a battery-level DC check, the QCL-TECH QF-954 lists the finest low-voltage ranges. The Agilent model named in this keyword is not in the listings, so compare the stated ranges rather than the model code.

For more on multimeters, see best hand held digital multimeter, best multimeter, and best auto ranging digital multimeter.

Fluke 87V on Amazon · UNI-T UT161E on Amazon · TESMEN TSM-599 on Amazon · DEASOMIYE T21D on Amazon · NJTY T3 on Amazon · QCL-TECH QF-954 on Amazon

Similar Posts