Generic 600-amp AC clamp meters arranged for comparison on an electrician's workbench.

Best 600A AC Clamp Meter Buying Guide

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

A 600A AC clamp meter is judged first on whether its 600A range covers the highest load you expect. Next, confirm that the jaw opening fits the cable you plan to clamp. The Ayitam PM2018A lists 0 to 600A AC with a 24 mm jaw, which suits a pure AC job. If you also need DC current, the Ideal 61-757 and the FNIRSI DMC-100 both list 600A AC and DC. Compare the voltage ratings each listing states against your circuit, and remember that clamp work near live conductors is dangerous. Panel and service work belongs to a licensed electrician, so stop and get help whenever a rating or fit is unclear.

Quick answer

For a 600A AC clamp meter, the number that decides the purchase is whether the 600A range covers your highest expected load, and whether the jaw closes around the cable you plan to clamp. If you only need AC current, the Ayitam PM2018A lists 0 to 600A AC with a 24 mm jaw. If you also need DC current, look at the Ideal 61-757 or the FNIRSI DMC-100, both of which list 600A AC and DC.

Work on mains circuits can kill. Match the category rating to the circuit and leave panel work to a licensed electrician.

What decides a 600A clamp meter

  • Current range and type. Check whether the listing says AC only or AC and DC. The Ayitam lists AC current only and states it is not for DC current. The Ideal and FNIRSI list AC and DC current to 600A.
  • Jaw size. Only one wire can sit in the jaw at a time. The Ayitam lists a 24 mm (0.94 inch) jaw and the Neoteck lists a 25 mm jaw. The Westinghouse, Ideal and FNIRSI listings do not give a jaw size, so check the product page or the manual before you assume a large cable will fit.
  • Category rating. The Ayitam, Neoteck and Westinghouse list CAT III 600V. The Ideal lists CAT IV 600V and CAT III 1000V. The FNIRSI listing does not state a CAT rating.
  • Single conductor only. The Neoteck listing warns that clamping both live and neutral wires makes their currents cancel to a near-zero reading, and that the wire should be centered in the jaw. That applies to every clamp meter.
  • Voltage is measured with the leads. The FNIRSI and AstroAI listings both note that the clamp jaws measure current only.

Who should buy which type

  • Home or shop use, AC current only: the Ayitam PM2018A or the Neoteck 4000-count meter.
  • Solar, EV or automotive work with DC current: a model that lists AC/DC current, such as the FNIRSI DMC-100 or the Ideal 61-757.
  • Working inside a panel with poor visibility: the Ideal 61-757, whose listing describes a TightSight display that lets you read the bottom display without bending conductors.
  • A higher voltage range as well as current: the Westinghouse lists 1000V AC/DC voltage and a 600A current range.
  • Loads that stay under 400A: you may not need a 600A meter. The Klein Tools CL120 lists 400A AC auto-ranging, and the AstroAI clamp meter lists AC current ranges up to 400A.

Five 600A clamp meters compared

Ayitam PM2018A: AC-only with a 24 mm jaw

The Ayitam PM2018A lists 2000 counts, AC current of 0 to 600A (accuracy of 3.0% of reading plus 15 digits), AC voltage to 600V, DC voltage to 600V, resistance to 20 MOhm, NCV sensing for AC voltage above 90V, diode and continuity tests, a backlight and auto-ranging. The jaw measures AC current in a conductor up to 24 mm. Safety is listed as double insulation CAT III 600V under IEC 61010-1 and IEC 61010-2-032. It is listed at 7.95 x 2.52 x 1.34 inches with a net weight of 174 g. The package includes the clamp meter, 2 probe pens, 2 AAA batteries, a manual and a soft case.

Limitation: the listing says it is not for DC current. At 2000 counts it has a lower display resolution than the 4000 and 6000-count meters below.

Neoteck 4000-count clamp meter: True RMS with a low-current mode

The Neoteck clamp meter lists 4000 counts, True RMS and auto-ranging, 600A AC current, 600V AC/DC voltage with a stated voltage accuracy of 1.0%, resistance, diode and continuity. It adds a 1A low-current mode, NCV detection for 90 to 1000V AC with audible and visual alarms, a 25 mm clamp jaw and a thermocouple temperature range of -40 to 1000 degrees C. The rating is CAT III 600V. It weighs 195 g and includes a backlit LCD, a flashlight and a soft storage pouch.

Limitation: the listing says voltage and current readings are single-wire only, and that the ambient temperature for current measurement should be 0 to 40 degrees C. It does not list DC current as a clamp function in its description.

Westinghouse 600A True RMS clamp: 1000V and inrush capture

The Westinghouse WPMDCM600A10 lists an auto-ranging True RMS design with a 6000-count backlit LCD, 600A current, 1000V AC/DC voltage, non-contact voltage detection, continuity, frequency, temperature, diode, resistance, capacitance, VFD testing, inrush current capture, min/max and relative mode. It lists CAT III 600V and standards including UL 61010-1 and CSA C22.2. It has a 6.5-foot (2 m) drop rating and a 2-year warranty. The weight is 10.24 ounces and the size is 9.4 x 3 x 1.5 inches.

Limitation: the listing text does not give a jaw size, so confirm that on the product page. Its 1000V voltage range sits beside a CAT III 600V safety rating, so do not read the voltage range as the category rating.

Ideal 61-757: AC/DC to 600A with a TightSight display

The Ideal 61-757 lists a True RMS design measuring 0 to 600A AC/DC and 0 to 1000V AC/DC, with a rating of CAT IV 600V and CAT III 1000V. The patented TightSight display lets you read the bottom display without bending conductors or putting your head near the panel, and there is a built-in flashlight and dual backlit displays. It also lists frequency, resistance, continuity, capacitance, diodes, temperature and low-impedance AC voltage (Lo Z) to reduce false readings from ghost voltages. It has a 6.6-foot (2 m) drop rating and a 2-year limited warranty. The package lists a soft case, test leads, batteries and a K-type thermocouple.

Limitation: it is the only meter in this group listing a CAT IV rating, and the listing does not give a jaw size or a clear weight. Check both on the product page before you order.

FNIRSI DMC-100: AC/DC to 600A with graph recording

The FNIRSI DMC-100 lists 9999 counts TRMS, AC and DC current up to 600A, voltage, resistance, capacitance, frequency, temperature, NCV, live wire testing, continuity and diode checks. It has a 2-inch TFT display, graph recording that stores 8 sets of real-time data and 30 sets of history, and a built-in 1500mAh lithium battery charged by Type-C. It weighs 6.72 ounces and measures 7.7 x 2.91 x 1.14 inches. It lists UL 61010-1, CE and RoHS. The package lists the clamp meter, 2 multimeter pens, a temperature probe and a Type-C cable.

Limitation: the listing does not state a CAT rating or a jaw size, and it notes that voltage must be measured with the test leads because the jaws are for current only.

A fit check before you buy

  1. Write down the highest current you expect and confirm it is inside the 600A range of the model you want. Accuracy is listed separately. For example, the Ayitam lists AC current accuracy of 3.0% of reading plus 15 digits.
  2. Confirm whether the current must be AC only or AC and DC.
  3. Check the jaw size against the single cable you will clamp, using the manual or the product page when the listing does not give it.
  4. Check that the category rating matches the circuit. Where the listing does not give a rating, the safe assumption is that you do not know it.
  5. Note what is in the box. The Ayitam, Ideal and FNIRSI listings each give a list of included accessories.

For a wider comparison of AC and DC models, see our AC/DC current clamp meter guide, and for the True RMS question see True RMS digital clamp meters.

Frequently asked questions

Which specification should I check first?

The current range, then the jaw size. A 600A range does not help if the jaw will not close around your cable.

Does a bigger number always make a better pick?

No. A 600A meter is only useful if your loads need the range. The AstroAI 400A listing also says to clamp one wire, not the whole cord, and the Neoteck lists a 1A low-current mode for small loads.

Can a clamp meter measure DC current?

Only some. The Ideal 61-757 and FNIRSI DMC-100 list DC current to 600A. The Ayitam says it is not for DC current, and the AstroAI 400A clamp says it cannot test DC current either.

What if the jaw size is not listed?

Check the manual or ask the seller before you buy. The Westinghouse, Ideal and FNIRSI listings do not state it. Our amp clamp guide covers more models.

Bottom line

Pick the Ayitam PM2018A or the Neoteck for AC-only current work, the FNIRSI DMC-100 or Ideal 61-757 if you need AC and DC current to 600A, and the Westinghouse if you want a wide voltage range alongside a 600A scale. Confirm the jaw size and the category rating on the product page before you order.

Similar Posts