Temperature Clamp Meters: 3 Picks Compared
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
A temperature clamp meter combines a clamp-on current reading with a temperature input, usually a K-type thermocouple probe. The UEi name in the keyword is a brand, and only two of the listings in this set are from UEi. The product set therefore covers temperature clamp meters by type, and it names the three meters whose listings state a temperature function. Figures below come from the listing text, with the check dates shown. Where a listing is silent on temperature range or accuracy, this guide says so instead of filling the gap.
Quick answer
If you want a meter whose listing states a temperature function and a K-type probe in the box, the UEi DL379B lists both, along with a magnetic mount and CAT III 600 V rating. The UEi EPC includes a K-type thermocouple but gives no temperature range in its bullets. The Fieldpiece SC260 lists a temperature function in its title and bullets, but its specification fields contain a conflict that you should check before buying.
The three picks at a glance
| Meter (ASIN) | Temperature input (as listed) | Listed safety rating | Notable listed feature |
|---|---|---|---|
| UEi DL379B (B00ZWVXT8W) | K-type temperature probe in the kit; upper rating 752 °F | CAT IV 300 V and CAT III 600 V | Magnetic mount, backlit dual display, work light |
| UEi EPC (B0GNHBMGT2) | K-type thermocouple in the kit; no range stated | Cat IV 600 V and Cat III 1000 V | Dual screen, padded case, replaces the DL579 |
| Fieldpiece SC260 (B00KLYJG78) | Temperature listed in the title and bullets; no range stated | No CAT rating in the text reviewed | Swivel magnet, NCV, backlight |
How these three were chosen
We kept clamp meters whose listing title or bullets name a temperature function. The research set held 12 listings. Of those, the Klein CL120 has no temperature function in its bullets, and the FNIRSI DMC-100 title names only amp and count figures. The product files added two UEi meters and a K-type clamp probe. The probe is an accessory rather than a meter, so it is left out of this comparison. The UEi listings are dated 18 October 2026, and the research listings were checked on 11 October 2026.
1. UEi DL379B Digital Clamp Meter
The listing states that the DL379B is an industrial-grade, auto-ranging clamp meter that measures AC amps, AC and DC volts, AC microamps (2000 µA), capacitance (2000 µF), frequency, duty cycle, continuity, resistance and diodes. It includes non-contact voltage to find live lines. The bullets give a CAT IV 300 V and CAT III 600 V safety rating, input jack locks, a backlit dual display, a magnetic mount, a work light and test lead storage. The kit includes test leads, a K-type temperature probe, two AAA batteries and a zippered pouch. The specification field gives an upper temperature rating of 752 °F. The listing says the meter has a three-year limited warranty redeemable in the US.
Check the UEi DL379B on Amazon
2. UEi EPC Everyday Professional Clamp Meter
The listing gives the EPC as the newer black commemorative edition with a dual screen display, and it states that the model replaces the earlier DL579. Its specification field lists CAT IV 600 V and CAT III 1000 V. The bullets say each EPC includes silicone test leads, threaded alligator clips, threaded back probes, a K-type thermocouple and a larger padded case that allows the test leads to stay plugged in during storage. The listing does not state a temperature range, a temperature accuracy or the amp range of the clamp. The specification field also lists compatible devices as smartphones and tablets running iOS or Android, but the bullets do not describe an app or a connection method, so that field is unexplained.
3. Fieldpiece SC260 Compact HVACR Clamp Multimeter
The listing states that the SC260 is a compact clamp meter for electrical HVACR service in hot and cold environments. Its title and bullets name True RMS readings, temperature, capacitance and a backlight. The bullets also list non-contact voltage (NCV) and amperage readings, a continuity warning, a diode test and an auto-select mode that detects capacitance or resistance without a dial change. The swivel magnet allows hands-free use. The listing gives the item dimensions as 3.5 by 3 by 9.1 inches. Two fields conflict. The style field reads “Voltage Tester” while the measurement type field reads “Multimeter”, and the weight field reads 0.27 g, which the listing does not explain. The listing does not give a temperature range, so check the manual before using it on a high-temperature surface.
Check the Fieldpiece SC260 on Amazon
Worked example: a 277 V lighting circuit and a 480 V motor
Take a 277 V lighting circuit reading as the first case. The DL379B listing states CAT III 600 V, and the EPC listing states Cat III 1000 V. Both figures are above 277 V, so the listed ratings do not rule out either meter for that reading. The SC260 listing gives no CAT rating in the text reviewed, so the same comparison cannot be made for it.
Now take a 480 V motor feeder. The DL379B’s CAT III figure of 600 V still covers 480 V, while its CAT IV figure is 300 V. The EPC’s Cat III 1000 V figure covers 480 V with more margin, and its Cat IV figure is 600 V. The listing gives no reason for the difference between the two meters’ CAT figures, so read the rating against the location of the measurement before choosing.
For temperature, the DL379B listing gives an upper rating of 752 °F, which is about 400 °C. A reading near that limit would need a check against the probe’s own rating in the manual. The EPC listing states no temperature limit at all.
What the listings do not say
Side by side, the DL379B lists 300 V for CAT IV and 600 V for CAT III, while the EPC lists 600 V for Cat IV and 1000 V for Cat III. The SC260 listing gives its dimensions as 3.5 inches by 3 inches by 9.1 inches, but its weight field reads 0.27 g, a figure the listing does not explain.
None of the three listings gives a temperature accuracy figure. The DL379B and EPC listings both include a K-type probe, but neither states a probe range. The Fieldpiece listing states a temperature function but no range, and its style and measurement type fields do not match. The EPC compatible-device field names smartphones and tablets, while the bullets describe no app. The listings also do not say whether any of the three meters is rated for wet or dusty work, since none states an IP code.
Frequently asked questions
Does the UEi DL379B come with a temperature probe?
Yes. The DL379B listing states that the kit includes test leads, a K-type temperature probe, two AAA batteries and a zippered pouch.
Which of the three meters lists the highest voltage rating?
The EPC listing states Cat III 1000 V, which is higher than the DL379B’s CAT III 600 V. The EPC’s Cat IV figure is 600 V, compared with 300 V for the DL379B. The Fieldpiece listing gives no CAT figure in the text reviewed.
Can I measure temperature with the Fieldpiece SC260?
The listing states that the SC260 includes a temperature function in its title and bullets. It does not state a temperature range or probe type, so check the manual before use.
Why do the two UEi listings differ?
The EPC listing describes a newer black commemorative edition that replaces the DL579, and it lists a dual screen display. The DL379B listing describes a backlit dual display and a magnetic mount. The two listings give different CAT ratings, and the DL379B has a listed upper temperature figure that the EPC does not.
Conclusion
For a temperature clamp meter with a stated probe and a stated temperature figure, the UEi DL379B has the clearest listing data. The EPC is a strong option if its higher CAT figures matter more to you, but its listing gives no temperature range. The Fieldpiece SC260 has a temperature function in its listing, but the conflicting style and weight fields and the missing range mean it needs a manual check. Confirm the probe, range and CAT rating on the live listing before you buy.
For related reading, see best clamp tester Fluke, best true RMS digital clamp meter, best AC DC current clamp meter and best handheld clamp.