Generic voltmeter options for everyday home electrical troubleshooting.

Best Voltmeter for Home

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Six multimeters in this group list AC or DC voltage measurement in their listings, and this page compares them from that listing data only. Listing figures were checked on 11 October 2026 and are shown as each seller states them. Four of the six give a top voltage range of 600 V, and two give no range at all, so check the figure against the outlet you plan to measure before you buy.

Quick answer: for a 120 V or 240 V home outlet, start with a meter whose listing gives a top range of 600 V and a stated CAT rating. Two listings state a CAT rating: AstroAI (CAT II 600 V) and TESMEN (CAT II 600V). The other four do not state one, so their listings do not confirm mains safety.

The six picks at a glance

Meter Listed AC voltage Other listed figures Safety rating (as listed) Best fit (seller’s wording)
AstroAI AM33D (B01ISAMUA6) 200 V and 600 V, ±(0.8%+5) 2000 counts; DC current to 10 A CAT II 600 V, CAT III 300 V Household outlets, fuses, batteries
ANENG SZ301 (B0BYD32JZV) 200 mV to 600 V, ±(2.0%+10) 2000 counts; AC and DC current to 10 A None stated General electronics and hobby use
TESMEN TM-510 (B0BLZ7GN2X) 0.8 V to 600 V, ±(1.2%+5) 4000 counts; non-contact alarm; no current CAT II 600 V, CE, RoHS Daily use by homeowners
LJPXHHU XL830L (B0CXM242J1) Not stated 2000 counts; 2.7 inch backlit LCD “Safety Standards Met” only Car repair, home, schools
SNAKOL SK216 pen (B0D69TGPHS) 2 V to 600 V (AC and DC) Non-contact mode; backlit LCD; 4 kΩ to 40 MΩ None stated Pen for quick checks
Lscsdf FS899L (B0FR9BY1K3) Not stated 6000 counts; 4.8 inch colour screen; rechargeable None stated Automotive and home

How we chose these six

We kept listings that name a multimeter or pen meter and state AC or DC voltage measurement. Every figure on this page comes from the listing, not from use of the meter, and every product is sold on Amazon.

  • Voltage function: the listing names AC or DC voltage as a measurement function.
  • Use case: the listing describes household, daily or general electrical use, or it names no vehicle-only use.
  • Left out: three car test lights (WINAMOO, JASTIND and ATOBLIN), whose listings aim them at vehicle circuits and give DC ranges of 3 V to 48 V (WINAMOO and JASTIND) and 1 V to 72 V (ATOBLIN); two USB-C power meters (YOJOCK and YEREADW), which measure charging ports; and one 24-piece lead set (Young Dance).

1. AstroAI AM33D Digital Multimeter

The listing gives an AC voltage range of 200 V and 600 V, with accuracy of ±(0.8%+5). Its DC voltage ranges are 200 mV, 2 V, 20 V, 200 V and 600 V, with ±(0.5%+3) accuracy. The display is 2000 counts and the meter runs on two AAA batteries. The spec table gives its weight as 0.15 kg, about 150 g.

The listing contradicts itself on two figures, and we do not pick one. The spec table gives a sample speed of 3 times per second, while a bullet gives 2 times per second. The spec table gives 2000 counts, while another bullet gives 1999 counts. The listing’s safety rating is CAT II 600 V and CAT III 300 V, at pollution level 2. The spec table also gives item dimensions of 1.77 x 5.47 x 42.52 inches, which does not fit a handheld meter, so read that line as a listing error.

The bullets say the meter cannot test all AC current or AC voltage below 100 mV, and that the test leads must be fully inserted. Check the AstroAI AM33D on Amazon.

2. ANENG SZ301 Digital Multimeter

The listing states an AC voltage range of 200 mV to 600 V, with a resolution of 100 mV to 1 V and accuracy of ±(2.0%+10). Its DC voltage range is 200 mV to 600 V, with ±(1%+5) accuracy. AC and DC current are each listed from 2 mA to 10 A. The maximum count is 2000, capacitance runs from 0 nF to 2 mF, and the meter weighs 155 g.

The listed features are NCV sensing, live detection, auto shut-down, data retention, a reverse display and smart anti-burn fuses. The bullets say it takes two AA batteries, while the spec table lists 1.5 V AA cells. The listing includes a silicone case and two cable leads. It gives no CAT rating. The seller says the meter can check the voltage needs of most dehumidifiers, which is a seller claim with no source given. Check the ANENG SZ301 on Amazon.

3. TESMEN TM-510 Smart Digital Multimeter

The listing gives 4000 counts, AC and DC voltage from 0.8 V to 600 V, and a frequency response of 40 Hz to 1 kHz True RMS. Accuracy is ±(1.2%+5) for AC and ±(1.0%+5) for DC. The meter has auto-ranging, a non-contact voltage alarm, data hold and a flashlight. The spec table states CAT II 600 V, CE, UKCA and RoHS, and gives a weight of 0.1 kg, about 100 g.

The listing says the meter cannot measure current. Its resistance line reads “> Approx. 50 Ω” and its continuity line reads “< Approx. 50 Ω”. The two lines give the same threshold with opposite signs, and the listing does not say which one the buzzer uses, so check the manual before you rely on the continuity threshold.

The package holds two test leads, a storage bag, two AAA batteries and a user manual. The seller says the meter suits daily use by amateurs, car owners and homeowners, which is a seller claim. Check the TESMEN TM-510 on Amazon.

4. LJPXHHU XL830L Digital Multimeter

The title gives 2000 counts and lists AC and DC voltage, DC current, resistance, continuity, diode and battery checks. The listing does not state an AC voltage range or an accuracy figure for voltage. The display is a 2.7 inch backlit LCD with data hold.

The bullets describe overload protection on all ranges, an audible continuity sensor, double insulation, a fold-out stand and a rubber cover that the listing says gives drop protection. No drop rating is given. The package includes a 9 V battery, test leads and a user manual, and the seller states a two-year guarantee. The meter weighs 166 g and measures 5.51 x 2.56 x 1.18 inches. The spec table lists only “Safety Standards Met” and gives no CAT rating. Check the LJPXHHU XL830L on Amazon.

5. SNAKOL SK216 Pen Multimeter

The SK216 is a pen-style meter. The listing gives AC and DC voltage from 2 V to 600 V, resistance from 4 kΩ to 40 MΩ, and a continuity buzzer that sounds below 50 Ω. A non-contact mode shows an analog bar and beeps of different rhythms as the field strengthens. The LCD is backlit and has a low-battery indicator. The listed size is 7.28 x 1 x 1.2 inches. No weight or CAT rating is given.

The kit is one pen, one probe, a user manual and two 1.5 V AAA batteries. The listing gives no accuracy figure for voltage, so read it as a quick-check tool rather than a precision meter. Check the SNAKOL SK216 on Amazon.

6. Lscsdf FS899L Digital Multimeter

The listing gives a 6000-count display on a 4.8 inch colour screen. It lists AC and DC voltage and current, capacitance, resistance, non-contact voltage, diode and continuity, and says the screen can show real-time temperature. A built-in 200 mA rechargeable battery charges from the included micro USB cable. The meter has a backlight and a flashlight, and measures 5.98 x 2.87 x 0.79 inches.

The listing does not state an AC voltage range, an accuracy figure or a CAT rating. Those are the three figures a home voltage check depends on, so this is the pick with the least listed detail. Check the Lscsdf FS899L on Amazon.

Worked example: how much does accuracy move a 120 V reading?

Take a 120 V outlet read on a 200 V AC range. The ANENG listing gives ±(2.0%+10) with a resolution of 100 mV on that range, which is 0.1 V per count. Two per cent of 120 V is 2.4 V, and 10 counts at 0.1 V each is 1.0 V. The total tolerance is ±3.4 V, so a reading of 120 V could sit anywhere from 116.6 V to 123.4 V, a band 6.8 V wide.

The AstroAI listing gives ±(0.8%+5) on a 2000-count display, but it does not state the AC resolution. Working from the listed count, one count on the 200 V range is 0.1 V. That step is arithmetic on the listing figures, not a stated value. Then 0.8% of 120 V is 0.96 V, and 5 counts is 0.5 V, giving ±1.46 V, or about 118.5 V to 121.5 V. On these figures the AstroAI band is about 2.9 V wide.

For a 240 V circuit such as a dryer outlet, a 600 V top range leaves 360 V of headroom, so the reading sits at 40% of the range. Check the listed range before you connect the leads, and do not use a range the listing does not state.

What the listings do not say

None of the listings gives an independent lab figure for accuracy. The accuracy numbers above are the sellers’ stated figures.

  • Safety ratings: only AstroAI and TESMEN state a CAT rating. ANENG, LJPXHHU, SNAKOL and Lscsdf do not.
  • AC range: LJPXHHU and Lscsdf give no AC voltage range.
  • Conflicting figures: AstroAI’s sample speed (3 per second in the spec table, 2 per second in a bullet) and its count (2000 in the spec table, 1999 in a bullet) do not agree. TESMEN’s resistance and continuity lines give the same threshold with opposite signs. Both are shown as written.
  • Durability: no listing gives a battery run time, a drop rating or a water rating.
  • Seller claims: the dehumidifier check, the homeowner use and the real-time temperature display come from the bullets and are reported as seller claims.

Frequently asked questions

Can these meters read a 120 V home outlet?

Four of the six listings state a top voltage range of 600 V, which covers a 120 V outlet. LJPXHHU and Lscsdf do not give a range, so check their manuals before you use them on mains.

Which listings state a CAT rating?

Only two listings state one: AstroAI (CAT II 600 V and CAT III 300 V) and TESMEN (CAT II 600 V). The other four do not give a CAT rating, so their listings do not confirm mains safety.

Which one suits a beginner?

The listings do not rank them by skill. The TESMEN listing describes auto-ranging, so you do not set the range by hand, and the SNAKOL pen is listed as a pocket tool for quick checks.

Can these meters measure current at home?

Some can. The ANENG listing states AC and DC current from 2 mA to 10 A. The AstroAI listing states DC current up to 10 A, and a bullet says it cannot test all AC current or AC voltage below 100 mV. The TESMEN listing says it cannot measure current at all.

Do the listings give battery life or a drop rating?

No. The listings name the battery type and count, but none gives a run time or a drop rating. The LJPXHHU listing mentions drop protection from its rubber cover, with no figure.

Conclusion

For a 120 V or 240 V outlet, check the AC range first. AstroAI and TESMEN are the two listings with a stated CAT rating, so compare those first. The SNAKOL pen suits quick checks, and the Lscsdf has the most counts but gives no AC range. Check the figure against your outlet before you connect the leads.

For more on voltage checks, see how do voltage testers work, best AC voltage tester, and best wall socket tester. For a meter that picks its own range, see best auto-ranging digital multimeter.

AstroAI AM33D on Amazon · ANENG SZ301 on Amazon · TESMEN TM-510 on Amazon · LJPXHHU XL830L on Amazon · SNAKOL SK216 on Amazon · Lscsdf FS899L on Amazon

Similar Posts