Black Friday Multimeter Checklist: Specs to Check First
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A Black Friday multimeter buying checklist should start with the safety rating, not the largest number in the listing title. Black Friday in 2026 falls on Friday, November 27, the day after U.S. Thanksgiving. Use the two weeks before it to run these checks, while you still have time to compare listings without a deadline. This guide covers the specs that matter for a meter used on household outlets, car batteries and small electronics: the category rating, true RMS wording, auto-ranging, probes and fuses, battery type and ingress protection. It explains what each one means, what to look for on a listing, and what listings often leave out.
Quick answer
- Match the category rating (CAT II, III or IV) to the highest category you will measure in, and check that the voltage rating matches or exceeds it.
- Read the true RMS wording closely. Some listings say AC only, and some offer AC plus DC. Some say nothing at all.
- Confirm the listing states auto-ranging, and whether you can switch to manual ranging.
- Check the leads, fuse ratings, battery type and ingress rating. If a listing leaves one of these out, treat it as unknown until the manual answers it.
The rest of this guide takes these checks in order, then reads seven listings against the same checks. For a wider set of picks, see Best Multimeter for Home, Car and Beginners. This post is about the checks, so it does not rank products.
Timing: what the Black Friday window changes
The calendar does not change what a multimeter has to do. A meter that is unsuitable for a 600 V circuit stays unsuitable in late November, and a clear category rating stays clear. What the holiday window changes is your time. When a decision is rushed, a short written list keeps the order the same for every listing you open.
Three practical habits follow from that. First, read the full specification area of each listing, not only the title and the first bullets, because a title may carry a voltage figure while the category sits further down the page. Second, reread the listing on the day you buy, because listing details can change. Third, note the model number and each field you checked, so you can compare them with the manual or the label on the meter when it arrives.
Black Friday follows Thanksgiving, so the dates are known well in advance. Start in early November, finish your list of must-have specs before the holiday week, and keep the list for the whole season. A written list also makes it easier to skip a listing that answers none of its questions.
Start with the category rating
The category rating, written as CAT II, CAT III or CAT IV, describes the part of an electrical installation where the meter is designed to be used. The Fluke guide we opened describes CAT II as single-phase receptacle-connected loads, such as appliances, portable tools and other household loads, including outlets and long branch circuits. It describes CAT III as three-phase distribution, including feeders, short branch circuits and devices fed directly from a distribution panel. It describes CAT IV as the origin of an installation, at the utility connection, including outdoor conductors and the service entrance.
The same guide advises choosing a meter rated for the highest category you could possibly work in, with a voltage rating that matches or exceeds that situation. It also notes that the rating is usually printed near the input jacks, so the meter itself is a second place to confirm the rating once it arrives.
Category ratings are not the same thing as PPE hazard categories. The Fluke IEC page we opened says CAT ratings on test equipment have no relation to the PPE hazard risk categories listed in NFPA 70E. A CAT rating tells you whether a meter suits an environment. It does not tell you what protective clothing to wear.
If you are new to the meter itself, the step-by-step guide on how to use a voltage tester safely covers the handling basics that come before you compare ratings.
Voltage ratings are not category ratings
A headline range such as 600 V or 1000 V tells you what the meter can measure. The category rating tells you what kind of circuit the meter is rated for. Keep those two ideas apart when you read a listing, because a large voltage figure on the title is easy to mistake for a safety rating.
The Klein Tools MM720 listing shows the difference. Its title reads 1000 V AC/DC voltage, while the safety rating in our listing record is CAT IV 600 V. The 1000 V figure is the measurement range. The figure that answers the question of which environment the meter suits is the CAT IV 600 V entry. Fluke’s guide makes the same point in practical terms: the voltage rating you pick should match or exceed the situation, not the largest figure on the box.
Another listing in our listing records, sold under the DEASOMIYE brand, says in one bullet that it meets CAT II at 1000 V and CAT III at 600 V. That wording ties each voltage to a different category, which is not the same as a single meter rated CAT III at 1000 V. This guide does not recommend or reject that meter. The example shows why you should read the category and the voltage together.
Read the specification fields as well as the bullets. In one Fluke listing, the compliance field reads “(Unset)” while a bullet states the category, so the bullet is the only place the rating appears. When two places in a listing disagree, use the manual as the tiebreaker, and treat the disagreement as a reason to look at another listing.
Outlet work sits in the lower categories. The Fluke table lists outlets and long branch circuits under CAT II, and feeders and short branch circuits under CAT III. Check which of those your job matches before you pick the meter. For outlet-specific steps, read Test an Electrical Outlet With a Multimeter Safely before you connect anything.
True RMS: check the wording and the AC/DC mode
True RMS is the feature listing writers mention most often and explain least. The Fluke article we opened says most digital multimeters measure the AC-coupled true-RMS signal, which means any DC component is rejected. A few models offer an AC plus DC true-RMS option that includes the DC component. The article’s example is an unfiltered DC supply with AC ripple on it. There, an AC plus DC reading indicates more accurately how a resistive load, such as a heater or an incandescent lamp, is likely to respond.
For a shopper, the check is simple. Does the listing say true RMS? If it does, does it say AC only or AC plus DC? If the listing says nothing, treat the feature as unconfirmed. In the cards below, the AstroAI 6000 states true RMS for both AC current and AC voltage, the Klein MM420 bullets describe TRMS technology, and the Klein MM720 and Crenova titles say TRMS without naming an AC or AC plus DC mode. The AstroAI DM130B and the Fluke 17B+ records do not state true RMS at all. That absence is a fact about the listing, not a finding about the meter.
True RMS is not a general promise of better readings. The sources we opened do not establish that a true RMS meter is the better choice for every household task, so this guide does not make that claim. Decide based on the work in front of you. The True RMS Digital Clamp Meter: How to Choose guide covers the same wording in clamp meter listings if your work involves current measurement.
Auto-ranging and manual ranging
An auto-ranging meter chooses the measurement range for you, so you set fewer options by hand. The Fluke operating page we opened describes the range button as a way to switch to manual mode and cycle through the ranges, and says auto-ranging is restored when the button is pressed for two seconds. For a buyer, the point is that auto-ranging and manual override are two separate features. A listing can state one without the other.
Listings use different words for the same idea. The AstroAI 6000 specification lists range selection as auto or manual. The AstroAI DM130B specification also lists auto and manual range selection. The Crenova listing describes switchable manual and automatic range modes, and its title names auto-ranging. The Klein MM325 is titled as a manual-ranging meter, so it is the opposite choice. Whichever you pick, confirm which mode the meter starts in and how you return to automatic ranging if you switch to manual.
If you want a wider look at auto-ranging meters for household and car use, see Best Auto Ranging Digital Multimeter for Home and Auto.
Probes, leads and fuses
Probes are where a multimeter meets the circuit, so treat them as part of the rating. The Fluke guide says to inspect the meter, the test probes and the accessories for physical damage before each use, and never to use a damaged meter or damaged probes. It also says to verify the meter on a known voltage source or a proving unit, and describes that step as a requirement under NFPA 70E in the United States.
Jack placement is the other check. The Fluke dial and jacks page warns that the red lead must sit in the jack that matches the dial setting. If it does not, the page says the meter, the equipment and the technician are all at risk. Look for a lead-placement feature in the listing and confirm the jack labels in the manual. Two Klein listings in our records describe lead-alert LEDs that show proper lead placement, the MM420 and the MM325.
Lead ratings are often missing. The Klein MM420 bullets say its test leads include CAT III and CAT IV safety caps, which is a separate statement from the meter’s own CAT III 600 V rating. Several listings in our records name test leads without giving any rating for them. If the listing does not state a rating for the leads, treat the lead rating as unknown until the manufacturer or manual confirms it.
Fuse ratings are the other place where the listing and the manual should agree. In our records, the AstroAI 6000 lists F400mA/600V and F10A/600V fuses, the DM130B lists F500mA/600V and F10A/600V, and the Crenova lists two built-in fuses for overload protection without giving their ratings in the bullet. For any fuse replacement, the manual is the reference. The sources we opened for this post do not cover replacement procedures.
For more multimeter picks built around home and auto work, see Best Multi Meters for Home, Auto and Hobby Use.
Battery type and what the listing states
Battery type is a small spec with a practical effect. It decides what you need to keep on hand and whether a replacement is easy to find. The listings in our records state their batteries in different ways. The Fluke 87V record lists the power source as alkaline. The AstroAI 6000 includes one 9 V 6F22 battery. The AstroAI DM130B runs on three AAA cells rated at 1.5 V each. The Crenova includes two AAA batteries, and the Klein MM420 includes two AAA batteries. The Klein MM720 says batteries are included but does not name the type in our record. The Fluke 17B+ record says battery powered without naming a type.
Three checks follow. Confirm whether batteries come in the box and, if they do, which type. Check whether that type is one you already keep on hand, since a 9 V cell and AAA cells do not fit the same holder. Then look for a battery-life figure. Among the seven cards in this guide, only the Fluke 87V MAX title gives one, as up to 800 hours of battery capacity, and the record we read gives no battery chemistry for it.
If your battery checks also cover a car or a small cell, see Best Battery Voltage Tester for a separate set of battery-specific listings.
Ingress and drop ratings
An IP code describes how well a meter resists dust and water. The Fluke guide explains that the first digit covers solid objects and dust, and the second digit covers water. Its table lists 6 as dust tight and 7 as immersion up to 1 m for 30 minutes. The Fluke 87V MAX listing states IP67, which places it at those two levels. An IP rating is separate from the CAT rating, so a dust-tight, waterproof meter still needs the right category for the circuit.
Drop ratings appear in listings in different forms. The Fluke 87V MAX title says it withstands drops up to 13 feet, and a bullet gives a 4 m drop figure. The Klein MM420 bullets give a 6.6-foot (2 m) drop figure. These are manufacturer claims in the listing text, and this guide repeats them only as claims.
What a listing often leaves out
Across the records we read, a few omissions repeat. Use this list as a filter on any listing, including the ones in this guide.
- A category rating in a bullet but not in the specification fields. The Fluke 87V record is one example.
- True RMS named without an AC or AC plus DC mode. In the cards, the Klein MM720 and Crenova titles say TRMS and nothing more.
- No auto-ranging statement at all. The Fluke 17B+ record does not state it.
- No battery type. The Klein MM720 and the Fluke 17B+ records leave it out.
- No lead rating. Several records name test leads without a rating.
- No accuracy tables. Among the seven cards, only the two AstroAI listings give accuracy figures for each range.
- Vague compatibility language. One AstroAI listing describes the meter as fitting any device or circuit that can be safely checked with a multimeter. That sentence describes use. It is not a rating.
- Warranty text that points elsewhere. The Klein MM420 record says to call the vendor for warranty.
None of these omissions proves that a meter is unsuitable. They do mean the listing cannot answer the question, and that is the point at which you should check the manual or ask the seller.
Seven listings to check against this checklist
Each card below gives what the listing states, the work it suits, a case where it is the wrong choice, and one limitation. The records behind the cards were last checked between 2026-10-11 and 2026-10-17. The cards show the checklist at work. They are not a ranking, and the order does not indicate a preference. For a larger set of picks, see Best Digital Multimeter For Home Use.
Fluke 87V Industrial Digital Multimeter
- What the listing says: industrial true RMS multimeter; measures up to 1000 V AC and DC; bullets state CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V; switchable resolution from 6,000 to 20,000 counts; low-pass filter for frequency work on variable-speed drives; peak capture as fast as 250 µs; power source listed as alkaline; includes TL75 leads, AC175 alligator clips and an 80BK temperature probe; warranty listed as 10 years.
- Good for: industrial troubleshooting where you need a CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V rating in one meter.
- Skip if: your work is limited to household outlets and small batteries, where a 1000 V range adds little.
- Limitation: the compliance field reads “(Unset)”, so the category appears only in a bullet.
Fluke 87V MAX True-RMS Digital Multimeter
- What the listing says: true RMS; IP67 rating; CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V; up to 800 hours of battery capacity in the title; TL175 test leads; drop figures of up to 13 feet in the title and 4 m in a bullet; lifetime warranty in a bullet.
- Good for: outdoor or site work where dust and water exposure is likely.
- Skip if: you need the meter only for indoor household checks, where IP67 protection adds little.
- Limitation: the record gives battery capacity in hours and no battery chemistry.
Klein Tools MM720 Digital Multimeter
- What the listing says: auto-ranging TRMS; low impedance (LoZ) mode for ghost or stray voltages; 1000 V AC/DC and 10 A AC/DC; 60 megohm resistance; safety rating CAT IV 600 V; reverse-contrast LCD; test leads with an adapter; batteries included.
- Good for: wiring checks where ghost voltages can distort a reading and the LoZ mode is useful.
- Skip if: your work sits above CAT IV 600 V, since the listing states CAT IV 600 V.
- Limitation: the batteries are included, but the listing does not name the battery type.
Klein Tools MM420 Auto-Ranging TRMS Digital Multimeter
- What the listing says: auto-ranging and TRMS; 600 V AC/DC voltage; 10 A AC/DC current; 50 megohm resistance; CAT III 600 V safety rating; lead-alert LEDs; backlit display; test leads with CAT III and CAT IV safety caps; two AAA batteries; a 6.6-foot (2 m) drop figure; the listing names residential, business, HVAC and light-industrial locations.
- Good for: household, HVAC and light-industrial checks within 600 V, where lead-placement feedback matters.
- Skip if: you need a CAT IV rating or a measurement range above 600 V.
- Limitation: the record says “Call vendor for warranty”, so warranty terms are not on the listing.
AstroAI Digital Multimeter, True RMS 6000 Counts
- What the listing says: true RMS; auto or manual range selection; 6000 counts; EN 61010-1 CAT III 600 V and CAT II 1000 V; one 9 V 6F22 battery included; ceramic fuses listed as F400mA/600V and F10A/600V; test leads and a multi-function socket included; accuracy tables for the voltage and current functions.
- Good for: car and household troubleshooting where a battery in the box and auto-ranging both matter.
- Skip if: your work is in a CAT III or CAT IV environment at 1000 V, because the listing gives 1000 V only at CAT II.
- Limitation: the compatibility line describes the meter as fitting any device that can be safely checked with a multimeter. That is a description, not a rating.
AstroAI DM130B Multimeter, 4000 Counts
- What the listing says: 4000 counts; auto and manual range selection; EN 61010-1 CAT III 600 V; 1.5 V, 9 V and 12 V battery test modes; non-contact voltage (NCV) function; fuses listed as F500mA/600V and F10A/600V; powered by three AAA cells; accuracy tables; test leads and alligator clips included.
- Good for: home, garage and small battery checks, where the battery test modes are useful.
- Skip if: you need true RMS, because the listing does not state it.
- Limitation: the listing gives no drop figure and no ingress rating.
Crenova MS8233D TRMS Multimeter
- What the listing says: TRMS and auto-ranging in the title; 6000-count display; IEC 61010-1 CAT III 600 V; two built-in fuses for overload protection on all ranges; non-contact voltage with a sound and light alarm; sampling three times per second; two AAA batteries at 1.5 V each; carry bag, test leads and alligator clips included; one-year warranty.
- Good for: home electrical checks that want a TRMS meter with a built-in non-contact alarm in one small unit.
- Skip if: you need a CAT IV or 1000 V rating for commercial service work.
- Limitation: the bullets name probe test leads but give no rating for them.
Safety note: mains circuits, CAT ratings and licensed work
Work on mains circuits can kill. The OSHA electrical overview we opened describes electric shock, electrocution, fires and explosions as the hazards its electrical standards are designed to address. It also lists improper use of extension and flexible cords among the most frequent causes of electrical injuries. The University of Texas at Austin Environmental Health and Safety electrical page says many electrocutions, injuries and fires can be prevented by understanding basic electrical safety principles and following safe practices.
A meter’s CAT rating must suit the circuit you are measuring. The Fluke guide advises choosing a rating for the highest category you could encounter, and assuming every component in a circuit is energized until you have positively discharged it. It also says never to work alone on or near exposed, energized equipment, and to wear the correct personal protective equipment when working on or near exposed energized circuits above 50 V. Those are guidance points from the guide, and they do not replace your employer’s rules or local code.
Panel work, service work and any live-circuit work where you are not certain of what you are measuring belongs to a licensed electrician. That is this guide’s rule, and it holds even when the meter you buy carries a high CAT rating. A high rating tells you about the meter. It does not make you qualified for work inside a panel.
Before you measure voltage at an outlet, read Testing AC Voltage With a Multimeter: Safe Steps and the Fluke guide’s warnings above. The CAT rating describes the meter. The steps describe the work, and you need both.
How we chose
The criteria are plain. We read the multimeter-type listings in our listing files, 238 unique listings whose titles use multimeter-type wording, including some clamp meters that carry the word in the title. Listings without a stated safety rating were not used for the cards. We removed duplicates that appeared in more than one listing file, then read the full record of each card. The seven cards were chosen to show different ranging modes, battery types, rating styles and lead descriptions, so that each card demonstrates a different check.
The Fluke education pages in this post are cited for general concepts such as CAT categories, IP codes, true RMS and ranging. They are not used as a source for any product’s specifications. Product facts come only from the listing records. The cards are not a ranking, and the order of the cards does not indicate a preference.
What we could not verify
The listings state ratings and features. The sources we opened do not say how any specific model performs on a particular circuit, so this guide does not make that claim. Specifically:
- Whether the ratings on a listing match the label on the meter you receive. Check the label after delivery.
- Current listing details. Our records were last checked between 2026-10-11 and 2026-10-17, and listings can change before the holiday period.
- Battery life for six of the seven cards. Only the Fluke 87V MAX title states a figure.
- Lead ratings for most cards. Several listings name leads without a rating.
- Fuse replacement steps. The sources we opened do not cover them.
- Whether true RMS matters for your particular task. The sources we opened do not settle that question, so this guide does not settle it either.
- Seller return terms and warranty handling beyond what each listing says.
FAQ
Is the category rating more important than the voltage number?
For safety, the category rating is the first check. The Fluke guide advises choosing a meter rated for the highest category you may encounter, with a voltage rating that matches or exceeds that situation. The voltage number on a listing tells you the measurement range, not the environment the meter suits.
Do I need true RMS for household checks?
This guide cannot set a rule for every household task. The Fluke article we opened says most digital multimeters measure the AC-coupled true-RMS signal, and that some models add an AC plus DC option. If your job involves a DC supply with ripple, look for the AC plus DC option. For simple outlet checks, read what the listing states and decide from the task in front of you.
What does IP67 mean on a multimeter listing?
The first digit refers to protection against solid objects and dust, and the second digit refers to protection against water. The Fluke table lists 6 as dust tight and 7 as immersion up to 1 m for 30 minutes. Because the IP code and the CAT rating answer different questions, check both on the listing before you decide.
Are included test leads enough for a measurement?
Check whether the listing states a rating for the leads. Several listings in our records do not. If the listing gives no lead rating, treat it as unknown until the manufacturer or manual confirms it. Inspect the leads for physical damage before each use. The Fluke guide says never to use damaged test probes.
When should I stop and call a licensed electrician?
Stop for any panel or service work, and for any live-circuit work where you are not sure what you are measuring. If you cannot confirm the meter’s category for the circuit, the meter is not the right tool for that job. Work inside a panel belongs to a licensed electrician.
Bottom line
Match the category rating to the highest category your work can reach, then check true RMS wording, auto-ranging, leads, fuse ratings, battery type and IP rating, in that order. If the listing leaves a field out, treat that field as unknown until the manual answers it.
Sources
- OSHA, “Electrical – Overview”, https://www.osha.gov/electrical (opened 2026-10-20)
- University of Texas at Austin Environmental Health and Safety, “Electrical Safety”, https://ehs.utexas.edu/electrical-safety (opened 2026-10-20)
- Fluke, “Guide to Digital Multimeter Safety”, https://www.fluke.com/en-us/learn/blog/safety/multimeter-guide (opened 2026-10-20)
- Fluke, “IEC Category Ratings: Use the Right Tools for the Job”, https://www.fluke.com/en-us/learn/blog/safety/iec-category-ratings-use-the-right-tools-for-the-job (opened 2026-10-20)
- Fluke, “Facts About True-RMS Measurement”, https://www.fluke.com/en-us/learn/blog/digital-multimeters/facts-about-true-rms-measurement (opened 2026-10-20)
- Fluke, “Multimeter Dial, Button, Jacks, and Display”, https://www.fluke.com/en-us/learn/blog/digital-multimeters/multimeter-dial-button-jacks-display (opened 2026-10-20)
Affiliate disclosure: this page contains Amazon links, and we earn from qualifying purchases made through them.