Best Megohmmeter for Insulation Testing and HVAC

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

A megohmmeter helps you check insulation resistance in motors, cables, compressors, and appliances before a weak spot causes a fault. This guide compares digital megohmmeter models that apply a test voltage and report resistance in megohms or gigohms, so you can decide which range and test voltage fit your work. You will see a Fluke megohmmeter option, a Klein megohmmeter option, an M500 megohmmeter style for HVAC, and wider-range digital models.

Work on mains circuits can kill. The meter CAT rating must suit the circuit you plan to test, and panel or service work belongs to a licensed electrician. Specs below come from the product listings. Always follow the instrument manual and local electrical rules.

Quick answer

If you want a wide choice of test voltages plus multimeter functions, start with the Fluke 1507 megohmmeter with 50V, 100V, 250V, 500V, and 1000V test voltages and a remote test probe for hard-to-reach points. If you want one tool for insulation plus 1000V AC/DC voltage, resistance, and continuity with True RMS, look at the Klein model with 125V, 250V, 500V, and 1000V DC insulation tests up to 4000MΩ. For HVAC compressor checks, the Supco M500 megohmmeter style that measures to 1000 megohms at 500 volts is the common pattern, and several M500-type models follow it. For very high insulation readings, consider the 100GΩ or 200GΩ digital models. Do not use a meter on household mains unless the listing states a CAT rating and voltage rating that suit that work.

What matters when choosing a megohmmeter

1. Test voltage options

A megohmmeter applies a DC test voltage, then measures leakage to calculate resistance. Higher test voltage stresses insulation more and can reveal faults that a low voltage misses, but too much voltage can damage sensitive electronics.

The listings here span 50V to 2500V. The Fluke 1507 listing names 50V, 100V, 250V, 500V, and 1000V. The Klein ET600 listing names 125V, 250V, 500V, and 1000V DC. The Ayitam model lists 50V, 100V, 250V, 500V, and 1000V. The AIOMEST model lists 250V, 500V, and 1000V. The KKnoon model lists 250V, 500V, 1000V, 2000V, and 2500V. The M500-type models center on 500V. Choose test voltages to match the equipment manual. When the manual does not name a voltage, ask a qualified person before testing.

2. Insulation resistance range

Range tells you how high a reading the meter can display. Compressor and motor field checks often use 0 to 1000 megohms. Cable, transformer, and dry high-quality insulation may read into gigohms.

From the listings: Klein states up to 4000MΩ. Supco M500 states 0 to 1000 megohms. Ayitam states 0-1GΩ at 50V up to 0-100GΩ at 1000V. AIOMEST states 0.1MΩ to 2GΩ with its item highlight naming 2GΩ. KKnoon states 1MΩ-200GΩ. A larger maximum does not mean better accuracy at low readings. Match the range to the equipment you service.

3. CAT rating and voltage rating

Measurement category describes the type of live circuit used for measurement and testing, usually in relation to a building. Categories account for available energy and impulse voltages at that point in the system. Category II covers circuits directly connected to the low-voltage installation, while Category IV covers measurements at the source of the high-voltage installation. Required impulse withstand varies from 500 V to 12,000 V depending on category and voltage.

Quote CAT and voltage only from the listing or manual. In this group, the Ayitam listing states EN61010-1 and CATIII 600V. The Klein listing states CAT III/CAT IV Safety Rated Test Leads in included components. The Fluke 1507 listing states EN 61010-1 but the given data does not state a CAT rating in text, so check the listing and manual before mains use. The Supco M500, AIOMEST, and KKnoon excerpts used here do not state a CAT rating, so do not call those meters safe for household mains. If the rating is not stated, write it down as unknown and choose another approach or consult an electrician.

4. Multimeter functions versus dedicated insulation tester

Some buyers want a combined digital megohmmeter and multimeter. Others want a simple go/no-go insulation checker.

Klein combines insulation testing with measurement up to 1000V AC/DC, resistance, and continuity, plus automatic ranging True RMS. Ayitam combines insulation to 100GΩ with frequency measurement, low voltage test, and 0-600V voltage measurement. AIOMEST adds DC voltage up to 1000V and AC voltage up to 750V, resistance up to 2KΩ, and continuity. KKnoon measures AC and DC voltage in the range of 10V-600V plus insulation. Supco M500-type tools focus on insulation with an LED display and zone scale rather than full multimeter functions. A combined tool reduces carry weight. A dedicated tool can be simpler to read in the field.

5. Display, leads, and field use

Insulation work often happens in dim mechanical rooms or outdoors. Look at display type, backlight, hold, leads, power source, and size.

Examples from the listings: Fluke 1507 includes a remote probe, test leads, test probes, alligator clips, and a large backlit display. Klein includes CAT III/CAT IV Safety Rated Test Leads and heavy-duty alligator clip test leads, plus a backlit display with bar graph, Max/Min, and Hold. Ayitam includes test leads, alligator clip, 4xAA batteries, and a detailed user manual. AIOMEST includes 2 test leads and uses 6x 1.5V AA batteries or an external 9V DC adapter. Supco M500 runs on C size batteries, not included, and includes a soft carrying case. Item weight in this group ranges from 500 g to 1.4 pounds to 0.78 kg to 640 g to 818 g, so check dimensions and carry options if you climb ladders or carry a full bag.

1. Fluke 1507 Digital Megohmmeter Resistance Tester for Advanced Industrial and Electrical Testing (Best overall)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Brand: Fluke
  • Power Source: Alkaline
  • Style: INSULATION TESTER
  • Color: yellow
  • Item Weight: 500 g
  • Measurement Type: Ohmmeter
  • Model: 1507
  • Included Components: Remote probe, test leads, test probes, alligator clips and one-year warranty
  • Specification Met: EN 61010-1

Pros

  • Five test voltages from 50V to 1000V in one tool
  • Remote probe plus leads, probes and clips included
  • Live circuit detection above 30-Volts and large backlit display

Cons

  • Excerpt does not state CAT level in text, must verify before mains use
  • Heavier carry size at stated dimensions for tight tool bags

Best for: Industrial troubleshooting needing flexible test voltages and remote probe access
Skip if: You need a verifiable CAT rating in the listing or only do simple HVAC compressor triage

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. Klein Tools ET600 Megohmmeter Insulation Tester Multimeter (Best combination insulation plus multimeter)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Brand: KLEIN TOOLS
  • Power Source: Battery Powered
  • Style: Tester
  • Item Weight: 1.4 pounds
  • Measurement Type: Multimeter
  • Item Dimensions: 10 x 2 x 4.5 inches
  • Model: ET600
  • Included Components: CAT III/CAT IV Safety Rated Test Leads, Heavy-duty Alligator Clip Test Leads
  • Specification Met: ETL

Pros

  • Insulation to 4000MΩ plus 1000V AC/DC, resistance and continuity
  • Auto-ranging TRMS stated for measurement accuracy
  • Backlit display with bar graph, Max/Min and Hold

Cons

  • No test voltage below 125V for sensitive low-voltage insulation
  • Listing excerpt does not state counts or max amps

Best for: Technicians wanting one case for insulation checks and everyday electrical measurements
Skip if: You need gigohm readings above 4000MΩ or low 50V insulation tests

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Supco M500 Electronic Megohmmeter, 0 to 1000 Megohms (Best M500 pattern for HVAC)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Brand: Supco
  • Power Source: Battery Powered
  • Style: Electronic
  • Measurement Type: Ohmmeter
  • Item Dimensions: 9.3 x 6 x 1.8 inches
  • Model: M5462
  • Item Highlight: Electrical Insulation Tester for HVAC, Refrigerator Compressors, Motors, Portable Appliances, Relay Circuits, with Case
  • Manufacturer: Supco

Pros

  • Simple 500V to 1000-megohm pattern for compressors and motors
  • LED display with zone scale for fast condition checks
  • Handheld battery design with soft carrying case

Cons

  • Single test voltage with no multimeter functions
  • Runs on C batteries not included and no CAT stated

Best for: HVAC field triage of hermetic compressors, blower and condenser motors
Skip if: You need gigohm range, multiple voltages, or any mains-panel work

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Megohmmeter, Insulation Resistance Tester, 50V-1000V Up to 100GΩ (Best wide range digital)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Brand: Ayitam
  • Power Source: Battery Powered
  • Item Weight: 818 g
  • Voltage Measurement: 0-600V
  • Low Resistance Measurement: 0-200Ω
  • OHMS Ranges: 0-1GΩ(50V), 0-2GΩ(100V), 0-5GΩ(250V), 0-10GΩ(500V), 0-100GΩ(1000V)
  • Measurement Type: Ohmmeter
  • Model: pm1508
  • Included Components: megohemeter,test leads, alligator clip, 4xAA batteries, detailed user manual

Pros

  • Five voltages with range to 100GΩ at 1000V
  • PI/DAR, auto discharge and compare function stated
  • CATIII 600V with leads, clip and 4xAA batteries included

Cons

  • More setup steps than a simple M500 zone tester
  • No max amps stated for multimeter-style current work

Best for: Motors, cables, transformers and generators needing high-range readings
Skip if: You only do quick HVAC triage and want minimal controls

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. Megohmmeter 1000V Megaohm Meter, AIOMEST Insulation Resistance Tester VC60B (Best compact 1000V)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Brand: AIOMEST
  • Power Source: Battery Powered
  • Style: Modern
  • Measurement Type: Megohmmeter
  • Model: AI-T6-VC60B
  • Item Highlight: 2GΩ Megaohmeter 250V/500V/1000V Test Voltage, Continuity Tester, Mega Ohmmeter Measure IR, Volt Ohm for HVAC Motor Compressor

Pros

  • 250V/500V/1000V options with 2GΩ highlight range
  • DC to 1000V, AC to 750V plus 2KΩ and continuity
  • Backlit LCD with hold and approx 3 readings per second

Cons

  • Title vs specs list conflicting weight figures so rely on neither number
  • No CAT rating stated in excerpt for mains use

Best for: Basic motor, cable and appliance insulation checks on a compact tool
Skip if: You need 50V tests, above 2GΩ range, or stated mains CAT rating

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. Multimeter, Megohmmeter Insulation Tester, Megohmmeter (Best for storage and high voltage)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-10):

  • Brand: KKnoon
  • Power Source: Battery Powered
  • Style: Industrial
  • Item Weight: 640 g
  • Measurement Type: Voltmeter
  • Item Dimensions: 8.27 x 7.09 x 3.15 inches
  • Model: c0172115-bb54-456f-be4e-95f3ab6dbdf4
  • Included Components: 1
  • Specification Met: CE, RoHS

Pros

  • Widest voltage span to 2500V with 200GΩ range
  • 100 groups data storage plus hold and backlit LCD
  • High voltage and low battery indicators stated

Cons

  • High test voltages can damage wrong equipment if misapplied
  • No CAT rating stated and limited lead detail in excerpt

Best for: Shops trending transformer, cable and motor insulation over time
Skip if: You test small compressors or electronics needing low-voltage tests

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

How to choose a megohmmeter for your job

Start with the equipment manual. Motors, hermetic compressors, drives, and control boards often specify insulation test voltage and minimum megohms. If you do not have that document, stop and get it or ask a qualified technician. Never guess a test voltage for electronic controls.

Then match the pattern:

  • For general electrical maintenance on motors, cables, transformers, and switches, choose a digital megohmmeter with several test voltages and a range into gigohms. The How to Use a Fluke Megger guide explains the basic workflow used with a Fluke megger style tester.
  • For HVAC hermetic compressor diagnosis, an M500 megohmmeter at 500V with a 1000-megohm scale is the established field pattern. The How to Use M500 Megohmmeter walkthrough shows the usual lead placement and reading zones. If you need full multimeter functions too, pair it with a separate hand held digital multimeter rather than forcing one tool to do both jobs.
  • For a Fluke 1507 megohmmeter installation, check leads, probe, and live-circuit detection behavior in the manual before first use. The Fluke 1507 setup article and the Best Fluke 1507 Insulation Tester overview cover what ships with that platform.
  • For Klein users comparing ecosystems, read Klein vs Fluke and the Best Klein Megger overview to see how Klein insulation testers relate to Klein clamp and multimeter lines such as Klein Cl 210.
  • For buyers deciding between modern digital and older styles, the Best Digital Megger roundup covers digital operation, while the Best Hand Crank Megger guide and hand crank megger explainer describe a hand crank megohmmeter where a generator supplies test voltage. A megger megohmmeter is the same instrument family; Megger is a brand often used as a generic term, so confirm the actual maker and model in the listing.

A common rule of thumb is to de-energize, lock out, disconnect sensitive electronics, discharge capacitive circuits, and verify absence of voltage with a suitable detector before insulation testing. This is a simplification. Your equipment manual and local rules control the exact sequence. Capacitors and long cable runs can hold charge after the test, so follow the meter manual for discharge time. If you see a live-circuit warning, stop the test.

Check these items on the listing before buying:

  • Exact test voltages and insulation range
  • CAT rating and voltage rating
  • Whether batteries, leads, clips, and case are included
  • Display type, backlight, hold, and PI/DAR or compare functions if you need them
  • Item dimensions and item weight for field carry
  • Warranty terms stated in the listing

Detailed picks: what each model offers

Fluke 1507 style digital insulation tester with remote probe

This pick fits industrial and electrical troubleshooting where you need several test voltages in one tool. The listing names test voltages of 50V, 100V, 250V, 500V, and 1000V. Included components are a remote probe, test leads, test probes, alligator clips, and one-year warranty. The bullets note repetitive or hard-to-reach testing is easy with the remote test probe. Live circuit detection is described as preventing an insulation test if voltage greater than 30-Volts is detected. Readout is a large, backlit display. Item weight is 500 g and item dimensions are 11.77 x 15.2 x 3.07 inches in the given specs.

Who should skip it: skip if you need a stated CAT rating in the excerpt you can verify before purchase. The data used here states EN 61010-1 but does not spell out a CAT level in text, so check the listing and manual. Also skip if you want megohmmeter Fluke accessories beyond what is listed; confirm compatibility with TL 224 and other leads before ordering.

Klein insulation tester with multimeter functions

This Klein megohmmeter fits technicians who want insulation plus everyday electrical measurements. The listing states insulation resistance up to 4000MΩ at 125V, 250V, 500V, and 1000V DC. It also states measurement up to 1000V AC/DC, resistance, and continuity. Automatic ranging True RMS is stated for measurement accuracy. Included components are CAT III/CAT IV Safety Rated Test Leads and heavy-duty alligator clip test leads. Item weight is 1.4 pounds and item dimensions are 10 x 2 x 4.5 inches. The display has backlight, bar graph, Auto-power off, High Voltage, Max/Min, and Hold icons.

Who should skip it: skip if you need readings above 4000MΩ or test voltages below 125V or above 1000V. The listing does not state counts or max amps in the excerpt, so if you need those numbers for comparison, check the product listing.

Supco M500 electronic style for HVAC compressors

This M500 megohmmeter fits HVAC field checks on hermetic compressors, condenser and blower motors, and appliances. The listing states 500 volt testing and measurement up to 1000 megohms with an LED display. Bullets describe use for refrigerator compressors, motors, portable appliances, relay circuits, panel boards, and transformers. Power source is battery powered with C size batteries not included. Item dimensions are 9.3 x 6 x 1.8 inches. A soft carrying case is included. The zone scale and LED display are intended for quick insulation condition assessment.

Who should skip it: skip if you need multiple test voltages, gigohm range, or multimeter functions. The excerpt used here does not state a CAT rating, test-lead rating, or fuse rating, so do not use it on household mains and check the listing for safety ratings.

Ayitam wide-range digital model with PI and DAR

This model fits cable, motor, transformer, and generator insulation work where higher readings matter. The listing states test voltages of 50V, 100V, 250V, 500V, and 1000V and ranges of 0-1GΩ at 50V through 0-100GΩ at 1000V. It states PI polarity index and DAR dielectric absorption ratio functions, auto discharge for capacitive load, and a compare function. Voltage measurement is 0-600V. Low resistance measurement is 0-200Ω. Safety rating is stated as EN61010-1 and CATIII 600V. Item weight is 818 g. Included components are test leads, alligator clip, 4xAA batteries, and a detailed user manual.

Who should skip it: skip if you only test HVAC compressors at 500V and want a simpler LED zone display. The wide range adds steps. Also skip if you need full multimeter current measurement; the excerpt does not state max amps, so check the listing.

AIOMEST VC60B compact 1000V insulation tester

This pick fits homeowners, students, and maintenance users who need 250V, 500V, and 1000V options without a 200GΩ price tier. The listing states optional test voltages of 250V, 500V, and 1000V and an item highlight of 2GΩ with 250V/500V/1000V test voltage. It states DC voltage up to 1000V and AC voltage up to 750V, both with 1V resolution and 1MΩ input impedance. Resistance to 2KΩ with 1Ω resolution and 1mA test current is stated. Display is 3½ digit LCD showing up to 1999 with backlight. Sampling is approximately 3 times per second. Power is 6x 1.5V AA batteries or an external 9V DC adapter. Dimensions are 176 x 116 x 63 mm and weight is listed as 580g in bullets and 0.78 kg in specs; both values appear in the same listing.

Who should skip it: skip if you need 50V or 100V low-voltage insulation tests or readings above 2GΩ. The excerpt used here does not state a CAT rating, so check the listing and do not assume mains suitability.

KKnoon high-voltage digital model with data storage

This model fits maintenance shops that test transformers, motors, cables, switches, and appliances and want to save readings. The listing states variable output of 250V, 500V, 1000V, 2000V, and 2500V and an insulation range of 1MΩ-200GΩ. It states maximum 2000 counts, 100 groups of data storage, data hold, and data browse and delete. AC and DC voltage range is 10V-600V. Display is a large digital LCD with backlight. Item weight is 640 g and item dimensions are 8.27 x 7.09 x 3.15 inches. High voltage indication and low battery indication are stated. The spec excerpt states CE, RoHS but does not state a CAT rating.

Who should skip it: skip if you work on small HVAC compressors or sensitive electronics. Test voltages to 2500V can damage the wrong equipment. Also skip if you need a stated CAT rating for mains panels; check the listing and use a licensed electrician for panel work.

Comparison table built only from listing data

Model type Test voltages stated Insulation range stated Extra measurement stated Power and includes Safety rating stated
Fluke 1507 type 50V, 100V, 250V, 500V, 1000V Check the listing for exact range Ohmmeter measurement type; live circuit detection above 30-Volts Alkaline; remote probe, test leads, probes, clips EN 61010-1; listing does not state CAT in excerpt
Klein ET600 type 125V, 250V, 500V, 1000V DC Up to 4000MΩ Up to 1000V AC/DC, resistance, continuity, True RMS Battery powered; CAT III/CAT IV rated leads, alligator clips ETL; leads rated CAT III/CAT IV
Supco M500 type 500 volt 0 to 1000 megohms LED display with zone scale C size batteries not included; soft case Listing does not state CAT rating
Ayitam PM1508 type 50V, 100V, 250V, 500V, 1000V 0-1GΩ to 0-100GΩ by voltage 0-600V voltage, 0-200Ω, frequency, PI/DAR 4xAA batteries included; leads and clip EN61010-1 and CATIII 600V
AIOMEST VC60B type 250V, 500V, 1000V 0.1MΩ to 2GΩ DC to 1000V, AC to 750V, 2KΩ, continuity 6x 1.5V AA or 9V DC adapter; 2 test leads Listing does not state CAT rating
KKnoon high-voltage type 250V to 2500V 1MΩ-200GΩ 10V-600V AC/DC voltage Battery operated; backlit LCD, storage for 100 groups CE, RoHS; listing does not state CAT rating

Planning example with a compressor and a feeder cable

This example shows why range and test voltage change the choice. It is our planning estimate, not a field result.

Assume you service two items. Item A is a small hermetic compressor where the manual allows a 500V insulation check and you expect readings in megohms. Item B is a short feeder cable where the facility procedure calls for a 1000V check and you expect readings in gigohms. You define pass review thresholds only from the manuals; this arithmetic only compares meter coverage.

Step 1: list M500-type coverage. Lower bound 0 megohms. Upper bound 1000 megohms. Span equals 1000 minus 0, which equals 1000 megohms.

Step 2: list Ayitam coverage at 1000V. Upper bound 100GΩ. Convert to megohms. One gigohm equals 1000 megohms. So 100 times 1000 equals 100,000 megohms.

Step 3: compare upper bounds. Divide 100,000 by 1000, which equals 100. The gigohm meter covers 100 times more upper range than the 1000-megohm M500 pattern.

Step 4: check voltage steps. M500 pattern offers one insulation voltage, 500V. It cannot perform the assumed 1000V cable check. Ayitam offers 50V, 100V, 250V, 500V, and 1000V, which is 5 options, so it covers both assumed checks.

Step 5: re-verify. 100 times 1000 is 100,000. 100,000 divided by 1000 is 100. Subtraction 1000 minus 0 is 1000. All steps use the same units after conversion.

Decision: if all your work is Item A style compressor checks, the simpler M500 pattern is easier to carry and read. If you also perform Item B style 1000V cable checks into gigohms, choose a digital model with 1000V and gigohm range. Never exceed the voltage in the equipment manual.

Five common mistakes to avoid

1. Testing a live circuit

Insulation testers apply high DC voltage. Testing energized wiring risks shock and false readings. De-energize, lock out where required, and verify absence of voltage with a suitable instrument before connecting a megohmmeter. If the meter shows a live-circuit warning, stop.

2. Using the wrong test voltage

A 1000V or 2500V test can damage control boards, sensors, and inverter-driven compressors. Read the equipment manual for allowed voltage. When testing an assembly with mixed parts, isolate the motor winding or cable from electronics first, per the manual. If isolation is unclear, ask a qualified technician.

3. Assuming any meter is safe for mains panels

A CAT marking on leads alone does not qualify the whole meter for panel work. The meter CAT rating must suit the circuit, and panel or service work belongs to a licensed electrician. If the listing does not state a CAT rating, treat mains suitability as unknown.

4. Touching leads during and right after the test

Capacitive loads such as long cables and motor windings can hold charge. Use the meter auto-discharge function if stated, wait the time in the manual, and keep hands off probes and bare conductors. The Ayitam listing states auto discharge for capacitive load. For other models, check the listing and manual for discharge instructions.

5. Reading an LED zone as an exact value

M500-type tools use a clear zone scale and LED display to indicate Good, Normal, or Risk bands. That helps fast triage, but it does not replace a numeric reading when a warranty or facility record needs an exact megohm value. Choose a digital model with LCD, hold, or storage when you must log numbers.

Three buying scenarios

HVAC technician servicing compressors and blower motors

Choose an M500 megohmmeter pattern at 500V to 1000 megohms with a soft case and simple LED zones. It fits condenser units, refrigerator compressors, relay circuits, and panel-board motor checks named in the listings. Carry C size spares because batteries are often not included. For deeper electrical diagnosis, add guidance from the Best Fluke Digital Tester overview to select a separate multimeter.

Maintenance electrician testing motors, cables, and transformers

Choose a digital megohmmeter with 250V to 1000V or wider, gigohm range, PI/DAR or compare, discharge, and backlit hold. Confirm CAT rating and voltage rating suit each location. A model with 100 groups of storage helps when you trend readings over months. Leave service-entrance and live-panel insulation work to a licensed electrician.

Student or homeowner learning insulation basics on de-energized practice loads

Do not start on household mains. Practice meter setup, lead handling, range selection, and discharge on instructor-provided de-energized samples. Choose a compact digital model with clear manual, backlight, and 250V to 1000V options, and follow the How to Use a Fluke 1507 Insulation Tester tutorial pattern for safe setup habits. Ask an instructor or electrician before testing any installed wiring.

FAQ

What does a megohmmeter measure?

It applies a DC test voltage across insulation and measures resulting leakage current. The meter reports insulation resistance in megohms or gigohms. High resistance generally indicates better insulation condition, but pass limits come from the equipment maker, not from the meter.

What is the difference between a megohmmeter and a multimeter?

A standard multimeter measures low-voltage resistance, voltage, continuity, and sometimes current. A megohmmeter applies a much higher DC test voltage to stress insulation and reveal weak spots. Some tools combine both, such as the Klein model here with insulation plus 1000V AC/DC and continuity, but many M500-type tools focus only on insulation.

Which test voltage should I use?

Use the voltage stated in the equipment manual. Common options in these listings are 50V, 100V, 250V, 500V, and 1000V, with one model extending to 2500V. Higher is not automatically better. Incorrect voltage can damage electronics or give misleading readings.

Is the Supco M500 megohmmeter enough for HVAC work?

The M500 pattern measuring to 1000 megohms at 500V matches many hermetic compressor and motor field checks described in the listings. It uses an LED zone display for fast triage. It is not a substitute for a full multimeter, and the excerpt used here does not state a CAT rating, so limit it to manufacturer-approved de-energized component tests.

What do PI and DAR mean on a digital megohmmeter?

PI is polarization index and DAR is dielectric absorption ratio. Both compare insulation readings taken at different times during one test to judge insulation condition with more context than a single spot reading. They are a simplification of a longer dielectric response topic. Follow the meter manual for test duration and temperature notes.

Can a clamp meter replace a megohmmeter?

No. A clamp meter measures current without breaking the circuit. It does not apply an insulation test voltage or report megohms. Many clamp meters also cannot measure small DC currents. Use each instrument for its stated capability from the listing.

Do I need a hand crank megohmmeter?

Most buyers now choose a battery-powered digital megohmmeter for lighter carry, backlight, and added functions such as hold or storage. A hand crank megohmmeter uses a manual generator for test voltage and can still appeal where batteries are hard to source. Check the hand-crank guides linked above if that style fits your site rules.

How do I stay safe during insulation testing?

De-energize and isolate the equipment, follow lockout rules, verify absence of voltage, wear protection required by site rules, and follow the instrument manual for connection, test time, and discharge. Work on mains circuits can kill. Panel and service work belongs to a licensed electrician. This article is research guidance, not a substitute for training or code compliance.

Bottom line

Choose by test voltage and range, not by brand alone. Pick an M500 megohmmeter pattern at 500V to 1000 megohms if your work is mainly HVAC compressors and motors. Pick the Fluke 1507 megohmmeter pattern with 50V to 1000V and remote probe if you need flexible industrial troubleshooting. Pick the Klein pattern if you want insulation plus 1000V AC/DC multimeter functions in one case. Pick a 100GΩ or 200GΩ digital model if you test cables, transformers, or high-resistance insulation and need PI/DAR, discharge, or storage. If the listing does not state a CAT rating for your circuit, do not use that meter on mains wiring.

Sources

  • Measurement category: CAT definitions, CAT II vs CAT IV use, impulse withstand range, and IEC marking requirement

Similar Posts