Klein CL120 Clamp Meter: Specs, Uses and Limits

Klein CL120 Clamp Meter: Specs, Uses and Limits

Klein CL120 Clamp Meter: Specs, Uses and Limits

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The Klein CL120 is an automatically ranging digital clamp meter. You clamp its jaws around a single insulated conductor to read AC current, up to 400A, without breaking the circuit. The manual also describes AC and DC voltage, resistance, and continuity through the test leads, plus a non-contact voltage function. It does not list DC current. The sections below set out the manufacturer figures, the safe-use rules from the manual, and the points to check before you buy.

Quick answer

  • The Klein CL120 measures AC current through its clamp, with a stated range of 400A AC, and reads AC and DC voltage, resistance, and continuity through its test leads.
  • The manual states a CAT III 600V safety rating, Class 2, double insulation, for indoor use.
  • The manual says a current reading under 20A is better on the 2/20A setting, which gives higher resolution.
  • The manual says clamping a cable that contains both live and neutral is not suitable. Klein’s kit offers a line splitter, the CL120KIT, for that work.

What the CL120 measures

The manual describes the CL120 as an automatically ranging digital clamp meter that measures AC current through the clamp, and AC and DC voltage, resistance, and continuity through the test leads. The front of the meter lists non-contact voltage testing, auto-ranging, data hold, range hold, and audible continuity. The sell sheet names the CL120 as a 400A AC clamp meter with a model number of 69283-3.

The CL120 does not measure DC current. The 2023 Clamp Meter Selection Guide lists a 400A AC current range for the CL120 and no DC current range for it. If you need DC current, look at a different clamp meter, and see the DC clamp meter roundup on this site.

Auto-ranging means the meter picks the measuring range itself. That helps when you do not know the size of the current. The manual still asks you to pick the right setting for small currents, which is covered below.

Ratings Klein publishes

The figures below come from the CL120 manual, the 2023 selection guide, and the sell sheet. They are manufacturer figures, not measurements taken for this article.

  • Safety rating: CAT III 600V, Class 2, double insulation, pollution degree 2.
  • Maximum input: 600V AC RMS or 600V DC on the test leads.
  • AC current: 2.000A to 400A across the ranges, with frequency range 50 to 60Hz for the current function.
  • Input impedance for voltage: 10 megohm. Voltage frequency range: 45 to 400Hz.
  • Operating temperature: 0 to 50 C (32 to 122 F). Storage: -10 to 50 C (14 to 122 F).
  • Operating altitude: up to 2000 m (6562 ft). Relative humidity below 95 percent, non-condensing.
  • Dimensions: 215 x 90 x 38 mm (8.46 x 3.54 x 1.50 in). Weight: 313 g (11.04 oz) including batteries.
  • Drop protection: 2 m (6.6 ft). Calibration: stated as accurate for one year.
  • Auto power-off: after about 10 minutes of inactivity.

The manual states the accuracy for 18 to 28 C (65 to 83 F) and says a temperature correction applies outside that range. Accuracy is given as a percentage of the reading plus a number of least significant digits, and the figures differ by function and range. Read the table for the function you are using.

The 2/20A setting for small currents

The manual’s operating steps include a note on small current readings. If the measurement is less than 20A, turn the function selector to the 2/20A setting for improved resolution. In practice, that means a reading of a few amps shows more detail on the lower range than on the 400A range. Use the lower setting only when you know the current is within it, since a current above the range can be overloaded.

If the display shows a small, steady reading, the manual’s note suggests checking whether the 2/20A setting gives a clearer number. Keep the meter’s function and range settings in view while you take the reading.

Safe clamping rules from the manual

Electrical work carries real risk. The CL120 manual is written for users who understand electrical hazards, and it includes several points that apply every time you use the meter. These are the points most relevant to a home or trades user.

  1. Clamp only a single insulated conductor. The manual says that clamping cables that contain both live and neutral wires is not suitable, and that a line splitter is needed for that work.
  2. Use caution when voltages above 25V AC or 60V DC are measured. The manual notes this as a caution point for voltage readings.
  3. Do not use the shields in a way the manual does not describe. The manual says the CAT III and CAT IV shield increases arc-flash risk when it is not used. The shields may be removed only for CAT II locations, and the manual warns to keep them in place for CAT III work.
  4. Use the meter indoors. The manual says to keep it away from moisture, rain, and snow.
  5. Keep the meter within its humidity and temperature limits, which the manual states in its specifications.

A clamp meter reading tells you the current on one conductor. It does not tell you that a circuit is safe to touch, that a breaker is correctly sized, or that a panel is correctly wired. Work inside a panel or on a service feed belongs to a licensed electrician, who should use equipment rated for that location.

The CL120KIT and what it adds

The CL120 is also sold as part of kits. The Klein sell sheet lists the CL120KIT, model 69284-0, as a clamp meter with a line splitter and a GFCI tester. The line splitter is the accessory the manual describes for cables that carry both live and neutral. The same sell sheet also lists a CL120VP kit alongside a non-contact voltage tester, so read the kit listing if that pairing matters to you.

Check the kit contents on the listing before you buy. A kit can include items you do not need, and the line splitter only helps for the cable types it is designed for. For a broader look at clamp meter categories, the guide on clamp meter versus multimeter explains when a clamp is the better tool.

Buying checklist

  • Confirm you need AC current only. The CL120 does not list DC current.
  • Check the 400A AC range against the largest current you expect to measure.
  • Check the CAT III 600V rating against your work, and do not use the meter above its stated limits.
  • Decide whether you need the kit. A line splitter is needed for cables with live and neutral inside.
  • Keep the manual with the meter. It covers the 10-minute auto power-off and the range settings described above.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Clamping a cable with both live and neutral inside. The manual says the reading is not suitable.
  • Expecting the CL120 to read DC current. The specifications list AC current through the clamp.
  • Reading a small current on the 400A range and treating a low number as precise. Use the 2/20A setting, as the manual advises.
  • Removing the shield in a CAT III or CAT IV location. The manual says this increases arc-flash risk.
  • Assuming the 10-minute auto power-off will keep a reading running. Check the display before you take a reading as final.

How we chose

This guide does not rank the CL120 against other clamp meters, and it does not claim the model is the best choice for any task. It covers one model using Klein’s own documents: the CL120 instruction manual, the 2023 Clamp Meter Selection Guide, and the CL120 sell sheet. The criteria are the questions a buyer is likely to ask: what the meter measures, what the current range is, what the safety ratings are, what the manual says about safe clamping, and what the kit adds. Each figure comes from one of the three documents listed in the Sources section, with the date each was opened.

What we could not verify

The documents do not give independent measurements of the CL120, and this guide does not state accuracy as a measured result. The sources do not say how the meter performs on every load, or how it compares with other clamp meters on accuracy, durability, or jaw capacity. The sell sheet is a marketing document and does not add test data. The sources do not give a price or a stock status, and this guide does not include either. The manual does not state a true RMS rating for the CL120, so this guide does not claim one.

FAQ

What is the maximum AC current the CL120 measures?

The manual, the selection guide, and the sell sheet all list 400A AC. The manual’s current table starts at 2.000A.

Does the CL120 measure DC current?

No. The specifications list AC current through the clamp, and the selection guide shows no DC current range for the CL120.

What safety rating does the CL120 have?

The manual states CAT III 600V, Class 2, double insulation, pollution degree 2. Use the meter within those ratings and the conditions the manual describes.

When should I use the 2/20A setting?

The manual says that if the measurement is less than 20A, you should turn the function selector to the 2/20A setting for improved resolution.

Can I clamp a cable that has live and neutral in it?

The manual says that is not suitable, and that a line splitter is needed for that work. Klein sells a line splitter as part of the CL120KIT.

How long before the CL120 powers off?

The manual states about 10 minutes of inactivity, after which the meter powers off automatically.

Bottom line

The Klein CL120 is an AC clamp meter rated to 400A, with a CAT III 600V safety rating and stated indoor use. Use the 2/20A setting for small currents, keep the shields in place for CAT III work, and buy the line splitter kit if you need to clamp cables with live and neutral inside. Work in a panel or on a service feed belongs to a licensed electrician.

Sources

  • Klein Tools, CL120 400A AC Auto-Ranging Digital Clamp Meter instruction manual. https://data.kleintools.com/sites/all/product_assets/documents/instructions/klein/CL120-1390362ART%20-%20WEB.pdf (opened 2026-10-27)
  • Klein Tools, 2023 Clamp Meter Selection Guide, Rev. E. https://data.kleintools.com/sites/all/product_assets/documents/brochures/klein/2023%20Clamp%20Meter%20Selection%20Guide_RevE.pdf (opened 2026-10-27)
  • Klein Tools, Clamp Meter sell sheet, document 82908 (Rev. 07/20). https://data.kleintools.com/sites/all/product_assets/documents/brochures/klein/82908_ClampMeter_SellSheet_WR.pdf (opened 2026-10-27)

Similar Posts