Circuit Checker Electrical: Outlet and Automotive Picks
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
A circuit checker tests whether a circuit has power and which polarity it has. For a car, that means a DC test light or circuit tester. For a household outlet, it means a GFCI and receptacle checker. The five listings below cover both jobs and each states a voltage range. Five of the six pool listings were kept. The figures were checked on 11 October 2026 and are shown as the sellers state them.
Quick answer: for a 12 V or 24 V car or truck circuit, the WINAMOO, Yorkplace and TEKCOPLUS listings all cover the voltage. For a household outlet, the uyled GFCI outlet tester is the only outlet-type pick. Its listing states two different voltage ranges, so check the figure against your outlet before you use it.
The five picks at a glance
| Checker | Listed voltage range | Indication (as listed) | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|
| WINAMOO Automotive Test Light (B0D8PXNPYH) | 3 to 48 V DC | LED digital readout and dual-color polarity | Car battery and small truck checks |
| TEKCOPLUS Automotive Circuit Tester (B01H70U690) | DC 6 to 42 V | Transmitter and receiver LEDs | Open and short circuit finding |
| uyled GFCI Outlet Tester (B0FP53YGH1) | 110 to 250 V AC (title) and 120 V outlets (bullet) | LCD wiring status | Household outlet and GFCI checks |
| Yorkplace Automotive Circuit Tester (B0GV643VTK) | 3 to 120 V DC | LED digital voltmeter and polarity | Cars, RVs and marine use |
| Generic Automotive Circuit Fault Probe Tester (B0G4WGHM47) | Not stated in the bullets | Blue backlit LCD | Current and fault checks |
How we chose these five
The pool held six listings. We kept five: the four automotive or DC testers and the one GFCI outlet tester. We left out the Digital Multimeter with NCV circuit checker (coczow), because its listing reads as a general multimeter and the circuit-checker function is one of many. Every fact below comes from the listing data alone.
- Voltage range: each pick states a range, or says it does not.
- Indication: each names how it shows polarity, continuity or wiring status.
- Use: the listing names the vehicles or outlets it is for.
1. WINAMOO Automotive Test Light with 3 to 48 V LED Display
The listing gives a 3 to 48 V DC range and an LED digital display with 0.1 V resolution. It says it diagnoses faults in 3 V to 48 V systems and includes a dual-color polarity indicator. The probe is a sharp stainless steel tip for piercing insulation, and the spring wire is listed as 96 inches, which is 8 feet. The listing gives a weight of 200 g and dimensions of 11.1 by 4.2 by 1.4 inches. The Specification Met field lists CE and UL.
Check the WINAMOO test light on Amazon
2. TEKCOPLUS Automotive Circuit Tester, DC 6 to 42 V
The listing gives a DC 6 to 42 V range. It describes transmitter and receiver LEDs that show an open or a short circuit, and a 7 inch adjustable probe. The sender has red and black test leads and a tone, off and continuity switch. The listing gives a weight of 12.32 ounces and dimensions of 10.2 by 4.72 by 1.54 inches. Its Measurement Type field reads Voltmeter, while the bullets describe a fault finder, so read the bullets for the job.
Check the TEKCOPLUS tester on Amazon
3. uyled GFCI Outlet Tester with LCD Display
This is the outlet-type pick. The title gives a range of 110 to 250 V AC, and one of the specification fields reads 110 to 250 V AC. A bullet, however, says it is designed for three-wire 120 V outlets and meets CAT III 300 V. The listing does not explain the gap between a 110 to 250 V title and a 120 V design statement. The bullets say the tester checks the wiring status of standard and GFCI sockets and shows socket voltage on the LCD.
Check the uyled outlet tester on Amazon
4. Yorkplace Automotive Circuit Tester with 3 to 120 V Display
The title and bullets both give a 3 to 120 V DC range, with the LED digital screen reading from 3 V. The listing says the tester suits 12 V and 24 V cars, trucks and motorcycles, and also RVs and marine vessels. A polarity indicator shows red for positive and green for negative at the probe tip. It has an extended stainless steel probe. The listing describes the power source as DC.
Check the Yorkplace tester on Amazon
5. Generic Automotive Circuit Fault Probe Tester
The title gives 20 A and 48 V, which suggests a current and voltage use, but the bullets describe a high-precision current tester for car and commercial truck circuits and do not state a voltage range. The display is a blue backlit LCD, and the body is ABS and PC with a rubber outer coating. The listing names a two-in-one wire tracer and short finder, and a relay and fuse checker. It is battery powered, and the Specification Met field lists UL. The listing gives no weight or dimensions.
Check the fault probe tester on Amazon
Worked example: does the battery voltage fit the range?
Take a 24 V truck circuit. The WINAMOO range runs from 3 to 48 V, the TEKCOPLUS from 6 to 42 V and the Yorkplace from 3 to 120 V, so all three cover 24 V. Now take a 48 V system. The WINAMOO listing reaches exactly 48 V, so it covers that figure only at its top edge. The TEKCOPLUS listing stops at 42 V, which is 6 V short of 48 V. The Yorkplace listing covers 48 V with room to spare.
What the listings do not say
- None of the listings gives an independent figure for the voltage accuracy of its display.
- The uyled listing gives two different voltage figures, 110 to 250 V in the title and 120 V in a bullet, without saying which is the working range.
- The Generic listing gives 20 A and 48 V in its title but no range in its bullets.
- The TEKCOPLUS listing gives its measurement type as Voltmeter, which differs from its fault-finding use.
Frequently asked questions
What voltage do the automotive testers cover?
The WINAMOO listing states 3 to 48 V, the TEKCOPLUS 6 to 42 V and the Yorkplace 3 to 120 V DC. The Generic listing does not state a voltage range in its bullets.
Can I use the uyled tester on a 240 V circuit?
The title gives 110 to 250 V AC, which includes 240 V. A bullet says the tester is designed for three-wire 120 V outlets, so the listing does not settle the question. Check the manual before you test a 240 V circuit.
What does the polarity indicator show?
The WINAMOO and Yorkplace listings describe a dual-color polarity indicator. The Yorkplace listing says red shows positive and green shows negative at the probe tip.
Which checker has the longest lead?
The WINAMOO listing gives a 96 inch spring wire, which is 8 feet. The Yorkplace listing describes an extended probe and the TEKCOPLUS listing a 7 inch probe. Neither gives a lead length.
Conclusion
For a car, truck or RV circuit, the WINAMOO, TEKCOPLUS and Yorkplace listings all fit the stated voltage. The Yorkplace has the widest listed DC range. For a household outlet, the uyled listing is the only pick built for that job, and its voltage figures disagree, so confirm them before you use it. Read each listing’s own instructions before you connect a tester.
For more on this kind of check, see outlet checker, best wall socket tester and auto circuit tracer.
WINAMOO on Amazon · TEKCOPLUS on Amazon · uyled outlet tester on Amazon · Yorkplace on Amazon · fault probe tester on Amazon