Generic clamp meters with thermocouple probes arranged beside copper HVAC tubing.

Clamp Meter with Temperature: Picks Compared

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

A clamp meter measures current by closing a jaw around a conductor, and some models add temperature readings. The research set for this keyword held only three listings that are clamp meters: the Klein CL120, the Fieldpiece SC260 and the FNIRSI DMC-100. The other items in the set were multimeters, kWh meters and a tape measure, so they are not picked here.

Quick answer: if temperature is the feature you need, two of the three listings state it. The Fieldpiece lists temperature with capacitance and a backlight, and the FNIRSI lists temperature with a 600A AC/DC current range. The Klein CL120 does not list temperature in the data used.

The three picks at a glance

Clamp meter (ASIN) Listed current range Temperature listed? Listed size or weight
Klein Tools CL120 (B08CP6GL49) 400 A AC, auto-ranging Not stated 8.45 x 3.51 x 1.51 inches, 9.76 ounces
Fieldpiece SC260 (B00KLYJG78) Listed as AAC readings, no range stated Yes, with capacitance and backlight 3.5 x 3 x 9.1 inches
FNIRSI DMC-100 (B0DP2L9CFR) 600 A AC/DC Yes, with TRMS and a 2 inch TFT 7.7 x 2.91 x 1.14 inches, 6.72 ounces

How the picks were chosen

We kept listings whose title or bullets state the clamp function. The list is short because the research set held few clamp meters, so the picks are the full set of usable clamp listings rather than a ranking. Each pick below is date-stamped with its listing check of 11 October 2026.

1. Klein Tools CL120 Digital Clamp Meter

The listing states auto-ranging for AC current up to 400 amp. The clamp measures AC current and non-contact voltage, and test leads handle AC and DC voltage, resistance and continuity. The display is backlit, and the listing describes it as readable in low light. The listing does not state temperature. The dimensions are 8.45 x 3.51 x 1.51 inches. Listing checked 11 October 2026. View the Klein CL120 on Amazon.

2. Fieldpiece Compact HVACR Clamp Multimeter SC260

The listing calls this a compact clamp for HVACR service in hot and cold environments. It gives true RMS readings for voltage and amperage, and it lists temperature, capacitance and a backlight. The listing says the meter detects capacitance and resistance automatically in its auto select mode. It also includes non-contact voltage, a continuity warning and a diode test. The listed dimensions are 3.5 x 3 x 9.1 inches. Listing checked 11 October 2026. View the Fieldpiece SC260 on Amazon.

3. FNIRSI DMC-100 Clamp Meter

The listing states a 10000-count TRMS display and AC or DC current up to 600 amp. It also reads voltage, resistance, capacitance, frequency and temperature. The listing describes real-time curve recording that stores 8 sets of data, a 2 inch TFT display with 10 brightness levels, and a built-in 1500mAh lithium battery with Type-C charging. The dimensions are 7.7 x 2.91 x 1.14 inches and the listed weight is 6.72 ounces. Listing checked 11 October 2026. View the FNIRSI DMC-100 on Amazon.

Worked example: a 150 A load on two meters

Take a 150 amp AC reading. On the Klein CL120, whose listed range is 400 A, the reading uses 37.5% of the range, so it sits well inside the scale. On the FNIRSI DMC-100, whose listed range is 600 amp, the same reading uses 25% of the range. Both listings cover the reading, and the FNIRSI leaves more of its range unused.

What the listings do not say

The listings do not state the Fieldpiece current range in amps, so it cannot be compared on range with the other two. None of the listings gives an independent accuracy test. The Klein listing does not say whether it reads temperature at all. The research set also held three kWh meters and a magnetic field meter labelled for dirty electricity. Those are not clamp meters, and this post does not cover them.

Frequently asked questions

Which of these clamp meters reads temperature?

The Fieldpiece SC260 and the FNIRSI DMC-100 list temperature. The Klein CL120 does not list it in the data used.

What is the largest current range?

The FNIRSI DMC-100 lists 600A AC/DC. The Klein CL120 lists 400 A AC. The Fieldpiece listing does not state a range in amps.

Do these meters need batteries?

Yes. The Klein and Fieldpiece listings describe battery-powered meters. The FNIRSI listing includes a built-in rechargeable battery.

Does the Klein CL120 measure AC current through its clamp?

Yes. The listing states that the clamp measures AC current and non-contact voltage, and that the test leads handle AC and DC voltage, resistance and continuity.

Conclusion

If you need temperature with a clamp, the FNIRSI DMC-100 and the Fieldpiece SC260 both list it. The FNIRSI gives the largest stated current range and the most data features. The Klein CL120 is the choice if you want a clamp with a stated 400 A AC range and no temperature function.

For related reading, see best handheld clamp, best true RMS digital clamp meter, and best clamp tester Fluke.

Klein CL120 on Amazon · Fieldpiece SC260 on Amazon · FNIRSI DMC-100 on Amazon

Similar Posts