Resistance Continuity Test: Four Multimeters Compared
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
A resistance and continuity test checks whether a wire or component has a complete path (continuity) and how much resistance it has, in ohms. Most meters that do both are multimeters. The research set for this keyword held ten listings, and four of them are multimeters that state both functions. The other six are test lights, a grounding tester set and a network continuity tester, which do not match the four-meter comparison in the title.
Quick answer: for resistance and continuity on a bench or in a car, a multimeter with a stated resistance range and an audible continuity buzzer is the match. Check the voltage rating and the display counts on the listing before you choose.
The four picks at a glance
| Meter (ASIN) | Listed voltage rating | Display or count | What the listing adds |
|---|---|---|---|
| LJPXHHU multimeter (B0CXM242J1) | Not stated in the data used | 2.7-inch backlit LCD | Fold-out stand, data hold |
| AstroAI DMM 2000 (B01ISAMUA6) | CAT II 600 V, CAT III 300 V | 2000 counts, 1999 count display | Double fuse, low battery indicator |
| Westinghouse 600V (B0DYJ8H4Z7) | 600 V | True RMS, auto-ranging | 10 A current, temperature in C and F |
| ANENG SZ303 (B0FHW9B4YW) | Not stated in the data used | Backlit screen | NCV, pocket-sized body, buzzer |
How the picks were chosen
We kept meters whose listing states both resistance and continuity in its bullets. The six other listings in the set were test lights, a grounding continuity set and a Southwire network cable tester, so they were left out of this four-meter comparison. Each pick carries the listing check date of 11 October 2026.
1. LJPXHHU Digital Multimeter Voltmeter
The listing states that the meter measures AC and DC voltage, DC current, resistance, continuity, diodes and batteries. Its 2.7 inch backlit LCD is described as readable in dim light. The body has a fold-out stand, and the rubber cover is described as slightly non-slip. The listing states a body 5.51 inches long, 2.56 inches wide and 1.18 inches deep, and a weight of 166 g. Listing checked 11 October 2026. View the LJPXHHU multimeter on Amazon.
2. AstroAI Digital Multimeter Tester 2000 Counts
The listing states a 2000-count display, with measurements of AC and DC voltage, DC current, resistance, continuity and diodes. The listing gives CAT II 600 V and CAT III 300 V environmental ratings. It describes a double fuse for overload protection and a low battery indicator. The listing says the meter samples two times per second. Listing checked 11 October 2026. View the AstroAI multimeter on Amazon.
3. Westinghouse 600V True RMS Auto-Ranging Multimeter
The listing states a 600 V AC and DC range and a 10 amps current range, with true RMS readings for non-linear waveforms. It has resistance measurement and an audible continuity alert. The listing also gives temperature in both Celsius and Fahrenheit, and it names capacitor testing among its functions. Listing checked 11 October 2026. View the Westinghouse 600V multimeter on Amazon.
4. ANENG Digital Multimeter Tester SZ303
The listing states AC and DC voltage, current, NCV, resistance, continuity, diodes and frequency. It describes a responsive rotary switch and a backlit screen, and mentions a buzzer. The listing calls the body a pocket-sized volt meter, smaller and lighter than standard models. It states a weight of 100 g. Listing checked 11 October 2026. View the ANENG SZ303 on Amazon.
Worked example: how much of the range does a 120 V outlet use?
Take a 120 V outlet check. On the Westinghouse, whose listed rating is 600 V, a 120 V reading uses 20% of the top range. On the AstroAI, which lists CAT III 300 V, the same reading uses 40% of that rating. A 12 V car battery sits far below the 600 V top of the Westinghouse range. Both figures are simple ratios of the listed numbers, not measurements.
What the listings do not say
The listings do not state a battery type for the LJPXHHU or the ANENG. None of the four listings gives an independent accuracy test. The LJPXHHU and ANENG listings do not give a voltage rating in the data used. The research set also held test lights and a grounding continuity set, which the listings describe for automotive or ground checks rather than resistance measurement.
Frequently asked questions
Which of these meters can test continuity?
All four picks list continuity in their bullets. The Westinghouse listing gives an audible continuity alert, and the ANENG listing mentions a buzzer.
Which meter has the highest listed voltage rating?
The Westinghouse listing states a 600 V AC and DC measurement range. The AstroAI listing gives CAT II 600 V and CAT III 300 V safety ratings, and the other two listings do not give a rating in the data used.
Is a pocket-size meter enough for resistance work?
The ANENG listing describes its body as pocket-sized and lists resistance and continuity. Check the resistance range on the listing before you rely on a low reading.
Does the LJPXHHU meter have a backlight?
Yes. The listing describes a 2.7 inch backlit LCD that it says is easy to read in dim light.
Conclusion
For a resistance and continuity job, the Westinghouse states a 600 V measurement range, and the AstroAI lists a 2000-count display with CAT II 600 V and CAT III 300 V ratings. The LJPXHHU is the choice if a backlit display and a stand matter most, and the ANENG if you want a small body with a buzzer.
For related reading, see best continuity tester, best resistance meter, and wiring continuity test.
LJPXHHU multimeter on Amazon · AstroAI multimeter on Amazon · Westinghouse 600V on Amazon · ANENG SZ303 on Amazon