Best Digital Clamp Meters Compared
As an Amazon Associate, this site earns from qualifying purchases. Source basis: 12 items from supplied listings only. Titles, specification fields and seller bullets are reported as written. Nothing in this guide is a lab result, and the safety labels are the sellers’ own.
The search term behind this page names the Kaiweets HT206D, but that model is not in the supplied data. The only mention of Kaiweets is as a compatibility name on a test-lead set. The title has therefore been changed to describe what the list actually contains. The list also mixes three kinds of item: digital clamp meters, a specialist ground-resistance clamp tester, and two accessories, a carrying case and a set of test leads. Each is labeled in the table, so you can see which items measure current and which only hold or connect the tools.
Quick answer: which meter for which job
- Basic AC current checks with a compact meter: UNI-T UT210E mini clamp meter lists 100 A AC and DC current, with true RMS in its title and a pocket-size body. ANENG 4000-count clamp meter and AstroAI 2000-count clamp meter both measure AC current up to 400 A, but neither lists DC current.
- You need DC current as well as AC: Temirup CM83E 6000-count clamp meter lists both AC and DC current up to 600 A, with a 2-year warranty. Aicevoos 1000A clamp meter and BLACK CANYON 1000A clamp meter both list 1000 A ratings.
- You want the widest safety-category listing: the Temirup lists CAT III 600 V, CAT IV 600 V and CAT III 1000 V in its specification field, and the Megger ground-resistance tester lists CAT IV up to 600 V.
- You want readings on a phone: Precalixor PR-7200-APP is the only meter in the set that pairs with an app over Bluetooth, which its bullets say records data and exports reports.
- You need a case or test leads, not a meter: the ZIOZERTT carrying case and the 24-piece test lead set are accessories in this list.
Comparison table
| Product | Type | AC current | DC current | Safety category | Included, per listing | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AstroAI 2000-count | Clamp meter | Up to 400 A | Not stated in the listing | CAT III 600 V | Meter, test leads, bag, manual | Not stated in the listing |
| Temirup CM83E | Clamp meter | Up to 600 A | Up to 600 A | CAT III and CAT IV 600 V, CAT III 1000 V | Meter, batteries, leads, K-probe | 2 years |
| ANENG ST181 | Clamp multimeter | Up to 400 A | None | Not stated in the listing | Kit (contents per bullets) | Not stated in the listing |
| Klein CL120 | Clamp meter | Up to 400 A | Not stated in the listing | Test leads CAT III and CAT IV (bullets) | Meter; accessories Not confirmed | See manufacturer website |
| Megger DET14C | Ground-resistance clamp | Not applicable | Not applicable | CAT IV up to 600 V | Unit and instruction guide | No warranty |
| ZIOZERTT case | Accessory case | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable | Case only | Not stated in the listing |
| Precalixor PR-7200-APP | Multimeter with app | Ammeter listed; range Not stated | Not stated in the listing | IEC 1010 (no category given) | Manual, 2 batteries, 2 leads | 1 year |
| UNI-T UT210E | Mini clamp meter | 100 A | 100 A | UL | Not stated in the listing | Not stated in the listing |
| Young Dance 24-piece leads | Test leads | Not applicable | Not applicable | CAT III 1000 V, 10 A | 24 pieces | Not stated in the listing |
| BLACK CANYON T9-102 | Clamp multimeter | Up to 1000 A | Microamp DC listed | Standards listed, no category | Meter; accessories Not confirmed | Not stated in the listing |
| Aicevoos 1000A | Clamp meter | Up to 1000 A | Up to 1000 A | Not stated in the listing | Not stated in the listing | Not stated in the listing |
| CTDOFUM mini clamp | Mini clamp meter | Listed as 100 A (UT210E) | Not stated in the listing | Not stated in the listing | Not stated in the listing | Not stated in the listing |
How to choose a clamp meter
Start with the current you need to measure. A clamp meter reads current without breaking the circuit, but each meter has a maximum. The UNI-T tops out at 100 amps, the ANENG and AstroAI at 400 amps, the Klein at 400 amps, the Temirup at 600 amps, and the Aicevoos and BLACK CANYON at 1000 amps. A meter rated for 100 amps is the wrong tool for a 400-amp feed, so match the range to the largest current you expect to measure.
Check whether you need DC current. This is the most common gap in the set. The AstroAI bullets say the meter cannot test DC current, and the ANENG listing says its clamp measures AC current only. The Klein’s fields list ammeter and voltmeter, with no DC current. The Temirup, Aicevoos and BLACK CANYON list DC current. If your work involves DC circuits, the AstroAI and ANENG listings are not the right choice, whatever their other features.
Compare the voltage range and the true RMS claim. The Temirup lists true RMS in its title, with AC voltage up to 600 V and DC voltage up to 600 V. The BLACK CANYON lists AC voltage up to 750 V and DC voltage up to 1000 V. The Aicevoos lists 750 V AC and 1000 V DC. True RMS matters for non-linear loads, and the Temirup’s title says so directly. For basic checks, the simpler meters with auto range are the quickest to read.
Look at the safety labels. The listings give safety labels in three ways: a category and voltage in the specification field, a standards list, or a safety note in the bullets. The Temirup gives the most complete category list. The Klein bullets say its test leads have CAT III and CAT IV safety caps. The UNI-T gives a UL mark, and the Precalixor gives IEC 1010 without a category. Match the category and voltage to the work you do, and do not assume a meter covers a category its listing does not name.
Count the extras you actually use. Non-contact voltage detection, data hold, max and min readings, backlight, flashlight, auto power-off and a data logger each change how the meter feels in use. The AstroAI bullets list data hold, max and min, auto shut-off, a low battery indicator and a continuity buzzer. The Temirup lists a backlit screen and an LED flashlight. The Precalixor is the only meter with a Bluetooth app and a data logger, which its bullets say can record readings over time and share reports.
Check the leads and the probe tips. A meter is only as good as its leads, and the leads are often the first part to wear. The Young Dance set exists for that reason: its bullets describe silicone leads, banana plugs that connect to other accessories, and piercing probes for different tests. The Klein’s bullets describe test leads with CAT III and CAT IV caps, and the ZIOZERTT case is built to hold multimeters and clamp meters. When you compare two meters, ask whether the leads that come with each one include the probe tips you need, or whether you will need to buy a second set.
Check the batteries and the weight. Most meters run on AAA batteries. The AstroAI and Temirup list batteries in the box, and the ANENG and Precalixor list them as included. The Klein lists three AAA batteries. The Temirup weighs 10.4 ounces and the Klein 9.76 ounces, while the UNI-T is 170 grams, about 6 ounces, for a pocket model. Weight matters if you hold the meter in one hand for long periods, but the figures here are seller figures and some are Not confirmed, as explained below.
Safety labels and what the listings say
The safety labels in this set are not all in the same form, and this guide reports each one as written. The Temirup’s specification field lists CAT III 600 V, CAT IV 600 V and CAT III 1000 V under IEC 61010-1. The AstroAI lists CAT III 600 V, pollution degree 2 and altitude below 2000 meters. The Megger lists CAT IV installations up to 600 V and an IEC 61010 standard. The Young Dance test leads list CAT III 1000 V at 10 amps. The Klein bullets state its test leads have CAT III and CAT IV safety caps.
Other listings give a standard without a category. The Precalixor lists IEC 1010. The BLACK CANYON lists CSA, ETL, CE, IEC 61010-1 and RoHS, with no category. The UNI-T lists UL. The ANENG, Aicevoos and CTDOFUM listings give no safety label at all, so the safety rating for those is Not stated in the listing. A missing label is not proof that a meter is unsafe, but it is a reason to ask the seller before you use the meter on live circuits.
The bullets in several listings also include operating instructions that matter for every user. The AstroAI bullets say the meter measures AC current only when one wire is clamped, not the whole power cord, and that the jaw measures current only and must not be used to measure voltage. The ANENG bullets say to press REL to zero the meter before clamping. These are the listing’s instructions, and they are worth reading before the first use.
Product-by-product breakdown
AstroAI 2000-count clamp meter
The AstroAI is a 2000-count clamp meter with AC current up to 400 amps, AC and DC voltage up to 600 volts, resistance up to 20 megaohms, capacitance up to 2 millifarads and a non-contact voltage test with a sound and light alarm. The bullets say the meter cannot test DC current, so it is not the right choice for DC work. The package includes two 1.5-volt AAA batteries, a pair of test leads, a manual and a storage bag. The listed safety rating is CAT III 600 volts with pollution degree 2 and an altitude limit below 2000 meters. The working range is 0 to 40 degrees Celsius, which the listing also gives as 32 to 104 degrees Fahrenheit, so that range is consistent. The storage range is Not confirmed: the Celsius figure of 6 degrees does not match the Fahrenheit figure of 122 degrees, so the storage limit is left out of this guide. The weight is Not confirmed too, because one field gives 415 grams and another gives about 203 grams. The meter’s dimensions, 195 by 68 by 29 millimeters, match the imperial dimensions in the listing.
Temirup CM83E 6000-count true RMS clamp meter
The Temirup is the broadest meter in the set and the one with the most complete specification. Its title says true RMS, 6000 counts and 600 amps, and the fields give AC and DC current to 600 amps, AC voltage to 600 volts, DC voltage to 600 volts with a 600-millivolt range, resistance, capacitance up to 60 millifarads, and temperature from minus 20 to 1000 degrees Celsius. The maximum display is 5999, which matches a 6000-count meter. The listing gives a 2-year manufacturer warranty and includes batteries, test leads and a K-probe. The certification line lists CAT III 600 volts, CAT IV 600 volts and CAT III 1000 volts under IEC 61010-1. The bullets describe temperature readings for liquids and air-conditioning ports, a backlit screen, an LED flashlight, a zero function, auto power-off after 10 minutes and a data-hold function. The continuity threshold is given as 50 with no unit, so the exact threshold is Not confirmed. The part number field reads MESTEK, which does not match the brand Temirup, so the part number is noted but not relied on.
ANENG ST181 4000-count clamp meter
The ANENG is a 4000-count clamp meter that measures AC current up to 400 amps, AC and DC voltage up to 600 volts, resistance up to 40 megaohms, capacitance up to 4 millifarads and frequency up to 4 megahertz. Its DC current field reads “none,” which matches the AC-only bullet. The meter has a non-contact voltage detector, data hold, a buzzer, a backlit screen and two AAA batteries. The item weight field reads 0.6 grams, which cannot describe the meter, while another field gives 129 grams. The item weight is Not confirmed. The measurement-type field reads “multimeter, voltmeter,” which does not match the clamp meter in the title, so the meter’s role is not fully clear from the listing. The bullets include a useful instruction: press REL to zero the meter before you clamp. The safety rating is Not stated in the listing.
Klein Tools CL120 clamp meter
The Klein is a Klein Tools auto-ranging clamp meter that measures AC current up to 400 amps, AC and DC voltage, resistance and continuity, with a non-contact voltage tester built into the clamp jaw. The bullets describe a backlit display, a max function, a data-hold function and an auto power-off after 10 minutes. The meter includes a test lead holder on the side of the clamp, and an optional magnetic hanger is available for hands-free use. The bullets describe a carrying case, test leads with CAT III and CAT IV safety caps, instructions and three AAA batteries. Its included-components field lists only the meter and the 400-amp range, so the accessories are Not confirmed. The warranty line reads “See manufacturer website,” so the warranty is Not stated in the listing. The item weighs 9.76 ounces, and its dimensions are 8.45 by 3.51 by 1.51 inches.
Megger DET14C ground-resistance clamp tester
The Megger is not a general-purpose multimeter. Its title describes a digital earth test clamp-on ground resistance meter, and its measurement-type field lists ohmmeter. It has a large elliptical clamp, smooth mating surfaces on the clamp head, a noise filter, a CAT IV rating up to 600 volts and data storage with time- and date-stamped results. The listing gives a weight of 2.2 pounds. The included-components field lists the unit and an instruction guide. The battery is listed as battery-powered, but the number of batteries is not stated. The warranty field reads “No Warranty,” a plain statement that the listing gives no coverage. Choose this item only if your work is ground-resistance testing; for voltage, current and continuity on general circuits, a multimeter-style clamp is the better fit.
ZIOZERTT carrying case for electrician tools
The ZIOZERTT is a case, not a meter. Its title says it is compatible with a Klein ET310 circuit breaker finder, a GFCI outlet tester and an electrical test kit, and its bullets say the case has two main compartments, a mesh pocket and a front pocket. The dimensions are 10.7 by 4.7 by 8 inches, and the item weighs 0.39 kilograms, about 13.8 ounces. The case is orange, has a top handle and is listed as water repellent. The bullets say the upper layer stores a circuit breaker finder, an outlet repair kit and a GFCI tester, and the lower layer stores a voltage test kit and digital multimeters. The bullets also state that the listing is for the case only, so buy the tools separately.
Precalixor PR-7200-APP Bluetooth clamp meter
The Precalixor is a TRMS meter with 6000 counts and an app connection. The title says it works with an app, and the bullets describe a Bluetooth data logger that pairs with a smartphone over a range of 10 to 15 meters and records readings over time. It tracks maximum, minimum and average values, and it can export reports. The meter tests resistance up to 60 megaohms, capacitance from 6 nanofarads to 60 millifarads, frequency up to 9.999 megahertz and duty cycle from 0.1 to 99.9 percent. The bullets describe a K-type thermocouple for temperature from minus 20 to 1000 degrees Celsius, but the included-components field lists only a manual, two batteries and two test leads, so whether the thermocouple comes in the box is Not stated in the listing. The non-contact voltage detection covers 90 to 1000 volts. The warranty is one year. The safety standard is IEC 1010, and no category is given. The item weighs 9.76 ounces.
UNI-T UT210E mini clamp meter
The UNI-T is a pocket-size clamp meter with a 100-amp range for AC and DC current, a 1-milliamp resolution at its lowest current range and a true RMS claim in the title. The bullets describe AC and DC voltage, resistance, capacitance and diode testing, plus a non-contact voltage (NCV) test with a range choice and a VFC function that the listing says reduces interference from high-frequency signals. It weighs 170 grams, about 6 ounces, and its dimensions are 2.36 by 6.89 by 1.32 inches. The listing names UL as its specification. The battery count, the included parts and the warranty are not stated in the listing. The bullets describe it as small enough for a pocket, which is the main reason to choose it for quick checks in tight spaces.
Young Dance 24-piece test lead set
The Young Dance is a 24-piece set of silicone test leads and probes, not a meter. Its specification fields list CAT III 1000 volts at 10 amps, and the title lists compatibility with Fluke, KAIWEETS and INNOVA multimeters and clamp meters. The bullets describe banana plugs that connect to other accessories, piercing probes for different tests, and a kit that includes two 100-centimeter banana leads, two 70-centimeter banana-to-hook leads, two 2-millimeter extension probes and U-shaped inserts. The power-source field reads “Battery Powered,” which does not describe a set of leads, so that field is Not confirmed. The set is useful if your meter’s leads are worn or if you want a wider range of probe tips. It is not a substitute for a meter.
BLACK CANYON T9-102 1000A clamp multimeter
The BLACK CANYON is a TRMS clamp multimeter with a 1000-amp range in its title and style field. The bullets describe AC voltage up to 750 volts, DC voltage up to 1000 volts, resistance, continuity, frequency, duty cycle, DC microamps and inrush current. It also lists data hold, max and min, relative (zero) measurements and a backlit LCD. The bullets say the package includes three AAA batteries and a thermocouple. The included-components field lists only the meter, so those accessories are Not confirmed. The specification field lists CSA, ETL, CE, IEC 61010-1 and RoHS, with no category. The item dimensions and weight are not stated in the listing.
Aicevoos 1000A inrush clamp meter
The Aicevoos is a 1000-amp clamp meter that the title describes as a TRMS meter with 6000 counts and an inrush function. Its bullets describe AC and DC current to 1000 amps, DC voltage to 1000 volts and AC voltage to 750 volts, plus capacitance, frequency, duty cycle, resistance, diode, temperature and NCV. The surge-current function is described as a way to see the start-up current of motors or circuits, which the bullets present as a way to find start-up problems. The variable frequency drive mode and low-impedance mode are described for measurements on drives. The meter has a backlit LCD and a flashlight. The batteries, the weight, the included parts and the safety rating are not stated in the listing. The style field reads “Testers,” which is generic.
CTDOFUM mini clamp meter for the UT210 series
The CTDOFUM is a mini clamp meter that the bullets describe as a version of the UT210D and UT210E. Its bullets say it is a 2000-count true RMS meter with a 200-amp range on the UT210D and a 100-amp range on the UT210E only. It measures AC voltage and AC current, with a note that frequency conversion can cause interference, and it has an NCV detector and a double injection-molded knob. The title names UT210E, but the model field reads CTDOFUM, which is the brand. The model is Not confirmed for that reason. The item weight field reads 50 grams, which is too light for a clamp meter of this kind, so the weight is not used. The warranty, the included parts and the safety rating are not stated in the listing.
Who should buy and who should skip
Buy a clamp meter from this set if:
- You measure AC current only, on residential-scale circuits. The UNI-T, ANENG and AstroAI cover AC current up to 100 to 400 amps.
- You need DC current too. DC current is listed for the Temirup, Aicevoos and BLACK CANYON meters.
- You want a pocket-size tool. The UNI-T is the pocket-size clamp meter in the set.
- You want readings and reports on your phone. The Precalixor is the only app-connected meter.
- You need a broad safety category listing. The Temirup lists the widest set of categories and voltages.
Skip a listing, or check it hard, if:
- You need DC current and the listing does not give it. The AstroAI, ANENG and Klein do not list DC current.
- You need a confirmed safety category and the listing gives none. The ANENG, Aicevoos and CTDOFUM give no safety label.
- You need a confirmed weight. The ANENG, AstroAI and CTDOFUM weights are Not confirmed.
- You need a warranty. Most listings give none, and the Klein refers you to the manufacturer.
- You are an electrician who wants a branded meter with its own accessories. The Klein bullets describe a case, leads and batteries for electricians, but its included-components field does not confirm them, so ask before you buy.
Do not buy these for a meter job:
- The ZIOZERTT case and the Young Dance test leads are accessories. They do not measure anything.
- The Megger measures ground resistance, not general current or voltage.
Typical situations
Checking a household circuit. A basic clamp meter is enough for a quick check on a single circuit, provided you clamp only one wire and not the whole cord, as the AstroAI bullets instruct. The UNI-T’s pocket size suits tight spaces such as a breaker box, and the ANENG’s backlight helps in dim spaces.
A workshop with DC equipment. A DC-capable meter is the first requirement here. The Temirup lists DC current to 600 amps, and the BLACK CANYON and Aicevoos both list DC current at 1000 amps. The Temirup’s temperature range also covers HVAC work, with readings for liquids and air-conditioning ports listed in its bullets.
Electrical troubleshooting. The Aicevoos bullets describe a surge-current function and a variable frequency drive mode. Those are the features that matter if you are chasing start-up problems or drive issues. The BLACK CANYON bullets list an inrush current function as well.
Fieldwork that needs records. The Precalixor is the only meter with a data logger that pairs with a phone. Its bullets say it records readings over time, tracks maximum, minimum and average values, and exports reports, which suits a job where you need to show results later.
Testing a vehicle or a motor-driven device. The ANENG bullets describe the meter as a tool for troubleshooting vehicle or internal electrical problems, and the Aicevoos bullets describe start-up current checks for motors and start-up circuits. Those are the two listings that name this kind of work. Both need confirmed ranges and battery details before you rely on them for a specific job.
Ground testing. The Megger is the only specialist tool in the set. Its data storage with time- and date-stamped results makes it a practical choice for recording ground-resistance tests, but it does not measure current or voltage the way a clamp meter does.
Carrying a kit to the job. The ZIOZERTT case holds a circuit breaker finder, an outlet tester, a voltage kit and a multimeter in two compartments, with a mesh pocket for wires and batteries. It suits a kit that already exists.
Conflicting figures and missing fields
This guide does not pick one figure where the listing contradicts itself. The conflicts are:
- AstroAI: the item weight field reads 415 grams, and the weight field reads about 203 grams. Weight is Not confirmed. The storage temperature in Celsius (minus 10 to 6 degrees) does not match the Fahrenheit range (14 to 122 degrees), so the upper storage limit is Not confirmed.
- Temirup: the part number field reads MESTEK, while the brand is Temirup. The continuity threshold is given as 50 with no unit. The threshold unit is Not confirmed.
- ANENG: the item weight field reads 0.6 grams, while another field reads 129 grams. Weight is Not confirmed. The measurement-type field reads multimeter and voltmeter, which does not match the clamp meter in the title.
- Klein: the included-components field lists the meter and the 400-amp range, while the bullets list a case, test leads, instructions and batteries. The accessories are Not confirmed.
- BLACK CANYON: the included-components field lists only the meter, while the bullets list batteries, a thermocouple and a full-scale accessory. Those accessories are Not confirmed.
- Precalixor: the bullets describe a thermocouple, but the included-components field does not list one. Whether it is included is Not stated in the listing.
- Young Dance: the power-source field reads “Battery Powered,” which does not describe a set of leads. That field is Not confirmed.
- CTDOFUM: the model field reads CTDOFUM, while the title names UT210E. The model is Not confirmed. The item weight of 50 grams is too light for the meter, so it is not used.
- UNI-T: the listing does not state the battery count, the included parts or the warranty, so those are Not stated in the listing.
Several attribute fields hold entries that do not describe the tool, such as a style field that reads “Testers” or a color field that repeats a model number. This guide ignores those entries.
Care and maintenance
The supplied data gives only a few care notes. Most meters in the set run on AAA batteries, and several listings include auto power-off and low-battery indicators, which help you spot a flat battery before a reading goes wrong. The AstroAI and Temirup both list a low-battery indicator. Replace the batteries when that indicator appears, rather than trusting a reading from a weak battery.
Two habits follow from the listings. First, store the meter in a case. The Klein includes a carrying case, and the ZIOZERTT listing is built for that job. Second, check the test leads for wear before each use, because the Young Dance listing describes silicone leads with a range of probe tips, and damaged leads are the most common cause of a bad connection. For the Megger, the listing gives no maintenance schedule, so follow the instructions included with the unit.
Mistakes that cost time
- Buying an AC-only meter for DC work. The AstroAI and ANENG listings say they measure AC current only.
- Choosing a range that is too low. A 100-amp meter is the wrong tool for a 400-amp feed. Match the range to the largest current you need.
- Clamping the whole cord. The AstroAI bullets say to clamp one wire, not the whole power cord, to read current.
- Measuring voltage with the jaw. The AstroAI bullets say the jaw measures current only, and the voltage must be read with the leads.
- Skipping the zero step. The ANENG instructions tell you to zero the meter with REL before clamping.
- Buying a case or leads as if they were a meter. The ZIOZERTT and Young Dance items are accessories.
- Using a ground-resistance tester for general work. The Megger measures ground resistance. It does not replace a general clamp meter.
Clamp meters and what they measure
Most clamp meters here combine a current jaw with a multimeter, so one tool reads current, voltage and resistance. The Klein Tools CL120 listing says it measures AC current with the clamp and AC or DC voltage, resistance and continuity with the test leads. It also has a non-contact voltage tester in the jaw and an auto power-off after 10 minutes. The Temirup CM83E listing lists 600 amps AC and DC current, 600 volts AC and DC voltage, and a temperature range of minus 20 to 1000 degrees Celsius.
The Megger DET14C is different. Its listing describes a clamp-on ground resistance meter with data storage, rated for category IV installations up to 600 volts. It measures earth resistance rather than general current and voltage, so it suits a grounding test, not a general-purpose check.
Connectivity and data logging
The Precalixor PR-7200-APP is the only clamp in this set with a Bluetooth data logger. Its listing says the Intelligent Meter app records readings over time, tracks maximum, minimum and average values, and exports reports. The Megger listing describes data storage with time- and date-stamped results.
Jaw size and inrush current
The ANENG listing gives a maximum wire diameter of 1.42 inches for its double-open jaw. The Precalixor listing gives a 26 mm jaw. The Aicevoos listing covers inrush current: it says a surge measurement takes about 100 milliseconds, which helps identify startup problems in motors. The BLACK CANYON listing also covers inrush current and lists a 1000 amp AC and DC range.
Things to confirm on the listing
- Check the current mode. The ANENG listing says it measures AC current only, while the Temirup listing covers AC and DC.
- Check the battery. The Klein listing includes three AAA batteries, and the BLACK CANYON listing includes three AAA batteries and a thermocouple.
- Check the warranty. The Temirup listing states 24 months of after-sales service. The Megger listing does not state a warranty term in the data.
Each listing states a different use. Pick the clamp whose current range, jaw size and data features match the circuit you test most often.
Non-contact voltage on clamp meters
Several clamp meters in this set include a non-contact voltage detector. The Klein CL120 puts it in the jaw, and its listing says it works with the clamp for quick checks. The ANENG clamp lists a non-contact voltage detector that reports whether voltage is present without touching the wire. The AstroAI CM2K0R has a non-contact tester with a sound and light alarm that triggers on a weak AC signal. A non-contact check tells you a wire is live, but it does not give a reading, so confirm with a contact test before you work on a circuit.
What the AstroAI CM2K0R cannot do
The AstroAI CM2K0R is a 2,000-count clamp meter that measures AC and DC voltage, AC current, capacitance, resistance and diode continuity. Its listing says it cannot measure DC current. If your work needs DC current on a vehicle battery or a solar string, choose a meter whose listing names DC current, such as the Temirup CM83E, which is listed at 600 amps AC or DC.
Meters with a Bluetooth app or a high current range
The Precalixor listing describes a 6,000-count true RMS clamp meter that connects to an app over Bluetooth, measures up to 600 amps and detects live AC voltage without contact from 90 to 1,000 volts. The Aicevoos listing goes higher, to 1,000 amps AC and DC, with a surge-current measurement and a variable frequency drive mode. These features suit motor and HVAC work, where the current spikes on start-up and a standard meter can read it wrongly.
Low-current and budget options
The UNI-T UT210E is a mini clamp meter listed at 100 amps, with a resolution of 1 milliamp at the low end, which helps when you need to measure small loads such as a control circuit. The ANENG clamp lists a double-open jaw that takes a wire up to 1.42 inches across. Neither is a heavy-duty meter, so pick them for light residential and small-appliance checks rather than for service panels.
Carry and store the meter
A protective case keeps the meter and its leads together. The ZIOZERTT case is listed for a Klein circuit breaker finder and has two main compartments and mesh pockets. The Young Dance set includes 24 test leads with alligator clips and piercing probes, which saves buying leads separately. Check that the case and leads fit the meter you buy, since the dimensions of each listing differ.
Related reading: true RMS digital clamp meter options and AC and DC current clamp meter picks.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Kaiweets HT206D in this list? No. The Kaiweets name appears only as a compatibility name on the Young Dance test leads. The title of this guide reflects the actual list.
Which meter measures the most current? The Aicevoos, BLACK CANYON and CTDOFUM listings name 1000 amps or 200 amps, and the Temirup lists 600 amps for AC and DC. The UNI-T lists 100 amps. The Aicevoos and BLACK CANYON are the only two that give a 1000-amp rating in their titles.
Which meter measures DC current? The Temirup, Aicevoos and BLACK CANYON entries include DC current. The AstroAI and ANENG do not, and the Klein does not list it either.
Which meter has the widest safety-category listing? The Temirup lists CAT III 600 volts, CAT IV 600 volts and CAT III 1000 volts under IEC 61010-1. The Megger lists CAT IV up to 600 volts for its own measurement type.
Can I use a phone with a meter in this set? The Precalixor is the only meter with a Bluetooth app and a data logger. Its listing gives a range of 10 to 15 meters for the connection.
Are these meters tested? This guide does not test the meters. The specifications and claims are the seller’s, and they are reported as such.