A technician using a generic digital clamp meter at an electrical training bench.

How to Use a Digital Clamp Meter: Basic Steps

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

A digital clamp meter reads current without breaking the circuit: you open the jaws, close them around one conductor, and read the value. The research set for this keyword has no listing for a Cen Tech model, so this guide covers the method in general and uses the three clamp meters the listings do show: the Klein Tools CL120, the Fieldpiece SC260 and the FNIRSI DMC-100. The listing data was checked on 11 October 2026.

Quick answer: choose the function on the dial, clamp around one conductor to read current, and use the test leads for voltage and resistance. The FNIRSI listing says its clamp jaws are for current only and that voltage must be measured with the test leads.

The three clamp meters at a glance

The table lists what each seller states. The figures are shown as written, including one that conflicts with the product size.

Model Functions (as listed) Current rating (as listed) Weight and size (as listed)
Klein Tools CL120 (B08CP6GL49) AC current by clamp; AC/DC voltage, resistance and continuity by test leads; non-contact voltage in the jaw 400 amps AC 9.76 ounces; 8.45 x 3.51 x 1.51 inches
Fieldpiece SC260 (B00KLYJG78) True RMS VAC and AAC, temperature, capacitance, resistance, continuity warning, diode test, non-contact voltage Not stated in the listing Listed weight 0.27 g (conflicts with the size); 3.5 x 3 x 9.1 inches
FNIRSI DMC-100 (B0DP2L9CFR) AC/DC current, voltage, resistance, capacitance, frequency, temperature 600 amps AC/DC 6.72 ounces; 7.7 x 2.91 x 1.14 inches

Step 1: Pick the function before you clamp

Set the dial to the measurement you need before you put the jaws around anything. The Klein listing shows that current is read through the clamp, while voltage and resistance use the test leads. The Fieldpiece listing says its Auto Select mode detects when you are measuring capacitance or resistance, so you may not need to set those yourself. Check the printed dial labels on your model, because the listings do not give a full function map.

Step 2: Clamp around one conductor for current

To read current, close the jaws around a single conductor. The FNIRSI listing gives the clamp ratings in amps, and the Klein listing gives 400 amps AC. Keep the jaws fully closed, and keep your fingers behind the finger guard. The listings do not describe the jaw opening of any of the three models, so check the size of the cable you need to clamp against the printed specification before you buy.

Step 3: Measure voltage with the test leads

For voltage, plug the test leads into the meter and touch the probes to the points you want to read. The FNIRSI listing says voltage measurement must be done with the test leads, and that the clamp jaws are for current only. The Klein listing gives the same split: AC and DC voltage come from the test leads. The Fieldpiece listing gives VAC readings as a function, and the listing does not say whether they come from the jaws or the leads.

Step 4: Use the non-contact check as a warning, not a reading

The Klein CL120 has a non-contact voltage tester built into the clamp jaw, and the Fieldpiece lists non-contact voltage as a function. A non-contact check tells you that voltage may be present. It does not give a value. If you need a number, switch to the test leads and read the display.

Step 5: Use hold, max and the stored data

The Klein listing includes Max and Data Hold, which keep a reading on the screen after you lift the meter from the conductor. The FNIRSI listing describes a real-time curve recording that stores 8 sets of real-time data and 30 sets of historical data, which is useful when a fault comes and goes. The Fieldpiece listing includes a backlight and a swivel magnet for hands-free measurements.

Step 6: Power down and store the meter

The Klein listing says auto power-off runs after 10 minutes, which saves battery life. The FNIRSI uses a built-in 1500 mAh lithium battery with Type-C charging. The Klein listing counts 3 AAA batteries among the items in the box. The Fieldpiece listing says it is battery powered but does not say whether batteries are included. Store the meter with the jaws closed and the test leads coiled, and recharge or replace the battery before the next job.

How we chose these three

These three are the clamp meters in the research set for this keyword. Each listing names a clamp meter and gives a stated function list, which allowed a like-for-like table. Other meters in the set, such as the Stetzerizer and the Meterly and JINDOUZI kWh meters, are not clamp meters and are not covered. The listings give no price comparison for this site, and no meter was used to check the figures.

Worked example: how much of the range a 20 amp load uses

Take a 20 amp load on a 120 V circuit. The Klein CL120 has a 400 amp AC rating, so a 20 amp reading uses 5 percent of its range (20 divided by 400). The FNIRSI DMC-100 is rated to 600 amps, so the same reading uses about 3.3 percent of its range (20 divided by 600). The load itself is 2,400 watts (120 V times 20 amps), which you can check against the rating on the circuit breaker.

The point of the example is that a meter with a much higher rating reads a small load with less of its scale in use. The Fieldpiece listing does not state an amp rating, so you cannot run the same calculation for that model. Ask the seller for the figure before you buy if the current you measure is high.

What the listings do not say

The Fieldpiece listing gives a weight of 0.27 g, which cannot match a meter of its size. Treat that figure as an error in the listing and check the weight on the package. The three listings do not give an accuracy figure for current at the low end of each range, so do not assume a 400 amp or 600 amp meter is as precise at 2 amps as at 200 amps. The listings also do not state whether the FNIRSI and Fieldpiece models have a safety category rating for the voltage ranges you plan to use, so read the safety labels on the meter before you work on a live circuit.

Frequently asked questions

Can a clamp meter measure voltage?

Yes, but the Klein and FNIRSI listings both say voltage is measured with the test leads, not the jaws. The Fieldpiece lists VAC readings as a function.

Should I clamp one wire or both wires of a cable?

The listings do not say. Clamp one conductor at a time, and check the manual that comes with the meter for the method it recommends.

Does the Fieldpiece SC260 measure capacitance?

Yes. The listing gives capacitance as a function, and says the Auto Select mode detects when you measure capacitance or resistance.

What is the largest current each clamp meter reads?

The Klein CL120 is rated to 400 amps AC and the FNIRSI DMC-100 to 600 amps AC/DC. The Fieldpiece listing does not give an amp rating.

Do the clamp meters come with batteries?

The Klein package includes 3 AAA batteries. The FNIRSI has a built-in rechargeable battery. The Fieldpiece listing does not say whether batteries are included.

Conclusion

For a quick current check on one conductor, the Klein CL120 and the FNIRSI DMC-100 both state a clear amp rating and a clear function list. The Fieldpiece SC260 is listed for HVACR work, with temperature and capacitance. Set the function, clamp one conductor, use the test leads for voltage, and check the manual for the safety steps. For more on clamp meters, see best handheld clamp, best true RMS digital clamp meter and how a current clamp works. For a meter that also does resistance and voltage on the bench, see best multimeter.

Check the Klein Tools CL120 on Amazon · Fieldpiece SC260 on Amazon · FNIRSI DMC-100 on Amazon

Similar Posts