How to Test an AAA Battery With a Multimeter
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How do you test a AAA battery with a multimeter? Take the cell out of the device, set the meter to DC volts, touch the red probe to the plus end and the black probe to the minus end, and read the display. That one reading is only a rough guide, because a battery maker says an unloaded reading can mislead. This guide adds a short load check, explains what the numbers mean for alkaline and rechargeable cells, and stays with a single cell on a bench.
Electrical safety first
Work on mains circuits can kill, and this guide does not cover wall outlets, breaker panels or service wiring. Panel or service work belongs to a licensed electrician. The meter’s CAT rating must suit the circuit it touches. The Fluke 15B and 17B manual describes CAT II as equipment supplied from the fixed installation, such as TVs, PCs and portable tools, and CAT III as distribution panels, feeders and short branch circuits. Your own manual or listing gives your meter’s rating, and if it does not state a CAT rating, do not treat the meter as safe for household mains.
The same manual says to use caution above 30 V ac rms, 42 V ac peak or 60 V dc, because those voltages pose a shock hazard. A 1.5 V cell is far below that line. The hazard with a small cell is different. Energizer’s handbook warns against carrying loose batteries with metal objects such as coins or paper clips, because that “could potentially short-circuit the battery, generating high heat.” Keep metal from bridging the two ends of the cell, and keep every load check short.
Quick answer
- Remove the AAA cell from the device, and set the meter to DC volts with the red lead in the voltage jack and the black lead in COM.
- Prove the meter works first by measuring a known voltage, as the Fluke manual advises.
- Touch red to the plus end and black to the minus end. An alkaline cell is rated 1.5 V nominal, and a fresh one “will typically test at about 1.5 volts CCV” under load.
- For a better answer, connect a 10 ohm resistor across the cell for one to two seconds and read the voltage while it is connected. Energizer says 1.1 volts under that load means about 20% service remains.
- Rechargeable NiMH cells are rated 1.2 V nominal, and Energizer says voltage alone cannot accurately give their state of charge.
What the voltage of an AAA cell tells you
Internal resistance is the opposition to current inside the cell, and it decides how far the voltage sags when you draw current. The datasheets we opened give these figures.
| Cell type | Nominal voltage | Internal resistance the datasheet states | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alkaline AAA | 1.5 volts | 150 to 300 milliohms (fresh) | Energizer E92 datasheet |
| Lithium AAA (Li/FeS2) | 1.5 volts | 140 to 180 milliohms (depending on method) | Energizer L92 datasheet |
| NiMH AAA, 700 mAh rated | 1.2 volts | 100 milliohms charged, 120 milliohms half discharged | Energizer NH12-700 datasheet |
The datasheets say their values are typical, and the NiMH sheet gives a tolerance of plus or minus 20 percent. For a conversion, 150 milliohms is 0.15 ohm and 300 milliohms is 0.30 ohm.
The Energizer alkaline handbook explains why an unloaded reading is only half the story. It says that measuring open circuit voltage “to determine the amount of service life remaining can be misleading.” Alkaline cells have a sloping discharge curve, and most devices are designed to operate within a range such as 1.6 volts to 0.9 volts per cell. By our reasoning, two cells could both show 1.4 volts with nothing attached while one sags far more than the other once a device draws current. The unloaded number cannot separate them.
Step 1: set up the meter and prove it works
The Fluke manual lists checks to make before any measurement: inspect the case, inspect the test leads for damaged insulation or exposed metal, and verify the meter by measuring a known voltage. If the meter reads oddly on a known source, stop and read your manual.
Then turn the rotary switch to dc volts, with the red lead in the voltage terminal and the black lead in the COM terminal. The manual also says to use the proper terminals, function and range. If your meter is manual ranging, pick the lowest range that stays above 1.6 volts. The Fluke 15B and 17B have a 4.000 V range with 0.001 V resolution and a dc accuracy of 0.5 percent plus 3 digits. The manual also says to check test leads for continuity, and our guide to using a continuity tester covers that check.
Step 2: read the open-circuit voltage
A physics lab handout from Southern Methodist University gives the plain method. It says to connect the voltmeter “directly across the battery terminals, ensuring that no external circuit is connected.” So the cell must be out of the flashlight, remote or toy, with nothing else touching its ends. Touch red to the plus end and black to the minus end, wait for the display to settle, and write the number down as the open-circuit voltage, or OCV.
The Fluke manual states an input impedance above 10 megohms on dc volts for its 15B and 17B. By our arithmetic, 1.5 volts across 10 megohms is at most 0.15 microamp, so the meter barely loads the cell.
Compare the number with the table above. A fresh alkaline cell should be near 1.5 volts, and a voltage-drop example in the Energizer handbook uses an open circuit voltage of 1.6 volts. A rested NiMH cell differs. The NiMH handbook describes a drop from an open circuit voltage of approximately 1.4 volts to a 1.2 volt plateau, so a charged NiMH AAA that reads 1.3 or 1.4 volts is not faulty for being above 1.2 volts.
Step 3: add a load check with a 10 ohm resistor
The Energizer handbook prefers the closed circuit voltage, or CCV, and says to measure it by “placing the battery under load for one to two seconds.” For a single cylindrical 1.5 volt alkaline cell, it says the load would be approximately 10 ohms. It adds that a cell that tests at 1.1 volts CCV has approximately 20 percent service remaining. The SMU handout used 10, 20, 30 and 100 ohm load resistors on cable clips and measured the terminal voltage while each was connected. Battery University describes the DC load method as a brief discharge for a second or longer, with a voltmeter reading taken with no load and again with a load.
- Choose a 10 ohm resistor. By Ohm’s law, 1.5 V divided by 10 ohms is 0.15 A, or 150 mA, and the resistor turns 1.5 V times 0.15 A, or 0.225 W, into heat. That is our calculation, and the resistor’s power rating, printed by its maker, must be higher.
- With the meter on DC volts and the red lead in the voltage jack, touch the probes to the cell as in Step 2.
- Connect the resistor across the same two ends, with clip leads as the SMU lab did, for one to two seconds. Note the voltage while the resistor is connected.
- Remove the resistor at once, because a resistor left on a cell keeps draining it and warms up.
Do not use the meter’s own current jacks as the load. The Fluke manual’s fuse test says a good A terminal path reads between 000.0 and 000.1 ohm, which is close to a dead short. Touching a cell with the red lead in that jack would leave little to limit the current except the cell’s own 0.15 to 0.30 ohm. The manual does not state the resulting current, so treat this as a reason to check the jack position before every touch.
How to read the loaded voltage
Energizer gives two anchor points, 1.5 volts CCV for a fresh cell and 1.1 volts CCV for about 20 percent service remaining, and no full lookup table. This table shows what internal resistance each loaded reading implies. It assumes a 1.5 V open circuit voltage and a 10 ohm load, using CCV = OCV x 10 / (10 + Ri). These are our own calculations, not published thresholds.
| Internal resistance (Ri) | Current through the 10 ohm load | Loaded voltage (CCV) |
|---|---|---|
| 0.15 ohm | 147.8 mA | 1.478 V |
| 0.30 ohm | 145.6 mA | 1.456 V |
| 1.0 ohm | 136.4 mA | 1.364 V |
| 2.0 ohms | 125.0 mA | 1.250 V |
| 3.64 ohms | 110.0 mA | 1.100 V |
The first two rows match the E92 datasheet’s fresh range, and the loaded voltage barely moves from 1.5 volts. The last row says 1.1 volts under this load means roughly 3.6 ohms if the open circuit voltage stayed at 1.5 volts. It also falls as a cell is used, so treat that row as an order of magnitude.
Estimate internal resistance with Ohm’s law
Battery University says a voltmeter measures the open circuit voltage with no load, then a second reading with a load, and “Ohm’s law calculates the resistance value.” The SparkFun tutorial does this for an AA cell with a 4 ohm resistor and gets 0.273 ohm, and it adds that a common AA alkaline cell might have between 0.1 ohm and 0.9 ohm. The formula is Ri = RL x (OCV minus CCV) / CCV, where RL is the load resistor.
Take an open circuit voltage of 1.600 V and a loaded voltage of 1.550 V across 10 ohms. The current is 1.550 divided by 10, or 0.155 A, and the voltage lost inside the cell is 0.050 V. Dividing 0.050 V by 0.155 A gives 0.32 ohm, inside the E92 datasheet’s fresh range.
Meter accuracy limits that number. The Fluke 15B and 17B specify dc volts accuracy as 0.5 percent of reading plus 3 digits, which is about 0.011 V at both readings. If the two errors pushed in opposite directions, the 0.050 V difference could be as small as 0.028 V or as large as 0.072 V, and the internal resistance could fall anywhere from about 0.18 to 0.47 ohm. That is our own worst-case arithmetic. It means a basic meter cannot tell a 0.15 ohm cell from a 0.30 ohm cell this way, but it can tell either from a cell at 3 ohms or more. For a dedicated tool, see our roundup of milliohm meters.
Rechargeable and lithium AAA cells
A NiMH AAA cell is rated 1.2 volts nominal, and the NH12-700 datasheet rates it at 700 mAh based on a 140 mA (0.2C) discharge rate. The NiMH handbook says “voltage sensing cannot be used to accurately determine state-of-charge.” Use the meter to catch a dead or open cell, and use a charger’s indicator or a full charge and discharge to judge capacity. The handbook names 0.9 volts per cell as a commonly used discharge cutoff below the 1C rate, so a loose NiMH cell reading well under 0.9 volts has been drained far below that usual cutoff.
Lithium AAA cells such as the L92 are also rated 1.5 volts nominal. The pages we opened do not say how a reading maps to remaining life for lithium cells, so a meter can confirm that such a cell is alive but not how much is left. For small cells in general, see the roundup of battery testers for small batteries.
Mistakes to avoid
- Judging a cell by the unloaded reading alone. Energizer says it can be misleading and gives only a rough estimate.
- Measuring a cell while it is still in the device. The SMU handout asks for no external circuit connected to the battery.
- Leaving the red lead in a current jack. The Fluke manual says to use the proper terminals, and its A terminal path reads near zero ohms.
- Holding a load on the cell for a long time. Energizer’s method is one to two seconds.
- Mixing up the cell types. A NiMH reading of 1.3 volts is normal, while an alkaline cell at 1.3 volts under the 10 ohm load is below the roughly 1.5 volt fresh figure.
- Recharging a primary cell. Energizer warns that this could result in rupture or leakage.
How we chose
This is a method, not a product list, so there are no rankings here. We kept only steps and figures that one of the pages we opened on 2026-10-22 states: the Energizer alkaline and NiMH handbooks, three Energizer datasheets, the Fluke 15B and 17B manual, a Battery University article, a Southern Methodist University lab handout and a SparkFun tutorial. The tables of current, loaded voltage and meter error are our own arithmetic from those figures, and each is labelled.
What we could not verify (what the sources do not say)
The pages we opened do not give a published pass or fail voltage for an unloaded AAA cell, so we do not give one. They do not give a CCV table for rechargeable or lithium AAA cells, and the Energizer 10 ohm figure is stated for a single cylindrical 1.5 volt alkaline cell. They do not say how long a resistor can safely stay on a cell beyond Energizer’s one to two seconds. Your meter may use different jacks, ranges and accuracy figures than the Fluke manual. The SparkFun range of 0.1 to 0.9 ohm refers to AA alkaline cells, not AAA.
Frequently asked questions
What should a good AAA battery read on a multimeter?
An alkaline AAA cell is rated 1.5 volts nominal, and Energizer says a fresh cell typically tests at about 1.5 volts under a 10 ohm load. A NiMH AAA is rated 1.2 volts nominal.
Is a reading of 1.2 volts on an alkaline AAA bad?
An unloaded 1.2 volts does not settle it, because Energizer says unloaded readings can mislead. Under the 10 ohm load, Energizer puts 1.1 volts at about 20 percent service remaining, so a loaded reading near 1.2 volts is close to that low mark.
Can I test a AAA battery while it is in the device?
The lab method asks for the battery with no external circuit connected. Remove the cell first so the device does not load it or add a second path.
Why does a NiMH AAA battery read about 1.3 volts when fully charged?
The Energizer NiMH handbook describes an open circuit voltage of approximately 1.4 volts before the drop to the 1.2 volt plateau. It also says voltage sensing cannot accurately determine state of charge.
Do I need a special meter to test an AAA battery?
No. Any meter with a dc volts range above 1.6 volts can read the cell. A finer resolution only matters if you want to estimate internal resistance.
Bottom line
Read the cell out of the device, then load it with 10 ohms for one to two seconds: about 1.5 volts means fresh, and 1.1 volts means about 20 percent left.
Sources
- https://data.energizer.com/pdfs/alkaline_appman.pdf (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://data.energizer.com/pdfs/e92.pdf (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://data.energizer.com/pdfs/nh12-700.pdf (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://data.energizer.com/pdfs/nickelmetalhydride_appman.pdf (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://data.energizer.com/pdfs/l92.pdf (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://assets.fluke.com/manuals/15b17b__umeng0400.pdf (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://batteryuniversity.com/article/bu-902-how-to-measure-internal-resistance (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://www.physics.smu.edu/tneumann/110X_Spring2025/files/em_lab_6.pdf (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/measuring-internal-resistance-of-batteries/all (opened 2026-10-22)






