How to Test a Lithium Battery with a Multimeter
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How to test a lithium battery with a multimeter comes down to one check: the DC voltage across the terminals of a single lithium cell or a small low-voltage lithium pack, taken with the cell out of its device and not connected to a charger. Compare the reading with the nominal voltage on the manufacturer’s datasheet. The sources we opened do not say that one reading shows capacity, age or internal condition, so treat the number as a single data point. If the cell is swollen, cracked, hot or leaking, stop and do not measure it.
Quick answer
- Use one undamaged lithium cell, out of its device and not connected to a charger.
- Set the meter to DC voltage, put the black lead in COM and the red lead in V, and read the voltage across the cell’s terminals.
- Compare the reading with the nominal figure on the datasheet. The NCR18650B copy we opened lists 3.6 V.
- Stop at any swelling, heat, leaking or damage, and do not measure the cell.
Electrical safety first
Work on mains circuits can kill. Before you measure anything, check that the meter’s CAT rating suits the circuit you are testing, and read the rating from the listing or the manufacturer’s manual. Panel and service work belongs to a licensed electrician.
OSHA’s electrical overview says that “Working with electricity can be dangerous,” and it lists electric shock, electrocution, fires and explosions among the dangers its electrical standards address. This guide stays with bench work on one cell or a small pack. It gives no steps for live outlets, panels or service wiring.
Fluke’s safety guide says the CAT ratings are “usually located near the input jacks,” and it advises choosing a meter rated for the highest category you might use it in. The same guide says CAT-rated meters are “designed to minimize or reduce the possibility of an arc flash” inside the meter. Fluke’s catalog page places appliance and portable-tool loads in CAT II and describes CAT III as covering feeders and distribution panels. A Hioki manual states the rule for any instrument: do not use it on mains that “exceed the rated measurement category of that instrument.” The sources we opened name no meter model, so this guide gives no CAT rating for any specific meter. Read the rating from your own meter’s manual or listing.
OSHA’s rule on electrical work practices says that “Safety-related work practices shall be employed to prevent electric shock,” and that live parts must be de-energized before anyone works on or near them. The same standard limits work on energized parts to qualified persons. The sources we opened do not define a licensed electrician, so the licensing point in this guide is site guidance, not a sourced rule.
Some Fluke meters also carry a safety notice of their own. The notice for the 8x V series says that a meter in the affected serial range “may result in a non-hazardous voltage reading when hazardous voltage is present.” That warning is about confirming that hazardous voltage is absent, which this guide does not cover, but it is a reason to check your model’s notices before you rely on any reading.
Fluke’s safety guide puts the principle plainly: “Working with electricity always carries a risk.” It asks users to know those hazards and take precautions before any measurement, and it names transient overvoltage and arc flashes among them. That is why the steps below start with the cell’s condition and the meter’s rating, not with the probes.
How we chose
We chose the sources by job. The meter steps come from a Fluke guide on DC voltage, because a meter maker sets out each step in order and names the jacks and leads. That guide also lists batteries among the DC components that need accurate readings. The rules for signs of damage and what to do next come from public bodies and universities that describe lithium battery hazards in plain words: the EPA, OSHA, the University of Vermont, MIT and North Carolina State. The EPA tip sheet is written for organizations that collect batteries, so this guide draws only on its warning-sign and fire-risk statements. The cell values come from one datasheet. No retailer listing supports any procedure or safety claim here.
Every source was opened with curl on 2026-10-22, and every quoted sentence was checked against the text of the page it came from. A page that returned 403 or a connection error was not counted. The method is the simplest one the sources support: one meter setting, two leads and one reading. We did not choose a method for a specific meter model, because the sources we opened do not name one.
Before you start
Inspect the cell
The EPA tip sheet says that signs of battery damage “may include bulging or swelling, odors, excess heat, smoke,” as well as corrosion, leaking and odd noises. The University of Vermont lists swelling or bulging, overheating, and cracked or damaged cells under the heading “Stop Using the Battery Immediately.” MIT’s lithium-ion guidance adds that “Battery damage may not always be visible,” so a cell that looks clean can still be unsafe. The EPA tip sheet also says that defective batteries “can produce a dangerous evolution of fire, heat or short-circuit.” MIT lists a cell that changes shape, develops heat or gives off an unusual smell as a reason to disconnect it immediately, during operation or charging.
If you see any of these signs, do not measure the cell. North Carolina State’s guidance says to “Do not use or charge the battery” and to isolate it from flammable materials. MIT says to “Never use and promptly dispose of damaged or puffy batteries.” Follow the manufacturer’s instructions and your local rules, and do not place a damaged cell in an e-waste cart. North Carolina State adds that a damaged cell should not be transported or disposed of without direction from its environmental health and safety office.
Check the meter
Fluke’s safety guide tells users to check that a meter carries the appropriate CAT rating for the work, and to pick one rated for the highest category they might encounter. Find the rating near the input jacks or in the manual. If your meter is a Fluke 8x V series model, check its serial number against the safety notice before you rely on any reading.
Set the cell aside
Take the cell out of its device and make sure it is not connected to a charger. This guide’s scope is a cell that is out of its device and not charging. Do not open, short or disassemble the cell.
Charging, opening or disassembling a cell, shorting a cell, testing a damaged, swollen or hot cell, and large lithium packs such as e-bike, power-tool or vehicle packs are out of scope for this guide.
What you need
- A digital multimeter with a DC voltage position, marked with the DC symbol on the dial.
- Two test leads, one black and one red.
- The cell’s datasheet or the manufacturer’s manual, for the nominal voltage.
Step by step: measure the cell’s DC voltage
The steps below follow the order in Fluke’s DC voltage guide. Each one is a step the guide describes, with no extra procedure added.
- Step 1: Turn the dial to DC voltage. Fluke’s guide says, “If uncertain of which to choose, start with dc voltage, which handles higher voltage.”
- Step 2: Insert the black lead into the COM jack.
- Step 3: Insert the red lead into the jack marked V, not A. Fluke’s guide treats a red lead in the wrong jack as a common technician mistake.
- Step 4: Touch the black lead to the cell’s negative terminal and the red lead to its positive terminal. Fluke describes this as connecting “the black to the negative polarity test point” and the red to the positive test point.
- Step 5: Read the display. Most modern meters detect polarity, so a minus sign shows that the leads sit on the opposite terminals from the ones the meter expects. Swap the leads and read again.
- Step 6: When you finish, remove the probes in reverse order: red first, then black.
Reading the result
Put the reading next to the datasheet’s figures. The Panasonic NCR18650B datasheet, as copied on a TI community forum, lists a nominal voltage of 3.6 V. Its discharge test ends at a 2.50 V cut-off at 25 °C. The table shows what that copy does and does not give.
| Item | What the datasheet copy says |
|---|---|
| Chemistry | Lithium Ion (title of the copy) |
| Nominal voltage | 3.6 V |
| Discharge test end point | 2.50 V cut-off, constant current 1C, at 25 °C |
| Voltage-to-charge chart | Not stated |
| Meaning of a reading below 2.50 V in use | Not stated |
The 2.50 V figure is the end point of that copy’s discharge test. The copy does not present it as a warning level for a cell in use. The copy also says its data “is for descriptive purposes only,” so read it as reference data for that cell, not as a guarantee.
Use the datasheet for the cell in your hand. MIT’s guidance points to the manufacturer manual “for details on the battery you are using.” Because the copy describes one cell, its figures do not carry over automatically to another cell. Fluke’s guide makes the same general point for DC readings: check the manufacturer’s specifications for the values that apply.
Fluke’s DC guide adds a caution: for DC, “even small variations may indicate trouble,” and how much variation is acceptable depends on the application. A reading near 3.6 V matches the nominal figure in that copy. A reading well away from it is a reason to check the label, the datasheet and the meter, not a diagnosis. The sources we opened do not say what an off-nominal reading means for a cell in use.
Common mistakes
- Using the wrong jack. Fluke’s guide calls it a common technician mistake to put the red lead in the A or mA input instead of the V jack.
- Reversing the leads on an analog meter. Fluke says the red lead should always touch a positive terminal and the black lead a negative one on an analog meter, because otherwise the meter can be damaged.
- Measuring a cell that already shows damage. The EPA notes that some defects “may not be visible upon inspection,” so a clean look is not proof of a sound cell.
- Treating a datasheet figure as a guarantee. The copy says its data is for descriptive purposes only.
- Taking the cell apart to look inside. A cell that is opened has left the scope of this guide.
Frequently asked questions
Can I test a lithium battery while it is still in its device?
This guide does not cover that. Its scope is a cell out of its device and not charging, and the sources we opened give no procedure for measuring in place.
What voltage should a lithium cell read?
The Panasonic copy lists a nominal voltage of 3.6 V. It gives no voltage-to-charge chart, so a single reading cannot be turned into a percentage using these sources.
Why does the display show a minus sign?
The meter is telling you that the probes are on the opposite terminals from the ones it expects. Swap the leads and read again, as Step 5 describes.
What if the cell is swollen or hot?
Stop. The University of Vermont lists swelling and overheating as warning signs to stop using the battery, and North Carolina State says not to use or charge a damaged battery. Follow the manufacturer’s instructions and your local disposal rules.
Can a multimeter tell me how much charge is left?
The sources we opened do not say so. The datasheet copy lists a nominal voltage and a discharge test end point, and nothing that links a reading to the charge that remains.
Is my multimeter safe for mains work?
Mains work is outside this guide. A meter’s CAT rating has to suit the circuit, and this guide names no meter model, so it gives no rating for yours. Read the rating from the listing or the manual before any work near mains.
Bottom line
Measure only an undamaged cell that is out of its device and not charging, with the meter on DC voltage and the leads in the COM and V jacks. Compare the reading with the datasheet’s nominal figure, and stop at any swelling, heat or damage.
For more on the meter itself, see the guide to using a voltmeter. For meters chosen for battery checks, see the battery voltage tester roundup.
Sources
- https://www.fluke.com/en-us/learn/blog/digital-multimeters/how-to-measure-dc-voltage-with-a-digital-multimeter (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://fluke.com/en-us/learn/blog/safety/multimeter-guide (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://content.fluke.com/pdf/catalog/catalog-eng/files/assets/basic-html/page12.html (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://www.fluke.com/en-us/support/safety-notices/8x-v-safety-notice (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://www.epa.gov/system/files/documents/2026-05/collecting_household_small_format_damaged_and_defective_batteries.pdf (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://www.osha.gov/electrical (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910.333 (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://www.uvm.edu/safety/battery-safety (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://ehs.mit.edu/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/Lithium_Battery_Safety_Guidance.pdf (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://recycling.ncsu.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/33/2026/02/Lithium-Ion-Disposal-Guidance-2026.pdf (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://e2e.ti.com/cfs-file/__key/communityserver-discussions-components-files/196/Panasonic-NCR18650B-datasheet.pdf (opened 2026-10-22)
- https://manual.hioki.com/en/CM4001/manual/introduction/about_measurement_category.html (opened 2026-10-22)
What we could not verify
The sources we opened do not cover the items below, and this guide does not fill those gaps.
- A voltage-to-charge chart or a remaining-capacity figure for the cell in the datasheet copy.
- Nominal voltages for lithium chemistries other than the one in that copy.
- Voltage ranges for small packs. No pack figure is stated here.
- A CAT rating for any meter model, since the sources name none.
- What a reading below 2.50 V means for a cell in use.
- A licensing requirement for panel or service work. OSHA limits work on energized parts to qualified persons, and the sources do not define licensing.
The datasheet copy is dated by its copyright line to 2012 and is hosted on a TI community forum, not on the manufacturer’s site. Newer figures may exist, and the sources we opened do not say whether this copy’s figures still apply to current cells.






