Several generic digital testers with different form factors.

Multi Digital Tester: 4 Digital Multimeters Compared

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

A digital multi-tester is a handheld multimeter that reads voltage, current and resistance on one display. Four listings in our research pool are handheld multimeters; the rest are automotive test lights, a pH kit, a battery tester, an insulation tester and a soil meter. This guide compares the four on what their listings state.

Quick answer: the TESMEN TM-510 lists the widest AC and DC voltage span, from 0.8 to 600 volts, and True RMS, but it cannot measure current. The AstroAI AM33D lists DC current up to 10 amps and stated voltage ranges. The ZMIWNIED FS899L lists True RMS with a 6000-count display and CAT ratings, and the LJPXHHU XL830L lists the functions without a range.

The four multimeters at a glance

Multimeter Display (as listed) Voltage (as listed) Current (as listed)
AstroAI AM33D (B01ISAMUA6) 2000 counts, backlit DC 200 mV to 600 volts; AC 200 and 600 volts DC up to 10 amps
LJPXHHU XL830L (B0CXM242J1) 2000 counts, 2.7-inch backlit Range not stated DC current, range not stated
ZMIWNIED FS899L (B0GWL4KVZM) 6000 counts, 4.8-inch color Range not stated; CAT III 1000 V, CAT IV 600 V Range not stated
TESMEN TM-510 (B0BLZ7GN2X) 4000 counts 0.8 to 600 volts, AC and DC Cannot measure current

How we chose these four

We kept a listing when its title, specs or bullets describe a handheld digital multimeter with AC and DC voltage functions. The listing data for all four was checked on 11 October 2026. Nothing in this guide reports personal use of any meter.

  • Left out: the WINAMOO and JASTIND automotive test lights, the APERA PC60 water-quality kit, the ANCEL BA101 battery tester, the Fluke 1507 insulation tester and the soil moisture meter. None of them is a multimeter for general electrical checks.
  • Conflicts: the AstroAI listing gives two figures that do not agree on sampling speed, count and battery type, and we show both where they appear.

1. AstroAI AM33D Digital Multimeter

The specs give a 2000-count display, DC voltage ranges of 200 mV, 2 V, 20 V, 200 V and 600 V, AC voltage ranges of 200 V and 600 V, and DC current ranges of 200 microamps, 200 mA and 10 A. The specs also give a resistance range from 200 ohms to 200 kilohms, and 20 megohms (checked 2026-10-11).

The listing conflicts with itself. The specs give 2000 counts and a sampling speed of 3 times per second. One bullet gives 1999 counts and 2 times per second. The specs list 2 AAA batteries in the power field, and the included components list a 9V battery. The specs give a CAT II 600 V and CAT III 300 V rating and a 3-year warranty.

Check the AstroAI AM33D on Amazon

2. LJPXHHU XL830L Digital Multimeter

The title states a 2000-count display and a functions list of AC and DC voltage, DC current, resistance, continuity, diode and battery testing. The bullets state a 2.7-inch backlit LCD and a fold-out stand, so the meter can be held or set on a bench (checked 2026-10-11).

The listing gives no voltage or current range in its specs or bullets, so its ranges cannot be compared with the others. The listing states a 2-year quality guarantee and a 9V battery in the box. It gives a weight of 166 g and a size of 5.51 by 2.56 by 1.18 inches.

Check the LJPXHHU XL830L on Amazon

3. ZMIWNIED FS899L 6000 Count Digital Multimeter

The title and bullets state True RMS, a 6000-count display and auto-ranging AC and DC voltage. The specs give CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V ratings, and the bullets add dual ceramic fuses and overload protection (checked 2026-10-11).

The bullets describe a 4.8-inch color screen with a built-in flashlight, USB-C charging with a 2-hour charge time, and capacitance, continuity, frequency and NCV functions. The specs and bullets do not give a voltage or current range, so the ranges for this meter cannot be stated.

Check the ZMIWNIED FS899L on Amazon

4. TESMEN TM-510 Digital Multimeter

The specs give a 4000-count display and a measurable voltage range of 0.8 to 600 volts, with AC and DC accuracy stated for that range. The listing gives a frequency response of 40 Hz to 1 kHz True RMS, and a CAT II 600 V rating (checked 2026-10-11).

The listing states a non-contact voltage function with a visual and audible alarm, and an auto mode that switches between measurement tasks. It says the meter cannot measure current. The specs give a weight of 0.1 kg and the package includes two AAA batteries, two test leads and a storage bag.

Check the TESMEN TM-510 on Amazon

Worked example: which meter reads a 12.6-volt battery and a 120-volt outlet?

Take two checks: a 12.6-volt car battery and a 120-volt household outlet. The TESMEN’s listed range of 0.8 to 600 volts covers both, though it reads DC and AC with the same range. On the AstroAI, a 12.6-volt battery sits on its 20-volt DC range and uses 63 percent of the scale. The same battery on the 200-volt range would use 6.3 percent, so the reading would show fewer steps. For the 120-volt outlet, the AstroAI’s 200-volt AC range uses 60 percent of the scale. The LJPXHHU and ZMIWNIED listings state no range, so this check cannot be made from their listings.

What the listings do not say

None of the four listings gives an independent figure for how its readings compare with a reference meter. The AstroAI listing gives conflicting counts, sampling speeds and battery types. The LJPXHHU and ZMIWNIED listings do not state a voltage or current range, and the TESMEN listing states no current function. The listings do not say how each meter handles a fuse failure in the field, beyond the fuse ratings in the AstroAI specs.

Frequently asked questions

Which of these meters measures current?

The AstroAI AM33D states DC current ranges up to 10 amps. The LJPXHHU listing states DC current without a range, and the ZMIWNIED listing states current measurement in its bullets without a range. The TESMEN TM-510 cannot measure current.

Which meter gives the widest stated voltage range?

The TESMEN TM-510 states a range of 0.8 to 600 volts for AC and DC. The AstroAI AM33D states DC ranges from 200 mV to 600 volts and AC ranges of 200 and 600 volts. The LJPXHHU and ZMIWNIED listings state no range.

Does the TESMEN meter have True RMS?

Yes. The listing states a frequency response of 40 Hz to 1 kHz True RMS. The ZMIWNIED FS899L title also states True RMS, and the AstroAI and LJPXHHU listings do not state it.

What battery does each meter need?

The AstroAI listing conflicts, giving 2 AAA batteries in the power field and a 9V battery in its included components. The LJPXHHU listing includes a 9V battery. The TESMEN listing includes 2 AAA batteries. The ZMIWNIED listing gives USB-C charging.

Conclusion

For the widest voltage range in this set, the TESMEN TM-510 states 0.8 to 600 volts, though it cannot measure current. For current as well as voltage, the AstroAI AM33D states a 10-amp DC range, and its listing conflicts on counts and batteries. The ZMIWNIED FS899L states True RMS and CAT ratings but no range. Check the stated range against your voltage before you buy.

For more on handheld meters, see best hand held digital multimeter, best multi meters, and best auto ranging digital multimeter.

AstroAI AM33D on Amazon · LJPXHHU XL830L on Amazon · ZMIWNIED FS899L on Amazon · TESMEN TM-510 on Amazon

Similar Posts