Best Mini Multimeter

Best Mini Multimeter

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

The best mini multimeter is the smallest one whose listing still states a CAT rating, a fuse or protection claim and the functions you need. Work on mains circuits can kill, so match the meter’s CAT rating to the circuit, and leave panel and service-entrance work to a licensed electrician. Mini meters come in three shapes: pen, card and mini clamp. This guide compares eight of them using only what each listing states, and it says where a listing is silent.

Quick answer

  • For the most stated data in a pen body, read the UNI-T pen listing: 6000 counts, true RMS, CAT III 600V and CAT IV 300V.
  • For a card-style body with a CAT II line, read the ALLOSUN EM3081 listing.
  • For a mini clamp, the UNI-T UT210D listing states an 18mm jaw, DC current from 0.1mA to 100A in its title and CAT III 600V.
  • For a longer warranty, the AUTOOL DM202 states 3 years, though its listing names no CAT rating.
  • A mini meter with no stated CAT rating belongs with batteries and low-voltage electronics, not outlets.

Three shapes of “mini”

Pen meters put the display and the probe tip in one handheld body. They are quick to use and easy to carry, but they usually have one lead, so every reading is a one-hand job plus a lead. The UNI-T pen, the ALLOSUN EM3218A and the Karlak A3009 are pen-type in this research set.

Card meters are flat. The ALLOSUN EM3081 listing says it is the same size as a business card, with the test leads hidden inside the lid. The ZIBOO 101 and LINXINO DM202 are compact bodies of the ordinary kind.

Mini clamps such as the UNI-T UT210D measure current without breaking the circuit. The listing says it measures DC current as low as 0.1mA, which many clamps cannot do, and the title states a range up to 100A.

Fluke’s category table puts single-phase receptacle loads in CAT II, branch circuits and panel-fed devices in CAT III, and the service entrance in CAT IV. Fluke also says to choose a tool rated for the highest category you could potentially use it in, with a voltage rating that matches or exceeds the circuit. Tester.co.uk adds that voltage ratings compare directly only within one category. That matters for pens, because the UNI-T pen listing states two categories at once: CAT III 600V and CAT IV 300V. Read as that source reads it, they are different claims at different voltages. See our explainer on digital multimeter meaning for the other terms.

Comparison table

Every cell comes from the listing. “Not stated” means the title, bullets and specification lines do not say.

Meter Shape Counts True RMS CAT rating stated Weight stated Warranty stated
UNI-T pen Pen 6000 Yes CAT III 600V, CAT IV 300V 6.35 ounces Not stated
Extech EX330 Mini with holster 4000 Not stated Not stated 0.28 kg 1 year parts and labor
ZIBOO 101 Pocket 4000 Yes CAT II 600V 0.05 kg Not stated
LINXINO DM202 Mini 4000 Yes CAT III 600V 7.04 ounces 3 years main unit
AUTOOL DM202 Mini 4000 Yes Not stated Not stated 3 years
ALLOSUN EM3218A Pen Not stated Yes Not stated 3.84 ounces 1 year
ALLOSUN EM3081 Card Not stated Not stated CAT II 0.1 kg Not stated
UNI-T UT210D Mini clamp Not stated Yes CAT III 600V 170 g Not stated

Two calculations from the table

First, weight on one scale. Listings mix grams, kilograms and ounces. Using 1 ounce as 28.35 g, the UNI-T pen at 6.35 ounces is 6.35 x 28.35 is 180.0 g, the ALLOSUN EM3218A at 3.84 ounces is 3.84 x 28.35 is 108.9 g, and the LINXINO DM202 at 7.04 ounces is 7.04 x 28.35 is 199.6 g. On the stated numbers, the lightest is the ZIBOO 101 at 50 g, then the ALLOSUN EM3081 at 100 g, then the ALLOSUN EM3218A near 109 g, and the heaviest is the Extech EX330 at 280 g.

Second, the capacitance ranges. The UNI-T pen lists 60mF as its top capacitance range, which is 60000 uF. The ZIBOO 101 lists 4000uF. Using the ratio of the two, 60000 / 4000 is 15, so the UNI-T pen’s stated top range is 15 times the ZIBOO’s. For a motor-run or start capacitor check that gap can decide which listing even applies, and neither listing says the meter is meant for that job.

The eight picks

1. UNI-T Mini Pen Multimeter, AC DC 600V Pen-Type Meter True RMS Small NCV (Most data in a pen body)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Safety Class: CAT III 600V/CAT IV 300V
  • Display Bits: 6000 Counts
  • Item Weight: 6.35 ounces

Pros

  • The listing states 6000 counts, true RMS and auto-ranging
  • The listing states a safety class of CAT III 600V and CAT IV 300V
  • The listing gives capacitance to 60mF and resistance to 60 megohms

Cons

  • The listing states no current range
  • The box holds one test lead and one AAA battery

Best for: A reader who wants a pen body with published ranges
Skip if: You need to measure amps

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. Extech EX330 Autoranging Mini Multimeter, 12-Function, NCV, Type K (Rugged mini with holster and probe)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Item Weight: 0.28 kg
  • Warranty Description: 1 year parts and labor
  • Item Dimensions: 5.7 x 1.6 x 2.9 inches

Pros

  • The listing states a 4000-count display with one-inch digits
  • The listing states a rubber holster, a tilt stand and a Type K probe
  • The listing states 1 year of parts and labor

Cons

  • The listing states UL and no CAT category
  • The listing does not state true RMS or a fuse rating

Best for: A reader who wants a rugged mini with temperature measurement
Skip if: You need a stated CAT rating or a card-sized body

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. 101 Mini Digital Multimeter, TRMS 4000 Counts Auto-Ranging Pocket Voltmeter, Multi Tester for AC/DC (True RMS with a battery test)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Item Weight: 0.05 kg
  • Included Components: Multimeter*1, Test Lead*1

Pros

  • The listing states TRMS, 4000 counts and CAT II 600V
  • The listing states a 1.5V and 9V battery test function
  • The listing states 130 x 66 x 33 mm at 0.05 kg

Cons

  • The listing states only one test lead
  • The listing states AC and DC current only to 400mA

Best for: A reader who wants true RMS and a household battery check
Skip if: You need amps beyond 400mA

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. DM202 Mini Multimeter, 4000 Counts True RMS Auto-Ranging, NCV (CAT III 600V with 3-year warranty)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Specification Met: CE, Cat Iii 600v, RoHS
  • Item Weight: 7.04 ounces

Pros

  • The listing states CAT III 600V and true RMS at 4000 counts
  • The listing states 3 years on the main unit and 1 year on accessories
  • The listing states NCV, data hold and a 15-minute auto power-off

Cons

  • The listed dimensions read oddly, with 12.3 inches on one axis
  • The included components line names only the meter

Best for: A reader who wants a stated CAT III line and a long warranty
Skip if: You want leads confirmed in the box

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. AUTOOL DM202 Mini Digital Multimeter, Auto-Ranging 4000 Counts True RMS NCV Non-Contact Voltage (3-year warranty, no CAT line)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Warranty Description: 3 Year Warranty Service
  • Included Components: Professional Battery System Tester

Pros

  • The listing states a 3 year warranty service
  • The listing states true RMS, 4000 counts and 600V AC and DC voltage
  • The listing states NCV and a backlight display

Cons

  • The listing states no CAT rating and no weight
  • The included components line reads Professional Battery System Tester

Best for: A reader comparing a second DM202 listing on warranty
Skip if: You need a stated CAT category

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. ALLOSUN Mini True RMS Digital Multimeter, Data Hold Backlight, NCV (Light pen with two AAA batteries)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Item Weight: 3.84 ounces
  • Warranty Description: 1 Year
  • Included Components: 1XBlack Test Lead; 1X Manual User

Pros

  • The listing states true RMS and a double-insulated body
  • The listing states a 1 year warranty and 3.84 ounces
  • The listing states manual modes for diode, logic and live wire

Cons

  • The listing states no CAT rating and no counts
  • The box lists one black test lead and a manual

Best for: A reader who wants a light pen meter with a warranty
Skip if: You need figures to compare with other meters

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

7. ALLOSUN Mini Digital Multimeter Amp Ohm Volt Diode Continuity Tester EM3081 (Business-card-sized body)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Specification Met: Catii, Ce
  • Item Weight: 0.1 kg
  • Item Dimensions: 5.67 x 2.2 x 0.91 inches

Pros

  • The listing states the body is the size of a business card
  • The listing states leads hidden inside the lid
  • The listing states a CAT II line and 5.67 x 2.2 x 0.91 inches

Cons

  • The CAT II line gives no voltage
  • The listing states no counts, no true RMS and no fuse rating

Best for: A reader who wants the smallest body with a category line
Skip if: You need a stated voltage rating or true RMS

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

8. UNI-T UT210D Mini Clamp Meter, AC/DC Current Tester with Peak Hold & Data Hold, Measures DC Current (Mini clamp with low DC current)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-22):

  • Item Weight: 170 g
  • Specification Met: CE, Cetlus, UKCA
  • Included Components: Batteries, test leadspoint contact temperature probe

Pros

  • The listing states an 18mm jaw and DC current from 0.1mA
  • The listing states true RMS, peak hold and CAT III 600V
  • The listing includes test leads, a K-type probe and batteries

Cons

  • The 18mm jaw limits the conductors that fit
  • The listing states no counts

Best for: A reader who wants current without opening a circuit
Skip if: You want a pen or card body

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

UNI-T pen (UT118C): the most data in a pen

Best for: a reader who wants a pen body and published ranges. Strengths from the listing: 6000 counts, true RMS, auto-ranging, AC and DC voltage in three ranges to 600.0V, resistance from 600 ohms to 60 megohms, capacitance from 600nF to 60mF, frequency to 999.9kHz, duty cycle, diode and continuity auto-recognition, NCV and live detection, a high voltage alarm, a backlight and a flashlight. The safety class line reads CAT III 600V and CAT IV 300V, and the certifications line reads CE, cETLus and ROHS. The listing says the gold-plated test lead carries the CAT III 600V and CAT IV 300V rating. The box holds one test lead, one AAA battery and a manual. Limits: the listing states no current range, and only one lead is stated. Skip if you need amps.

Extech EX330: holster, tilt stand and a probe

Best for: a reader who wants a rugged mini with a temperature probe. Strengths: a 4000-count display with one-inch digits, auto-ranging, a non-contact voltage detector with an LED and beeper, AC and DC voltage and current, resistance, capacitance, frequency, Type K temperature with the included probe, a rubber holster, a tilt stand and 1 year of parts and labor. The stated body is 5.7 x 1.6 x 2.9 inches and the weight is 0.28 kg. Limits: the listing states UL and no CAT category, and it does not state true RMS or a fuse rating. Skip if you need a CAT line or a card-sized body.

ZIBOO 101: true RMS and a battery test

Best for: a reader who wants true RMS and a household battery check in a small body. Strengths: TRMS, 4000 counts, AC and DC voltage to 600V, AC and DC current to 400mA, resistance to 40 megohms, capacitance to 4000uF, a 1.5V and 9V battery test, NCV, a live-wire function and CAT II 600V with overload protection. It measures 130 x 66 x 33 mm and weighs 0.05 kg. Limits: one test lead is stated, and no fuse rating appears. Skip if you want amps beyond 400mA.

LINXINO DM202: CAT III 600V and a 3-year warranty

Best for: a reader who wants a stated CAT III line and a long warranty. Strengths: 4000 counts, true RMS, automatic identification of AC and DC voltage, resistance, continuity and current, NCV, data hold, a backlight, a flashlight, a 15-minute auto power-off, two AAA batteries and overload protection. The listing states CAT III 600V, 3 years on the main unit and 1 year on accessories. Limits: the included components line names only the meter, and the listed dimensions read oddly, with 12.3 inches on one axis. Skip if you want leads confirmed in the box.

AUTOOL DM202: the same name, a different listing

Best for: a reader comparing two listings with the DM202 name. Strengths: 4000 counts, true RMS, auto-ranging, 600V AC and DC voltage, NCV, a backlight, current and resistance measurement and a stated 3-year warranty. Limits: the listing states no CAT rating, no weight and no included leads, and its included components line reads “Professional Battery System Tester”, which does not describe a multimeter. Read that line against the picture before you buy. Skip if you need a stated CAT category.

ALLOSUN EM3218A: a pen with two AAA batteries

Best for: a reader who wants a light pen meter with a warranty. Strengths: automatic identification of voltage, resistance and continuity, manual modes for diode, logic, non-contact AC voltage and live wire, true RMS, data hold, a backlight, auto power-off, a low battery indicator, double insulation, a 1-year warranty and 3.84 ounces. The box lists one black test lead and a manual, and the power source is two AAA cells. Limits: the listing states no CAT rating, no counts and no ranges. Skip if you need figures to compare with another meter.

ALLOSUN EM3081: a business-card-sized body

Best for: a reader who wants the smallest body with a category line. Strengths: the listing says it measures DC and AC voltage, DC current, resistance, diode and continuity, that the leads hide inside the lid, and that the body is the size of a business card. The specification line reads CAT II and CE, and the stated dimensions are 5.67 x 2.2 x 0.91 inches at 0.1 kg. Limits: the listing gives no voltage with the CAT II line, no counts and no fuse rating. Skip if you need a stated voltage rating or true RMS.

UNI-T UT210D: a mini clamp with DC current

Best for: a reader who wants current without opening a circuit. Strengths: an 18mm jaw, DC current from 0.1mA, a title range up to 100A, peak hold, data hold, true RMS, voltage, resistance, capacitance, frequency, diode, NCV and a CAT III 600V rating. The box lists test leads, a K-type probe and batteries, and the weight is 170 g. Limits: the listing states a small jaw, so large conductors will not fit, and it states no counts. Skip if you want a pen or card body.

Listings left out of the cards

Four more listings were read. The allsun mini folding meter states manual ranging, no auto power-off, 130 g and dimensions of 5.51 x 2.95 x 1.97 inches, and its own bullet says it is not made for commercial use or large loads. The UNI-T UT116C is an SMD tester with tweezers that states DC voltage only to 36V, so it is a component tool and not a household meter. The Karlak A3009 pen states 6000 counts, voice broadcast and CE and RoHS marks, with no CAT rating and spelling errors in its bullets. The Mini VC921 listing holds one line and no data, so there is nothing to compare. Compare these with our pocket-size multimeter coverage for a wider field.

Which mini meter for which job

Match the job to what the listing states, not to the shape alone.

Batteries and small electronics. The ZIBOO 101 is the only mini listing here with a dedicated 1.5V and 9V battery test. The UNI-T pen lists capacitance and resistance ranges that suit electronics, and the UNI-T UT116C tweezers are built for surface-mount parts.

Appliance and outlet checks. Prefer a listing that states a CAT category, such as the LINXINO DM202, the UNI-T pen, the UNI-T UT210D or the ZIBOO 101. Our guide to non-contact voltage checkers explains why a detector alone is only a first look.

Current without breaking the circuit. Only the UNI-T UT210D is a clamp in this set. Its 18mm jaw is small, so it suits single conductors and a printed-circuit area more than thick cables.

Heat. The Extech EX330 ships with a Type K probe, and the UNI-T UT210D lists a K-type temperature probe in the box. No other mini listing here states a temperature probe in the box.

Carrying every day. The ZIBOO 101 (0.05 kg), the ALLOSUN EM3081 (0.1 kg) and the ALLOSUN EM3218A (3.84 ounces) are the lightest stated bodies.

How we chose

We read twelve listings that the scan kept for this query, dated 22 October 2026. A listing stayed if it described a handheld meter with a small body, whether pen, card or clamp, and gave enough text to quote. We favored a stated CAT category with a voltage, then stated true RMS, then stated weight and warranty. We left out the SMD tweezers, the folding manual-range meter and the listing with no data. We did not add a product that the research set did not hold, and we did not rank on the maker.

Buying checklist

  1. Read the CAT line first and compare voltages only within one category.
  2. Check where the CAT claim sits. The UNI-T pen listing puts it on the test lead as well as in the specification line.
  3. Count the leads in the box. Pen meters often ship one.
  4. Check the battery type: AAA, LR44 or rechargeable.
  5. Check the current range before you buy for amps. Most mini listings here give none.
  6. Check the warranty line.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Reading a 600V range as a 600V CAT rating. Several listings print the range and no category.
  • Comparing CAT IV 300V with CAT III 600V as if one number settled it.
  • Using a non-contact detector as proof that a circuit is dead; our guide to non-contact voltage checkers covers that limit.
  • Taking a clamp’s current range for a household panel check. A panel belongs to a licensed electrician.
  • Trusting an included components line that does not describe a multimeter, as with the AUTOOL listing.

What we could not verify

  • Accuracy beyond the figures printed in the listings.
  • A CAT category for the Extech EX330, AUTOOL DM202, ALLOSUN EM3218A and the voltage that goes with the ALLOSUN EM3081 CAT II line.
  • Counts for the ALLOSUN and UNI-T UT210D listings.
  • Fuse ratings for every listing in this guide.
  • Current ranges for the pen meters.
  • What the AUTOOL included components line actually describes.
  • Battery life on any listing.

FAQ

What is the best mini multimeter for a homeowner?

Pick by the CAT line. The LINXINO DM202 and the UNI-T UT210D state CAT III 600V, the ZIBOO 101 states CAT II 600V and the UNI-T pen states CAT III 600V and CAT IV 300V. Even so, a mini meter is for checks at outlets and appliances, not for panels.

Is a pen-style multimeter a good idea?

It is quick and light, but most pens here ship with one lead and give no current range. Use a pen for voltage, continuity and resistance. For current, use a clamp, as in the clamp meter and multimeter comparison.

Can a mini clamp read small DC currents?

The UNI-T UT210D listing says it measures DC current as low as 0.1mA. Many clamps do not, so read the listing before you assume it.

Does a mini meter need true RMS?

Not always. Fluke says an average-responding meter is a fair starting tool for near-sinusoidal home AC, and true RMS helps with distorted waveforms from LED bulbs and smart devices.

Are meters without a CAT rating safe for outlets?

The listing does not state a CAT rating for several of these, so do not treat them as suitable for mains. Tester.co.uk explains that the CAT number reflects the energy of transients in the circuit.

What else should I read before choosing?

See the auto-ranging multimeter guide and the hand held multimeter guide for wider comparisons.

Bottom line

Choose the shape for the job, then the CAT line, then the function list. A stated category with a voltage, true RMS and two leads in the box is the strongest combination in this research set. Keep unrated mini meters on batteries and low-voltage electronics.

Sources

Similar Posts