Best Coin Battery Tester: Four Listings and What Each States
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
The best coin battery tester is the one whose listing names your cell, states a voltage floor that fits what you need to read, and describes how it shows a result. Four of the six listings in our research set are battery testers for button or coin cells. The other two are off-type: a tire pressure gauge and a 12 V car battery tester. Button cells are small, easy to lose and sometimes lithium, so a damaged coin cell needs care before it goes into any tester. Inspect every coin cell first, and do not check one that leaks, swells or corrodes.
Quick answer
- If you want the widest named cell list, the Dlyfull B2 listing names the most cell codes, including CR2032, CR123A, CR2, CRV3, 2CR5 and CR-P2.
- If your cells are 1.5 V or 3 V button cells and you want a status readout, the Fabater listing is built for that range and shows good, low or needs-replacement states.
- The BT-168 two-piece set needs no battery of its own. Its listing says it is activated by the cell being checked, and it names button cells alongside AA, AAA, C, D and 9V.
- The JBT0010 is the least described. Its highlight names coin cells and CR batteries, but its bullets give no readout and no voltage range.
- The listings do not say which reading counts as weak on any of the four. A status is not a pass or fail mark.
Why a coin cell check depends on the cell name and the reference
A coin cell tester does one job: it reads a voltage across the two ends of the cell, and it turns that reading into a state. The reference point is the hard part. The Purdue Extension voltage sheet defines voltage this way: “Voltage potential can be measured and is the difference between two points, for example between the positive and negative ends of a battery.” A tester that shows only a bar or a needle has already made that comparison for you, but the listing has to say what the bar means. Where the listing gives no voltage behind its states, the state is only a label.
For the wider set of small-cell checks, the guide to battery tester for small batteries covers the cell names that show up across AA, AAA, C, D and 9V listings. So the first thing to read is the list of cell names. A tester built for AA cells will not tell you much about a coin cell, even if it has a readout. The listings in this set name different cells, so the list decides which one fits.
Cell names in each listing
The table counts only what each listing spells out. A blank cell means the listing does not name that cell, which is not the same as saying the tester cannot check it.
| Cell or size | JBT0010 | Fabater | BT-168 | Dlyfull B2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coin or button cell | “coin cells” in the highlight | “Button Cell Battery Tester” in the title; 1.5V and 3V | “1.5V button type” | “button cell batteries” in a bullet |
| CR batteries | “CR batteries” in the highlight | not stated | not stated | CR2032, CR123A, CR2, CRV3, 2CR5, CR-P2 |
| AA and AAA | not stated | not stated | named | named |
| C and D | not stated | not stated | named | named |
| 9V | not stated | not stated | named | named |
| N | not stated | not stated | not stated | named |
The B2 listing names twelve cell codes or sizes across its title, highlights and bullets, which is more than any other listing in this set. The Fabater and the BT-168 name fewer. The JBT0010 names only the categories “alkaline batteries, coin cells and CR batteries.”
What each listing says it shows
The Fabater listing describes a single-step use. Its bullets say to “Place the battery facing down in the correct size slot,” and that “the meter instantly displays the battery status.” The display shows whether the voltage is in a bad, weak or good state, and the bullets name “good, low, or needs replacement” as the three outcomes. The listing does not give the voltage at which each state begins.
The BT-168 listing uses an analog needle. Its bullets say the needle shows “good” in green, “low” in yellow and “replace/recharge” in red. It also says the tester “won’t directly detect the battery capacity precisely.” That sentence is the most honest limit in the set. The tester reads voltage, and the listing says it does not read capacity.
The Dlyfull B2 uses an LCD with bars. Its bullets say the screen “will accurately shows whether the battery is in poor, weak, or good condition of voltage.” That wording says what the screen shows, but it does not give a voltage for each bar. The listing also says the tester should not be powered by rechargeable batteries and should not be used to test rechargeable batteries.
The JBT0010 has four bullets. The first two say “Battery tester.” and give a model number, JBT0010. The other two give a country of origin and a package size. None of the bullets describes a readout, a voltage range or a cell test method. The only functional claim is in the highlight, which calls it a “Universal battery tester” for “alkaline batteries, coin cells and CR batteries.”
1. Battery Tester for AA AAA C D 9V, Button Cell & Household Batteries (Widest named cell list with a bar readout)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-23):
- Item Highlight: LCD Display Universal Battery Checker for CR2032 CR123A CR2 CRV3 2CR5 CRP2, 1x AAA Batteries Included
- Included Components: 1*B2 Battery Tester; 1*AAA Alkaline Batteries; Welcome Guide
- Minimum Operating Voltage: 1.5 volts
- Power Source: Battery Powered
Pros
- The highlights name CR2032, CR123A, CR2, CRV3, 2CR5 and CR-P2, plus AA, AAA, C, D and 9V
- The listing says it shows whether the battery is in poor, weak or good condition on a bar display
- The listing includes one AAA battery and an 18-month warranty
Cons
- The listing gives no voltage figure behind the poor, weak and good bars
- The listing says it should not be powered by rechargeable batteries or used to test them
Best for: Checking a mix of AA, AAA, C, D, 9V and coin cells that are not rechargeable
Skip if: You need a voltage number, or you mainly check rechargeable cells
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. Fabater Portable Button Cell Battery Tester 1.5V 3V Small Battery Checker with Crisp Screen (1.5V and 3V button cells with a status readout)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-23):
- Minimum Operating Voltage: 1.5 volts
- Power Source: Ac/DC
- Included Components: no
- Style Name: common
Pros
- The title and bullets name 1.5V and 3V button cell batteries
- The display shows good, low or needs replacement, and the listing says it is for watch batteries
- The bullets say to place the battery facing down in the correct size slot
Cons
- The listing gives no voltage at which each state begins
- The power source field reads Ac/DC and the included components field reads no, and the listing does not explain either
Best for: Watch batteries and other 1.5V or 3V button cells that need a quick status check
Skip if: You need AA, AAA, C, D or 9V cells, or a voltage number
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. 2Pcs Battery Tester for AA AAA C D 9V 1.5V Household Batteries (Two-piece set that needs no battery)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-23):
- Compatible Devices: AA, AAA, C, D, 1.5V, 9V, 1.5V button type batteries
- Minimum Operating Voltage: 1.15 volts
- Power Source: None (Activated By Tested Battery)
- Unit Count: 2 Count
Pros
- The listing says it is activated by the battery being checked and needs no battery of its own
- The listing names AA, AAA, C, D, 9V and 1.5V button type cells
- The needle shows good in green, low in yellow and replace or recharge in red
Cons
- The listing gives a minimum operating voltage of 1.15 volts and says it does not detect capacity precisely
- The listing gives no figure for what the needle shows below 1.15 volts
Best for: A small set of standard cells, where a needle state is enough
Skip if: You need a bar or digital readout, or a capacity figure
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. Battery Tester (Universal tester named for coin cells and CR batteries)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-23):
- Item Highlight: Universal battery tester with 3-year warranty for alkaline batteries, coin cells and CR batteries
- Warranty Description: 1 Year Limited Warranty
- Model: JBT0010
- Power Source: Battery Powered
Pros
- The highlight names alkaline batteries, coin cells and CR batteries as the cells it is built for
- The listing names a model number and a warranty field of 1 Year Limited Warranty
- The listing is a single unit with a stated battery power source
Cons
- The bullets give no readout, display type or voltage range
- The highlight says a 3-year warranty, which disagrees with the 1 Year Limited Warranty field
Best for: A basic universal check of coin cells and CR batteries when you do not need a readout figure
Skip if: You need a readout, a voltage range or a clear warranty term
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
The voltage figures each listing states
The four listings give different voltage figures, and they should not be compared as if they were one scale.
- The Fabater states a minimum operating voltage of 1.5 volts, and its title names 1.5V and 3V button cells.
- The BT-168 states a minimum operating voltage of 1.15 volts. Its power source field reads “None (Activated By Tested Battery),” so the tester draws its power from the cell itself.
- The Dlyfull B2 states a minimum operating voltage of 1.5 volts and is battery powered, with one AAA battery included.
- The JBT0010 gives no voltage figure in any field.
The BT-168 figure is the lowest floor of the group. A floor that is lower means the listing claims the tester can start reading a weaker cell. That is a stated figure, not a measured one, and the listing does not say what the BT-168 shows below 1.15 volts.
Battery safety for coin cells
Button cells need the same inspection as any other small cell, and the EPA sheet says so directly. Its figure caption reads: “Corrosion indicates damage in small format batteries such as button cell batteries.” The EPA sheet lists the signs of damage as “bulging or swelling, odors, excess heat, smoke, discoloration, corrosion, damaged wires, leaking and odd noises.” It also warns that some defects “may not be visible upon inspection,” so a clean-looking cell is not proof of a good one.
For lithium cells, the EPA sheet says damaged and defective lithium batteries carry “elevated fire risks,” and it asks that they be handled under special protocols. The Western Michigan University lithium-ion guidance gives the same kind of rule in plain terms: “Inspect batteries for damage before use and promptly dispose of damaged ones.” It also says “If leaking material is present, do not touch it.” WMU’s disposal section adds that exposed terminals should be taped to prevent short circuits. That guidance is written for lithium-ion cells in a university setting, so apply it to any lithium coin cell you find, not as a general rule for every button cell.
The Purdue battery safety sheet is written for lead-acid batteries, so it does not describe coin cells. Its general rules still apply in a limited way. It says: “Never touch both battery terminals with your bare hands at the same time!” and “Keep tools and other metallic objects away from uncovered batteries.” A coin cell is small enough that a metal tool or a loose clip can touch both terminals at once, so keep the tester’s contacts clear of anything else on the bench.
The EPA sheet also says to store damaged and defective batteries individually, bagged in non-flammable materials. A damaged coin cell found during a check goes into that storage, and the tester does not change the rule.
How to check a coin cell using the listings
These steps follow what the listings say and the damage rules above. The listings do not give a full procedure for each cell type, so treat any gap as a point to check with the seller or manual.
- Inspect the cell first. Stop at any sign of leaking, swelling, odor, heat or corrosion, and store the cell as a damaged item.
- Match the cell to the listing’s name list. For the B2, check the cell against the twelve names. For the Fabater, confirm the cell is a 1.5V or 3V button cell. For the BT-168, check that the cell is AA, AAA, C, D, 9V or a 1.5V button type. For the JBT0010, the highlight names coin cells and CR batteries, and no more.
- Keep rechargeable cells out of the B2 check, because the listing says the tester should not be used on them. The BT-168 and Fabater bullets refer to people who use “regular or rechargeable batteries,” but neither listing says it can check a rechargeable cell safely. Ask the seller before you check one.
- Place the cell in the tester the way the listing describes. The Fabater says to place the battery facing down in the correct size slot. The BT-168 says it is activated by the battery being checked, so the cell must make contact with the tester to read.
- Read the state the tester shows. The B2 gives bars, the BT-168 a needle, and the Fabater a display of good, low or needs replacement. Record the state. Do not treat it as a percentage of charge, because none of the listings gives one.
- Keep the check short. The BT-168 bullets say to “Keep test times as short as possible to avoid unnecessary battery drain.”
Listings without a card
- ETENWOLF T300 tire pressure gauge. It measures tire pressure, its listing gives a 3 to 200 PSI range, and it takes AAA batteries for its own power. It does not check a cell.
- MOTOPOWER MP0514A 12V car battery tester. It is built for vehicles with 12V batteries, and its specification gives a minimum of 4 volts DC and a range of 4 to 20V DC. It does not name coin cells, and its listing does not describe a cell check.
Neither product is a coin cell tester, so neither earns a card.
How we chose
We read all six records in the research set for this keyword, dated 2026-10-23. Each record was checked against three tests. The first asks whether the listing names a coin or button cell, or a small cell that a card in this post covers. The second asks whether the listing describes a battery check, either a condition readout or a voltage figure. The third asks whether the listing gives text we can quote.
Four records passed all three: the JBT0010, the Fabater, the BT-168 and the Dlyfull B2. The tire gauge and the car battery tester failed the first test. We did not add a product from outside the research record, and we did not remove one from it. The set has four relevant listings, so this is a short roundup. Four honest cards are better than a list padded with a tire gauge or a car tester.
What we could not verify
- The voltage behind each state. The Fabater and the Dlyfull B2 give states but no voltage for each state, and the BT-168 gives a needle zone but no voltage for each zone.
- What the BT-168 shows below its stated 1.15 volts, and how far the needle moves at that point.
- The JBT0010 warranty. Its highlight says “3-year warranty,” and its warranty field says “1 Year Limited Warranty.” The two figures disagree, and the research record does not say which one applies.
- The JBT0010 voltage range, display type and cell list beyond its highlight.
- What the Fabater power source field means. It reads “Ac/DC,” and the listing does not say how the tester gets power or whether it works from mains.
- Whether the Fabater or BT-168 can check a rechargeable coin cell. Their bullets mention rechargeable batteries as things people use, not as cells the tester can check.
- Accuracy. None of the four listings gives an accuracy figure for its readout.
- Whether any of the four covers lithium coin cells with a specific warning. None of the listings mentions one.
- A coin cell test method the sources support. The EPA, WMU and Purdue sheets cover damage, storage and general handling, not a method for checking a button cell.
FAQ
Which coin battery tester names the most cell types?
The Dlyfull B2 names the most. Its title and highlights list CR2032, CR123A, CR2, CRV3, 2CR5 and CRP2, and its bullets add AA, AAA, C, D, 9V and N. The listing also says it is good for “a wide variety of button cell batteries.” The other three listings name fewer cell codes, and none of them names CR2032 by code.
Can I check a rechargeable coin cell with these testers?
The Dlyfull B2 listing says no. It says the tester should not be powered by rechargeable batteries and should not be used to test them. The Fabater and BT-168 bullets mention rechargeable batteries, but neither listing says the tester can check them. Ask the seller before you check a rechargeable cell.
What does a bar or needle reading tell me?
It tells you the state the tester shows, not a voltage or a percentage of charge. The BT-168 listing says it “won’t directly detect the battery capacity precisely.” The other listings give states without voltage figures. A reading of low or weak is a signal to look more closely, not a verdict on the cell.
Is a leaking or corroded coin cell safe to check?
No. The EPA caption says corrosion indicates damage in button cell batteries, and the EPA sheet lists leaking, swelling and odors as signs of damage. The WMU guidance says that if leaking material is present, “do not touch it.” Store the cell as a damaged item and do not put it in a tester.
Can a car battery tester check a coin cell?
The MOTOPOWER listing does not describe a coin cell check. Its specification gives a minimum of 4 volts DC, and its range is 4 to 20V DC for vehicles with 12V batteries. A coin cell is a much smaller cell, and the listing does not name it. Use a coin cell tester for a coin cell.
Can a multimeter read a coin cell?
A multimeter can read the voltage across a coin cell, because voltage is the difference between two points. The Purdue sheet describes this as voltage between the positive and negative ends of a battery. A coin cell tester gives a state instead of a figure, so the listing decides which is more useful. For how a voltage check works, see how voltage testers work.
Bottom line
For the widest cell list, the Dlyfull B2 covers the most codes. For 1.5 V and 3 V button cells with a status readout, the Fabater is the closest fit. Inspect every coin cell first, stop at any leak, swelling or corrosion, and store the damaged cell separately. Read each state as a label, and check the listing’s cell list before you buy.
Sources
- https://www.epa.gov/system/files/documents/2026-05/collecting_household_small_format_damaged_and_defective_batteries.pdf
- https://wmich.edu/ehs/lithium-ion-battery-safety-guidance
- https://engineering.purdue.edu/Herrick/about/information/Safety/Batterysafety.pdf
- https://extension.purdue.edu/4-H/_docs/projects/electric/All-Levels-Voltage-Meter-Basics.pdf






