A clean editorial comparison scene showing generic 1ac ii voltalert options side by side.

1AC II VoltAlert Explained: Range, CAT Rating, Alternatives

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

The 1AC II VoltAlert is a pocket-sized non-contact voltage tester. You hold its tip near a cable, outlet or switch, and it beeps and glows when it senses AC voltage. Its listing states a detection range of 90 V to 1000 V AC and a CAT IV rating in the title. This guide explains those two figures and compares the Fluke with three other pen-style testers. Every figure comes from the listing data we hold, checked on 11 October 2026.

Quick answer: the Fluke 1AC II is the product the keyword names. If you need a pen that starts lower than 90 V, the listings for the Neoteck and the MXCOIRTP both state a 12 V starting range, and the Klein NCVT1P states 50 V. Check the range and the CAT rating on the product page before you buy.

The four pens at a glance

Tester Listed AC range Alert (as listed) CAT rating (as listed)
Fluke 1AC II VoltAlert (B000EJ332O) 90 V to 1000 V AC Red tip glow and beeper CAT IV (in the title)
Klein NCVT1P (B099SJ6469) 50 V to 1000 V AC Green ready LED; red flash and beep Not stated in our listing data
Neoteck Non Contact Voltage Detector (B01JYCVU2Q) 12 V to 1000 V AC LED and audible alarm CAT III 600 V (bullet)
MXCOIRTP Voltage Tester (B0D7LWBYVW) 12 V, 48 V and 70 V ranges, up to 1000 V AC Buzzer and detection light Not stated in our listing data

How we chose these four

We kept pen-style non-contact testers whose listing states an AC detection range. The Fluke is included because the keyword names it. The other three were the non-contact testers in the same listing pool. We did not test any of them, and nothing below reports personal use.

  • Range: the lowest and highest AC voltage the listing states.
  • Alert: how the listing says the tester signals voltage.
  • Rating: whether the listing states a CAT rating, and which one.

1. Fluke 1AC II VoltAlert (B000EJ332O)

The listing title describes the Fluke as a pocket-sized non-contact voltage tester with an audible beeper and a CAT IV rating, covering 90 V to 1000 V AC. The bullets say the tip glows red and a beeper sounds when voltage is detected, and that the tester runs a continuous self-test. One bullet gives two detection ranges, 90 V to 1000 V AC or 200 V to 1000 V AC, and the bullets we hold do not say how to switch between them. The listing gives its power source as alkaline batteries. Check the Fluke 1AC II on Amazon.

2. Klein Tools NCVT1P (B099SJ6469)

The Klein NCVT1P is a battery-powered non-contact pen with a listed range of 50 V to 1000 V AC. Its listing says a bright green LED shows the tester is working, and that it flashes red and beeps when voltage is detected. The bullets list cables, cords, circuit breakers, lighting fixtures, switches, non-tamper-resistant outlets and wires as places it can detect AC voltage. The listing does not state a CAT rating in the data we hold. Check the Klein NCVT1P on Amazon.

3. Neoteck Non Contact Voltage Detector (B01JYCVU2Q)

The Neoteck listing states a range of 12 V to 1000 V AC. Its bullets say the tester tells live and null wires apart by alarm sound level and LED, and that a flashlight is built in for outlets. One bullet carries a CE CAT III 600 V certificate line, which is the only rating we found in the Neoteck listing data. The same listing says the pen is not suitable for Christmas light testing. Check the Neoteck detector on Amazon.

4. MXCOIRTP Voltage Tester (B0D7LWBYVW)

The MXCOIRTP is listed with three AC ranges, 12 V, 48 V and 70 V up to 1000 V. The listing describes three sensitivity modes: the tester starts in low sensitivity with one buzz, and pressing the S button steps it up to a higher mode. A detection light and a tail flashlight are included, and the listing says the flashlight can serve as an emergency light. The listing data we hold does not state a CAT rating. Check the MXCOIRTP on Amazon.

Worked example: which pen starts lowest?

Take two jobs. For example, assume a 120 V outlet. That voltage sits above the 90 V floor of the Fluke and the 50 V floor of the Klein, so all four pens cover it, well below their 1000 V upper limits. Now assume a 12 V low-voltage fixture. That is below the Fluke and Klein floors, so only the Neoteck and the MXCOIRTP ranges start at 12 V. For a low-voltage job, the Fluke would not be the right pen on its stated figures.

What the listings do not say

None of the four listings compares how far away each pen detects voltage, so distance is not a basis for choosing here. The Klein and MXCOIRTP listings do not state a CAT rating in the data we hold, and the Fluke rating appears only in the title. A non-contact pen is a first check, not a proof that a circuit is dead. Check the pen on a known live source before and after each use, and confirm with the method the manufacturer’s manual describes.

Frequently asked questions

What does the 90 V to 1000 V AC range on the Fluke 1AC II mean?

The listing gives a detection range of 90 V to 1000 V AC, and one bullet also cites 200 V to 1000 V AC. A non-contact tester signals that AC voltage is present in that range. It does not give an exact reading.

Does the Fluke 1AC II have a CAT IV rating?

The Fluke listing title says CAT IV Rating. Of the other three listings, only the Neoteck states a rating in the data we hold, which is CAT III 600 V.

Which of these pens starts at the lowest voltage?

On the listed figures, the Neoteck and the MXCOIRTP both start at 12 V AC. The Klein starts at 50 V and the Fluke at 90 V.

Can a non-contact tester confirm that a wire is dead?

No. A quiet tester does not prove that a circuit is dead. Use the tester only as a first check, and confirm with a meter and the manufacturer’s instructions.

How current are these listing figures?

The listing data was checked on 11 October 2026. The figures are shown as the sellers state them, so confirm the range and rating on the product page before you buy.

Conclusion

The Fluke 1AC II is the pen the keyword names, and its listing gives a 90 V floor with a CAT IV rating in the title. If you need a pen that starts at 12 V, the Neoteck and MXCOIRTP listings state that range. The Klein sits between them at 50 V. Compare the range you need with the figures on each product page, and keep the tester close to hand for the first check.

For more on this kind of tester, see best non-contact voltage checker, best Fluke non-contact voltage tester, and how to use a non-contact voltage detector. For the Klein pen in more depth, see best Klein non-contact voltage detector.

Fluke 1AC II on Amazon · Klein NCVT1P on Amazon · Neoteck detector on Amazon · MXCOIRTP tester on Amazon

Similar Posts