How to Test a Battery Charger with a Multimeter
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How to test a battery charger with a multimeter comes down to measuring DC volts on the output side only: across the battery terminals while the charger runs and, for some designs, across the open clips. Work on mains circuits can kill, a meter’s CAT rating must suit the circuit it touches, and panel or service work belongs to a licensed electrician, so the plug, the cord and the inside of the charger stay off limits. A single reading proves little, because makers disagree on what a healthy charger shows.
Electrical safety first
A battery charger is plugged into mains power, and mains power can kill. This guide never touches the AC side. Do not probe the plug, the cord or the outlet, and do not open the case: Battery Tender’s manual says “Do not disassemble charger,” and it says to unplug the charger before any maintenance. Wall outlets, breaker panels and service wiring belong to a licensed electrician. Dakota Lithium’s troubleshooting list starts with the wall socket; that step is outside this guide.
The CAT rating on a meter says which circuits it was built for. Fluke’s Model 88 V manual describes CAT III as fixed installations such as distribution panels, feeders and short branch circuits, and CAT IV as the primary supply level, such as an electricity meter. Your meter’s listing or manual states its own rating; if the listing does not state a CAT rating, do not call the meter safe for household mains. The same manual says to use caution above 60 V dc, and a 12V charger output is far below that figure.
The output side still has hazards. Battery Tender’s manual says “Never allow clips to touch each other,” warns that batteries generate explosive gases, and says “A battery can produce a short-circuit current high enough to weld a ring” to metal, so remove rings, bracelets and watches. Yuasa’s manual says to wear eye protection, gloves and protective clothing, and to stop charging if the case becomes too hot to touch. Hybrid and electric vehicle packs are out of scope.
Quick answer
- Measure only DC volts, and only on the output side: at the battery terminals while charging, and at the open clips if your charger’s manual says it produces voltage there.
- A working charger pushes the battery voltage above its resting value. Odyssey says its AGM2 batteries must stay at or below 15.0 V while charging, and BU-403 puts the peak limit for a six-cell lead-acid battery between 13.80 and 14.70 V.
- A blank reading on open clips is normal for spark-free chargers, which wait to sense a battery. Dakota’s lithium charger, in contrast, should read about 14.4 V with the battery disconnected.
- Finish by disconnecting, resting the battery and checking that its resting voltage rose to the full-charge band.
Step 1: Match the charger to the battery
Read the charger’s label and manual first. Battery Tender’s manual says not to use the charger “unless battery voltage matches the output voltage rating of the charger,” and Yuasa’s charger manual says to determine the battery’s voltage by contacting the battery manufacturer and make sure it matches the charger’s output rating. Battery Tender’s manual lists lead-acid, AGM and lithium iron phosphate batteries only, so confirm that your charger lists your battery’s chemistry. If the charger and the battery do not match, the test below tells you nothing useful.
Step 2: Measure the battery before you connect anything
Set the meter to DC volts and read the battery with no charger attached. That number is your baseline, and it also predicts whether the charger will start. Battery Tender’s manual says its charger will not start below 2 V on a lead-acid battery or 4 V on a lithium iron phosphate battery, and that a 12-volt lead-acid battery under 9 V at rest is probably defective. Battle Born’s manual says many chargers must detect a voltage over 10 V to send a charge to its lithium battery, and a battery whose management system has disconnected for low voltage may not be sensed. For help choosing a meter for this, see our DC volt meter roundup and read the CAT rating from the listing.
Step 3: Connect with the charger off
Connect the clips with the charger switched off and unplugged. Yuasa’s manual says: “Unplug the charger, or turn it off before connecting or disconnecting the leads.” Battery Tender’s manual adds that the clips go on only after the charger is off and the AC cord is out of the outlet. Connect red to positive and black to negative as the charger’s manual describes, then plug in or switch on. Battery Tender’s manual describes four modes: qualification, bulk, absorption and float, with float held at a low constant voltage. Your meter will see the battery voltage move as the charger passes through them.
Step 4: Measure at the battery while it charges
Touch the red probe to the positive terminal and the black probe to the negative terminal. Do not touch the charger’s clips with the probes unless you are doing the open-clip test below. Compare what you see with the figure your battery maker publishes. The opened sources give these expectations.
| Source | Battery or charger | Reading it gives |
|---|---|---|
| Odyssey manual | AGM2 deep-cycle charging (its ODX-AGM31 and ODP-AGM31 example) | 14.1 to 14.7 V, never above 15.0 V |
| Odyssey manual | AGM2 float | 13.6 V recommended; trickle charge measured at the terminals 13.5 to 13.8 V |
| Yuasa 1 A charger manual | 12V lead-acid | Bulk charge at a constant maximum of 1 A until the battery reaches 14.4 V |
| Battery University BU-403 | Six-cell lead acid | Peak 2.30 to 2.45 V per cell, float 2.25 to 2.27 V per cell |
| Battle Born manual | 12V lithium | Absorption 14.2 to 14.6 V, float 13.4 to 13.8 V |
| Battery University BU-409b | Four-cell lithium iron phosphate | Maximum charge 14.6 V on a lithium charger or 14.4 V on a lead-acid charger |
The BU-403 figures convert to a 12V battery by multiplying by six cells, which is our own arithmetic: 2.30 × 6 = 13.80 V and 2.45 × 6 = 14.70 V for the peak, and 2.25 × 6 = 13.50 V and 2.27 × 6 = 13.62 V for float. Odyssey says “Some portable chargers exceed 15.0 volts, especially two-wheel garage chargers,” and that “charging voltages should be verified by measuring the charging voltage” while the current is falling from full output. Schumacher’s FAQ says charger readings above 14 V are normal, because batteries usually need at least 14.5 V to fully charge.
Step 5: Read the number in context
Temperature moves the correct charging voltage. BU-403 gives a coefficient of −3 mV per degree C per cell, and Odyssey recommends about 18 mV per battery per degree C from 25 °C. Six cells at 3 mV is 18 mV, so the two sources agree. For a charger set to 14.40 V at 25 °C (our assumption), our arithmetic gives 14.40 − (10 × 0.018) = 14.22 V at 35 °C and 14.40 + (20 × 0.018) = 14.76 V at 5 °C. A reading a few tenths of a volt from a published figure may be the temperature and not a fault.
The charge stage matters too. Epoch says a charger may hold a lithium pack at 14.2 to 14.6 V before the pack is truly full, and that the better sign is current tapering to a low level. The pages we opened give no procedure for measuring charger current with a multimeter in series, so this guide does not describe one. Fluke’s manual says to turn off circuit power before placing the meter in series and to check the meter’s fuses before measuring current, which is a reason to leave current to a purpose-built tool such as those in our DC current amp meter roundup.
The open-clip test: when it applies
Dakota Lithium’s manual says: “Check the DC voltage coming out of your charger while disconnected from the battery.” For its 12-volt chargers the target is 14.4 V within 1 V, which is our arithmetic of 13.4 to 15.4 V, and the manual says to stop using a charger that reads outside that range. A negative reading means the probes are on the wrong clips, or the charger’s polarity is reversed.
Spark-free chargers behave the opposite way. Battery Tender’s manual says its charger gives no output voltage until it senses at least 2 V from a lead-acid battery or 4 V from a lithium iron phosphate battery, with correct polarity, so probes on open clips read nothing and that is by design. Its blog gives 3 V, and Schumacher’s FAQ says its microprocessor chargers need 0.5 V.
| Source | What open clips should show | Voltage the charger needs from the battery |
|---|---|---|
| Dakota Lithium manual | About 14.4 V within 1 V | Not stated |
| Battery Tender manual | No output voltage | 2 V lead-acid, 4 V lithium iron phosphate |
| Battery Tender blog | No output voltage | 3 V |
| Schumacher FAQ | Not stated | 0.5 V for microprocessor chargers |
One cross-check follows from the figures. The top of Dakota’s tolerance, 15.4 V, is above the 15.0 V ceiling Odyssey gives for its AGM2 batteries, so a charger that passes one maker’s open-clip test could still be too high for another maker’s battery. Match the reading to the battery that is being charged.
Step 6: Disconnect, rest and verify
The charger passes if the battery ends up charged. Disconnect it, let the battery rest, and measure again. Yuasa says a fully charged conventional battery should read 12.6 V or higher after the charger has been disconnected for one to two hours, with AGM slightly higher, and Odyssey asks for at least four hours for its AGM2 batteries. Yuasa also says that with a deeply discharged battery, charge for 30 minutes and measure the open circuit voltage; if it has not increased, the battery must be replaced. Dakota’s manual says a working 12-volt lithium battery settles to about 13.4 to 13.6 V after a full charge, and a partial voltage after the charger says full points to a cell or battery management problem. For a dedicated tool, see our battery voltage tester roundup.
A quick check on charge rate
Yuasa’s rule is to divide the battery’s amp-hour rating by 10 for the charge current, and “Never exceed 3 amps when charging a motorcycle, or other small battery.” Yuasa’s example is a 14 Ah battery at 1.4 A. The other rows use our own example sizes.
| Battery size (assumed) | Rule | Charge current |
|---|---|---|
| 7 Ah | 7 ÷ 10 | 0.7 A |
| 14 Ah (Yuasa’s example) | 14 ÷ 10 | 1.4 A |
| 20 Ah | 20 ÷ 10 | 2.0 A |
| 40 Ah | 40 ÷ 10 | 4.0 A, which is above Yuasa’s 3 A limit for small batteries |
Battery Tender’s manual says its charger runs at 1.25 A and that a fully discharged 15 Ah battery takes approximately 8 hours to reach 80 percent. Our arithmetic at a constant 1.25 A is 15 × 0.80 ÷ 1.25 = 9.6 hours, so the manual’s figure is shorter than a constant-current calculation. The manual does not explain the gap.
What the readings can mean
| What you see | What the opened sources point to |
|---|---|
| Nothing at the clips, clips on a flat battery | Battery below the charger’s sensing voltage, wrong polarity or a loose clip (Battery Tender); a lithium battery in low-voltage disconnect (Battle Born) |
| Battery voltage equal to its resting value after power-up | No sign of charging; Yuasa says a charger must produce a higher voltage than the battery’s open circuit voltage for current to flow |
| Above 15.0 V on an AGM2 battery | Over Odyssey’s ceiling; stop and check the charger |
| Battery too hot to touch | Stop charging, per Yuasa, and let it cool |
Mistakes to avoid
- Probing the AC side. This guide does not cover it, and Battery Tender says not to disassemble the charger.
- Expecting a reading on every charger’s open clips. Spark-free designs stay blank until a battery is sensed.
- Judging a charger from one reading. The voltage moves with stage and temperature.
- Using one maker’s range for another maker’s battery. The 15.0 V ceiling is Odyssey’s, for its AGM2 batteries.
How we chose
This is a method guide, so no chargers were ranked. The steps and figures come from pages opened on 2026-10-21: manuals from Dakota Lithium, Battery Tender, Yuasa, Odyssey and Battle Born, Schumacher’s FAQ, Epoch Batteries, two Battery University articles and Fluke’s meter manual. Quoted sentences were matched against page text. Where makers disagree, such as on the sensing voltage, both figures are shown. The cell conversions, the temperature example, the tolerance range and the charge-time check are our own arithmetic with inputs listed.
What we could not verify: what the sources do not say
The opened pages do not state a CAT rating for your meter, give a procedure for measuring charger current with a multimeter, or give a voltage target for every charger design. Dakota’s open-clip figure belongs to its own chargers, and the Odyssey and Battle Born figures belong to those batteries. Battery Tender’s manual and blog differ on the sensing voltage, and none of the pages explains why. No source here covers testing the AC side, and this guide does not either.
Frequently asked questions
What voltage should a 12V charger show?
It depends on the charger and the stage. Dakota’s lithium charger should read about 14.4 V, Yuasa’s 1 A charger bulk-charges until the battery reaches 14.4 V, and BU-403 lists 13.80 to 14.70 V as the peak range for six lead-acid cells.
Why does my charger read zero on its clips?
Battery Tender’s manual says its charger gives no output voltage until it senses a battery with correct polarity, so a zero on open clips is normal for that design.
Can I test the charger without a battery?
Only if the manual says so. Dakota’s manual does for its chargers, while Battery Tender’s manual says its output clips must be on a battery first.
How long after charging should I measure the battery?
Yuasa gives one to two hours after the charger is disconnected, and Odyssey gives at least four hours for its AGM2 batteries.
Is a multimeter enough to condemn a charger?
No. A reading outside a published range is a reason to stop and contact the maker, as Dakota’s manual says, but the sources give no multimeter-only verdict.
Bottom line
Test only the DC output, compare the reading with your battery maker’s published range, and confirm the result by resting the battery and measuring again.
Sources
- https://dakotalithium.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/05/Dakota-Lithium-User-Manual.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- https://www.batterytender.com/cdn/shop/files/BT_2_4_Bank_Charger_Instruction_Manual_392-0453-R0_English_FRCA_Spanish.pdf?v=6540329622032471072 (opened 2026-10-21)
- https://www.batterytender.com/blogs/battery-tender-blog/why-your-battery-tender%C2%AE-product-has-no-output-voltage-understanding-spark-free-circuitry (opened 2026-10-21)
- https://www.schumacherelectric.com/faqs/ (opened 2026-10-21)
- https://www.odysseybattery.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/odyssey-installation-operation-and-maintenance-manual.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- http://www.yuasabatteries.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/TechManual.x78244.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- https://www.yuasabatteries.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/YUA1AMPCH-MANUAL-English.x57757.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- https://batteryuniversity.com/article/bu-403-charging-lead-acid (opened 2026-10-21)
- https://batteryuniversity.com/article/bu-409b-charging-lithium-iron-phosphate (opened 2026-10-21)
- https://battlebornbatteries.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/10/100Ah-12V-GC2-Standard-Battery-Manual_Rev022_7.8.25.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- https://www.epochbatteries.com/pages/lifepo4-battery-voltage-vs-percentage-which-should-you-trust (opened 2026-10-21)
- https://assets.fluke.com/manuals/88v_____umeng0100.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.






