Cable Insulation Testers Compared: 3 Megohmmeter Listings
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
This review compares three megohmmeter listings that are suited to cable insulation work. The source packet held many other listings, including multimeters, non-contact voltage testers, automotive circuit testers, and an IP camera tester, and those belong to other product types, so they are not ranked here. Insulation testing depends on the test voltage a unit applies and the resistance range it reads, and the three listings state these figures in different ways. The figures below come from the packet dated 2026-10-20 and were not checked against live product pages.
Quick answer
For a bench job that needs a stated test voltage in the high range, the Fluke 1507 and the RQG hand-crank unit both state 1000 V. The Fluke listing offers five selectable test voltages from 50 V to 1000 V and says it stops the insulation test when more than 30 volts is detected on a live circuit. The RQG listing gives a 0 to 1000 MΩ range with a stated accuracy class of 10 and needs no battery, since it is hand-cranked. The GOLDCHAMP listing shows the highest stated test voltages, 1000 V, 2500 V and 5000 V, but its bullets describe a different voltage range, so read its figures with care.
Comparison table
| Listing | ASIN | Test and range figures the listing states | Power, weight and other details |
|---|---|---|---|
| GOLDCHAMP Megohmmeter, Digital Insulation Resistance Tester (T0-TS58) | B0CPJ2S3V3 | Title: 1000 V, 2500 V and 5000 V; bullets: DC/AC voltage 10 to 600 V; resistance 0.1 MΩ to 20 GΩ | Battery powered; 1.76 pounds; 100 stored data sets; CE, IP 67 and UL listed |
| Fluke 1507 Digital Megohmmeter | B000X4O9WI | Test voltages 50 V, 100 V, 250 V, 500 V and 1000 V; maximum operating voltage 1000 V | Alkaline power; 1.1 pounds; 1-year warranty; live-circuit lockout above 30 V |
| RQG 1000 V Megohmmeter, hand crank (8287-1000/1000) | B0DT9CRCMV | Rated 1000 V; measuring range 0 to 1000 MΩ; accuracy class 10 (as stated) | Hand crank, no battery; 3.41 pounds; test leads included |
GOLDCHAMP Megohmmeter (T0-TS58 listing)
The listing title reads Megohmmeter, 1000V/2500V/5000V Digital Insulation Resistance Tester, which gives three test voltages. The highlights, however, describe an AC and DC voltage tester from 10 to 600 V and list DAR and PI, data storage, an LCD backlight, and a low-battery indicator. The first bullet gives a DC and AC voltage range of 10 to 600 V, an AC frequency of 40 to 70 Hz, and a resistance range of 0.1 MΩ to 20 GΩ. The title’s three test voltages and the bullet’s 10 to 600 V range are not the same kind of figure, and the listing does not explain how they relate.
The spec list gives battery power, a minimum operating voltage of 10 volts, an upper temperature rating of 40 °C, and a weight of 1.76 pounds. The bullets say the unit stores up to 100 data sets and that its LCD displays a maximum reading of 2000, with a backlight and a low-battery indicator.
See the GOLDCHAMP T0-TS58 listing on Amazon
Fluke 1507 Digital Megohmmeter
The Fluke title lists five test voltages, 50 V, 100 V, 250 V, 500 V and 1000 V, and the spec list gives a maximum operating voltage of 1000 volts. The listing names the compatible test leads as TL 224, and the bullets describe a remote test probe for repetitive or hard-to-reach testing. A live-circuit check is built in: the bullets say the insulation test is blocked if a voltage above 30 volts is detected, which adds a step before a test begins.
The bullets also say the unit is calibrated before shipment with a NIST-traceable calibration certificate and includes a large backlit display. The spec list gives alkaline power, a weight of 1.1 pounds, a warranty of one year, and an upper temperature rating of 55 °C. The listing states its measurement type as Ohmmeter. It does not state a resistance range in the bullets or the spec list.
Check the Fluke 1507 listing on Amazon
RQG 1000 V hand-crank megohmmeter
This unit is powered by a hand crank rather than a battery. Its bullets state a rated voltage of 1000 V, a measuring range of 0 to 1000 MΩ, and an accuracy class of 10. The bullets say the crank runs at a rated 120 RPM and that the internal gears reduce the effort needed, which the listing puts at up to 30 percent. The unit has a guard terminal for surface leakage, which the listing describes as useful on cables in humid conditions, and it ships with alligator-clip test leads.
The spec list gives a weight of 3.41 pounds, an upper temperature rating of 40 °C, and the standards UL and IEC. The listing describes an alloy shell and handles. The listing names cables, motors, and transformers among its uses. It does not state a battery life because the unit has no battery.
View the RQG hand-crank listing on Amazon
How this review chose its products
The packet held twelve general multimeter and tester listings and three megohmmeter listings. Only the three megohmmeters are used, because a cable insulation test needs a unit that applies a test voltage and reads a resistance range. The multimeters and voltage testers measure voltage or continuity, so they are a different product type and are not ranked here. The packet does not include a price or a rating for any listing, and this review does not add either. No unit was bought or used for this post.
Worked example: reading a listed test voltage and range together
The Fluke listing offers test voltages from 50 V to 1000 V in five steps, so its lowest step is one-twentieth of its highest (50 divided into 1000 gives 20). The RQG listing has a single rated voltage of 1000 V, which matches the top Fluke step. The GOLDCHAMP title gives three voltages, and its lowest title value, 1000 V, is the same as the RQG and the Fluke top step.
The GOLDCHAMP bullet gives a resistance range of 0.1 MΩ to 20 GΩ. Because 20 GΩ is 20,000 MΩ, the top of that range is 200,000 times the bottom (20,000 divided by 0.1). The RQG range of 0 to 1000 MΩ tops out at 1,000 MΩ, which is one-twentieth of the GOLDCHAMP top of 20 GΩ (1 GΩ against 20 GΩ). The Fluke listing states no resistance range at all, so the three listings cannot be placed on one range scale from the listing data.
What the listings do not say
None of the three listings states a test current or a short-circuit current for its insulation test. The Fluke listing gives a NIST-traceable calibration certificate, but the other two do not state a calibration certificate. The GOLDCHAMP listing names DAR and PI in its highlights, and it does not state the test time for those functions. The RQG accuracy class of 10 is given as a bullet and is not explained, so the listing does not say what the class means as a percentage.
Cable work also depends on how the cable is isolated and discharged before the test. None of the listings describes that procedure in its bullets. For more on insulation test equipment, see the best insulation resistance tester guide, the best megohmmeter tester guide and the insulation resistance test equipment guide.
Frequently asked questions
Which listing states a 1000 V test voltage?
All three listings include 1000 V. The Fluke listing lists it as its top test step, the RQG lists it as its rated voltage, and the GOLDCHAMP title lists it as its lowest of three title voltages.
What resistance range does the RQG unit state?
The bullets state a measuring range of 0 to 1000 MΩ and an accuracy class of 10.
Does the Fluke listing block a test on a live circuit?
Yes. The bullets say the insulation test is prevented if a voltage greater than 30 volts is detected.
Why does the GOLDCHAMP listing show two voltage figures?
The title gives 1000 V, 2500 V and 5000 V, while the bullets give a DC and AC voltage range of 10 to 600 V. The listing does not explain how the two figures relate.
Conclusion
Among the three megohmmeters in this packet, the Fluke 1507 states the most complete test-voltage set, with five steps and a live-circuit check. The RQG unit states a 0 to 1000 MΩ range and needs no battery. The GOLDCHAMP listing states the highest resistance top value, 20 GΩ, but also the most conflicting voltage figures. Check the stated numbers against the cables you test before you buy, and confirm any figure a listing leaves out.
Listing links
These links go to the three listings reviewed above.