Neoteck multimeter

Neoteck Multimeter Guide: 7 Clamps, Meters and Pens Compared

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Someone typing neoteck multimeter usually wants to know whether Neoteck’s clamp meters, pocket multimeters and voltage pens fit one electrical job, and whether the listing states enough to compare them. Neoteck lists clamp meters rated to 600A and 800A AC, pocket and pen meters with 2000 and 6000 counts, and voltage pens that reach 1000V AC. Several listings share bullet text, and some name a CAT category in the bullets but leave it out of the specification block. This guide sorts seven Neoteck records by what they measure, sets out the ranges each listing states, and names every conflict we found.

Quick answer

  • For AC and DC current on a large conductor, the CM-3002 clamp states 800A AC/DC current and a 26mm jaw. For a 600A AC clamp with a 1A low-current mode, the MY2610C is the alternative.
  • For a pocket meter with a stated 2000 µF capacitance range and a 200 kHz frequency range, the 8233D PRO is the record to read first. For a pen-style meter that reads AC and DC voltage, the FEXNTK182 is the closest match.
  • For outlets, switches and wires, the PM8908C is a 12V to 1000V AC pen that gives alarms and a light. The NTK139 adds a second sensitivity range and breakpoint finding.
  • The CAT wording varies: some records state CAT III 600V, one states CAT II 600V, and some state no category at all. Read the category on the record you buy, and leave mains work to a qualified person.

Neoteck records by what they measure

The seven records below come in three groups. Each entry uses only what the listing states, and each conflict is named where it appears.

Clamp meters for current

The CM-3002 record, model CM-3002, is a 6000-count TRMS clamp. Its bullets state AC and DC current up to 800A through a 26mm jaw, AC and DC voltage up to 600V, resistance, continuity, diode, capacitance and frequency, and NCV detection. The bullets describe a color screen with an analog bar that shows a trend of fluctuating signals and a dual-line readout. They also describe a clamp head light, a max and min function, and a temperature probe in the kit. The bullets call the unit CAT III 600V. Its specification block also lists CAT III 600V, but several field names in that block are troubleshooting sentences rather than product specifications, so the block is weaker than a clean sheet.

The MY2610C record, model MY2610C, is a 4000-count TRMS clamp with a 25mm jaw. Its title and bullets state 600A AC current, 600V AC and DC voltage, resistance, diode and continuity. Its bullets add a 1A low-current mode for small loads such as LED lighting and electronics, an LED alarm for AC voltage between 90V and 1000V or for a live wire, and a thermocouple that reads from -40 to 1000 degrees C. The bullets also say that accurate current readings come from a single conductor only, and that the ambient temperature during current measurement should stay between 0 and 40 degrees C.

Pocket and pen multimeters

The VC746A record, model VC746A, is a 2000-count multimeter that its bullets describe as meeting CAT III 600V. Its bullets name DC voltage accuracy of ±(0.5%+4) and AC voltage accuracy of ±(0.8%+6), automatic polarity display, two pen holders on the back, a flashlight, automatic power-off after 15 minutes and a temperature probe. The listing does not state current ranges, only the current function, so the current ceiling must be read from the listing before use.

The 8233D PRO record, model 8233D PRO, is a 2000-count auto-ranging pocket meter. Its bullets state capacitance to 2000 µF, frequency to 200 kHz, AC and DC voltage to 600V, AC and DC current to 10A, and resistance to 20MΩ. It adds a continuity buzzer, a backlit LCD and a case with a stand that holds the meter at a 45 degree angle. Its specification block lists the standard only as “Rated”, and its bullets name CE and overload protection rather than a CAT category.

The FEXNTK182 record, model FEXNTK182, is a 6000-count pen-style TRMS meter. Its bullets state a range from 0.1mV to 600V DC and from 10mV to 600V AC, and describe automatic function identification without a mode change. The bullets also say that the pen mode measures AC voltage only, and they tie CAT II 600V to the pen mode in a note. Its specification block lists CE and CAT II 600V.

Voltage pens for outlets and wires

The PM8908C record, model PM8908C, is a non-contact pen for AC voltage from 12V to 1000V. Its bullets describe audible alarms and LED indication for live and null wires, a flashlight and a pocket clip. Its specification block lists measurement type as AC voltage and the standard as CE only, while a bullet adds RoHS and CAT III 600V. The bullets also warn that the pen is not suitable for Christmas light testing.

The NTK139 record, model NTK139, is a dual-range pen. It defaults to 48V to 1000V AC and switches to 12V to 1000V AC when the S button is pressed. Its bullets describe a high-voltage alert above 90V with a red screen, a high-sensitivity mode for finding a wire breakpoint, an LED flashlight, a low-power indicator and automatic power-off after five minutes. Its specification block lists RoHS only, while a bullet cites CE and CAT III 600V.

Measurement claims side by side

The table uses only the figures printed in the bullets or specification blocks. A blank cell means the listing gives no figure for that field.

Record (listing model) Measurement type Voltage stated Current stated Count or display
CM-3002 clamp Multimeter AC and DC up to 600V (bullet) AC and DC up to 800A (title and bullet) 6000 count
MY2610C clamp Clamp Meter AC and DC up to 600V (bullet) AC up to 600A (title and bullet) 4000 count
VC746A Multimeter not stated not stated 2000 count
8233D PRO Multimeter AC and DC up to 600V (bullet) AC and DC up to 10A (bullet) 2000 count (bullet)
FEXNTK182 Multimeter DC 0.1mV to 600V; AC 10mV to 600V (bullet) not stated 6000 count
PM8908C pen AC Voltage AC 12V to 1000V not applicable not applicable
NTK139 pen Voltmeter AC 12V to 1000V or 48V to 1000V not applicable not applicable

Two calculations follow from these figures. The first compares the two clamp current ceilings: 800 / 600 = 1.33, so the CM-3002’s 800A ceiling is about 1.33 times the MY2610C’s 600A ceiling. The second compares display counts: 6000 / 2000 = 3, so the 6000-count FEXNTK182 has three times the steps across a range of the 2000-count VC746A. Neither figure says anything about accuracy, which only the VC746A and MY2610C bullets state in any form. The CM-3002 jaw also converts to 26 / 25.4 = 1.02 inches, a little over an inch, which is useful when you compare it with an inch-based clamp.

The pens and the meters answer different questions, and the table should be read with that in mind. A pen with a stated range says whether a voltage is present inside that range, and it signals with an alarm or a light rather than a number. A meter gives a reading, but only inside the ranges its listing states. Comparing a pen against a meter by voltage ceiling alone therefore leaves out the difference that matters most for a live check.

How we chose

The seven records come from the Neoteck pool. We kept a record when its listing names a multimeter, a clamp meter or a voltage pen, and when the title, bullets and specification block describe the same main function. We also kept a listing only when it states at least one range, count or CAT figure that a reader can check.

Two records were set aside. The first is a 10kHz LCR tweezer meter. Its bullets list resistance, capacitance, inductance, diode and continuity, and no voltage or current function, so it is a component meter rather than a multimeter. The second is a pen whose bullets repeat the PM8908C text word for word, model NTK082US. Its specification block lists RoHS only, so it adds no information for a buyer. A reader who needs it can find it through the PM8908C listing.

No Neoteck listing in this group gives a category that applies to every function. Several bullets name CAT III 600V, one names CAT II 600V for the pen mode, and some name no category at all. This guide reports each claim as the listing gives it.

Where the listings disagree

  • The CM-3002 specification block uses troubleshooting sentences as field names, such as lines about clamping both wires together. Those lines are advice, not product specifications, and the block should not be read as a clean spec sheet.
  • The MY2610C title gives a clamp meter, but its specification block lists the style as digital multimeter. The measurement-type field reads clamp meter.
  • The 8233D PRO specification block gives the measurement type as multimeter and the style as voltage tester, and it lists the standard as “Rated” with no category.
  • The NTK139 specification block lists RoHS only, while its bullets cite CE and CAT III 600V.
  • The PM8908C specification block lists CE only, while its bullets add RoHS and CAT III 600V.
  • The FEXNTK182 bullets attach CAT II 600V to the pen mode in a note, which leaves the category of the multimeter mode less clear.

How to choose by task

Start with the current you need to read. For a large conductor, such as a motor feed or an HVAC circuit, the CM-3002 states the widest current figures in this group and a 26mm jaw. For a clamp that also needs a low-current mode for small loads, the MY2610C is the better fit. For a bench or pocket meter with a stated capacitance and frequency range, the 8233D PRO has the most ranges written out in its bullets. For an electronics board where you need AC and DC voltage in a pen, the FEXNTK182 covers both, but read its CAT note before using the pen mode on a live conductor.

For outlets, switches and wire tracing, the PM8908C and the NTK139 are both voltage pens, not meters. The PM8908C fits a single-function check, and the NTK139 adds two sensitivity ranges and breakpoint finding. If you want a broader view of the voltage detector category, the pen voltage detector picks compare pens from other makers, and the true RMS clamp meter picks cover the TRMS clamp category more broadly.

1. Neoteck Clamp Meter 6000 Counts Clamp Multimeter 800A AC/DC Current Voltage (6000-count TRMS clamp with 800A AC/DC and color screen)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Model: CM-3002
  • Specification Met: Cat III 600v
  • Item Weight: 220 g

Pros

  • Bullets state AC and DC current up to 800A through a 26mm jaw.
  • Bullets describe a color screen with an analog bar and a dual-line readout.

Cons

  • Several field names in the specification block are troubleshooting sentences, not specs.
  • Bullets give the voltage only as a 600V ceiling, with no low-end range.

Best for: HVAC and automotive technicians checking inrush and running current on large conductors.
Skip if: Skip it if you need a clean spec sheet, since the field names in its specification block contain troubleshooting text.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. Neoteck Clamp Meter 4000 Counts Amp Meter for AC Current AC/DC Voltage 600A (4000-count TRMS clamp with 600A AC and a 1A low-current mode)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Measurement Type: Clamp Meter
  • Specification Met: Cat III 600v
  • Item Weight: 195 g

Pros

  • Bullets state 600A AC current and a 1A low-current mode for small loads.
  • Bullets describe an LED alarm for AC voltage from 90V to 1000V or a live wire.

Cons

  • Bullets say accurate current readings come from a single conductor only.
  • Bullets ask for an ambient range of 0 to 40 degrees C during current readings.

Best for: Service technicians checking AC current in a cabinet or on an automotive circuit, one conductor at a time.
Skip if: Skip it if you need DC current, since the bullets name AC current and AC/DC voltage only.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Neoteck 2000 Counts Digital Multimeter with NCV, AC/DC Voltage Current (2000-count multimeter with NCV, live wire and temperature probe)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Measurement Type: Multimeter
  • Specification Met: CE, RoHS
  • Item Weight: 195 g

Pros

  • Bullets state DC voltage accuracy of ±(0.5%+4) and AC voltage accuracy of ±(0.8%+6).
  • Bullets add a temperature probe, live-wire detection and automatic polarity display.

Cons

  • The listing gives no current ranges, only the current function.
  • The bullets give no voltage range below the 600V ceiling.

Best for: Students and home users who want a 2000-count meter with a temperature probe and a stated CAT III 600V.
Skip if: Skip it if you need current ranges written out, since the listing gives none.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Neoteck Auto-Ranging Digital Multimeter with Backlit LCD,2000 Counts (Auto-ranging 2000-count pocket meter with 200kHz frequency range)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Model: 8233D PRO
  • Included Components: Batteries

Pros

  • Bullets state capacitance to 2000 µF, frequency to 200 kHz and current to 10A.
  • Bullets describe auto-ranging, a continuity buzzer and a backlit LCD with auto polarity.

Cons

  • The specification block gives the standard only as Rated, with no category named.
  • The warranty line in the bullets is worded oddly, so confirm the terms on the listing.

Best for: Car owners and hobbyists who want a pocket meter with a stand for hands-free reading.
Skip if: Skip it if you need a CAT rating, since the listing names only CE and overload protection.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. Neoteck 6000 Counts 2 in 1 Pen Type Digital Multimeter Voltage Tester (Pen-style 6000-count multimeter with NCV and TRMS)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Measurement Type: Multimeter
  • Specification Met: Ce, Cat Ii 600v
  • Item Weight: 81 g

Pros

  • Bullets state a range from 0.1mV to 600V DC and from 10mV to 600V AC.
  • Bullets say the meter identifies AC and DC voltage, resistance and continuity without a mode change.

Cons

  • The bullets say the pen mode measures AC voltage only.
  • The bullets attach CAT II 600V to the pen mode in a note, which leaves the multimeter mode less clear.

Best for: Electronics and PCB users who want a pen meter that also reads AC and DC voltage.
Skip if: Skip it if you need CAT III 600V, since the bullets name CAT II 600V for this record.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. Neoteck Non Contact Voltage Detector 12-1000V AC Voltage Tester (Non-contact AC voltage pen from 12V to 1000V with flashlight)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Measurement Type: AC Voltage
  • Specification Met: CE
  • Item Weight: 65 g

Pros

  • Bullets state 12V to 1000V AC with audible and LED alarms for live and null wires.
  • Bullets list a flashlight, a pocket clip and a CE CAT III 600V certificate.

Cons

  • Bullets say the pen is not suitable for Christmas light testing.
  • The specification block lists CE only, while a bullet also cites RoHS and CAT III 600V.

Best for: Homeowners checking outlets, switches and breakers with a single-function pen.
Skip if: Skip it if you need numeric readings, since this pen gives alarms only.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

7. Neoteck Voltage Tester/Non Contact Voltage Tester 12-1000V/48-1000V Adjustable Sensitivity AC (Dual-range voltage pen with breakpoint finding and LCD)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Measurement Type: Voltmeter
  • Specification Met: RoHS

Pros

  • Bullets describe a 48V to 1000V default, switchable to 12V to 1000V with the S button.
  • Bullets say the high-sensitivity mode helps locate a wire breakpoint.

Cons

  • The bullets cite CE and CAT III 600V, while the specification block lists RoHS only.
  • Bullets state automatic power-off after five minutes.

Best for: Electricians and homeowners who want a pen with two sensitivity ranges and an LCD.
Skip if: Skip it if you need a full numeric reading, since the bullets describe alarm and screen states instead.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

Electrical safety notes

The OSHA electrical overview says electricity has long been recognized as a serious workplace hazard, and that OSHA’s electrical standards are designed to protect employees from electric shock, electrocution, fires and explosions. OSHA’s work-practices rule says a qualified person uses test equipment to test circuit elements and electrical parts, and that live parts must be de-energized before work on or near them.

The Purdue extension sheet says voltage is the difference between two points, such as the two ends of a battery or a hot wire and a neutral, and that the measuring principles are the same for DC battery work and AC house wiring. It also says working with live electrical circuits can be very hazardous without proper tools and safeguards, and that a user should move cautiously while probing circuits.

The Neoteck listings add a few limits of their own. The MY2610C bullets say to measure one conductor at a time and never to use a small current range on a large current, because that can damage the meter. A clamp that reads current does not show the voltage on the conductor, and an alarm on a pen is a warning, not a measurement. Mains work, panel work and car electrical work should be left to a qualified person, and the manual that comes with the meter should be followed before any connection.

What we could not verify

  • Accuracy. The VC746A bullets state accuracy for DC and AC voltage, but the documents we opened do not cover Neoteck’s accuracy, so those figures are the listing’s own claims.
  • The CAT category for each record. The listings give CAT III 600V, CAT II 600V and no category in different places, and the documents we opened do not say which applies to which function.
  • The CM-3002 current ceiling for DC. The title and bullets give 800A AC/DC, but the bullets do not give a separate DC range.
  • Whether the 26mm and 25mm jaw figures match the physical clamps. The documents we opened do not cover them.
  • The VC746A current ranges, which the listing does not state.
  • The NTK139 DC behavior, which its bullets do not describe.
  • Whether the box contents differ between the clamp kits and the pen listings.
  • Which wire types the NTK139 breakpoint finder works on. Its bullets describe the mode but do not list the wire types it was made for.
  • Whether the 8233D PRO’s 18-month warranty applies as its bullets describe. The warranty line in that listing is worded unclearly.

FAQ

Which Neoteck clamp meter has the highest current rating?

The CM-3002 states AC and DC current up to 800A in its title and bullets, with a 26mm jaw. The MY2610C states 600A AC current with a 25mm jaw. The CM-3002 is the higher-rated clamp in this group, but confirm the DC range on the listing before using it for DC work.

Does a 6000-count display make a Neoteck meter more accurate?

No. A higher count means more steps across a range, and the calculation above shows 6000 / 2000 = 3 for the FEXNTK182 against the VC746A. Accuracy is a separate figure, and the listings state it in only some places.

Can the NTK139 measure voltage in a wire?

It is a voltage pen for AC voltage, with a default range of 48V to 1000V and a switch to 12V to 1000V. It reports alarms and screen states, and its bullets describe a breakpoint finding mode. It does not measure current or resistance, so use a meter for those jobs.

What CAT rating should I look for before I buy?

Read the rating on the record you choose. The PM8908C and NTK139 bullets cite CAT III 600V, the FEXNTK182 names CAT II 600V for its pen mode, and the 8233D PRO names no category. Where the specification block and bullets disagree, check the listing and the printed markings on the meter.

Does the NTK082US listing differ from the PM8908C?

Its bullets repeat the PM8908C text word for word, and its specification block lists RoHS only. Unless the listing gives a different voltage range or box content, treat it as the same pen and check the listing before buying.

Bottom line

Choose the Neoteck record by the measurement you need, and read its CAT wording on the listing rather than assuming one applies to every function. Where a specification block and the bullets disagree, check the listing before buying, and leave mains, panel and car electrical work to a qualified person.

Sources

Similar Posts