Two generic true-RMS clamp meters arranged around insulated cables.

Best True RMS Amp Meter for Current Checks

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

A true RMS amp meter is only useful if its listed current range covers your load with room to spare, and if the listing actually says True RMS. This roundup covers the four listings in our research pool that state True RMS and describe an amp (current) function. The figures below are quoted from those listings as the sellers state them, and each card shows the date its listing was checked.

Quick answer: the FNIRSI DMC-100 lists AC and DC current up to 600 amps, the widest range here. The UNI-T UT210E lists a 100-amp range in a pocket-size body. The Fieldpiece SC260 lists amperage readings but gives no range, and the ZMIWNIED FS899L does not state one either.

The four picks at a glance

Meter Current range (as listed) True RMS (as listed) Other listed features
FNIRSI DMC-100 clamp meter (B0DP2L9CFR) Up to 600 amps, AC and DC Yes Graph recording, 2-inch TFT screen, rechargeable
UNI-T UT210E mini clamp meter (B0188WD1NE) 100 amps, AC and DC Yes, in the title NCV detection, pocket size
Fieldpiece SC260 clamp multimeter (B00KLYJG78) Amperage, no range given Yes NCV, temperature, capacitance, backlight
ZMIWNIED FS899L digital multimeter (B0GWL4KVZM) Not stated in the specs Yes Color screen, USB-C charging, NCV

How we chose these four

We kept a listing only when it states True RMS in its title, bullets or specs and also describes a current measurement. The listing data for all four was checked on 11 October 2026. Nothing in this roundup reports personal use of any meter.

  • True RMS: the listing must say so. The Klein Tools CL120, AstroAI 2000, LJPXHHU XL830L and ANENG SZ301 do not state True RMS in their listing data, so they are not included.
  • Current function: the listing must describe amps, either in its bullets or its specs.
  • Stated figures: where a range or count is stated, we quote it. Where the listing gives two figures that do not agree, we show both.

1. FNIRSI DMC-100 Clamp Meter

The listing states a True RMS clamp meter that measures AC and DC current up to 600 amps, along with voltage, resistance, capacitance, frequency and temperature. The listing states a 2-inch TFT screen with 10 brightness levels, and storage for 8 sets of real-time data plus 30 sets of historical records. It also states a rechargeable 1500 mAh battery with Type-C charging. The listing adds that voltage must be measured with the test leads, because the clamp jaws are for current only (checked 2026-10-11).

The counts conflict within the listing. The title and the specs give 9999 counts, and one bullet gives 10000 counts. The listing does not say which figure applies, so confirm it on the meter or in its manual. The listing gives the weight as 6.72 ounces and the size as 7.7 by 2.91 by 1.14 inches, and lists UL 61010-1, CE and RoHS marks.

Check the FNIRSI DMC-100 on Amazon

2. UNI-T UT210E Mini Digital Clamp Meter

The title states True RMS, and the bullets state a 100-amp AC and DC current range with 1 mA resolution on that range. The listing also describes a multimeter function for AC and DC voltage, resistance, capacitance and diode checks (checked 2026-10-11).

The listing states NCV (non-contact voltage) detection and a VFC function that it says reduces the effect of high-frequency signals on readings. It describes the meter as small enough for a pocket. The listing gives a weight of 170 g and a size of 2.36 by 6.89 by 1.32 inches, which is the only size figure for this meter.

Check the UNI-T UT210E on Amazon

3. Fieldpiece SC260 Compact HVACR Clamp Multimeter

The title states True RMS, and the bullets state AC voltage and amperage readings in a compact body for HVACR service. The listing adds temperature, capacitance and a backlight, plus non-contact voltage detection, a continuity warning and a diode test. The listing states a swivel magnet for hands-free use (checked 2026-10-11).

The listing gives no amp range, so this meter cannot be checked against the range figures of the other cards. The specs list its style as Voltage Tester, while the title calls it a clamp multimeter. The weight field reads 0.27 g, which does not sit well with the stated size of 3.5 by 3 by 9.1 inches, so treat the weight as unconfirmed.

Check the Fieldpiece SC260 on Amazon

4. ZMIWNIED FS899L 6000 Count Digital Multimeter

The title and bullets state True RMS with a 6000-count display and auto-ranging AC and DC voltage. The specs give CAT III 1000 V and CAT IV 600 V ratings. The bullets add dual ceramic fuses, overload protection, and current, resistance and capacitance functions (checked 2026-10-11).

The specs do not give a current range, and no bullet gives one either, so the amp range for this meter cannot be stated from the listing. The bullets state a 4.8-inch color screen with a built-in flashlight, USB-C charging with a stated 2-hour charge, and a pair of alligator clips for hands-free connections.

Check the ZMIWNIED FS899L on Amazon

Worked example: does a 75-amp load fit each range?

Take a motor circuit assumed to draw 75 amps while it runs. On the UT210E’s 100-amp range, 75 amps uses 75 percent of the scale and leaves 25 amps of headroom. On the DMC-100’s 600-amp range, the same 75 amps is about 12.5 percent of full scale, so the reading sits low on the dial. The Fieldpiece and ZMIWNIED listings give no range, so the same check cannot be made for them. Pick the smallest listed range that is still above the highest current you expect.

What the listings do not say

None of the four listings gives an accuracy figure for its current readings in the data we have. The Fieldpiece and ZMIWNIED listings do not state an amp range, and the DMC-100 count conflict is unresolved in the listing. The listings do not say whether any of these meters is rated for clamping on a bare conductor in a particular installation, so read the safety marks on the meter itself before you use it on a live circuit.

Frequently asked questions

What does True RMS mean on these listings?

The listings use the term True RMS in their titles or bullets, and they do not explain it further. In this roundup, the four listings that state it are the FNIRSI DMC-100, UNI-T UT210E, Fieldpiece SC260 and ZMIWNIED FS899L.

Can these clamp meters measure DC current?

The FNIRSI DMC-100 listing states AC and DC current up to 600 amps, and the UNI-T UT210E listing states AC and DC current with a 100-amp range. The Fieldpiece and ZMIWNIED listings do not give a DC current range in their specs.

Why does the FNIRSI DMC-100 list two different counts?

The title and specs give 9999 counts, and one bullet gives 10000 counts. The listing does not explain the difference, so confirm the count on the meter or in its manual before you buy.

How do I choose the right amp range for my load?

Find the largest current you expect, then choose a meter whose listed range is above it. The worked example above uses a 75-amp load: the 100-amp UT210E range leaves 25 amps of headroom, while the 600-amp DMC-100 range is much larger than that load needs.

Conclusion

For the widest listed range in this set, the FNIRSI DMC-100 states 600 amps and True RMS, though its counts conflict within the listing. For a small meter with a stated 100-amp range, the UNI-T UT210E is the listing to check. Confirm the amp range against your load before you buy.

For more on clamp and current meters, see best true RMS digital clamp meter, best amp clamp, and best AC DC current clamp meter.

FNIRSI DMC-100 on Amazon · UNI-T UT210E on Amazon · Fieldpiece SC260 on Amazon · ZMIWNIED FS899L on Amazon

Similar Posts