A generic voltage tester safely checking a wall outlet.

Best Testing Voltage on Outlet Tools for Home Checks

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Checking the voltage on an outlet takes different tools depending on what you need to know. Some of the listings in this roundup show a voltage figure on a screen. Others only show a light pattern, or sound an alarm when voltage is present without giving a number. The six picks below are the listings that describe checking an outlet or receptacle directly. Each card quotes the listing as the seller states it, with the date the listing was checked.

Quick answer: if you need a number, look for an LCD that shows volts, such as the YEREADW HT107B or the uyled HY-106. If you only need to know whether a live outlet is present, a non-contact tester such as the Sperry VD7504GFI or the Santronics 3115 is the listing to check. Confirm the voltage range covers the outlet you are checking, including 240-volt outlets.

The six picks at a glance

Tool Voltage range (as listed) Output (as listed) CAT rating (as listed)
Sperry VD7504GFI (B0152U89DC) 50 to 600 volts AC, non-contact Visual and audible indicators, no number CAT III 1000 V
YEREADW HT107B outlet tester (B0DZ683FCC) 90 to 250 volts AC LCD voltage reading and wiring status CAT II 300 V
uyled HY-106 GFCI outlet tester (B0FP53YGH1) 110 to 250 volts AC LCD voltage reading and seven wiring faults CAT II and CAT III 300 V
Sahanula outlet tester (B0DHWS19ZZ) Not stated Light sequences only Not stated
SwiftStep circuit breaker finder kit (B0HHHLD51H) 90 to 120 volts AC LCD voltage, Hz and wiring condition Not stated
Santronics 3115 AC voltage sensor (B00MPZ06QQ) 50 to 1000 volts AC, non-contact Silent detection, no number CAT IV (title)

How we chose these six

We kept a listing when its title or main bullets describe checking an outlet or receptacle for voltage, wiring or GFCI function. The listing data for all six was checked on 11 October 2026. Nothing in this roundup reports personal use of any tool.

  • Outlet focus: the title or main bullets name an outlet, receptacle or GFCI check.
  • Stated range: where the listing gives a voltage range, we quote it. Where it does not, the card says so.
  • Left out: general-purpose pens and multimeters, such as the Zoyi DB02 and ANENG SZ303, where the outlet is one example among many uses, and tools for other jobs, such as the FAITIO wire stripper, the Fluke 1507 insulation tester and the two insulation resistance testers in the pool.

1. Sperry VD7504GFI DualCheck Non-Contact Voltage Detector and GFCI Tester

The title describes a two-in-one tool with a non-contact voltage detector at one end and a GFCI outlet circuit analyzer at the other. The listing states a non-contact range of 50 to 600 volts AC and 50 to 60 Hz, with 360-degree visual indicators and a beeping audio alarm (checked 2026-10-11).

The listing states a CAT III 1000 V rating, a 10 ft drop rating, and a 250 lb crush rating. It also says the GFCI end has circuitry that detects the low resistance values needed for ground checks. The listing gives no voltage figure on a screen, so this tool signals presence rather than a reading. Its specs also show a color value of 0.6, which is not a color, so the specs are not fully reliable.

Check the Sperry VD7504GFI on Amazon

2. YEREADW HT107B Outlet Tester

The listing states a range of 90 to 250 volts AC for standard 3-wire and RCD-protected outlets. It describes an LCD that shows a green screen for correct wiring and an orange one for faults, plus real-time voltage readings. The listing says a one-touch button checks GFCI function (checked 2026-10-11).

The listing states CAT II 300 V and CE marks, and a one-year warranty. It notes that pressing the GFCI button on an outlet without GFCI protection may cause the system to trip. The listing does not say how many wiring faults the screen can name.

Check the YEREADW HT107B on Amazon

3. uyled HY-106 GFCI Outlet Tester

The listing states an LCD display that shows outlet voltage and wiring status, and a range of 110 to 250 volts AC. It is designed for three-wire 120 V outlets and says it detects seven common wiring faults, including open ground and open neutral (checked 2026-10-11).

The listing says a built-in button, held for 2 seconds, tests the GFCI breaker. It gives CAT II and CAT III 300 V ratings and a 2-year manufacturer warranty. The listing gives an operating range of 0 to 40 degrees C and 20 to 70 percent relative humidity.

Check the uyled HY-106 on Amazon

4. Sahanula Outlet Tester with GFCI Check

The listing describes a plug-in outlet tester that shows a sequence of indicator lights for different wiring problems. It says the tester checks ground fault interruption, open ground, proper wiring and GFCI trip function (checked 2026-10-11).

The listing gives no voltage range and no voltage reading, and it does not state a CAT rating. The title and specs say it is for any standard electrical outlet, so it suits a quick check of wiring and grounding rather than a measured voltage.

Check the Sahanula outlet tester on Amazon

5. SwiftStep Circuit Breaker Finder Kit with GFCI Outlet Tester

The title describes a kit that finds the breaker for a dead outlet, with an LCD that shows live voltage, circuit frequency in Hz and one of seven wiring conditions. The listing states a range of 90 to 120 volts AC and says the kit includes adapters for light sockets and 3-prong to 2-prong outlets (checked 2026-10-11).

The listing says the transmitter plugs into the circuit and the receiver scans the panel, and it states NCV detection and a top flashlight. The kit weighs 8 ounces. The 90 to 120 volt range is narrower than the other LCD tools in this roundup, so it does not cover a 240-volt outlet.

Check the SwiftStep circuit breaker finder kit on Amazon

6. Santronics 3115 AC Voltage Sensor

The title describes a compact non-contact voltage detector for 50 to 1000 volts AC, with CAT IV rating, outlet and circuit testing, and a 1-year warranty. The bullets state that it is silent, which the listing says suits offices, hospitals and schools (checked 2026-10-11).

The listing states that the tool is made in the USA and is built from high-impact polycarbonate. It gives a weight of 39.7 g. It gives no number on a screen, so it signals voltage presence only, and the listing does not say how it behaves on a grounded outlet with no load.

Check the Santronics 3115 on Amazon

Worked example: which tool covers a 240-volt outlet?

Take a 240-volt outlet, such as a dryer or range receptacle. The YEREADW’s listed range of 90 to 250 volts covers 240 volts, with 10 volts of room below the top of the range. The uyled’s listed range of 110 to 250 volts also covers 240 volts. The SwiftStep’s listed range of 90 to 120 volts does not reach 240 volts, so it is the wrong tool for that outlet. The Sperry and Santronics non-contact ranges of 50 to 600 volts and 50 to 1000 volts both cover 240 volts, but they signal presence without a reading. For a 120-volt outlet, every stated range in the table covers the voltage.

What the listings do not say

None of the six listings gives an independent figure for how accurately its tool reads voltage or detects a fault. The Sahanula listing gives no voltage range, and two of the six do not state a CAT rating. The uyled and YEREADW listings give different CAT ratings for similar 300 V outlet work, so check the label on the tool you buy. The listings do not explain how the GFCI checks interact with outlets that have no GFCI protection, beyond the warning in the YEREADW listing.

Frequently asked questions

Can one of these tools tell me the exact voltage at an outlet?

Only the LCD tools do. The YEREADW HT107B and uyled HY-106 listings state voltage readings on screen, and the SwiftStep listing states live voltage. The Sperry and Santronics listings describe non-contact detection with visual or audible signals rather than a number.

Is a non-contact voltage tester enough to check an outlet?

The listings describe non-contact tools as detecting voltage without direct contact. They are useful for a quick presence check, but the listings do not say they replace a meter, so use an LCD tool when you need a figure.

Which tool covers a 240-volt outlet?

The YEREADW listing states 90 to 250 volts, and the uyled listing states 110 to 250 volts, so both cover 240 volts. The SwiftStep listing states 90 to 120 volts and does not reach 240 volts.

Do the GFCI functions in these listings work on every outlet?

The YEREADW listing warns that its GFCI button may cause the system to trip on an outlet that has no GFCI protection. The listings do not say how their GFCI checks work on every type of outlet, so read each manual before you use the function.

Conclusion

For a number on screen at a 120 or 240-volt outlet, the YEREADW HT107B and uyled HY-106 both state ranges that cover 240 volts. For a fast presence check, the Sperry VD7504GFI and Santronics 3115 are the non-contact listings to compare. Confirm the range on the label against the outlet you are checking before you buy.

For more on outlet checks, see best AC outlet tester, best 3 prong outlet tester, and best receptacle tester.

Sperry VD7504GFI on Amazon · YEREADW HT107B on Amazon · uyled HY-106 on Amazon · Sahanula outlet tester on Amazon · SwiftStep kit on Amazon · Santronics 3115 on Amazon

Similar Posts