A clean editorial comparison scene showing generic shaft voltage tester options side by side.

Shaft Voltage Testers Compared

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Shaft voltage is a motor measurement, and none of the listings in this set mentions a motor shaft, bearing or shaft voltage. This page therefore does not call any product a shaft voltage tester. It compares six voltage testers by the ranges, warranties and use cases their listings state, dated 11 October 2026. Where the listing claims something we cannot check from the data, we leave that claim out.

Quick answer: for AC wires, outlets and switches, the Neoteck PM8908C and the MXCOIRTP MT01 list the lowest AC detection floors (12 V). For a 1000 V ceiling, the Klein NCVT1P, Fluke 1AC II, Neoteck and MXCOIRTP all state 1000 V AC. For a car or boat circuit, the WINAMOO and JASTIND test lights list 3 to 48 V and are contact probes rather than non-contact pens.

The six picks at a glance

Tester Listed voltage range Type Listed warranty Listed weight
Klein NCVT1P (B099SJ6469) 50 to 1000 V AC Non-contact pen “See Manufacturer Website” 22.68 g
Fluke 1AC II (B000EJ332O) 90 to 1000 V AC (specs field) Non-contact pen 2 years 59 g
Neoteck PM8908C (B01JYCVU2Q) 12 to 1000 V AC Non-contact pen 18 months 65 g
MXCOIRTP MT01 (B0D7LWBYVW) 12 V, 48 V and 70 to 1000 V AC Non-contact pen 1 year Not stated
WINAMOO test light (B0D8PXNPYH) 3 to 48 V, LED readout Contact probe, car circuits Not stated 200 g
JASTIND test light (B0F5WK8TJY) 3 to 48 V, LED readout Contact probe, car circuits Not stated Not stated

How we chose these six

The research set holds twelve products: four pens, four multimeters, three automotive test lights and a high-potential tester. We kept the four pens and two of the automotive test lights, because their listings state a voltage range in volts that a reader can check against a wire or a battery. The remaining light, the FEAOXYO, is left out of the picks, and the multimeters and the high-potential tester are outside this page’s scope.

1. Klein Tools NCVT1P Voltage Tester

The listing describes a non-contact pen that detects AC voltage in cables, cords, breakers, switches, outlets and wires. It states a detection range of 50 to 1000 V AC and a CAT IV 1000 V rating. A green LED shows that the pen is on, and a red flash with a beep shows that voltage is present. It has an auto power-off function and takes two AAA batteries, which are included. The listing’s warranty line reads “See Manufacturer Website”. Check the Klein NCVT1P on Amazon.

2. Fluke 1AC II VoltAlert

The Fluke pen lists 90 to 1000 V AC in its specs field. A bullet gives a second figure, 200 to 1000 V AC, so the listing states two floors for the same pen. The tip glows red and a beeper sounds when voltage is detected. The listing states a continuous self-test and an audible or silent mode. It takes two AAA alkaline batteries, and the listing gives a typical battery life of more than one year. The warranty is two years, and the weight is 59 g. Check the Fluke 1AC II on Amazon.

3. Neoteck PM8908C Non-Contact Voltage Detector

The Neoteck pen covers 12 to 1000 V AC. Its bullets describe LED and audible alerts that separate live and neutral wires by alarm level, and a flashlight. The listing says the pen is not suitable for Christmas light testing. The listing’s warranty is 18 months, and the weight is 65 g. The listing gives two identifiers: the model field reads PM8908C, and the part number field reads TL163-US. The listing does not say which one the box carries. Check the Neoteck PM8908C on Amazon.

4. MXCOIRTP MT01 Voltage Tester

The MT01 names three ranges: 12 V, 48 V, and 70 to 1000 V AC. The listing describes three sensitivity modes that a button switches between, with a buzzer count that changes by mode. It has a built-in detection light and a tail flashlight, and a pen hook for a shirt pocket. The listing states a 1-year warranty. It says the pen gives a low-battery warning when the battery falls below 2.5 V. The listing does not state the weight. Check the MXCOIRTP MT01 on Amazon.

5. WINAMOO Automotive Test Light

This is a contact probe rather than a pen that detects through insulation. The listing gives a 3 to 48 V LED digital readout with a 0.1 V resolution, a stainless probe, and a 96-inch spring wire. The listing says it covers car, truck and SUV charging systems and includes an alternator check. Its listed weight is 200 g, and the listing names CE and UL. Check the WINAMOO test light on Amazon.

6. JASTIND Automotive Test Light

The JASTIND is a second contact test light with a 3 to 48 V LED digital readout and a polarity indicator. The listing describes a stainless probe, a large alligator clip and a 96-inch spring wire, and names cars, motorcycles, trucks and boats. The listing does not state a weight or a warranty. Use it on a circuit you can reach with the clip and probe, since the listing describes contact testing only. Check the JASTIND test light on Amazon.

Worked example: does a 24 V AC circuit fall inside each range?

Take a 24 V AC control circuit. On the Klein NCVT1P, the lower end of the range is 50 V, so 24 V sits at 48 percent of that floor and below the listed range. On the Fluke 1AC II, the floor is 90 V, so 24 V sits at 27 percent of it. Both pens fall outside their listed ranges at 24 V. On the Neoteck PM8908C, the floor is 12 V, so 24 V is inside the range and sits at 2 times the floor. On the MXCOIRTP MT01, the listed ranges are 12 V, 48 V and 70 to 1000 V, and 24 V is not named in any of them, so the listing does not settle how the pen responds there.

Now a car battery. A 12.6 V reading sits inside the WINAMOO’s 3 to 48 V range at 26 percent of the top figure. It sits at 52 percent of the 24 V ceiling on the FEAOXYO test light, which the research set lists as a 6 to 24 V DC tester. These are listing ranges, not measured values.

What the listings do not say

  • Shaft and motor use: no listing in the set mentions shaft voltage, motors, bearings or industrial drives.
  • Accuracy: the pens state detection ranges and alarm types, not measurement accuracy, because they do not read a voltage value.
  • Battery life: only the Fluke listing gives one, at more than one year. The Klein listing names an auto power-off function without a battery life.
  • Warranties and weights: the Klein warranty points to the manufacturer’s website, and the MXCOIRTP and JASTIND listings do not state a weight.

Frequently asked questions

Can any of these testers measure shaft voltage?

The listings do not mention shaft voltage, motor shafts or bearing currents. None of these products can be called a shaft voltage tester on the listing data.

Which tester here has the lowest AC detection floor?

The Neoteck PM8908C and the MXCOIRTP MT01 both list 12 V as their lowest AC range. The Klein NCVT1P starts at 50 V AC and the Fluke 1AC II at 90 V AC.

Is the Fluke 1AC II range 90 V or 200 V?

The listing gives both. The specs field says 90 V to 1000 V AC, and a bullet describes a range of 200 V to 1000 V AC as well.

Do the automotive test lights detect voltage without contact?

No. The WINAMOO and JASTIND listings describe a probe and an alligator clip for car circuits, not non-contact detection.

How long does the Klein NCVT1P battery last?

The listing does not state a battery life. It names an auto power-off function and includes two AAA batteries.

Conclusion

For a pen that detects AC wires and outlets, compare the Klein NCVT1P, the Fluke 1AC II, the Neoteck PM8908C and the MXCOIRTP MT01 by their floors and warranties. For 24 V AC, the Neoteck is the only pen here whose listed range covers the reading. For a car or boat circuit, the WINAMOO and JASTIND test lights state 3 to 48 V. Nothing in these listings supports a claim about shaft voltage, so check that need against the manufacturer’s specification. For more on pens of this kind, see best NCV tester, how do voltage testers work and best wire tester pen.

Product links: Klein NCVT1P on Amazon · Fluke 1AC II on Amazon · Neoteck PM8908C on Amazon · MXCOIRTP MT01 on Amazon · WINAMOO test light on Amazon · JASTIND test light on Amazon

Similar Posts