Best Multimeter Under 50: Six Picks and Their Gaps
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The best multimeter under 50 for most home and car checks is the one whose listing states a CAT rating, a voltage limit that covers your work, and true RMS. Only a few of the twelve listings we read state all three, and this article shows which ones and which gaps remain. Six of the meters are picked for the specs their listings state, and six are left out with a reason for each, so you can see where the choices were made.
Quick answer
- Choose a meter whose listing states a CAT rating and a voltage limit at or above the circuits you will touch. Then check the same rating printed on the meter itself.
- Six picks follow: Westinghouse MM600V10, AstroAI AST-6000-D, TESMEN TM-510, Innova 3320, ZMIWNIED FS899L and ENJOYVO EJ8010.
- Three picks come from brands most readers will not know. Confirm their CAT ratings and certifications before you buy.
- If a listing states no CAT rating, do not use that meter on household mains outlets, panels or service equipment.
Who this roundup is for
This list fits homeowners checking an outlet, a light fixture or a fuse, car owners looking at a 12 V battery or a blown fuse, students learning the dial, and hobbyists who need a general meter. It does not fit a working electrician who needs a meter for daily panel and service work. For that job, start with a CAT III or CAT IV rated instrument from a brand with a published manual, and read our guide to multimeters for electricians first.
Safety first: what the category rating means
Work on mains circuits can kill. A meter with a voltage display is not automatically safe on every circuit. The safety question is the measurement category, often written as CAT II, CAT III or CAT IV, plus the voltage rating that goes with it.
Gossen Metrawatt, a manufacturer of measuring instruments, describes the categories by where in the installation the measurement is taken. CAT II covers measurements in circuits directly connected to the low-voltage mains, which is where most outlets and appliances sit. CAT III covers measurements in building installations, such as distribution wiring. CAT IV covers measurements at the source of the low-voltage installation, such as the service entrance and outdoor connections. The page does not define a CAT I category.
Fluke, another manufacturer, gives the practical rule in its digital multimeter safety guide: choose a tool rated for the highest category you could potentially use it in, and pick a voltage rating that matches or exceeds the situation. The same guide says the ratings are usually printed near the input jacks. That is the place to check, whatever the listing says.
Panel, meter-base and service work belongs to a licensed electrician. A budget meter is useful for low-voltage electronics, batteries, car electrical checks and a first look at an outlet. It does not change the risk of working inside a live panel.
Comparison table: only what the listings state
The table uses only the figures printed on each listing. “Not stated” means the listing does not say it. We did not fill any gap from memory.
| Listing (brand, model) | Counts | True RMS | Auto-ranging | CAT rating | Voltage or fuse figures | Non-contact voltage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Westinghouse MM600V10 | 4000 (bullets) | Yes | Yes | Not stated (UL 61010-1 and CSA listed) | 600 V AC/DC; 10 A | Not listed |
| AstroAI AST-6000-D | 6000 | Yes | Yes | Not stated | 1000 V DC maximum; fuses F400mA/600V and F10A/600V | Not listed |
| ZMIWNIED FS899L | 6000 | Yes | Not stated | CAT III 1000 V; CAT IV 600 V | Not stated | Yes |
| TESMEN TM-510 | 4000 | Not stated | Yes (smart auto mode) | CAT II 600 V | 600 V maximum | Yes |
| Innova 3320 | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | 10 MΩ input impedance | Not listed |
| Generic rechargeable (model B0G48CHRM6 listing) | 6000 | Yes | Yes | CAT III (bullets) | Not stated | Yes |
| ENJOYVO EJ8010 | 6000 | Yes (title) | Not stated | CAT III 600 V; CAT II 1000 V (bullets) | Fuses 0.5 A/600 V and 10 A/600 V | Not listed |
| FKM 188D | 6000 | Yes (title) | Yes | CAT III 600 V (bullets) | Fuses FF630mA/250V and FF20A/250V | Yes |
| Neoteck 8233D PRO | 2000 (bullets) | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | 600 V AC/DC; 10 A | Not listed |
| ANENG 683 | 6000 | Not stated | Yes (bullets) | Not stated | 1000 V DC maximum | Yes |
| DOEUTLQ 01 | 6000 | Yes (title) | Yes | CE, CAT III (specs) | Not stated | Yes |
| NTKICOOL FS899L-type listing | 6000 | Yes | Yes (title) | “CATIIl 600V” (bullets, as written) | Not stated | Yes |
The six picks, with the listing’s own figures
Each pick below lists what its page says, a “Skip if” line, and one limitation. Figures are the listing’s, not ours. Where a listing contradicts itself, we say so.
1. Westinghouse MM600V10
The listing says it is a 600 V AC/DC auto-ranging meter with a 10 A current range, true RMS, a backlit display with 4000 counts, MAX/MIN mode, and temperature in °C and °F. It says the unit is certified to UL 61010-1, CSA C22.2 and UL/CSA 61010-2-033, and it carries a 2-year Westinghouse warranty. The listing gives a 6.5 foot drop rating.
Skip if you need a CAT rating on the label to work on mains outlets. The listing does not state one, so check the meter’s own printing before using it on household mains.
Limitation: the page does not state an input impedance or a fuse rating.
2. AstroAI AST-6000-D
The listing says it is a 6000 count, true RMS, auto-ranging meter that measures AC and DC current and voltage, capacitance, frequency, duty cycle, resistance, diode, continuity and temperature. Its specification table gives a 1000 V DC maximum operating voltage and fuses rated F400mA/600V and F10A/600V. A 9 V battery, a pair of test leads and a kickstand are included, along with data hold and auto shut-off.
Skip if you plan to work on mains outlets and want a stated CAT rating. The listing does not give one.
Limitation: the page describes the device as suitable for “automotive and household” work but does not state a CAT category for either.
3. TESMEN TM-510
The listing says the TM-510 has 4000 counts and a smart auto mode that switches between AC and DC voltage, resistance and continuity without a manual range choice. It includes a non-contact voltage function with a visual and audible alarm. The bullets state “CAT II 600V, CE, and RoHS,” and the specification table gives a 600 V maximum operating voltage and a 0.8 V minimum. It runs on two AAA batteries and includes a storage bag.
Skip if you need true RMS. The listing does not state it. Skip it also if you need a CAT III or CAT IV meter for panel work.
Limitation: the listing’s non-contact function is a detector, not a substitute for a voltage measurement with a multimeter.
4. Innova 3320
The listing says it is an auto-ranging digital multimeter for automotive and household electrical problems. It says the input impedance is 10 MΩ, that the unit is UL certified, that its auto-ranging selects the correct range automatically, and that it includes color-coded LEDs that show battery charge. The listing states a one-year limited warranty and weighs 8 ounces.
Skip if you need a count figure or true RMS. Neither is stated. Skip it also if you need a stated CAT rating.
Limitation: the listing gives no CAT rating and no count figure, so the other meters in this list give you more to check against.
5. ZMIWNIED FS899L
This is a brand most readers will not know. The listing states the meter “meets CAT.III 1000V and CAT.IV 600V,” with dual ceramic fuses, 6000 counts, true RMS, and a 4.8-inch color screen with a built-in flashlight. It is USB-C rechargeable and includes two alligator clips for hands-free connection. The specification table lists the same CAT ratings.
Skip if you cannot confirm the CAT rating with the manual or the meter’s label before buying.
Limitation: the listing does not name a fuse voltage rating or a test lead rating beyond the alligator clips.
6. ENJOYVO EJ8010
Another third-party brand. The bullets state “CAT III 600V / CAT II 1000V” with double insulation and IEC 61010 compliance, dual fast-blow fuses rated 0.5 A/600 V and 10 A/600 V, and a 5999-count display. The listing gives a DC voltage accuracy of ±0.8% plus 5 digits, frequency up to 10 MHz, capacitance up to 60 mF, and a temperature range. It runs on two AAA batteries and weighs 313 g with the battery and case.
Skip if your work needs a CAT rating confirmed on the meter’s label. The listing’s specification table states only “CE” under specification met, which does not match the bullets’ CAT claims.
Limitation: the listing’s specification table and bullets disagree on which safety standards apply. Check the manual before using it on mains.
Also considered and not picked
- FKM 188D. The bullets say CAT III 600 V, but the listed fuses are rated 250 V. The listing does not explain the difference. Do not use it on mains until the manual settles the question.
- Generic rechargeable (B0G48CHRM6 listing). The brand field names no manufacturer. The bullets refer to FS899L, which differs from the model field on the same listing. Confirm the exact model before buying.
- NTKICOOL (B0GJYDF89G). The bullets state “CATIIl 600V.” That is not a standard label as written. Ask the seller or read the meter’s label before any mains use.
- ANENG 683 (B0GSD3TTQB). The specification table says “Corded Electric” as the power source, while the bullets describe a rechargeable battery with a Type-C cable. Both cannot be right. The listing gives no CAT rating.
- DOEUTLQ 01 (B0GTQ6NB49). The specifications say “Ce, Cat III,” with no voltage given. The bullets are general and do not state a voltage limit.
- Neoteck 8233D PRO (B01NAVAT9S). The page’s structured specification table is empty. We did not use its figures as a basis for any claim. The bullets list 2000 counts, 600 V AC/DC and 10 A, but the page does not publish a CAT rating.
How we chose
We read the twelve listings in the under-50 search pool on 2026-10-27 and used only their specification tables and bullet points. Selection used only the stated specs. We ranked on four plain criteria: the listing states a CAT rating with a voltage limit, the listing states true RMS, the listing states auto-ranging or a clear range method, and the listing names its fuse or input figures. Six meters met the most of these criteria, and six did not. This is a selection from listings, not a ranking of performance, and we do not claim one. A listing without a structured specification table, such as the Neoteck page, was left out of the picks rather than filled in from its bullet points.
What we could not verify
- The sources we opened do not cover any specific model in this list. We did not read a manufacturer manual for any of the twelve meters.
- Accuracy percentages appear for only a few listings. For the rest, the listing does not state accuracy, and we do not fill that gap.
- Battery life, warranty terms and “lab-grade” wording come from the listings and have not been checked against a manufacturer statement.
- The listing does not state a CAT rating for the Westinghouse, AstroAI, Innova or ANENG meters. Treat that as unknown, not as a rating.
- Listings from third-party brands make safety claims that the sources we opened do not confirm for those brands.
Buying checklist
- Find the CAT rating printed on the meter near the input jacks. If it is not there, do not use the meter on mains.
- Match the voltage limit to the highest voltage you will measure, as the Fluke guide advises.
- Check the fuse ratings printed on the meter and on the listing. They should match each other.
- Confirm the test leads carry their own rating. The Fluke guide we opened does not address test leads, so check the leads’ labeling.
- If you measure non-sinusoidal loads, such as variable-speed drives, confirm true RMS is stated.
- Confirm the model number on the listing matches the meter you receive.
- Check the power source. The picks differ: the AstroAI listing includes a 9 V battery, the TESMEN and ENJOYVO listings use two AAA batteries, and the ZMIWNIED listing uses a built-in USB-C rechargeable battery.
- Check the included accessories against the listing, such as test leads, a case, a battery or a temperature probe, before you assume they come in the box.
Mistakes to avoid
- Trusting a bullet point over a label. Several listings state CAT ratings only in bullets. Check the printed label.
- Using a meter on mains because it reads 600 V. The Gossen Metrawatt page ties categories to where the measurement is taken, not to the voltage the meter can display.
- Ignoring conflicting specs. The ANENG and ENJOYVO listings disagree with themselves. Pick the meter whose specs agree.
- Assuming a non-contact function replaces a voltage check. A non-contact detector signals presence of voltage. It does not give a reading you can measure against.
FAQ
Is a multimeter under 50 safe for household outlets?
Only if its CAT rating and voltage limit are printed on the meter and match the work. Several listings in this group state no CAT rating. For outlets, check the label first and read our guide to testing an outlet with a multimeter.
What does CAT III mean on a multimeter?
Gossen Metrawatt describes CAT III as measurements in building installations. It sits above CAT II, which covers circuits directly connected to the low-voltage mains. For a full explanation, see our guide to CAT ratings.
Do I need true RMS for basic home checks?
For simple outlet voltage and battery checks, a non-true-RMS meter often reads close enough. True RMS matters more for distorted waveforms, such as those from variable-speed drives. The listing will say whether true RMS is included.
Are third-party brands like ZMIWNIED or ENJOYVO worth buying?
They can be, if the CAT rating is printed on the meter and matches the listing. Check the manual and the label, and ask the seller for the safety certificate if the listing does not provide one.
Which function do beginners need first?
Voltage (AC and DC), resistance and continuity cover most home jobs. Our guide to reading multimeter symbols explains the dial before you buy.
Should I pay attention to the number of counts?
A higher count gives finer resolution, but it does not show accuracy or safety. Read the accuracy line and the CAT rating before the count.
Bottom line
Buy the meter whose CAT rating and voltage limit you can confirm on its label. If the label or manual does not show it, use the meter only on low-voltage electronics and batteries, and leave mains and panel work to a licensed electrician.
Related guides
- Best multimeter for home, car and beginners, for a wider look at the category
- Best multimeter for automotive work, for car battery and charging checks
- Best CAT III 600V digital multimeters, for stated CAT III listings
- How to check a fuse with a multimeter, for the fuse step
- How to check a 12V battery with a multimeter, for car battery checks
- Best multimeter for beginners, if you are new to meters
- Best true RMS multimeter, for when waveform shape matters
- Best auto-ranging multimeter, for range selection
Sources
- Gossen Metrawatt, “Measuring categories per IEC 61010-1,” https://www.gossenmetrawatt.de/en/knowledge/measuring-and-test-technology/measuring-categories-per-iec-61010-1/ (opened 2026-10-27)
- Fluke, “Guide to Digital Multimeter Safety,” https://www.fluke.com/en-us/learn/blog/safety/multimeter-guide (opened 2026-10-27)
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product figures in this article come from the listings and are not independently verified.






