A clear comparison scene showing the product category and the practical details buyers need to compare.

Voltage Testers Compared by Type: 4 Picks

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

The keyword names a specific ET45 model, and none of the listings in this research file names it. Rather than invent a model comparison, this guide sorts the voltage testers in the file by type: a non-contact pen, an automotive circuit tester, a multimeter with a voltage function, and an automotive test light. Each type is represented by one listing, so the set shows how the categories differ rather than ranking one brand. Every fact comes from listing data checked on 2026-10-11, except the Autel listing, which the research file dates 2026-10-17. Conflicting fields within a listing are shown side by side.

Quick answer

Choose by the type of check you need. A non-contact pen such as the Klein NCVT1P detects AC voltage without a probe on the conductor, with a listed range of 50 to 1000V AC. The Autel PowerScan targets vehicle circuits and lists a DC and AC voltage mode, plus resistance and tone. The TESMEN TM-510 is a meter with an AC and DC range of 0.8V to 600V. The Fluke 1AC II is a second non-contact option with a 90-1000V AC range. If you need a fixed voltage value, choose a meter; if you only need to know whether voltage is present, a pen or a test light is enough.

Comparison table

Tester Type Stated voltage figure Power as listed Warranty or rating as listed
Klein Tools NCVT1P Non-contact pen 50 to 1000V AC 2 x AAA 1.5 Volt included Cat Iv 1000v; warranty see manufacturer
Fluke 1AC II Non-contact pen 90-1000V AC; 200 V to 1000 V AC mode 2 AAA alkaline included CAT IV in title; 2 years
TESMEN TM-510 Multimeter with NCV function AC and DC 0.8V to 600V 2 AAA included CAT II 600V; warranty not stated
Autel PowerScan Automotive circuit tester Minimum 12 volts (spec); 6-30 volt systems (bullet) Battery or car power CE, IP 67, UL; warranty not stated

How the four were chosen

The research file for the ET45 keyword holds 12 listings with the same mix as the other voltage-tester files. The four here were picked to show four different types: a pen, a meter, a vehicle circuit tester and a non-contact pen from a second maker. The remaining listings are either repeats of these types or are outside the voltage-tester category. No extra products were supplied for this keyword, and no listing names the ET45 model.

Klein Tools NCVT1P Voltage Tester

This pen is the type to use when you want to know whether AC voltage is present in a cable, outlet or switch without touching a conductor. The title and specification state a 50 to 1000V AC range. The LED glows green when the tester is working and flashes red with a beep when voltage is detected. The listing names an auto power-off for saving battery and 6.6-foot (2 m) drop protection. Its item dimensions are 5.5 x 0.72 x 1 inches, and the item weight is 22.68 g. The listing states that the batteries are two AAA 1.5 Volt cells, included with the tester.

View the Klein Tools NCVT1P on Amazon

Autel PowerScan Automotive Circuit Tester

The Autel is built for vehicle wiring rather than mains work. The listing says it tests 6 to 30 volt vehicle electrical systems in one bullet, while the specification field lists a minimum operating voltage of 12 volts. Both figures are shown here because they differ. It offers four modes: DC voltage with 0.1V resolution, AC voltage that reports minimum and maximum values, resistance, and a tone on and off mode. The listing also names short circuit location, overload protection, a 20 FT extension cable and a built-in flashlight. The item weight is 2.81 pounds and the item dimensions are 1.97 x 1.97 x 1.97 inches. The power field reads battery supply or car power. The research file dates this listing 2026-10-17.

View the Autel PowerScan on Amazon

TESMEN TM-510 Digital Multimeter

The TM-510 is the meter in this set. Its listing gives an AC voltage range of 0.8V to 600V and a DC range of 0.8V to 600V, with a 4000-count display. The listing says it samples about 3 times per second and has a true RMS frequency response from 40 Hz to 1 kHz. A non-contact function gives a visual and audible alarm. The safety bullet states CAT II 600V, CE and RoHS. The weight is 0.1 kg, the working range is 0 to 40 degrees Celsius, and the package includes 2 AAA batteries. The listing also includes data hold, a backlight, a flashlight and automatic shutdown.

View the TESMEN TM-510 on Amazon

Fluke 1AC II VoltAlert Non-Contact Voltage Tester

The Fluke is a second pen, and it is the one to compare with the Klein when the voltage floor matters. Its title gives a 90-1000V AC range, and a bullet adds a 200 V to 1000 V AC setting. The tip glows red and a beeper sounds when voltage is detected, and an audible/silent mode is listed. The item dimensions field reads 10.24 x 7.5 x 1.46 inches, which conflicts with the pocket-sized wording, so the size should be confirmed. The item weight is 59 g, two AAA alkaline batteries are included, and the warranty field states 2 years.

View the Fluke 1AC II on Amazon

Worked example: a 12 V vehicle check and a 120 V outlet check

Take a 12 V vehicle circuit first. The Autel’s stated minimum is 12 volts in the specification field and 6 volts in its bullet range, so 12 V sits inside both figures. The TESMEN’s 0.8V floor includes 12 V as well. The Klein’s 50 V floor and the Fluke’s 90 V floor both sit above 12 V, so neither pen is the right tool for that check. Now take a 120 V outlet. The Klein’s 50 to 1000V range and the TESMEN’s 0.8V to 600V range both include 120 V. The Fluke’s main 90 V to 1000 V range includes 120 V, but its 200 V to 1000 V setting does not. The listing numbers show that the pen type and the setting both change the answer.

What the listings do not say

None of the four gives an alarm threshold in volts for the non-contact pens, only the stated range. The Autel’s 6-30 volt bullet conflicts with its 12-volt minimum field. The Fluke’s dimension field conflicts with its pocket-sized wording. The TESMEN and the Autel give no warranty field in the data, and the Klein and the Fluke state a warranty only in their own fields. No listing names an ET45 model, a two-pole mode, or a calibration interval.

FAQ

Does any listing here name the ET45 model?

No. The research file contains no listing for an ET45 model, so this guide compares tester types instead.

Which tester gives a numeric voltage reading?

The TESMEN TM-510 is a meter with a 4000-count display and a stated AC and DC range of 0.8V to 600V. The Autel lists a DC voltage mode with 0.1V resolution. The two pens only indicate that voltage is present.

Which tester covers a 12 V vehicle circuit?

The Autel’s 12-volt minimum and 6-30 volt bullet cover 12 V, and the TESMEN’s 0.8V floor also covers it. The Klein and the Fluke both start above 12 V.

Are the batteries included?

The Klein includes 2 AAA 1.5 Volt batteries, the Fluke includes 2 AAA alkaline batteries, and the TESMEN package includes 2 AAA batteries. The Autel power field reads battery supply or car power, so the battery is not described as included.

Final notes

Use a pen when the question is only whether voltage is present, and use a meter when you need a value. For vehicle circuits, the Autel is the only listing in this set built around them, and its own fields disagree on the minimum voltage, so check that figure on the product page before relying on it.

Amazon links

Klein Tools NCVT1P

Autel PowerScan

TESMEN TM-510

Fluke 1AC II

Related reading

For a wider set of voltage testers, see best voltage meter tester. For a non-contact option, read best non-contact voltage checker. To learn how a vehicle circuit tester is used, see best wire tester for car.

Similar Posts