Three generic commercial AC clamp meters with test leads on a professional electrical workbench.

Best AC Clamp Meter Picks

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

This roundup covers six AC clamp meters picked from the twelve listings in the research file for a commercial electric AC clamp meter search. The file has no Commercial Electric listing, so the title drops the Commercial Electric name. The six picks cover the three AC current ranges the listings state: 100 amps, 400 amps and 600 amps. Figures are copied from each listing as the seller states it and dated 11 October 2026.

Quick answer: for a 100 amp reading on a small cable, the UNI-T UT210E is the compact pick. For 400 amp work, the Klein CL120, AstroAI and Ideal 61-737 listings state a 400 amp AC range. For 600 amps, the FNIRSI DMC-100 and the Westinghouse listings do.

The six picks at a glance

Clamp meter AC current (as listed) Voltage or safety figure (as listed) Best fit
UNI-T UT210E (B0188WD1NE) 100 A Not stated Small, pocket-sized checks
Klein CL120 (B08CP6GL49) 400 A Not stated (CE listed) Clamp with a test lead holder
AstroAI 2000 Count (B08MTTX66X) 2 to 400 A in four ranges CAT III 600 V Budget multi-range meter
Ideal 61-737 (B09JY2D8S6) 400 A 600 V AC and DC True RMS with NCV alerts
FNIRSI DMC-100 (B0DP2L9CFR) 600 A Not stated (UL 61010-1 listed) Recording and logging
Westinghouse Auto-Ranging (B0DYJ8TDDG) 600 A CAT III 600 V; 1000 V range True RMS with VFD testing

How we chose these six

We kept listings that state an AC current range in the title, bullets or specification table, then spread the picks across the 100, 400 and 600 amp ranges. The other six listings in the file were not picked, because the six picks already cover the three ranges. We did not check any meter in person.

  • Current range: the AC current figure as the listing states it.
  • Safety: a CAT category or safety standard, when the listing gives one.
  • Extras: true RMS, NCV, memory or the accessories in the box.

1. UNI-T UT210E Mini Clamp Meter

The UT210E is listed as a mini clamp meter with 100 A AC and DC current, and a 1 mA high resolution on that range. The listing also names true RMS, resistance, capacitance and diode testing. It has an NCV function that the listing says detects an electric field to show whether AC voltage is present, and a VFC function that the listing says reduces high-frequency interference. It weighs 170 g and measures 2.36 by 6.89 by 1.32 inches. The listing gives a UL mark and no CAT category. Checked 11 October 2026.

UNI-T UT210E on Amazon

2. Klein Tools CL120 Digital Clamp Meter

The CL120 is listed as an auto-ranging clamp meter for AC current up to 400 A. Through the clamp it measures AC current and works as a non-contact voltage tester, and the test leads add AC and DC voltage, resistance and continuity. It has a backlit display, max and data hold, and an auto power-off after 10 minutes. The listing names a test lead holder on the clamp and an optional magnetic hanger. The package includes a carrying case, test leads with CAT III and CAT IV safety caps and three AAA batteries. It weighs 9.76 ounces and measures 8.45 by 3.51 by 1.51 inches. The listing gives CE and double insulation, and no CAT category for the meter body. Checked 11 October 2026.

Klein CL120 on Amazon

3. AstroAI 2000 Count Digital Clamp Meter

The AstroAI clamp has a 2000 count display and four AC current ranges, 2 A, 20 A, 200 A and 400 A. Its listed accuracy for AC current on 50 to 60 Hz is plus or minus 2.5 percent of reading plus 5 digits. The listing says the clamp cannot test DC current, so it is an AC-only clamp in this group. It also covers AC and DC voltage, resistance, capacitance, continuity and a live wire test. The listing states CAT III 600 V and pollution degree 2, and it names a non-contact voltage alarm. It uses two AAA batteries, which are included, and it weighs about 203 g. Checked 11 October 2026.

AstroAI 2000 Count on Amazon

4. Ideal 61-737 Digital AC Clamp Meter

The 61-737 is listed as a true RMS clamp meter for up to 400 A AC and 600 V AC and DC. Its listing names frequency, resistance, continuity, capacitance, diode and temperature measurement, the last with a K-type thermocouple in the box. It has non-contact voltage sensing with an LED and an audible alert for 40 to 600 volts. The screen is backlit, and the listing describes a probe tip holder and a hanging strap clip for one-handed use. The package includes test leads, AAA batteries and a storage pouch with a belt loop. It measures 10 by 6 by 2 inches. Checked 13 October 2026.

Ideal 61-737 on Amazon

5. FNIRSI DMC-100 Clamp Meter

The DMC-100 is listed as a true RMS clamp meter for AC and DC current up to 600 A. The title gives 9999 counts, while one bullet gives 10000 counts, and both figures are shown here. The listing describes graph recording that stores 8 sets of real-time data and 30 sets of history. It has a 2 inch color screen, a built-in 1500 mAh battery that charges from a Type-C cable, and a temperature probe. The listing says voltage must be measured with the test leads, and that the jaws are for current only. It weighs 6.72 ounces. The listing gives UL 61010-1 and no CAT category. Checked 11 October 2026.

FNIRSI DMC-100 on Amazon

6. Westinghouse Auto-Ranging True RMS Clamp Meter

The Westinghouse clamp is listed for 600 A current and a 1000 V AC and DC voltage range. Its bullets give CAT III 600 V as the safety standard, so the 1000 V figure is a voltage range and the category is 600 V. The listing names true RMS, non-contact voltage detection, a 6000 count backlit display, relative mode, and inrush current capture. It also names variable frequency drive testing and continuity testing. The listing gives a 2 year warranty, a 6.5 feet drop rating and certifications to UL 61010-1 and CSA C22.2. It weighs 10.24 ounces and measures 9.4 by 3 by 1.5 inches. Checked 13 October 2026.

Westinghouse Auto-Ranging on Amazon

Worked example: the error on a 10 amp reading

For example, take the AstroAI on its 20 A range, where 2000 counts give a step of 0.01 A (20 divided by 2000). A 10 A reading carries plus or minus 2.5 percent of 10 A, which is 0.25 A, plus 5 digits, which is 0.05 A. The total is plus or minus 0.30 A. A display of 10.00 A therefore means a true current between about 9.70 and 10.30 A. This is arithmetic on the listed accuracy, not a test result.

The second example uses the range. A 450 A load is above the 400 A limit of the Klein, the AstroAI and the Ideal, so none of those three can read it. The FNIRSI and Westinghouse listings give a 600 A range, so the same 450 A load sits inside both.

What the listings do not say

None of the six listings gives an independent accuracy test. Only the AstroAI and Westinghouse listings give a CAT category, and the Klein listing says CE only. The FNIRSI listing gives a counts figure that does not match between title and bullet. The UNI-T listing gives a UL mark and the Klein listing gives CE, with no CAT category for either meter body. Check the safety rating printed on the meter before live work, and clamp one conductor only.

Frequently asked questions

Which clamp meter in this group reads the highest AC current?

The FNIRSI DMC-100 and the Westinghouse listings both state 600 A. The Klein, AstroAI and Ideal listings state 400 A, and the UNI-T UT210E states 100 A.

Which of these picks states a CAT III rating?

The AstroAI listing states CAT III 600 V. The Westinghouse listing states CAT III 600 V in its bullets, and its 1000 V figure is a voltage range. The Klein CL120 gives CAT III and CAT IV caps on its test leads, and the meter body is listed with CE only.

Which clamp meter measures true RMS?

The UNI-T UT210E, the Ideal 61-737, the FNIRSI DMC-100 and the Westinghouse listings all state true RMS. The Klein CL120 and AstroAI listings do not use the term.

Can any of these clamps be used without touching a wire?

Several listings describe a non-contact voltage function, which senses an electric field near a conductor. The Klein CL120, AstroAI, Ideal 61-737 and UNI-T UT210E listings all name one. A non-contact check shows that a voltage is present but does not give a current reading.

Which clamp is the best choice for a 100 amp cable?

The UNI-T UT210E is the one pick whose listing states a 100 A range. A 100 A cable sits at the top of its listed range, which leaves no headroom. A 400 amp meter such as the Klein or AstroAI gives more room for the same cable.

Conclusion

For a small cable under 100 A, the UNI-T UT210E is the pick with the lowest listed range and a mini body. For 400 A work, the Klein CL120, AstroAI and Ideal 61-737 state that range, with the AstroAI giving the most detailed accuracy figures. For 600 A, the FNIRSI DMC-100 and the Westinghouse are the two picks. Check the range and the safety rating against the cable you are measuring, and confirm both on the meter before use.

For more on clamp meters, see best true RMS digital clamp meter, best AC DC current clamp meter, and how does a current clamp work.

UNI-T UT210E · Klein CL120 · AstroAI 2000 Count · Ideal 61-737 · FNIRSI DMC-100 · Westinghouse Auto-Ranging

Similar Posts