Power Probe Circuit Testers Compared: 3 Listings
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The Power Probe IV is a circuit tester that supplies power and ground to a component and reads volts and ohms. This page covers three Power Probe listings in the set: the IV Master Combo Kit, a red Power Probe IV with a connector kit, and a Power Probe 4 model that carries a different model number from the IV. The keyword is a model number, so the comparison centers on what each listing says the tester does and what comes in the box. The research listing was checked on 2026-10-11 and the extra listings on 2026-10-20.
Nothing on this page comes from using a tester on a circuit. Each figure is copied from a listing field or bullet.
Quick answer
For the most complete kit, the POWER PROBE IV Master Combo Kit lists the Power Probe IV with a PPECT3000 and accessories, a 1 year warranty, and a maximum tip voltage of 450 volts in its bullets. For a Power Probe IV with a connector kit, the PP401AMZ01 lists ohmmeter and voltmeter functions and CE and UL marks. The Power Probe 4 listing is not the IV model, and its field lists voltmeter only, although its bullets describe volt and ohm functions.
Listed figures side by side
| Listing | Model or part | Measurement type as listed | Power source | Specification met | Included or warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| POWER PROBE IV Master Combo Kit, Red | PPKIT04; PPECT3000 and PPLS01 accessories | Multimeter (field); DVOM functions with 450 volt maximum tip voltage (bullet) | Battery powered | Not stated | 1 year warranty on material and workmanship |
| Power Probe PP401AMZ01 Red Power Probe IV with Connector Kit | PP401AMZ01 | Ohmmeter and voltmeter | Battery powered | CE and UL | Connector kit included |
| Power Probe 4 Circuit Tester with Multi-Meter Functions, PP401AS | PP401AS | Voltmeter (field); volt and ohmmeter (bullet) | Battery powered | IP 67 | Not stated |
The fields and bullets disagree for the PP401AS. Its measurement type field reads voltmeter, while its bullet says it has a digital volt and ohmmeter. The master kit’s fields read multimeter, while its bullets describe the same volt and ohm functions. Both values are shown, since the listing gives both.
POWER PROBE IV Master Combo Kit, Red (PPKIT04)
This listing is the kit: the Power Probe IV with a PPECT3000 and accessories. Its fields give a model of PPKIT04, a red color, a battery power source, a weight of 5.4 pounds, and item dimensions of 14.96 by 3.62 by 12.2 inches. The included components field reads Power Probe 4 with ECT3000 and PPLS01. The bullets list short functions: powering up components, DVOM functions with a 450 volt maximum tip voltage, fuel injector testing, an open circuit tester, and a driver tester. The checked date is 2026-10-11.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
Power Probe PP401AMZ01 Red Power Probe IV with Connector Kit
This extra listing is a Power Probe IV with a connector kit. Its fields give battery power, ohmmeter and voltmeter as measurement types, devices with electrical circuits as the compatible devices, and CE and UL as specifications met. The bullets say the tool supplies power and ground for functional component testing, includes a circuit connector kit, has a digital volt and ohmmeter, and has a large color LCD screen with a menu. The checked date is 2026-10-20.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
Power Probe 4 Circuit Tester with Multi-Meter Functions, PP401AS
This extra listing is a Power Probe 4 rather than an IV, so it is included as a different model in the same tester family. Its fields give battery power, a voltmeter measurement type, circuit testers as the style, red as the color, and IP 67 as the specification met. The brand field reads Power Probe. The bullets say the tool supplies power and ground, has a digital volt and ohmmeter, and has a large color LCD. The checked date is 2026-10-20.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
How the set was chosen
The IV Master Combo Kit was the research listing. The two extra listings were added because both are Power Probe circuit testers, which matches the product type named in the keyword. The Power Probe 4 is kept with a note because its model number differs from the IV. Facts come from listing fields and bullets only.
For related reading, see the best Power Probe short finder, the best circuit tester and the best continuity tester.
Worked example: counting the functions each listing states
Count the functions named in each listing. The master kit’s bullets name five uses: powering up components, DVOM functions, fuel injector testing, open circuit testing and driver testing. The PP401AMZ01 names two measurement types in its fields and three features in its bullets. The PP401AS names one measurement type in its field and three bullets. All three listings state volt and ohm functions in their bullets, while the PP401AS field alone states only voltage.
The only voltage figure in the set is the master kit’s 450 volt maximum tip voltage. The other two listings state no voltage rating, so no like-for-like voltage comparison is possible from the listings.
What the listings do not say
None of these listings states a measuring range for voltage or resistance except the 450 volt tip figure, and the page does not add one. The Power Probe 4 listing does not state the IV’s kit contents. The IV kit’s included components field reads a run-together model string, so the accessory names are taken from the field as printed. No listing states how long the battery lasts. This page does not test readings on any circuit.
Frequently asked questions
Which listing is the full kit?
The POWER PROBE IV Master Combo Kit is the kit. It lists the Power Probe IV with a PPECT3000 and accessories.
Does the Power Probe 4 listing match the IV model?
No. The listing is for the Power Probe 4 with model PP401AS. It is kept here as a different model in the same tester family.
Which listing states CE and UL?
The PP401AMZ01 Power Probe IV with connector kit lists CE and UL as specifications met.
What voltage does the master kit list?
The bullets state a maximum tip voltage of 450 volts for the DVOM functions.
Conclusion
The Power Probe IV kit listings give the most detail on function and accessories, and the Power Probe 4 is a separate model that the keyword does not name. Check the model number on the listing you buy against the IV name, and read the measurement type fields alongside the bullets.
Amazon links
POWER PROBE IV Master Combo Kit | Power Probe IV with connector kit | Power Probe 4 PP401AS